DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A1 (claims 1-3, 5-7, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17-20) in the reply filed on 07/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/17/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: SEMICONDUCTOR PACKAGES AND METHODS OF MANUFACTURING SEMICONUCTOR PACKAGES.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 11, 14, 15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shibuya et al. (US Pub. 2019/0206768).
Regarding independent claim 1, Shibuya teaches an electronic device (Fig. 23, Figs. 18-23; para. 0054+), comprising:
leads (1806) comprising a conductive material (copper), wherein a lead from the leads includes a base portion and a protrusion extending from a lower side of the base portion (para. 0054-0055);
a die paddle (1806) between the leads and comprising the conductive material (para. 0054-0055);
a lower mold (2002) on a first lateral side of the protrusion and around lateral sides of the die paddle (para. 0026);
a lower surface finish (1826) applied to a lower side of the protrusion (para. 0055); and
an electronic component (2200) coupled to the die paddle and in electronic communication with the lead (para. 0057).
Re claim 2, Shibuya teaches an upper mold (2204) disposed over the lower mold and around lateral sides of the base portion and the die paddle.
Re claim 3, Shibuya teaches wherein the lead is separated from the die paddle by the upper mold and the lower mold (Fig. 23).
Re claim 5, Shibuya teaches wherein the lower surface finish is applied to a lower side of the base portion, to a second lateral side of the protrusion opposite the first lateral side of the protrusion, and to the lower side of the protrusion to form a wettable flank (Fig. 23; para. 0055).
Re claim 11, Shibuya teaches wherein the lead is enclosed by the lower surface finish, the lower mold, an upper mold disposed around lateral sides of the base portion, and an upper surface finish applied to an upper side of the lead (Fig. 23).
Regarding independent claim 14, Shibuya teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device (Figs. 18-23; para. 0054+), comprising:
providing leads (1806) comprising a conductive material (copper), wherein a lead from the leads includes a base portion and a protrusion extending from a lower side of the base portion (para. 0054-0055);
providing a die paddle (1806) comprising the conductive material and disposed between the leads (para. 0054-0055);
providing a lower mold (2002) on a first lateral side of the protrusion and around lateral sides of the die paddle (para. 0026);
applying a lower surface finish (1826) to a lower side of the protrusion (para. 0055); and
providing an electronic component (2200) coupled to the die paddle and in electronic communication with the lead (para. 0057).
Re claim 15, Shibuya teaches providing an upper mold (2204) over the lower mold and around lateral sides of the base portion and the die paddle (Fig. 23; para. 0057-0058).
Re claim 17, Shibuya teaches wherein the lower surface finish is applied to a lower side of the base portion, a second lateral side of the protrusion opposite the first lateral side of the protrusion, and the lower side of the protrusion to form a wettable flank (Fig. 23, para. 0055).
Re claim 18, Shibuya teaches wherein the lead is separated from the die paddle by an upper mold (2204) and the lower mold (Fig. 23; para. 0057-0058).
Re claim 19, Shibuya teaches wherein the lead is enclosed by the lower surface finish, the lower mold, an upper mold (2204) disposed around lateral sides of the base portion, and an upper surface finish applied to an upper side of the lead (Fig. 23; para. 0057-0058).
Regarding independent claim 20, Shibuya teaches an electronic device (Fig. 23, Figs. 18-23; para. 0054+), comprising:
a lead (1806) comprising a conductive material (copper) and including a base portion and a protrusion extending from a lower side of the base portion (para. 0054-0055);
a die paddle (1806) adjacent the lead and comprising the conductive material (para. 0054-0055);
a lower mold (2002) on a first lateral side of the protrusion and around lateral sides of the die paddle, wherein the lower mold is between the lead and the die paddle (Fig. 23; para. 0026);
a surface finish (1826) applied to a lower side of the protrusion to form a wettable flank (Fig. 23, para. 0055); and
an electronic component (2200) coupled to the die paddle and in electronic communication with the lead (para. 0057).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibuya et al. (US Pub. 2019/0206768) in view of Jeon et al. (US Pub. 2022/0077031).
Re claim 12, Shibuya teaches a variety of materials for the lower surface finish, but is silent with respect to silver-plating, per se.
Jeon teaches an electronic device wherein the lower surface finish comprises a silver-plating layer (para. 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary material at the time of filing to use a silver-plating layer as claimed with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of preventing lead oxidation (Jeon para. 0038). It is considered prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose (MPEP 2144.07).
Claim(s) 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibuya et al. (US Pub. 2019/0206768) in view of Park et al. (US Pub. 2011/0049685).
Re claims 6 and 7, Shibuya is silent with respect to a shield.
Park teaches an electronic device (Figs. 2A-2D) comprising a shield (340) disposed over an electronic component (210) and around lateral sides of the base portion of the lead (130), further comprising a ground lead formed integrally with the die paddle (Fig. 2B) and electrically coupled to the shield (para. 0050, 0058).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include a shield as taught by Park within the device of Shibuya to arrive at the claimed invention for the purpose of providing EMI protection to the device.
Conclusion
/MOLLY K REIDA/Examiner, Art Unit 2899