DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites limitations “image former that forms an image”, “image reader that generates a read image” that have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it they use a generic placeholders “former”, “reader” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, the claims have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over D1.1
With regard to claim 1, D1 teach a sheet conveyer having a cylindrical shape that conveys a sheet (see fig. 1, ¶ 24: cylindrical conveyor drum); an image former that forms an image on the sheet conveyed by the sheet conveyer (see fig. 1, ¶¶ 27-29: printer to eject ink to the recording medium); an image reader that generates a read image of a printed product which is the sheet on which the image has been formed by the image former (see fig. 1, ¶ 37: image reader); and a hardware processor (see fig. 4: processor), wherein the hardware processor inspects for presence or absence of a defect in the printed product based on the read image (see fig. 8, ¶¶ 55, 68: defect detection), and the hardware processor causes the printed product being inspected to rotate on an outer peripheral portion of the sheet conveyer without ejecting the printed product being inspected from the apparatus during start to end of inspection of the printed product (see fig. 1: sheet rotates on the outer peripheral portion while the inspection is carried out before being discharged to a tray). Note that D1 teaches capturing an image of the printed sheet to perform defect inspection, which may be completed before the sheet is discharged to the tray 31 and therefore anticipates the claim limitation of not being ejected during start and end of the inspection. Alternatively, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to wait till the inspection is completed to determine whether the sheet is defective before ejecting the sheet. The motivation would have been to sort sheet into appropriate trays, such as a defective tray or normal tray. D1 teaches in ¶ 104 that the sheet may be discharged to different paper discharge trays.
With regard to claim 2, D1 teach the hardware processor performs control to eject the printed product determined as a quality product to a quality product sheet ejector (see fig. 1) but fails to explicitly teach to eject the printed product determined as a defective product to a defective product sheet ejector. However, D1 suggests in ¶ 104 that the sheet may be discharged to different paper discharge trays. It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to sort the defective sheet to a different tray and the motivation would have been to separate quality product from defective products.
With regard to claim 3, D1 fails to explicitly teach in a case where the printed product determined as a defective product is a printed product that needs to be printed in a predetermined order, the hardware processor performs control to eject, to the defective product sheet ejector, a printed product rotating on the outer peripheral portion of the sheet conveyer at a time when the printed product is determined as a defective product. However, D1 suggests in ¶ 104 that the sheet may be discharged to different paper discharge trays. It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to sort the defective sheet to a different tray and the motivation would have been to separate quality product from defective products.
With regard to claim 4, D1 teach after completion of ejection, to the defective product sheet ejector, of the printed product rotating on the outer peripheral portion of the sheet conveyer at the time when the printed product is determined as a defective product, the hardware processor performs control to resume reprinting of an image of the printed product determined as a defective product and printing of an image subsequent to the image of the printed product determined as a defective product (see fig. 1, ¶¶ 79-81: after determining that a defect is present, printing is resumed with correction).
With regard to claim 7, see discussion of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 and further in view of D2.2
With regard to claim 5, D1 fails to explicitly teach a reverser that reverses a front and back of the sheet conveyed by the sheet conveyer, wherein when double-sided printing is instructed for a printed product determined as a quality product, the hardware processor conveys the printed product to the reverser to reverse the front and back and causes the image former to form an image, however D2 teaches the missing feature (see ¶¶ 32, 40: reversing the paper from front to back for double sided printing). One skilled in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to incorporate known teachings of performing reversing operation to print on both sides of the sheet as taught by D2 into the configuration of D1 yielding predictable results. The motivation for reversing would have been to print on both sides of the sheet and reduce the number of sheets needed for printing.
With regard to claim 6, D1 and D2 fail to explicitly teach when double-sided printing is instructed for a printed product determined as a quality product and the printed product is the printed product determined as a defective product, the hardware processor performs control to eject the printed product to the defective product sheet ejector without conveying the printed product to the reverser. However, it is clear that D1 teaches defect inspection after printing is performed on a side of a sheet. It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to discard the sheet upon determination of a defect without performing further processing, yielding predictable results. The motivation for discarding a defective sheet without reversing and printing on the other side would have been to save ink.
Conclusion
/AVINASH YENTRAPATI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672
1 US Publication No. 2020/0391516.
2 US Publication No. 2018/0157446.