DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
1. Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
a. Per claim 4, line 12, change “the thermal exchange unit the thermal source body” to –the thermal source body--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 1-3 & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reddy et al. US10222844.
Per claim 1 Reddy et al. teaches a thermal exchange device (see fig.1-5), comprising: a sliding plate (104(1) - 104(4), see fig.1-3), comprising: a plate-shaped body (see fig.1), having a long axis (see fig.1); a first flange (104(1) or 104(2), see fig.1) protruding from a first side of the plate-shaped body (see fig.1), wherein the first side is parallel to the long axis (see fig.1), and the first flange has a first guide slit (see fig.3, “see slit in 104(1)”), comprising: a first section (see fig.3, “bottom part of the slit”), extending in a direction parallel to the long axis and separated from the first side by a first distance (see fig.3); a second section (see fig.3, “top part of the slit in 104(1)”), extending in a direction parallel to the direction and separated from the first side by a second distance greater than the first distance (see fig.3); and a first guide slit (see fig.3, “middle portion connecting top and bottom part of slit”), connecting the first section and the second section (see fig.3); and a second flange (104(3) and 104(4), see fig.1) protruding from a second side of the plate-shaped body and parallel to the first flange (see fig.1-3), wherein the second flange defines a slide groove with the first flange and the plate-shaped body (see fig.1-3); and a thermal exchange unit (400, fig.4), at least partly received in the slide groove and comprising a first guide rod (404(1), see fig.4-8), extending into the first guide slit to limit the movement of the sliding plate relative to the thermal exchange unit in a direction parallel and/or perpendicular to the said direction (see fig.6-8).
Per claim 2 Reddy et al. teaches the thermal exchange device according to claim 1, wherein the second flange (104(3) and 104(4), see fig.1) has a second guide slit (see fig.1-3) parallel to the first guide slit to receive a second guide rod protruding from the thermal exchange unit (see fig.1-8); the second guide slit comprises: a third section (see fig.3, “bottom part of the slit”), extending in a direction parallel to the direction and separated from the second side by the first distance (see fig.1-3); a fourth section (see fig.3, “top part of the slit in 104(1)”), extending in a direction parallel to the direction and separated from the second side by the second distance; and a second guide slit (see fig.3, “middle portion connecting top and bottom part of slit”), connecting the third section and the fourth section (see fig.1-3).
Per claim 3 Reddy et al. teaches the thermal exchange device according to claim 2, wherein the first guide slit is a slit passing through the first flange, and the second guide slit is a slit passing through the second flange (see fig.1-3).
Per claim 10 Reddy et al. teaches the thermal exchange device according to claim 1, wherein the first guide rod is a convex column, a guide rod (404(2), see fig.4) or a bearing.
Allowable Subject matter
3. Claims 4-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4, includes allowable subject matter because of the thermal exchange device according to claim 1, further comprising a bracket, comprising; a first accommodation space, allowing a thermal source body to be detachably received therein; and a second accommodation space interconnected with the first accommodation space and used to allow the thermal exchange unit and a part of the sliding plate to be detachably received therein and allow the part of the sliding plate to be received in the first accommodation space and move relative to the thermal exchange unit in a direction parallel and/or perpendicular to the said direction, so that the thermal exchange unit can contact the thermal source body or move farther away from the thermal exchange unit the thermal source body.
Claims 5-9 depends on claim 4, therefore allowable for the same reason.
Claims 11 is allowable
Regarding Independent claim 11, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed combination of elements and features of: A power supply system, comprising: a sliding plate, comprising: a plate-shaped body, having a long axis; a first flange protruding from a first side of the plate-shaped body, wherein the first side is parallel to the long axis, and the first flange has a first guide slit, comprising: a first section, extending in a direction parallel to the long axis and separated from the first side by a first distance; a second section, extending in a direction parallel to the direction and separated from the first side by a second distance greater than the first distance; and a first guide slit, connecting the first section and the second section; and a second flange protruding from a second side of the plate-shaped body and parallel to the first flange, wherein the second flange defines a slide groove with the first flange and the plate-shaped body; a thermal exchange unit, at least partly received in the slide groove and comprising a first guide rod, extending into the first guide slit to limit the movement of the sliding plate relative to the thermal exchange unit in the slide groove; a power supply unit; and a bracket, comprising; a first accommodation space allowing the power supply unit to be detachably received therein; and a second accommodation space interconnected with the first accommodation space and used to allow the thermal exchange unit and a part of the sliding plate to be detachably received therein and allow the sliding plate to move relative to the thermal exchange unit in a direction parrel and/or perpendicular to the direction, so that the thermal exchange unit can contact the power supply unit or move farther away from the power supply unit.
Email Communication
4. Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
OKI et al. US2009/0296350 discloses a mechanism to dissipate heat from an optical transceiver set in a cage to a heat sink assembled with said cage such that a surface of said transceiver is adhered to a surface of said heat sink, said mechanism comprising: a slit formed in said cage and engaged with said guide, said slit providing a pair of elastic tabs each formed within said slit diagonally, and a guide formed in said heat sink.
Arvelo et al. US9453972 discloses a pluggable module, comprising: a plug receptacle in which a plug is receivable; a housing coupled to the plug receptacle; a heat removal device comprising heat transfer fins and a plug-contacting surface, the heat removal device being partially disposable within the housing to assume and be movable between first and second positions.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior are included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/MICHAEL A MATEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835