DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 11, 17-18, and 20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are present for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed August 13, 2026, with respect to the specification objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The specification objection of June 03, 2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed August 13, 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of June 03, 2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10, filed August 13, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chen (US 2010/0301357 A1).
In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner suggests the Applicant more clearly define the positioning and geometry of the electrodes with respect to the reflectors and light emitting source (e.g. the light emitting device further comprises a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the light emitting source is disposed horizontally between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the reflector is directly in contact with the first electrode and the second electrode). The Examiner is available at the number below for an interview to discuss ideas at the Applicant’s convenience.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2020/0335673 A1) in view of Chen (US 2010/0301357 A1), and further in view of Kamada (US 2017/0250326 A1).
Claim 1, Kim discloses a light emitting device (light emitting device package 100 is a light emitting device, hereinafter, light emitting device 100, [0092], Fig. 8) comprising:
a light emitting source (light emitting device 120 is a light emitting source, [0090], Fig. 8) including a light emitting semiconductor device (light emitting device 120 is a light emitting semiconductor device, hereinafter, light emitting semiconductor device 120, [0090], Fig. 8);
a reflector (first resin 250, second resin 240, and third resin 245 are a reflector, hereinafter, reflector 240/245/250, [0098], Fig. 8) disposed on a side region of the light emitting source 120 while at least partially adjoining the side region of the light emitting source 120 (reflector 240/245/250 is disposed on a side region of the light emitting source 120 while at least partially adjoining the side region of the light emitting source 120, [0098], Fig. 8);
a front-light extractor (optical lens 260 is a front-light extractor, hereinafter, front-light extractor 260, [0124], Fig. 8) disposed on the light emitting source 120 and the reflector 240/245/250 (front-light extractor 260 is disposed on the light emitting source 120 and the reflector 240/245/250, [0124], Fig. 8) and comprising a body including a first curved shape (front-light extractor 260 comprises a lens portion 261 which is a body, hereinafter, body 261, [0124], Fig. 8); and
a substrate (substrate 201, [0124], Fig. 8) including an upper surface on which the light emitting source 120, the reflector 240/245/250, and the front-light extractor 260 are mounted (substrate 201 includes an upper surface on which the light emitting source 120, the reflector 240/245/250, and the front-light extractor 260 are mounted, [0124], Fig. 8),
wherein the reflector 240/245/250 includes a first reflective surface (reflector 240/245/250 includes second resin 240 which is a first reflective surface, hereinafter, first reflective surface 240, [0116], Figs. 4 and 8) in at least a region thereof and including a second curved shape (first reflective surface 240 is in at least a region thereof and including a second curved shape (second curved shape is a circle with radius of curvature p1, [0116], Figs. 4 and 8), [0116], Figs. 4 and 8).
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the second curved shape of the first reflective surface includes a radius of curvature greater than or equal to a radius of curvature of the first curved shape of the front-light extractor.
However, Kamada discloses the second curved shape of the first reflective surface (Kamada, the first resin member 40 is the first reflective surface and includes the second curved shape, [0055], Fig. 1B; Kim, first reflective surface 240, [0109], Figs. 4 and 8) includes a radius of curvature greater than or equal to a radius of curvature of the first curved shape of the front-light extractor (Kamada, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 40 includes a radius of curvature greater than or equal to a radius of curvature of the first curved shape of the front-light extractor 20, [0055], Fig. 1B; Kim, first reflective surface 240, [0109], Figs. 4 and 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to vary, through routine experimentation, “the result effective variable of ratio of curvature of adjacent reflectors (result effective at least insofar as ratio of curvature of adjacent reflectors in order to maintain the brightness and directivity (Kamada, [0006])) in order to optimize the functionality of the device (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), see MPEP §2144.05).
Further, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ratio of curvature of adjacent reflectors or any unexpected results arising therefrom and it has been held that where patentability is said to be based upon a particular chosen dimension or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen dimension is critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Kim/Kamada does not explicitly disclose wherein the second curved shape of the first reflective surface is convex.
However, Chen discloses disclose wherein the second curved shape of the first reflective surface is convex (Chen, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3; Kamada, the first resin member 40 is the first reflective surface and includes the second curved shape, [0055], Fig. 1B; Kim, first reflective surface 240, [0109], Figs. 4 and 8). The combination to utilize a convex shape allows for the medium within the reflector to function as a reflective medium, wherein the light is resultant incident upward and towards the above-lying optical structure and the external luminescence quantum efficiency of the light emitting element may be enhanced (Chen, [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a convex shape to allow for the medium within the reflector to function as a reflective medium, wherein the light is resultant incident upward and towards the above-lying optical structure and the external luminescence quantum efficiency of the light emitting element may be enhanced (Chen, [0019]).
Claim 2, Kim/Kamada/Chen discloses the light emitting device (Kim, light emitting device 100, [0092], Fig. 8; Kamada, light emitting device 100, [0055], Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3) according to claim 1.
Kim/Kamada/Chen discloses wherein the front-light extractor further includes the body including the first curved shape R1 (Kim, front-light extractor 260 further includes the body 261 including the first curved shape R1, [0127], Figs. 4 and 8; Kamada, front-light extractor 20, [0055], Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3), a spacer (Kim, front-light extractor 260 further includes the region between the buffer portion 265 and the open region 217 where the seal of the front-light extractor is made with the substrate 201, which is a spacer, hereinafter, spacer 217, [0127], Figs. 4 and 8; Kamada, front-light extractor 20, [0055], Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3) extending from a lower distal end of the first curved shape R1 in a vertical direction (Kim, front-light extractor 260 further includes a spacer 217 extending from a lower distal end of the first curved shape R1 in a vertical direction, [0127], Figs. 4 and 8; Kamada, front-light extractor 20, [0055], Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3), and a neck disposed between the spacer and the body (Kim, front-light extractor 260 further includes buffer portion 265 which is a neck, hereinafter, neck 265 disposed between the spacer 217 and the body 261, [0127], Figs. 4 and 8; Kamada, front-light extractor 20, [0055], Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3).
Claim 3, Kim/Kamada/Chen discloses the light emitting device (Kim, light emitting device 100, [0092], Fig. 8; Kamada, light emitting device 100, [0055], Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3) according to claim 2.
Kim/Kamada/Chen discloses wherein a circumference of a first horizontal cross-section of the neck in a region adjoining the body is less than a circumference of a second horizontal cross-section of the neck in a region adjoining the spacer (Kim, a circumference of a first horizontal cross-section of the neck 265 in a region adjoining the body 261 is less than a circumference of a second horizontal cross-section of the neck 265 in a region adjoining the spacer 217, [0127], Figs. 4 and 8; Kamada, front-light extractor 20, [0055], Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3).
Claim 4, Kim/Kamada/Chen discloses the light emitting device (Kim, light emitting device 100, [0092], Fig. 8; Kamada, light emitting device 100, [0055], Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3) according to claim 2.
Kim/Kamada/Chen discloses wherein the neck includes a third curved shape in at least a region thereof, the third curved shape including a smaller radius of curvature than the first curved shape R1 (Kim, neck 265 includes a third curved shape R3 in at least a region thereof, the third curved shape R3 (i.e. cross-sectional radii of curvature of neck 265) including a smaller radius of curvature than the first curved shape R1 (i.e. cross-sectional radii of curvature of body 261), [0127], Annotated Fig. 8; Kamada, front-light extractor 20, [0055], Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3).
Annotated Fig. 8 (Kim) – Illustrates a light emitting device including a front-light extractor 260 which further includes the body 261 including the first curved shape (i.e. R1), neck 265 including the third curved shape (i.e. R2), and the spacer 217 – wherein the first curved shape (i.e. R1) is a plurality (i.e. ~ 10) times a thickness of the light emitting source 120.
Claim 5, Kim/Kamada/Chen discloses the light emitting device (Kim, light emitting device 100, [0092], Fig. 8; Kamada, light emitting device 100, [0055], Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3) according to claim 4.
Kim/Kamada/Chen discloses wherein the neck includes a third curved shape R3, the first curved shape R1 including a radius of curvature five or more times the radius of curvature of the third curved shape R3 (Kim, neck 265 includes a third curved shape curved shape R3 (i.e. cross-sectional radii of curvature of neck 265), the first curved shape R1 (i.e. cross-sectional radii of curvature of body 261, R1) includes a radius of curvature five or more times the radius of curvature of the third curved shape R3, [0127], Annotated Fig. 8; Kamada, front-light extractor 20, [0055], Figs. Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3).
Claim 6, Kim/Kamada/Chen discloses the light emitting device (Kim, light emitting device 100, [0092], Fig. 8; Kamada, light emitting device 100, [0055], Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3) according to claim 1.
Kim/Kamada/Chen discloses wherein the radius of curvature of the first curved shape is four or more times a thickness of the light emitting source (Kim, radius of curvature of the first curved shape R1 (i.e. cross-sectional radii of curvature of body 261, R1) is four or more times a thickness of the light emitting source 120, [0127], Annotated Fig. 8; Kamada, Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3).
Claim 7, Kim/Kamada/Chen discloses the light emitting device (Kim, light emitting device 100, [0092], Fig. 8; Kamada, light emitting device 100, [0055], Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3) according to claim 5.
Kim/Kamada/Chen discloses wherein the second curved shape includes a region of an ascending slope toward a center of the body (Kim, second curved shape 265 includes a region of an ascending slope toward a center of the body 261, [0127], Annotated Fig. 8; Kamada, Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3).
Claim 8, Kim/Kamada/Chen discloses the light emitting device (Kim, light emitting device 100, [0092], Fig. 8; Kamada, light emitting device 100, [0055], Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3) according to claim 1.
Kim/Kamada/Chen discloses wherein the reflector includes a thickness gradually decreasing with increasing distance from a center of the light emitting source (Kim, reflector 240/245/250 includes a thickness gradually decreasing with increasing distance from a center of the light emitting source 120, [0109], Fig. 8; Kamada, Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3).
Claim 9, Kim/Kamada/Chen discloses the light emitting device (Kim, light emitting device 100, [0092], Fig. 8; Kamada, light emitting device 100, [0055], Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3) according to claim 1.
Kim/Kamada/Chen discloses wherein at least a side of the light emitting semiconductor device includes a first length (d1) and the first curved shape includes a first radius of curvature (R1), the first length (d1) and the first radius of curvature (R1) satisfying a relational equation of -0.2083*(
R
1
d
1
)
2 + 0.5893*(
R
1
d
1
)
+ 0.6189 ≥ 0.8 (Kim, first curved shape R1 may be 2 mm or less (i.e. 1.2 mm to 2.0 mm) and first length d1 may be equivalent to the width of the light emitting semiconductor device 120, wherein the first length d1 may be 0.65 mm to 2 mm (i.e. 650 μm to 2000 μm) – wherein the first curved shape R1 and first length d1 satisfy the following relations; (i) [-0.2083*(
R
1
d
1
)
2 + 0.5893*(
R
1
d
1
)
+ 0.6189 ≥ 0.8], (ii) [k = (
R
1
d
1
)], and (iii) [0.5 ≤ k ≤ 2.5], [0184], Figs. 8 and 17; Chen, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3; Kamada, light emitting device 100, [0055], Figs. 1A and 1B).
Claim 10, Kim/Kamada/Chen discloses the light emitting device (Kim, light emitting device 100, [0092], Fig. 8; Kamada, light emitting device 100, [0055], Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3) according to claim 5.
Kim/Kamada/Chen discloses wherein a difference between a distance from the upper surface of the light emitting source 120 to an apex of the body 261 of the front-light extractor 260 and the radius of curvature (R1) is less than 10% (Kim, a difference between a distance from the upper surface of the light emitting source 120 to an apex of the body 261 of the front-light extractor 260 and the radius of curvature R1 is less than 10%, [0127], Annotated Fig. 8; Kamada, front-light extractor 20, [0055], Figs. Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, second curved shape of the first reflective surface 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3).
Claim 18, Kim/Chen/Kamada discloses the light emitting device (Kim, light emitting device 100, [0092], Fig. 8; Kamada, light emitting device 100, [0055], Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3) according to claim 11.
Kamada/Kim/Chen discloses wherein the reflector comprises a first reflective surface adjoining at least a surface of the front-light extractor and a second reflective surface adjoining at least a surface of the side light extractor (Kamada, reflector 40 comprises a first reflective surface adjoining at least a surface of the front-light extractor 20 (i.e. at border b, [0062], Fig. 2) and reflector 40 comprises a second reflective surface adjoining at least a surface of the side light extractor 35, [0058], Figs. 1A and 1B; Kim, reflector 250 comprises a first reflective surface adjoining at least a surface of the front-light extractor 260 and a second reflective surface adjoining at least a surface of the side light extractor 240/245, [0098], Fig. 8; Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3), the first and second reflective surfaces being asymmetrical (Kamada, the first and second reflective surfaces of reflector 40 being asymmetrical, [0058], Figs. 1A and 1B; Kim, reflector 250 comprises a first reflective surface adjoining at least a surface of the front-light extractor 260 and a second reflective surface adjoining at least a surface of the side light extractor 240/245, [0098], Fig. 8; Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3). The combination to utilize a first reflective surface as well as a second reflective surface adjoining both the front-light extractor and side light extractor allows for the medium within the reflector to function as a reflective medium, wherein the light is resultant incident upward and towards the above-lying optical structure and the external luminescence quantum efficiency of the light emitting element may be enhanced (Chen, [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a first reflective surface as well as a second reflective surface adjoining both the front-light extractor and side light extractor to allow for the medium within the reflector to function as a reflective medium, wherein the light is resultant incident upward and towards the above-lying optical structure and the external luminescence quantum efficiency of the light emitting element may be enhanced (Chen, [0019]).
Claim 19, Kim/Chen/Kamada discloses the light emitting device (Kim, light emitting device 100, [0092], Fig. 8; Kamada, light emitting device 100, [0055], Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3) according to claim 18.
Kim/Chen/Kamada discloses wherein a maximum thickness of the second reflective surface from an upper surface of the substrate is less than a maximum thickness of the first reflective surface (Kim, a maximum thickness of the second reflective surface (i.e. reflector 250 comprises a second reflective surface adjoining at least a surface of the side light extractor 240/245 - bottom surface of reflector 250 within first recess Ma) from an upper surface of the substrate is less than a maximum thickness of the first reflective surface (i.e. reflector 250 comprises a first reflective surface adjacent to a surface of the front-light extractor 260 - upper surface of reflector 250), [0098], Fig. 8; Kamada, a maximum thickness of the second reflective surface (i.e. underside surface of reflector 40) from an upper surface of the substrate 10 is less than a maximum thickness of the first reflective surface (i.e. upper surface of reflector 40 in contact with front-light extractor 20 at border b), [0058], Figs. 1A and 1B; Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3).
Claims 11-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Chen.
Claim 11, Kim discloses a light emitting device (light emitting device package 100 is a light emitting device, hereinafter, light emitting device 100, [0092], Fig. 8) comprising:
a light emitting source (light emitting device 120 is a light emitting source, [0090], Fig. 8) including a light emitting semiconductor device (light emitting device 120 is a light emitting semiconductor device, hereinafter, light emitting semiconductor device 120, [0090], Fig. 8);
a reflector (first resin 250 is a reflector, hereinafter, reflector 250, [0098], Fig. 8) disposed on a side region of the light emitting source 120 while at least partially adjoining the side region of the light emitting source 120 (reflector 250 is disposed on a side region of the light emitting source 120 while at least partially adjoining the side region of the light emitting source 120, [0098], Fig. 8);
a front-light extractor (optical lens 260 is a front-light extractor, hereinafter, front-light extractor 260, [0124], Fig. 8) disposed on the light emitting source 120 and the reflector 250 (front-light extractor 260 is disposed on the light emitting source 120 and the reflector 250, [0124], Fig. 8) and including a first curved shape (front-light extractor 260 comprises a lens portion 261 and a buffer portion 265 including a first curved shape, [0124], Fig. 8);
a wavelength conversion layer (phosphor layer 180 is a wavelength conversion layer, hereinafter, wavelength conversion layer 180, [0100], Figs. 4 and 8) disposed in at least a region on a light path of the light emitting source 120 (wavelength conversion layer 180 is disposed in at least a region on a light path of the light emitting source 120, [0100], Figs. 4 and 8);
a substrate (substrate 201, [0124], Fig. 8) on which the light emitting source 120, the reflector 250, and the front-light extractor 260 are disposed (substrate 201 includes an upper surface on which the light emitting source 120, the reflector 250, and the front-light extractor 260 are disposed, [0124], Fig. 8); and
a side light extractor (second resin 240 and third resin 245 are a side light extractor, hereinafter, side light extractor 240/245, [0098], Fig. 8) disposed between the light emitting source 120 and the reflector 250 (side light extractor 240/245 is disposed between the light emitting source 120 and the reflector 250, [0098], Fig. 8),
wherein the side light extractor 240/245 includes a second curved shape on a surface thereof and a maximum radius of curvature of the second curved shape is less than a radius of curvature of the first curved shape of the front-light extractor 250 (side light extractor 240/245 includes a second curved shape on a surface thereof and a maximum radius of curvature of the second curved shape is less than a radius of curvature of the first curved shape of the front-light extractor 250, [0168], Figs. 4, 8 and 24).
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the reflector includes a first reflective surface in at least a region thereof and includes a third curved shape, and the third curved shape of the first reflective surface is convex.
However, Chen discloses wherein the reflector includes a first reflective surface (Chen, reflector 24 includes a first reflective surface, [0026], Fig. 3; Kim, reflector 250 comprises a first reflective surface adjoining at least a surface of the front-light extractor 260, [0098], Fig. 8) in at least a region thereof and includes a third curved shape (Chen, reflector 24 includes a first reflective surface in at least a region thereof and includes a third curved shape, [0026], Fig. 3; Kim, reflector 250 comprises a first reflective surface adjoining at least a surface of the front-light extractor 260, [0098], Fig. 8), and the third curved shape of the first reflective surface is convex (Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3; Kim, reflector 250 comprises a first reflective surface adjoining at least a surface of the front-light extractor 260, [0098], Fig. 8). The combination to utilize an additional reflector adjacent to the light emitting source and convex shaped allows for the medium within the reflector to function as a reflective medium, wherein the light is resultant incident upward and towards the above-lying optical structure and the external luminescence quantum efficiency of the light emitting element may be enhanced (Chen, [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize an additional reflector adjacent to the light emitting source and convex shaped to allow for the medium within the reflector to function as a reflective medium, wherein the light is resultant incident upward and towards the above-lying optical structure and the external luminescence quantum efficiency of the light emitting element may be enhanced (Chen, [0019]).
Claim 12, Kim/Chen discloses the light emitting device (Kim, light emitting device 100, [0092], Fig. 8; Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3) according to claim 11.
Kim/Chen discloses wherein the wavelength conversion layer is a film or sheet type (Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3; Kim, wavelength conversion layer 180 is a film, [0103], Fig. 8) and a thickness deviation of the wavelength conversion layer on an upper surface of the light emitting source is less than 10% (Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3; Kim, thickness deviation of the wavelength conversion layer 180 on an upper surface of the light emitting source 120 is less than 10%, [0103], Fig. 8).
Claim 13, Kim/Chen discloses the light emitting device (Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3; Kim, light emitting device 100, [0092], Fig. 8) according to claim 12.
Kim/Chen discloses wherein a side region of the light emitting source includes a length d1 in a lateral direction and the wavelength conversion layer includes a length d2 in the lateral direction, the length d1 being less than or equal to the length d2 (Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3; Kim, width of the side region of the light emitting source 120 has a length d1 which is less than or equal to length d2 which is the width of the wavelength conversion layer 180 in the lateral direction (i.e. difference is ~ 2x distance b1), [0103], Figs. 4 and 8).
Claim 14, Kim/Chen discloses the light emitting device (Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3; Kim, light emitting device 100, [0092], Fig. 8) according to claim 13.
Kim/Chen discloses wherein a ratio of a region of the wavelength conversion layer to a region of the light emitting source is 150% or less (Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3; Kim, a ratio of a region of the wavelength conversion layer 180 to a region of the light emitting source 120 is 150% or less, [0100], Fig. 8).
Claim 15, Kim/Chen discloses the light emitting device (Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3; Kim, light emitting device 100, [0092], Fig. 8) according to claim 12.
Kim/Chen discloses wherein light emitted from the light emitting source has a first wavelength band and the wavelength conversion layer includes a first type of particles converting a fraction of light having a wavelength in the first wavelength band into light having a wavelength in a second wavelength band (Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3; Kim, light emitted from the light emitting source 120 has a first wavelength band and the wavelength conversion layer 180 includes a first type of particles converting a fraction of light having a wavelength in the first wavelength band into light having a wavelength in a second wavelength band, [0101], Fig. 8),
wavelengths in the first wavelength band being shorter than wavelengths in the second wavelength band (Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3; Kim, wavelengths in the first wavelength band being shorter than wavelengths in the second wavelength band when the wavelength conversion layer increases the wavelength of the incident light from the light emitting source 120, [0101], Fig. 8).
Claim 16, Kim/Chen discloses the light emitting device (Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3; Kim, light emitting device 100, [0092], Fig. 8) according to claim 12.
Kim/Chen discloses wherein the wavelength conversion layer (Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3; Kim, wavelength conversion layer 180 further includes a resin layer 185 which may further include other phosphors to improve color purity, hereinafter, second type of wavelength conversion layer 185, [0139], Fig. 8) further includes a second type of particles converting a fraction of light having a wavelength in the first wavelength band into light having a wavelength in a third wavelength band (Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3; Kim, second type of wavelength conversion layer 185 further includes a second type of particles converting a fraction of light having a wavelength in the first wavelength band into light having a wavelength in a third wavelength band, [0139], Fig. 8),
wavelengths in the third wavelength band being longer than wavelengths in the second wavelength band (Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3; Kim, wavelengths in the third wavelength band being longer than wavelengths in the second wavelength band when the second type of wavelength conversion layer 185 increases the wavelength of the incident light from the wavelength conversion layer 180, [0138], Fig. 8).
Claim 17, Kim/Chen discloses the light emitting device (Kim, light emitting device 100, [0092], Fig. 8; Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3) according to claim 11.
Kim/Chen discloses wherein:
a side light extractor (Kim, second resin 240 and third resin 245 are a side light extractor, hereinafter, side light extractor 240/245, [0098], Fig. 8; Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3) disposed between the light emitting source and the reflector (Kim, side light extractor 240/245 is disposed between the light emitting source 120 and the reflector 250, [0098], Fig. 8; Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3) includes a first side light extractor disposed on a side of the light emitting source (Kim, side light extractor 240/245 is disposed on a side of the light emitting source 120 and is a first side light extractor 240 (i.e. left-hand side of light emitting source 120), [0098], Fig. 8; Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3) and a second side light extractor disposed on an other side of the light emitting source (Kim, side light extractor 240/245 is disposed on the other side of the light emitting source 120 and is a second side light extractor 240 (i.e. right-hand side of light emitting source 120), [0098], Fig. 8; Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3); and
a difference between a maximum height of the first side light extractor from the substrate and a maximum height of the second side light extractor from the substrate is less than 10% (Kim, a difference between a maximum height of the first side light extractor 240 (i.e. left-hand side of light emitting source 120) from the substrate 201 and a maximum height of the second side light extractor 240 (i.e. right-hand side of light emitting source 120) from the substrate 201 is less than 10%, [0098], Fig. 8; Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3).
Claim 20, Kim/Chen discloses the light emitting device (Kim, light emitting device 100, [0092], Fig. 8; Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3) according to claim 11.
Kim/Chen discloses wherein the reflector (Kim, reflector 250, [0098], Fig. 8; Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3) comprises a first reflector formed at a side of the light emitting source (Kim, reflector 250 further includes second resin 240 which is a first reflector 240 (i.e. left-hand side of light emitting source 120), [0098], Fig. 8; Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3) and a second reflector formed at an other side of the light emitting source (Kim, reflector 250 further includes second resin 240 which is a second reflector 240 formed at the other side of the light emitting source 120 (i.e. right-hand side of light emitting source 120), [0098], Fig. 8; Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3),
the first reflector and the second reflector having different widths with reference to an imaginary horizontal line from the upper surface of the substrate (Kim, the first reflector (i.e. left-hand side of light emitting source 120) and the second reflector (i.e. right-hand side of light emitting source 120) having different widths with reference to an imaginary horizontal line from an upper surface of the substrate 201, [0098], Fig. 8; Chen, third curved shape of the first reflective surface of the reflector 24 is convex, [0026], Fig. 3).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHEVY J BOEGEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812