Response to Amendment
The amendment submitted 02/18/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 5-8, 11-15, and 18-20 remain pending. Claims 3-4, 9-10, and 16-17 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive. However, the amendments to the claims have changed the scope of the claims necessitating new grounds of rejection. Please see new grounds of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15 and 18-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the 90⁰+/-5⁰ angle". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim which renders the claim indefinite as the angle has not been defined in the claim making the metes and bounds of the claim unclear.
Claims 15 and 18-20 depend from claim 14 and inherit a deficiencies of the parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200025014 to Farris in view of US 20100098923 to Freling.
Regarding claim 1:
Farris discloses a process of preventing spallation (Par 0030) for a geometrically segmented (see abstract) thermally insulating top coat (top coat 52 comprising thermally insulating layers 58, Par 0022, Fig 3) on an article, the process comprising:
forming a surface feature (protrusions 60, Fig 3) with a surface feature tip (radially inner surface of protrusions 60, Fig 3) on a surface of the article (Fig 3);
the surface comprises a surface of a bond coat disposed on a substrate of the article (“bond coat”, Par 0022),
disposing the thermally insulating topcoat over the surface feature (Fig 3); and
forming segmented portions that are separated by faults (faults 62, Fig 3, Par 0025) extending through the thermally insulating topcoat from the surface feature tip (Fig 3).
Farris does not disclose during disposing the thermally insulating topcoat over the surface feature, controlling a plasma spray process to project molten droplets of the thermally insulating topcoat material at an angle of 90⁰+/-5⁰ relative to a top surface of the surface feature.
Freling is also in the field of coatings (see title) and teaches controlling a plasma spray process to project molten droplets of a thermally insulating topcoat material at an angle of 90⁰ (Par 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process as disclosed by Farris with the above aforementioned controlling a plasma spray process step as taught by Freling for the purpose of producing vertical crack propagation (Par 0025).
Regarding claims 6-7:
Farris as modified by Freling teaches the process according to claim 1.
Farris further discloses:
wherein the article is a gas turbine engine component (Par 0003); and
wherein the gas turbine engine component is a seal (Par 0003).
Claim(s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200025014 to Farris in view of US 20100098923 to Freling as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 8770927 to Strock.
Regarding claim 2:
Farris as modified by Freling teaches the process according to claim 1.
Farris suggests (Par 0025) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the surface feature comprises a pyramid shape.
Strock is also in the field of coatings (see abstract) and teaches a surface feature comprising a pyramid shape (pyramids 66a/76a, Figs 3/5-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface feature as disclosed by Farris to have a pyramid shape as taught by Strock for the purpose of reducing heat generation, thermal expansion, and rub forces (Col 1 Lns 46-48).
Regarding claim 5:
Farris as modified by Freling teaches the process according to claim 1.
Farris suggests (Par 0025) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the surface feature comprises a pyramid shape including a surface feature base width and a surface feature tip width, wherein a ratio of the surface feature base width to the surface feature tip width comprises from 0.0 to 0.22.
Strock is also in the field of coatings (see abstract) and teaches a surface feature comprising a pyramid shape (pyramids 66a/76a, Figs 3/5-7) including a surface feature base width (base width of pyramid in a longitudinal direction of the pyramid, Fig 6) and a surface feature tip width (width of pyramid tip in a direction substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the pyramid, Fig 6), wherein a ratio of the surface feature base width to the surface feature tip width comprises from 0.0 to 0.22 (Col 2 Lns 2-4; reasonably disclosed in Fig 6)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface feature as disclosed by Farris to have a pyramid shape as taught by Strock for the purpose of reducing heat generation, thermal expansion, and rub forces (Col 1 Lns 46-48).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 11-13 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the closest prior art is US 20200025014 to Farris (see rejections above) however the prior art does not disclose nor teach wherein the thermally insulating topcoat without bridging between a portion of the thermally insulating topcoat that builds-up in valleys between the surface features and a portion on top of the surface features.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN A PRUITT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745