DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
IDS
The IDS document(s) filed on April 17, 2024 and January 16, 2025 have been considered. Copies of the PTO-1449 documents are herewith enclosed with this office action.
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by van der Straten et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0044333 A1), hereafter “van der Straten”.
As to claim 15, van der Straten teaches:
A seed layer. Van der Straten teaches an optional blanket layer of metal seed material is formed beneath the pinned layer 20L. See van der Straten, FIG. 6A, ¶ [0068].
A pinned layer 20L on the seed layer.
A free layer 24L facing the pinned layer.
A tunnel barrier layer 22L between the pinned layer and the free layer.
Wherein the seed layer is a single layer comprising rhenium (Re) alloy having a hexagonal closed-packed (HCP) structure. Id. at ¶ [0071]. Although van der Straten does not explicitly teach a HCP structure, the Examiner takes Official Notice that rhenium crystallizes in a HCP structure.
As to claim 16, van der Straten teaches the rhenium alloy includes an alloy of rhenium and platinum. Id.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over van der Straten.
As to claim 15, van der Straten teaches:
A seed layer. Van der Straten teaches an optional blanket layer of metal seed material is formed beneath the pinned layer 20L. See van der Straten, FIG. 6A, ¶ [0068].
A pinned layer 20L on the seed layer.
A free layer 24L facing the pinned layer.
A tunnel barrier layer 22L between the pinned layer and the free layer.
Wherein the seed layer is a single layer comprising rhenium (Re) alloy. Id. at ¶ [0071].
However, van der Straten does not teach a HCP structure.
On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a HCP rhenium alloy structure, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
As a matter of design choice, there are a limited number of materials that can provide the HCP rhenium structure. Thus, the use of the HCP rhenium structure is merely a matter of routine skill in the choosing of a material based on its common properties and its suitability for the intended use, and as such, the invention is “the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421 (2007). “Granting patent protection to advances that would occur in the ordinary course without real innovation retards progress.” Id. at 419. Nothing in Applicant’s disclosure establishes that HCP rhenium alloy presents a novel or unexpected result, thus selection of it based upon suitability for the intended use is a design choice consideration within the skill of the art.
As to claim 16, van der Straten teaches the rhenium alloy includes an alloy of rhenium and platinum. See van der Straten, ¶ [0071].
As to claim 17, van der Straten does not teach a material with the claimed ratios.
On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a rhenium alloy having 50% atomic percent rhenium and 50% atomic percent of the at least one metal, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Indication of Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claims 1-14 and 18-20 are indicated as being allowable because prior art fails to teach “one of the first seed layer and the second seed layer comprises rhenium (Re) and the other of the first seed layer and the second seed layer comprises ruthenium (Ru)” (claim 1) and “one of the first seed layer and the second seed layer comprises rhenium (Re) and the other of the first seed layer and the second seed layer comprises ruthenium (Ru)” (claim 19).
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The following prior art was not relied upon but is made of record:
Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0287052 A1)
MTJ structure with seed layer(s)
Tanaka et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2008/0151438 A1)
Teaches a second seed layer comprises ruthenium (paragraph [0029]) but does not teach a first seed layer comprising rhenium.
Conclusion
/SUBERR L CHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893