DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/3/2025, have been fully considered and the examiner’s responses are given below.
The claim objections are withdrawn.
The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections are withdrawn.
The 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections are not withdrawn.
Applicant argues the following on page 8:
Examiner respectfully disagrees:
The steps of identifying category labels of objects in environment images can be done in the human mind. A person is able to look at images and determine the type of objects they are looking at in their mind. They are also able to determine road images and traffic flow images from environment images by segmenting roads and vehicles from the rest of the image in their mind.
Applicant’s arguments regarding an improvement to the driving safety field are not persuasive. It appears the specification only gives a bare conclusory statement that the safety of the driving process is improved in paragraph 0032. The specification does not explain in detail the link between the invention and the improvement such that the improvement is apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
The 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejections are withdrawn, however new grounds is presented below.
Applicant’s amendments to the independent claims alter the scope of the claims, therefore new prior art has been applied and applicant’s arguments are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 8 recites “An electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and a data storage storing one or more programs which when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: obtain a current location of a vehicle in real time; determine road data and traffic flow data matched with the current location of the vehicle, comprising: obtain environment images in a circle centered on the current location of the vehicle and with a radius of preset distance; identify category labels of the environment images by using a deep neural network model; determine road images and traffic flow images from the environment images according to the category labels; and extract the road data from the road images and extracting the traffic flow data from the traffic flow images, wherein the road data and the traffic flow data are changed with the current location of the vehicle, the road data comprises one or more lanes and a lane location corresponding to each lane, and the traffic flow data comprises vehicle
The limitation of obtaining a current location of a vehicle, determining road data and traffic flow data, obtaining environment images, identifying category labels, and extracting road data and traffic flow data, as drafted, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting by a “processor”, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, the processor determining road and traffic flow data in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually performing steps of looking at their environment, mentally labeling objects, and determining information of the objects in his mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
The limitations of determining an objective vehicle, obtaining an objective driving location, and determining a planned driving path, as drafted, are also processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting by a “processor”, nothing in the claim precludes the determining and obtaining from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, but for the by a “processor” language, the claim encompasses the user driving a vehicle and thinking about an objective vehicle, determining an objective driving location, and determining a planned driving path. Thus, these limitations are also mental processes.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites using a processor to perform determining, obtaining, identifying, and extracting. The processor in these steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of determining, obtaining, identifying, and extracting) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements of an electronic device, a vehicle, an objective vehicle, processors, and a data storage to perform obtaining, determining, identifying, and extracting, amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2, 4-7, 9, 11-14, 16, and 18-20 when analyzed as a whole, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea. The dependent claims introduce additional elements such as a database and a non-transitory storage medium, which amount to generic computer components. The additional elements in the dependent claims are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons as with claim 8.
Office Note: In order to overcome this rejection, the Office suggests further defining the limitations of the independent claim, for example by linking the claimed subject matter to a non-generic device or controlling movement of the vehicle based on the planned driving path. Limitations such as these suggested above would further bring the claimed subject matter out of the realm of an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-9, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niendorf (US 20220048535 A1, cited in a previous office action) in view of Schlacter (US 20250026376 A1, cited in a previous office action) and Motoyama (US 20220342427 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Niendorf discloses a path planning method applied to a vehicle, the path planning method comprising (Abstract, Paragraph 0036);
obtaining a current location of the vehicle in real time (Paragraphs 0048, 0050, 0054);
determining road data and traffic flow data matched with the current location of the vehicle, comprising (Paragraphs 0048-0050);
determining road images and traffic flow images from the environment images according to the category labels (Paragraphs 0052-0055; “the contextual environment may be represented by a raster image that visually depicts the agent, semantic information, etc. For example, the raster image may be a birds-eye view of the vehicle and its surrounding, up to a predetermined distance. The raster image may include visual information (e.g., bounding boxes, color-coded shapes, etc.) that represent various data of interest (e.g., vehicles, pedestrians, lanes, buildings, etc.)”);
extracting the road data from the road images and extracting the traffic flow data from the traffic flow images (Paragraphs 0052-0055; “information about the contextual environment may be represented by a raster image that visually depicts the agent, semantic information, etc. For example, the raster image may be a birds-eye view of the vehicle and its surrounding, up to a predetermined distance. The raster image may include visual information (e.g., bounding boxes, color-coded shapes, etc.) that represent various data of interest (e.g., vehicles, pedestrians, lanes, buildings, etc.)”);
the road data and the traffic flow data are changed with the current location of the vehicle (Paragraphs 0048-0050);
the road data comprises one or more lanes and a lane location corresponding to each lane (Paragraph 0048-0049, 0055);
the traffic flow data comprises vehicle identification information and vehicle locations corresponding to vehicles in each lane (Paragraphs 0054-0055);
determining an objective vehicle according to the vehicle identification information (Paragraph 0054-0055);
obtaining a vehicle location of the objective vehicle (Paragraph 0054);
obtaining an objective driving location of the vehicle (Paragraph 0046, 0050, 0057);
determining a planned driving path of the vehicle based on the vehicle location of the objective vehicle, the current location and the objective driving location of the vehicle (Paragraph 0057).
Niendorf does not specifically state obtaining environment images in a circle centered on the current location of the vehicle and with a radius of preset distance.
However, Schlacter teaches obtaining environment images in a circle centered on the current location of the vehicle and with a radius of preset distance (Paragraph 0019, Fig. 1; “the components of perception engine aboard the automated vehicle enable the truck 102 to perceive the environment 100 within a perception radius 130”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Niendorf with obtaining environment images center on the current location of the vehicle and within a radius of the vehicle of Schlacter with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that an ego autonomous vehicle may use cameras to image surrounding vehicles within a radius. A close vehicle within the camera radius poses the most danger to the vehicle as opposed to one outside the sensor radius. The ego vehicle can use these hazardous other vehicles within a radius to perform an avoidance action. One would have been motivated to combine Niendorf with Schlacter as this achieves increased driving safety. As stated in Schlacter, “What is further needed is a means for taking action to avoid the traffic vehicle or provide a safety buffer” (Paragraphs 0004-0005).
Niendorf does not specifically state identifying category labels of the environment images by using a deep neural network model.
However, Motoyama teaches identifying category labels of the environment images by using a deep neural network model (Paragraphs 0113-0120; “The semantic segmentation processing unit 72 reads and uses a neural network learned in advance by machine learning such as deep learning and stored in the storage unit 73, classifies the types of subjects in the image”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Niendorf with identifying category labels of environment images by using a deep neural network model of Motoyama with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a deep neural network model is able to label and extract obstacles within an environment. This allows the vehicle to plan trajectories to avoid the obstacle. One would have been motivated to combine Niendorf with Motoyama as this improves object detection and recognition. As stated in Motoyama, “because only the feature points labeled with the semantic label that can be an obstacle when the moving body 11 moves are extracted, it is possible to form a Delaunay mesh in a region where an object to be recognized as an obstacle on the basis of the extracted feature points exists. This makes it possible to plan a trajectory to avoid the obstacle” (Paragraph 0143).
Regarding claim 2, Niendorf discloses determining the road data and the traffic flow data matched with the current location of the vehicle comprises (Paragraphs 0048-0050).
Niendorf does not specifically state obtaining the road data and the traffic flow data in a circle centered on the current location of the vehicle and radiused by a preset distance.
However, Schlacter teaches obtaining the road data and the traffic flow data in a circle centered on the current location of the vehicle and radiused by a preset distance (Paragraph 0019, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Niendorf with obtaining road data and traffic flow data within a radius of the vehicle of Schlacter with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that an ego autonomous vehicle may detect surrounding vehicles within a radius to determine what is most relevant. A close vehicle within a sensor radius poses the most danger to the vehicle as opposed to one outside the sensor radius. The ego vehicle can use these hazardous other vehicles within a radius to perform an avoidance action. One would have been motivated to combine Niendorf with Schlacter as this achieves increased driving safety. As stated in Schlacter, “What is further needed is a means for taking action to avoid the traffic vehicle or provide a safety buffer” (Paragraphs 0004-0005).
Regarding claim 7, Niendorf discloses determining the planned driving path of the vehicle based on the vehicle location of the objective vehicle, and the current location and the objective driving location of the vehicle comprises (Paragraph 0057);
planning an initial driving path of the vehicle based on the current location and the objective driving location of the vehicle (Paragraph 0050);
adjusting the initial driving path in real time to obtain the planned driving path of the vehicle based on the vehicle location of the objective vehicle (Paragraphs 0056-0058).
Regarding claim 8, Niendorf discloses an electronic device, comprising (Paragraph 0059-0064);
at least one processor; and a data storage storing one or more programs which when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to (Paragraph 0059-0064).
all other limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 1. The electronic device taught/disclosed in claim 8 can be clearly performed with the method of claim 1. Therefore, claim 8 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 9, Niendorf discloses the at least one processor (Paragraph 0059-0064).
All other limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 2. The electronic device taught/disclosed in claim 9 can be clearly performed with the method of claim 2. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 14, Niendorf discloses the at least one processor (Paragraph 0059-0064).
all other limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 7. The electronic device taught/disclosed in claim 14 can be clearly performed with the method of claim 7. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 15, Niendorf discloses a non-transitory storage medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by a processor of an electronic device, causes the electronic device to perform a path planning method, the path planning method comprising (Paragraph 0059-0064).
all other limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 1. The non-transitory storage medium taught/disclosed in claim 15 can be clearly performed with the method of claim 1. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 16, all limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 2. The non-transitory storage medium taught/disclosed in claim 16 can be clearly performed with the method of claim 2. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niendorf, Schlacter, and Motoyama, as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Barrera (US 20240416907 A1, cited in a previous office action).
Regarding claim 4, Niendorf discloses extracting the traffic flow data from the traffic flow images comprises (Paragraphs 0053-0055);
determining the vehicle identification information matching with the current location of the vehicle based on the traffic flow images (Paragraphs 0052-0055).
Niendorf does not specifically state the vehicle identification information comprises first license plate information; determining objective license plate information matching with second license plate information from the first license plate information; a vehicle corresponding to the second license plate information comprises a first function, the first function illustrates the vehicle with an automatic driving function, a cargo function, or an engineering function.
However, Barrera teaches the vehicle identification information comprises first license plate information (Paragraphs 0200, 0204);
determining objective license plate information matching with second license plate information from the first license plate information (Paragraphs 0217, 0229);
a vehicle corresponding to the second license plate information comprises a first function, the first function illustrates the vehicle with an automatic driving function, a cargo function, or an engineering function (Paragraphs 0217, 0229).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Niendorf with obtaining first license plate information and determining objective license plate information by matching of Barrera with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that an ego autonomous vehicle can determine whether a neighboring vehicle is also an autonomous vehicle or not based on their license plate. In a lane merge situation, the ego autonomous vehicle can communicate through V2V and coordinate maneuvers if the other vehicle is also an autonomous vehicle. The ego autonomous vehicle can also predict the other vehicle’s behavior, based on whether the other vehicle is an autonomous vehicle, which ensures a safer merge. One would have been motivated to combine Niendorf with Barrera as this improves safety and navigation efficiency. As stated in Barrera, “When a lane ends or is reduced, it can create dangerous situations for human drivers, as they may not be able to react quickly enough to avoid collisions. This is especially true in high-speed or high-traffic areas. Therefore, there is a need for a method and system for autonomous vehicles to navigate the roads safely and efficiently, reducing the risk of accidents and improving the overall experience for passengers and other drivers on the road” (Paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 11, Niendorf discloses the at least one processor (Paragraph 0059-0064).
All other limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 4. The electronic device taught/disclosed in claim 11 can be clearly performed with the method of claim 4. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 18, all limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 4. The non-transitory storage medium taught/disclosed in claim 18 can be clearly performed with the method of claim 4. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niendorf, Schlacter, Motoyama, and Barrera, as applied to claims 4, 11, and 18 above, and further in view of Cui (US 20210389780 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Niendorf discloses determining the objective vehicle according to the vehicle identification information comprises (Paragraph 0054-0055).
Niendorf does not specifically state marking a vehicle matching with the objective license plate information as the objective vehicle.
However, Cui teaches marking a vehicle matching with the objective license plate information as the objective vehicle (Paragraphs 0035, Claims 4-7, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Niendorf with marking a vehicle with the objective license plate information as the objective vehicle of Cui with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that marking nearby autonomous vehicles enhances a vehicle and driver’s understanding of their environment. Understanding nearby autonomous vehicles allows the ego vehicle to take proper evasive actions which improve road traffic safety. One would have been motivated to combine Niendorf with Cui as this achieves improved safety. As stated in Cui, “an augment reality display of the vehicles can be used to further facilitate communication between non-autonomous and autonomous vehicles. For example, a predicted direction or an imperative direction associated with an autonomous vehicle can be communicated to a non-autonomous vehicle such that an augmented reality display of the non-autonomous vehicle can alert the driver of the non-autonomous vehicle of a of such to increase safety measures” (Abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Niendorf discloses the at least one processor (Paragraph 0059-0064).
All other limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 5. The electronic device taught/disclosed in claim 12 can be clearly performed with the method of claim 5. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 19, all limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 5. The non-transitory storage medium taught/disclosed in claim 19 can be clearly performed with the method of claim 5. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niendorf, Schlacter, and Motoyama, as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Sasaki (US 20190094881 A1, cited in a previous office action).
Regarding claim 6, Niendorf discloses after obtaining the vehicle location of the objective vehicle, the method further comprises (Paragraph 0054).
Niendorf does not specifically state storing the current location of the vehicle; a road date; the vehicle location of the objective vehicle to a database of the vehicle.
However, Sasaki teaches storing the current location of the vehicle (Paragraphs 0065-0066);
a road date (Paragraphs 0065-0066);
the vehicle location of the objective vehicle to a database of the vehicle (Paragraphs 0065-0066).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Niendorf with storing the current location of the vehicle, road date, and the objective vehicle location to a database of the vehicle of Sasaki with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a vehicle can store and process its current location, date, and vehicle location of the objective vehicle in order to perform navigation while avoiding collisions. The date allows the ego vehicle to determine traffic patterns, while understanding the current location and the location of the objective vehicle allows the ego vehicle to avoid colliding with the objective vehicle. One would have been motivated to combine Niendorf with Sasaki as this achieves successfully navigating the vehicle to a destination. As stated in Niendorf, “the autonomous vehicle 940 may be equipped with a processing unit (e.g., one or more CPUs and GPUs), memory, and storage. The vehicle 940 may thus be equipped to perform a variety of computational and processing tasks, including processing the sensor data, extracting useful information, and operating accordingly… the navigation system 946 may use its determinations to control the vehicle 940 to operate in prescribed manners and to guide the autonomous vehicle 940 to its destinations without colliding into other objects” (Paragraphs 0049-0050).
Regarding claim 13, Niendorf discloses after the at least one processor (Paragraph 0059-0064);
obtains the vehicle location of the objective vehicle (Paragraph 0054);
the at least one processor is further caused to (Paragraph 0059-0064).
Niendorf does not specifically state store the current location of the vehicle; the road data; the vehicle location of the objective vehicle to a database of the vehicle.
However, Sasaki teaches store the current location of the vehicle (Paragraphs 0065-0066);
the road data (Paragraphs 0062, 0065-0066; Road data is mapped to site information);
the vehicle location of the objective vehicle to a database of the vehicle (Paragraphs 0065-0066).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Niendorf with storing the current location of the vehicle, road data, and the objective vehicle location to a database of the vehicle of Sasaki with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a vehicle can store and process its current location, road data, and vehicle location of the objective vehicle in order to perform navigation while avoiding collisions. One would have been motivated to combine Niendorf with Sasaki as this achieves successfully navigating the vehicle to a destination. As stated in Niendorf, “the autonomous vehicle 940 may be equipped with a processing unit (e.g., one or more CPUs and GPUs), memory, and storage. The vehicle 940 may thus be equipped to perform a variety of computational and processing tasks, including processing the sensor data, extracting useful information, and operating accordingly… the navigation system 946 may use its determinations to control the vehicle 940 to operate in prescribed manners and to guide the autonomous vehicle 940 to its destinations without colliding into other objects” (Paragraphs 0049-0050).
Regarding claim 20, all limitations have been examined with respect to the electronic device in claim 13. The non-transitory storage medium taught/disclosed in claim 20 can be clearly performed with the electronic device of claim 13. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to Matthew Ho whose telephone number is (571) 272-1388. The examiner can
normally be reached on Mon-Thurs 9:00-5:30 EST.
/MATTHEW HO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669