Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/18/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 18 April 2024. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, in line 3, the limitation “the image data” lacks sufficient antecedent basis in the claim. For purposes of examination, this is interpreted as “the first image data”.
Regarding claim 4, in lines 3-4, the limitation “the image data” lacks sufficient antecedent basis in the claim. For purposes of examination, this is interpreted as “the first image data”.
Regarding claim 5, in lines 2-3, the limitation “the image data” lacks sufficient antecedent basis in the claim. For purposes of examination, this is interpreted as “the first image data”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8-10 of copending Application No. 18/658,339 (reference is to the claims filed 10/24/2025 in the application file, the application was also published as US patent application publication 2024/0428743 to Miura et al.). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Regarding claim 1, Miura claims a display device comprising: a display; a polarization module placed overlapping the display, the polarization module being configured to actively switch a polarization state between a first polarization state and a second polarization state; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to generate second image data from first image data, cause the display to display a first image based on the first image data and a second image based on the second image data in a time division manner, and switch the polarization state of the polarization module to the first polarization state in a case in which the first image is displayed and to the second polarization state in a case in which the second image is displayed in synchronization with a timing of the time division (see claim 1, lines 1-14).
Regarding claim 2, Miura claims all of the limitations of claim 1.
Miura also claims that in the first polarization state, the first image is visually recognized by a viewer through polarized glasses worn by the viewer, and in the second polarization state, the second image is not visually recognized by the viewer through the polarized glasses (see all of claim 8).
Regarding claim 3, Miura claims all of the limitations of claim 1.
Miura also claims that generating second image data includes converting a gray scale of the image data into a gray scale with a predefined relationship (see all of claim 9).
Regarding claim 5, Miura claims all of the limitations of claim 1.
Miura also claims that generating second image data includes dividing the image data into multiple areas, and changing a gray scale of a pixel belonging to each of the multiple areas to a gray scale with a relationship predefined for each of the multiple areas (see claim 10, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 6, Miura claims all of the limitations of claim 1.
Miura also claims that switching the polarization state of the polarization module includes dividing the polarization module into multiple segments along a scanning direction of the display, and switching the polarization states of the multiple segments in turn along the scanning direction with a time difference (see claim 1, lines 19-23)
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11, and 12 of copending Application No. 19/199,964 (published as US patent application publication 2025/0347936 to Miura et al.). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, Miura claims a display device comprising: a display; a polarization module placed overlapping the display, the polarization module being configured to actively switch a polarization state between a first polarization state and a second polarization state; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to generate second image data from first image data, cause the display to display a first image based on the first image data and a second image based on the second image data in a time division manner, and switch the polarization state of the polarization module to the first polarization state in a case in which the first image is displayed and to the second polarization state in a case in which the second image is displayed in synchronization with a timing of the time division (see all of claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, Miura claims all of the limitations of claim 1.
Miura also claims that in the first polarization state, the first image is visually recognized by a viewer through polarized glasses worn by the viewer, and in the second polarization state, the second image is not visually recognized by the viewer through the polarized glasses (see claim 12, which depends from claim 11).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7-8 of copending Application No. 19/201,058 (published as US patent application publication 2025/0347953 to Kobayashi et al.). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi claims a display device comprising: a display; a polarization module placed overlapping the display, the polarization module being configured to actively switch a polarization state between a first polarization state and a second polarization state; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to generate second image data from first image data, cause the display to display a first image based on the first image data and a second image based on the second image data in a time division manner, and switch the polarization state of the polarization module to the first polarization state in a case in which the first image is displayed and to the second polarization state in a case in which the second image is displayed in synchronization with a timing of the time division (see all of claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, Kobayashi claims all of the limitations of claim 1.
Kobayashi also claims that in the first polarization state, the first image is visually recognized by a viewer through polarized glasses worn by the viewer, and in the second polarization state, the second image is not visually recognized by the viewer through the polarized glasses (see claim 8, which depends from claim 7).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kasahara et al. (US 2020/0007857) (hereafter Kasahara).
Regarding claim 1, Kasahara discloses a display device (see at least the abstract) comprising: a display (see at least Figs. 1 and 2 and paragraph [0042], where display module 8 includes a display panel 20); a polarization module placed overlapping the display, the polarization module being configured to actively switch a polarization state between a first polarization state and a second polarization state (see at least Figs. 1 and 2 and paragraph [0048], polarization modulator 10); and a controller (see at least Fig. 2 and paragraph [0057], where control circuit board 30 is a controller), wherein the controller is configured to generate second image data from first image data (see at least paragraph [0051], where the first and second images display the same content, but differ in luminance, thus it is understood that the second image data is generated from the first by changing its luminance), cause the display to display a first image based on the first image data and a second image based on the second image data in a time division manner, and switch the polarization state of the polarization module to the first polarization state in a case in which the first image is displayed and to the second polarization state in a case in which the second image is displayed in synchronization with a timing of the time division (see at least Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3¸ Kasahara discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Kasahara also discloses that generating second image data includes converting a gray scale of the image data into a gray scale with a predefined relationship (see at least paragraph [0059], where the display controller uses a grayscale voltage, which will vary based on the desired luminance of the first and second images).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 would be objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable, once the above stated rejection under 35 USC 112(b) is corrected, if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims for at least the reason that the prior art fails to teach or suggest a display device wherein generating second image data includes converting a gray scale of a pixel belonging to at least one area of the image data into a different gray scale with a relationship predefined according to the gray scale, and setting a gray scale of a pixel belonging to an area other than the at least one area to a specific gray scale predefined regardless of the gray scale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2010/0238097 to Baik et al. discloses a display device comprising: a display; a polarization module placed overlapping the display, the polarization module being configured to actively switch a polarization state between a first polarization state and a second polarization state; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to cause the display to display a first image based on the first image data and a second image based on the second image data in a time division manner, and switch the polarization state of the polarization module to the first polarization state in a case in which the first image is displayed and to the second polarization state in a case in which the second image is displayed in synchronization with a timing of the time division (see at least Fig. 4 and paragraphs [0048]-[0049]).
However, Baik does not specifically disclose that the controller is configured to generate second image data from first image data.
/ADAM W BOOHER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872