DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “necking piece” and “press-fit piece” in claim 1; first driving assembly in claim 5; second driving assembly in claim 9; and third driving assembly in claim 10.
Regarding necking piece, the phrase includes a generic placeholder (“necking piece”) modified by functional language (“coordinate with the inner mold to form a necked portion”) and not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as necking piece 20 which is described as a hob or roller (Figs. 2-4; Para. [0073]) and equivalents thereof.
Regarding press-fit piece, the phrase includes a generic placeholder (“press-fit piece”) modified by functional language (“coordinate with the necking piece to press and flatten the flanged portion”) and not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as press-fit piece 30 which is described as a press structure of various shapes (Para. [0074]; Figs. 4-5) and equivalents thereof.
Regarding first driving assembly, the phrase includes a generic placeholder (“first driving assembly”) modified by functional language (“configured to drive the press-fit piece”) and not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as a linear cylinder, screw rod, or single-axis manipulator (Para. [0091]) and equivalents thereof.
Regarding second driving assembly, the phrase includes a generic placeholder (“second driving assembly”) modified by functional language (“configured to drive the necking piece”) and not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as a linear cylinder, screw rod, or single-axis manipulator (Para. [0107]) and equivalents thereof.
Regarding third driving assembly, the phrase includes a generic placeholder (“third driving assembly”) modified by functional language (“configured to drive the necking roller to revolve around the inner mold”) and not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as a rotating driving assembly such as a turntable driven by a motor or a ring gear (Para. [0109]) and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, these claims recite the necking piece and the press-fit piece are each configured to “coordinate” with other components which renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear what is required for the pieces to “coordinate,” i.e., the pieces work together to form a feature or merely work in sequence during the process. For the purposes of examination, this phrase will be interpreted as the pieces are configured to both operate during the forming process. Claims 2-14 depend from claim 1 and fail to clarify the indefinite language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,606,207 to Slade.
Regarding claim 1, Slade teaches a necking and flanging apparatus (Abstract), comprising:
an inner mold 20 (Fig. 1; Col. 8, Lns. 17-51);
a necking piece 50, disposed around the inner mold 20, wherein the necking piece 50 is movable along a radial direction of the inner mold 20, and the necking piece 50 is configured to coordinate with the inner mold 20 to form a necked portion on a housing (Figs. 1-7; Col. 8, Ln. 63 through Col. 9, Ln. 14; the carrier 50 includes roll 46 that is moveable in the radial direction to form the necked portion); and
a press-fit piece 42, disposed around the inner mold 20, wherein the press-fit piece 42 is movable along an axial direction of the inner mold 20, and the press-fit piece 42 is configured to coordinate with the necking piece 50 to press and flatten the flanged portion of the housing (Figs. 1-7; Col. 8, Lns. 52-62).
Regarding claim 2, Slade teaches the necking and flanging apparatus according to claim 1 (Fig. 1), wherein the press-fit piece 42 is ring-shaped, and the press-fit piece is sleeved on the inner mold 20 (Fig. 1; Col. 8, Lns. 52-62; piece 42 is a ring sleeved around the mold 20).
Regarding claim 3, Slade teaches the necking and flanging apparatus according to claim 2 (Fig. 1), wherein:
outer peripheral surfaces of the inner mold comprise a first outer peripheral surface 22, a second outer peripheral surface 30, and a transition surface 34 (Figs. 1, 2 and 4; Col. 8, Lns. 17-51);
a diameter of the first outer peripheral 22 surface is larger than a diameter of the second outer peripheral surface 30 (Fig. 1);
the transition surface 34 connects the first outer peripheral surface 22 and the second outer peripheral surface 30 (Fig. 1);
the necking piece 50 is configured to coordinate with the second outer peripheral surface 30 (Fig. 2; the necking piece 50 includes roller 46 that interacts with the chuck 30 to form the neck); and
the press-fit piece 42 is sleeved on the first outer peripheral surface 22 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Slade teaches the necking and flanging apparatus according to claim 1 (Fig. 1), wherein the press-fit piece 42 is slidably connected to the inner mold 20 along the axial direction of the inner mold 20 (Figs. 1-2; Col. 8, Lns. 52-62; the ring 42 is slidable relative to the mold 20 and it is connected to the mold via its placement around and movement relative to the mold).
Regarding claim 5, Slade teaches the necking and flanging apparatus according to claim 1 (Fig. 1), further comprising: a first driving assembly 72, configured to drive the press-fit 42 piece to move along the axial direction of the inner mold 20 (Fig. 1; Col. 10, Lns. 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, Slade teaches the necking and flanging apparatus according to claim 1 (Fig. 1), wherein the press-fit piece 42 comprises a first surface oriented toward the necking piece 50 along the axial direction of the inner mold, and the first surface is a flat face perpendicular to the axial direction of the inner mold (Figs. 1-3 show that the bottom of the press-fit piece is a flat surface that is oriented towards and contacts the necking piece).
Regarding claim 8, Slade teaches the necking and flanging apparatus according to claim 1 (Fig. 1), wherein the necking piece 50 is one of a plurality of necking pieces of the necking and flanging apparatus, and the plurality of necking pieces 50 are distributed along a circumferential direction of the inner mold 20 (Fig. 1; Col. 8, Ln. 63 through Col. 9, Ln. 14; the system includes more than one necking piece 46, 50 and these are distributed about the circumference of the neck of the workpiece).
Regarding claim 9, Slade teaches the necking and flanging apparatus according to claim 1 (Fig. 1), further comprising: a second driving assembly 70, configured to drive the necking piece 50 to move along the radial direction of the inner mold 20 (Fig. 1; Col. 9, Lns. 58-68).
Regarding claim 11, Slade teaches the necking and flanging apparatus according to claim 1 (Fig. 1), further comprising: a fixing mechanism 16, disposed opposite to the inner mold 20 along the axial direction of the inner mold 20, and configured to fix the housing (Fig. 1; Col. 8, Lns. 12-16).
Regarding claim 12, Slade teaches the necking and flanging apparatus according to claim 1 (Fig. 1), wherein the inner mold 20 comprises a gas duct 52, and the gas duct 52 is configured to feed a high-pressure gas into the housing (Figs. 1 and 4; Col. 9, Lns. 15-29).
Regarding claim 13, Slade teaches the necking and flanging apparatus according to claim 12 (Fig. 1), wherein the gas duct 52 runs through the inner mold 20 along the axial direction of the inner mold 20 (Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 14, Slade teaches a piece of battery manufacturing equipment, wherein the equipment comprises the necking and flanging apparatus according to claim 1 (Fig. 1; Col. 1, Lns. 24-29; the necking and flanging equipment may be used to form any hollow body, which a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand to include a battery housing), and the necking and flanging apparatus is configured to neck and flange the housing of a battery (Figs. 1-4; the system is capable of necking and flanging a workpiece that can be used to house a battery).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slade in view of US 4,058,998 to Franek.
Regarding claim 6, Slade teaches the necking and flanging apparatus according to claim 5 (Fig. 1).
Slade fails to explicitly teach wherein the first driving assembly is mounted on the inner mold.
Franek a necking and flanging system including an inner mold 77 and a press-fit piece 78, wherein the first drive assembly 81 of the press-fit piece is mounted on the inner mold 77 (Fig. 7; Col. 7, Lns. 14-47).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the press-fit piece drive assembly in the necking and flanging system of Slade with the drive assembly of Franek as those components and their functions were well known in the art and a person of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted each of these known elements for another with the predictable result of driving the movement of the press-fit piece relative to the mold.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slade in view of US 3,782,314 to Rhodes.
Regarding claim 10, Slade teaches the necking and flanging apparatus according to claim 1 (Fig. 1), wherein the necking piece 50 is a necking roller 46 (Fig. 1; Col. 8, Ln. 63 through Col. 9, Ln. 14).
Slade fails to explicitly teach the necking and flanging apparatus further comprises: a third driving assembly, configured to drive the necking roller to revolve around the inner mold.
Rhodes teaches a necking and flanging system including a necking piece 21 including a roller 11 and a third driving assembly, configured to drive the necking roller to revolve around the inner mold 10 (Figs. 1-2; Col. 3, Lns. 46-64; the necking roll 11 is rotated relative to the mandrel 10 in order to form the neck).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the roller of to rotate about the mandrel as taught by Rhodes so that the roller may work on the entire surface of the workpiece without requiring the workpiece to be rotated throughout the process.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2011/0223472 A1 teaches a necked metal workpiece may be used as a battery housing. US 5,076,087 (Fig. 2) teaches a necking and flanging assembly including a necking portion that moves about an inner mold.
/MATTHEW STEPHENS/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725