Double Patenting
Claims [ 1-20 ] of this application are patentably indistinct from claim [ 1-20 ] of Application No. [ 18/640,422 ]. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claims [ 1-20 ] are directed to the same invention as that of claims [ 1-20 ] of commonly assigned [ US 20240363150 A1 ]. Under 35 U.S.C. 101, more than one patent may not be issued on the same invention.
The USPTO may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application having common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). The applicant should amend or cancel claims such that the reference and the instant application no longer contain claims directed to the same invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of (US 20240363150 A1) discloses a method, comprising:
forming a first lithography mask over a film stack comprising a plurality of alternating first layers and second layers;
forming an array of contact opening pairs in the film stack, wherein an opening through the first lithography mask is expanded in a first direction following each etch process of a first series of alternating lithography and etch processes, and wherein a depth of the array of contact opening pairs varies in the first direction;
forming a second lithography mask over the film stack; and
expanding an opening through the second lithography mask in a second direction following each etch process of a second series of alternating lithography and etch processes, and wherein the depth of the array of contact opening pairs varies in the second direction.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 of (US 20240363150 A1) discloses further comprising defining the film stack by a first main side opposite a second main side, and a first end opposite a second end, wherein a central axis extends in the second direction between the first end and the second end, wherein a first contact opening of each contact opening pair of the array of contact opening pairs is located on a first side of the central axis, and wherein a second contact opening of each contact opening pair of the array of contact opening pairs is located on a second side of the central axis.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 of (US 20240363150 A1) discloses wherein forming the array of contact opening pairs comprises etching the first contact opening of each contact opening pair of the array of contact opening pairs to have a same depth as a corresponding second contact opening of each contact pair of the array of contact pairs.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 of (US 20240363150 A1) discloses wherein the depth, in the first direction, of the array of contact opening pairs is greatest directly adjacent the central axis.
Regar4ding claim 5, claim 5 of (US 20240363150 A1) discloses further comprising: forming a liner within each contact opening of the array of contact opening pairs; removing the first layers to form a plurality of wordline openings in the film stack; forming a plurality of wordlines by depositing a first conductive material within the plurality of wordline openings; removing the liner from a bottom of each contact opening of the array of contact opening pairs; and depositing a second conductive material within the array of contact opening pairs to form a plurality of wordline contacts.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 of (US 20240363150 A1) discloses a method of forming a 3D NAND device, comprising:
forming a patterned hardmask and a first lithography mask over a film stack, wherein the film stack comprises a plurality of alternating first layers and second layers;
etching the film stack, through an opening of the first lithography mask, to form a first plurality of contact openings in the film stack;
expanding the opening of the first lithography mask in a first direction;
etching the film stack, through the opening of the first lithography mask, to form a second plurality of contact openings in the film stack, wherein a depth of the first plurality of contact openings increases as the second plurality of contact openings are formed;
forming a second lithography mask over the film stack; forming an opening through the second lithography mask;
etching the film stack, through the opening of the second lithography mask, to increase a depth of a subset of the first plurality of contact openings and a subset of the second plurality of contact openings;
expanding the opening of the second lithography mask in a second direction, wherein the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction; and
etching the film stack, through the opening of the second lithography mask, to increase a depth of a second subset of the first plurality of contact openings and a second subset of the second plurality of contact openings, wherein the depth of the first and second plurality of contact openings varies in the first direction and the second direction.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 of (US 20240363150 A1) disclose further comprising increasing the depth of the subset of the first plurality of contact openings and of the subset of the second plurality of contact openings as the depth of the second subset of the first plurality of contact openings and the depth of the second subset of the second plurality of contact openings is increased.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 of (US 20240363150 A1) discloses further comprising: forming a third lithography mask over the film stack, wherein the third lithography mask has a plurality of openings to expose one or more first portions of first and second plurality of contact openings; and etching the film stack through the plurality of openings of the third lithography mask to further increase the etch depth of the one or more first portions of first and second plurality of contact openings.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 of (US 20240363150 A1) discloses further comprising: forming a fourth lithography mask over the film stack, wherein the fourth lithography mask has a plurality of openings to expose one or more second portions of the first and second plurality of contact openings; and etching the film stack through the plurality of openings of the fourth lithography mask to further increase the etch depth of the one or more second portions of first and second plurality of contact openings.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 of (US 20240363150 A1) discloses wherein etching the film stack through the plurality of openings of the fourth lithography mask further increases the etch depth of the one or more first portions of first and second plurality of contact openings.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 of (US 20240363150 A1) discloses further comprising:
removing the first layers to form a plurality of wordline openings in the film stack;
forming a plurality of wordlines by depositing a first conductive material within the plurality of wordline openings;
removing a liner from a bottom of the first and second plurality of contact openings; and
depositing a conductive material within the first and second plurality of contact openings to form a plurality of wordline contacts.
Regarding claims 12, claim 12 of (US 20240363150 A1) discloses wherein forming the patterned hardmask comprises: depositing a hardmask directly atop an upper surface of the film stack; and forming a plurality of openings through the hardmask to expose the upper surface of the film stack.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 of (US 20240363150 A1) discloses wherein forming the plurality of openings through the hardmask comprises: forming a lithography mask over the hardmask; etching a plurality of hardmask openings through the lithography mask to expose an upper surface of the hardmask; and etching through the plurality of hardmask openings to selectively expose the upper surface of the film stack.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 of (US 20240363150 A1) discloses wherein the hardmask is a tungsten hardmask.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 of (US 20240363150 A1) discloses a system, comprising:
a processor;
a memory storing instructions executable by the processor to:
form a patterned hardmask and a first lithography mask over a film stack, wherein the film stack comprises a plurality of alternating first layers and second layers;
etch the film stack, through an opening of the first lithography mask, to form a first plurality of contact openings in the film stack;
expanding the opening of the first lithography mask in a first direction;
etch the film stack, through the opening of the first lithography mask, to form a second plurality of contact openings in the film stack, wherein a depth of the first plurality of contact openings increases as the second plurality of contact openings are formed;
etch the film stack, through an opening of a second lithography mask formed over the film stack, to increase a depth of a subset of the first plurality of contact openings and a subset of the second plurality of contact openings; expanding the opening of the second lithography mask in a second direction, wherein the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction; and
etch the film stack, through the opening of the second lithography mask, to increase a depth of a second subset of the first plurality of contact openings and a second subset of the second plurality of contact openings, wherein the depth of the first and second plurality of contact openings varies in the first direction and the second direction.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 of (US 20240363150 A1) discloses further comprising instructions executable by the processor to increase the depth of the subset of the first plurality of contact openings and of the subset of the second plurality of contact openings as the depth of the second subset of the first plurality of contact openings and the depth of the second subset of the second plurality of contact openings is increased.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 of (US 20240363150 A1) discloses further comprising instructions executable by the processor to: form a third lithography mask over the film stack, wherein the third lithography mask has a plurality of openings to expose one or more first portions of first and second plurality of contact openings; and etch the film stack through the plurality of openings of the third lithography mask to further increase the etch depth of the one or more first portions of first and second plurality of contact openings.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 of (US 20240363150 A1) discloses further comprising instructions executable by the processor to: form a fourth lithography mask over the film stack, wherein the fourth lithography mask has a plurality of openings to expose one or more second portions of the first and second plurality of contact openings; and etch the film stack through the plurality of openings of the fourth lithography mask to further increase the etch depth of the one or more second portions of first and second plurality of contact openings.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 of (US 20240363150 A1) discloses wherein etching the film stack through the plurality of openings of the fourth lithography mask further increases the etch depth of the one or more first portions of first and second plurality of contact openings.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 of (US 20240363150 A1) discloses further comprising instructions executable by the processor to: form a plurality of wordlines by depositing a first conductive material within a plurality of wordline openings; remove a liner from a bottom of the first and second plurality of contact openings; and deposit a second conductive material within the first and second plurality of contact openings to form a plurality of wordline contacts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims [ 1, 3 ] are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al US 20190067299 (hereinafter Huang) and further in view of Yatsuda et al. US 11171050 B2 (hereinafter Yatsuda)
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses:
forming a first lithography mask over a film stack comprising alternating first layers and second layers;( each of the mask patterns is configured to define a respective contact-line-blocking pattern…a first lithography mask that includes a first pattern and a second pattern; [0112]) forming an array of contact opening pairs in the film stack, (the contact-line-blocking pattern is configured to pattern a plurality of contact lines [0112])wherein an opening through the first lithography mask is expanded in a first direction following each etch process of a first series of alternating lithography and etch processes,( forming a first contact-line-blocking pattern using a first lithography mask that includes a first mask pattern; claim 2; the contact lines each extend in a first direction; [0112])
forming an opening through a second lithography mask formed over the [layer],( forming a second contact-line-blocking pattern using a second lithography mask that includes a second mask pattern; claim 2) wherein the opening is expanded in a second direction following each etch process of a second series of alternating lithography and etch processes, (a second lithography mask that includes one or more second mask patterns, wherein the one or more second mask patterns are configured to break up at least a second contact line; paragraph [0113])
Huang does not disclose:
a film stack; and
a depth of the array of contact opening pairs varies in the first direction; the depth of the array of contact opening pairs varies in the second direction.
Yatsuda discloses:
a film stack ([col 4, lines 26 – 29; Fig 1]); and
a depth of the array of contact opening pairs varies in the first direction; the depth of the array of contact opening pairs varies in the second direction. ([col 8, lines 18 – 37])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Yatsuda’s anisotropic dry etching technology to etch a different depth enables the creation of multi-level, 3D topographies on a single substrate; to allow engineers to integrate components of varying functionalities—such as shallow fluid routing channels and deep microfluidic mixing chambers—without manufacturing separate chips.
Regarding claims 3, Huang in view of Yatsuda teaches the limitations of claim 1, as
discussed above.
Huang discloses:
forming the array of contact opening pairs comprises etching the first contact opening of each contact opening pair of the array of contact opening pairs to have a same depth as a corresponding second contact opening of each contact pair of the array of contact pairs. (forming a first contact-line-blocking pattern using a first lithography mask that includes a first mask pattern; claim 2; The openings 770-772 each define the location of a respective contact line; [0072]; Fig 15B; the depths of 770, 771, and 772 are identical)
Claims 2, 4, 5 are allowable.
Regarding claim 2, Huang and Yatsuda are silent with respect to:
further comprising defining the film stack by a first main side opposite a second main side,
and a first end opposite a second end, wherein a central axis extends in the second direction between the first end and the second end,
wherein a first contact opening of each contact opening pair of the array of contact opening pairs is located on a first side of the central axis,
Regarding claim 4, Huang and Yatsuda are silent with respect to:
wherein the depth, in the first direction, of the array of contact opening pairs is greatest directly adjacent the central axis.
Regarding claim 5, Huang and Yatsuda are silent with respect to:
removing a gapfill from one or more contact openings of the array of contact opening pairs after performing the second series of alternating lithography and etch processes;
forming a liner within each contact opening of the array of contact opening pairs after removing the gapfill from the one or more contact openings;
removing the first layers to form a plurality of wordline openings in the film stack;
Claims (6-14) are allowable.
Huang discloses a method, comprising:
A method of forming a 3D NAND device, comprising: forming a patterned hardmask and a first lithography mask over a film stack, wherein the film stack comprises a plurality of alternating first layers and second layers; (paragraph [0112])
etching the film stack, through an opening of the first lithography mask, to form a first plurality of contact openings in the film stack; (paragraph [0112])
expanding the opening of the first lithography mask in a first direction; (paragraph [0112])
Huang is silent with respect to:
etching the film stack, through the opening of the first lithography mask, to form a second plurality of contact openings in the film stack, wherein a depth of the first plurality of contact openings increases as the second plurality of contact openings are formed;
etching the film stack, through an opening of a second lithography mask formed over the film stack, to increase a depth of a subset of the first plurality of contact openings and a subset of the second plurality of contact openings;
etching the film stack, through the opening of the second lithography mask, to increase a depth of a second subset of the first plurality of contact openings and a second subset of the second plurality of contact openings,
wherein the depth of the first and second plurality of contact openings varies in the first direction and the second direction.
Yatsuda discloses a method, comprising:
wherein the depth of the first and second plurality of contact openings varies in the first direction and the second direction., (paragraph (49))
Huang and Yatsuda are silent with respect to:
etching the film stack, through the opening of the first lithography mask, to form a second plurality of contact openings in the film stack, wherein a depth of the first plurality of contact openings increases as the second plurality of contact openings are formed;
etching the film stack, through an opening of a second lithography mask formed over the film stack, to increase a depth of a subset of the first plurality of contact openings and a subset of the second plurality of contact openings;
etching the film stack, through the opening of the second lithography mask, to increase a depth of a second subset of the first plurality of contact openings and a second subset of the second plurality of contact openings,
Claims (15-20) are allowable.
Huang discloses a method, comprising:
A system, comprising: a processor; a memory storing instructions executable by the processor to: form a patterned hardmask and a first lithography mask over a film stack, wherein the film stack comprises a plurality of alternating first layers and second layers; etch the film stack, through an opening of the first lithography mask, to form a first plurality of contact openings in the film stack; expand the opening of the first lithography mask in a first direction; etch the film stack, through the opening of the first lithography mask, to form a second plurality of contact openings in the film stack, (paragraph [0112])
Huang is silent with respect to:
wherein a depth of the first plurality of contact openings increases as the second plurality of contact openings are formed;
etch the film stack, through an opening of a second lithography mask formed over the film stack, to increase a depth of a subset of the first plurality of contact openings and a subset of the second plurality of contact openings;
and etch the film stack, through the opening of the second lithography mask, to increase a depth of a second subset of the first plurality of contact openings and a second subset of the second plurality of contact openings,
wherein the depth of the first and second plurality of contact openings varies in the first direction and the second direction.
Yatsuda discloses a method, comprising:
wherein the depth of the first and second plurality of contact openings varies in the first direction and the second direction. (paragraph (49)))
Huang and Yatsuda are silent with respect to:
wherein a depth of the first plurality of contact openings increases as the second plurality of contact openings are formed;
etch the film stack, through an opening of a second lithography mask formed over the film stack, to increase a depth of a subset of the first plurality of contact openings and a subset of the second plurality of contact openings;
and etch the film stack, through the opening of the second lithography mask, to increase a depth of a second subset of the first plurality of contact openings and a second subset of the second plurality of contact openings,
Conclusion
/WEI LI/Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899