DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation – 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“obtaining unit, configured to…”; and “processing unit, configure to…” in claim 11; and
“output unit…configured to…” in claim 13.
The corresponding structure for performing the function of the “obtaining unit”, “processing unit” and “output unit” is a processor executing a program stored in memory (i.e. computer), see figures 4, 5 and paragraph 131, as well as the entire corresponding algorithm for performing the functions associated with the units, as is detailed throughout the specification and drawings, and summarized by the combination of claims 11-18. See also “Computer-Implemented Means-Plus-Function Limitations” MPEP 2181(II)(B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0294222 to Wen et al. (“Wen”).
Regarding claim 1, Wen discloses a method for defect detection (Fig. 2), comprising:
obtaining a defect eigenvector of an image to be detected (paragraphs 46-48, wherein features are extracted from the subimage and used to obtain a target/defect eigenvector);
calculating a similarity score of the image to be detected for each known defect type according to the defect eigenvector (paragraphs 37, 46-48, wherein, using a deep CNN defect classification model, the target/defect eigenvector is compared to each eigenvector of known defects in the table to determine a known eigenvector that are identical or similar, corresponding to calculating a similarity score); and
performing defect classification on the image to be detected according to the similarity score (paragraph 49-50, wherein at least one defect category for the subimage is obtained based on the calculated similarities, corresponding to performing defect classification on the image).
Regarding claim 2, Wen discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the calculating a similarity score of the image to be detected for each known defect type according to the defect eigenvector comprises:
mapping the defect eigenvector into a trained eigenvector space, wherein the trained eigenvector space comprises a distribution position of a defect eigenvector of the known defect type (paragraphs 37, 46-48, wherein mapping/comparing the target/defect eigenvector to known defect eigenvectors in the table/space is done by a trained Deep CNN classification model (Fig. 4)); and
calculating a distance between the defect eigenvector and the defect eigenvector of the known defect type, so as to obtain the similarity score of the image to be detected for each known defect type (paragraphs 37, 46-48, wherein, as is known in the art, the trained Deep CNN calculates a distance/difference between the target/defect eigenvector and each of the known defect eigenvectors so as to obtain a similarity score used to identify the most appropriate defect category).
Regarding claim 3, Wen discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the performing defect classification on the image to be detected according to the similarity scores comprises:
when a maximum similarity score in similarity scores is not less than a similarity threshold, outputting a defect type corresponding to the maximum similarity score (paragraph 48, wherein if the compared eigenvectors are identical or similar (i.e. not less than a similarity threshold) then the corresponding defect type is output);
OR
when the similarity scores are all less than the similarity threshold, outputting an unknown defect type (alternative limitation).
Regarding claim 4, Wen discloses the method according to claim 3, further comprising:
outputting the similarity score corresponding to the defect type (paragraphs 37 and 48, wherein as is known in the art, a deep CNN provides outputs a correlation/similarity score associated with the categories/patterns it is trained to recognize).
Regarding claim 5, Wen disclose the method according claim 1, wherein the obtaining a defect eigenvector of an image to be detected comprises:
obtaining the defect eigenvector by an encoding module (paragraphs 37 and 48, wherein the deep CNN corresponds to an “encoding module” configured to create/obtain the target/defect eigenvector from extracted features).
Regarding claim 7, Wen discloses he method according to claim 5, further comprising:
obtaining defect position information of the image to be detected by a decoding module (paragraphs 37 and 48, wherein the deep CNN corresponds to an “decoding module” configured to “decode” an image to obtain the position of defects).
Regarding claim 19, Wen discloses an apparatus for defect detection, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a program, and the processor is configured to call the program from the memory and run the program to perform the method for defect detection according to claim 1 (Figs. 6 and paragraphs 86-90).
Regarding claim 20, Wen discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when run on a computer, causes the computer to perform the method for defect detection according to claim 1 (Figs. 6 and paragraphs 86-90).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-18 allowed.
Claims 6 and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claim 11, as explained above, the limitations “obtaining unit, configured to…” and “processing unit, configured to…” invoke 112(f), which are considered to be computer-implemented means-plus-function limitations, and therefore the structure for performing the associated functions of those units is a processor/computer executing a program stored in memory (i.e. computer), see figures 4, 5 and paragraph 131, as well as the entire corresponding algorithm as is detailed throughout the specification and drawings, and summarized by the combination of claims 11-18. As discussed above with regards to independent claim 1, the prior art of Wen (US 2020/0294222) discloses a similar process of comparing a target eigenvector with eigenvectors of known defects to determine a defect classification. However, neither Wen nor any other prior art found teach or fairly suggests the details of the “encoding module” portion of the algorithm used to obtain the defect eigenvector or “decoding module” portion of the algorithm used to obtain the defect position, that is associated with the function of the “obtaining unit”, as is disclosed in figure 3 and paragraphs 94-117, and summarized in claims 15-18. Therefore, independent claim 11 is considered to be in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/AARON W CARTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661