DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Invention II (claims 8-20) in the reply filed on 17 July 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The restriction requirement is deemed proper and made final.
Response to Amendment
The Office acknowledges receipt on 17 July 2026 of Applicant’s amendments in which claims 1-7 and 15 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pekny (US20090230454A1) in view of Park et al. (US20180076024A1).
Regarding claim 8, Pekny teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a conductive pillar (230) extending in a first direction (vertical in Figs. 2B, 2C) perpendicular to a substrate (200) and through a plurality of levels (lower, upper) of memory cells (450) located over the substrate (200), the conductive pillar (230) coupled with two or more respective memory cells (450) at each of the plurality of levels (lower, upper) {Figs. 2B, 2C; [0021, 0034]};
a dielectric material (420) extending in a second direction (vertical/horizontal in Fig. 4) parallel to the substrate (200), the dielectric material (420) separating a first memory cell (e.g., 4501,2) of the two or more respective memory cells (450) from a second memory cell (e.g., 4502,2) of the two or more respective memory cells at each level of the plurality of levels (lower, upper) {Fig. 4; [0031-0034]}; and
a plurality of access lines (424) extending in the second direction (vertical/horizontal in Fig. 4) and associated with accessing the plurality of levels (lower, upper) of memory cells (450) {Figs. 2B, 4; [0033, 0034]}, wherein each access line (424) of the plurality of access lines (424) coupled with a respective memory cell (450).
Pekny does not teach that each access line comprises a first metal associated with a first resistivity; and a second metal associated with a second resistivity different than the first resistivity.
In an analogous art, Park teaches in Fig. 7C and paragraphs [0132, 0134] an access line (420) comprises a first metal (e.g., 426A) associated with a first resistivity (e.g., resistivity of Al, Ti, or Ta {e.g., Al ≈ 2.65x10-8 Ωm}); and a second metal (e.g., 426B) associated with a second resistivity (e.g., resistivity of TiAlC, TiAlCN, TaAlC, TaAlCN, TiAl, TiAlN, TaAlN or combinations thereof {e.g., TiAlC ≈ 1000-2500 μΩm}) different than the first resistivity (resistivity of Al, Ti, or Ta). Alternatively, the first metal may be 426B and the second metal may be 426A. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each access line of Pekny’s apparatus based on the teachings of Park, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, to adjust a work function of the gate structure …, thereby adjusting a threshold voltage of the gate structure. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., access line, first metal, second metal, resistivity) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Park) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Furthermore, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 9, Pekny as modified by Park teaches the apparatus of claim 8, and Pekny further teaches further comprising:
a first pillar (e.g., left-side 229) of charge trapping material extending in the first direction (vertical in Fig. 2B) and associated with the first memory cell (e.g., 4501,2) of the two or more respective memory cells (450) at each level of the plurality of levels (lower, upper) {Figs. 2B, 4; [0033]}; and
a second pillar (e.g., right-side 229) of charge trapping material extending in the first direction (vertical in Fig. 2B) and associated with the second memory cell (e.g., 4502,2) of the two or more respective memory cells (450) at each level of the plurality of levels (lower, upper) {Figs. 2B, 4; [0033]}.
Regarding claim 10, Pekny as modified by Park teaches the apparatus of claim 8, and Pekny further teaches wherein each access line (424) of the plurality of access lines (424) comprises a respective gate comprising the first metal (as Pekny’s access line 424 is modified by e.g., Park’s 426A) and the second metal (as Pekny’s access line 424 is modified by Park by Park’s e.g., 426B) {Figs. 2B, 4; [0034]}.
Regarding claim 11, Pekny as modified by Park teaches the apparatus of claim 8, and Pekny further teaches wherein a first length of the first metal (as Pekny’s access line 424 is modified by e.g., Park’s 426A) in a third direction (horizontal/vertical in Fig. 4) parallel to the substrate (200) and perpendicular to the second direction (vertical/horizontal in Fig. 4) and a second length of the second metal (as Pekny’s access line 424 is modified by Park by Park’s e.g., 426B) in the third direction (horizontal/vertical in Fig. 4) are based at least in part on one or more dimensions of a planar region of the respective memory cells, one or more dimensions of a curved region of the respective memory cells, or both {each access line 424 both makes contact with and is disposed between adjacent memory cells 450 having a conical structure, thus each access line 424 is based on dimensions of planar region of memory cell 450, which dimensions of the planar region are also based on dimensions of the curved region of memory cell 450}.
Regarding claim 12, Pekny as modified by Park teaches the apparatus of claim 8, but Pekny does not teach wherein the first metal is configured to create a first electric field and the second metal is configured to create a second electric field that is stronger than the first electric field.
However, the instant application discloses in paragraph [0072] that the electric field created by each metal is a function of the metal’s work function. Park teaches in Fig. 7C and paragraph [0134] that the first and second metals have different work functions. Accordingly, Pekny’s access lines, as modified by Park with respect to base claim 8, have different work functions that create different electric fields. And an assignment of the labels “first metal” and “second metal” relative to Park’s metals 426A and 426B may be chosen such that electric field created by the chosen first metal is greater than the electric field created by the chosen second metal. The motivation for Park’s modification of Pekny’s apparatus is identified with respect to base claim 8.
Examiner’s Note: The limitation whereby “the first metal is configured to create a first electric field and the second metal is configured to create a second electric field that is stronger than the first electric field” is directed to a manner in which the claimed subject matter is intended to be employed and, accordingly, does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. MPEP §2114(II) – a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 13, Pekny as modified by Park teaches the apparatus of claim 8, but Pekny does not teach wherein the first metal is associated with a first work function and the second metal is associated with a second work function different than the first work function.
Park teaches in Fig. 7C and paragraph [0134] that the first and second metals (426A, 426B) have different work functions. Accordingly, Pekny’s access lines, as modified by Park with respect to base claim 8, have different work functions. The motivation for this modification is identified with respect to base claim 8.
Regarding claim 14, Pekny as modified by Park teaches the apparatus of claim 8, but Pekny does not teach wherein each access line of the plurality of access lines comprises one or more additional metals different than the first metal and the second metal.
Park teaches in Fig. 7C and paragraph [0134] the second metal-containing layer 426B may include TiAlC, TiAlCN, TaAlC, TaAlCN, TiAl, TiAlN, TaAlN or combinations thereof. And because Park teaches such combination, one of such combination may be characterized as the second metal and one or more others of such combi nation another may be characterized as the “one or more additional metals different than the first metal and the second metal.” The motivation for this modification is identified with respect to base claim 8.
Regarding claim 16, Pekny teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a conductive pillar (230) extending in a first direction (vertical in Figs. 2B, 2C) through a plurality of levels (lower, upper) of memory cells (450) and coupled with two or more respective memory cells (450) at each of the plurality of levels (lower, upper) {Figs. 2B, 2C; [0021, 0034]};
a dielectric material (420) extending in a second direction (vertical/horizontal in Fig. 4) perpendicular to the first direction (vertical in Figs. 2B, 2C), the dielectric material (420) separating a first memory cell (e.g., 4501,2) of the two or more respective memory cells (450) from a second memory cell (e.g., 4502,2) of the two or more respective memory cells (450) at each of the plurality of levels (lower, upper) {Fig. 4; [0031-0034]}; and
a plurality of control gates (portions of access lines 424s forming control gates) each associated with accessing a respective memory cell (450) of the plurality of levels of memory cells (450) {Figs. 2B, 4; [0033, 0034]}.
Pekny does not teach each control gate of the plurality of control gates comprises a first metal and a second metal.
Park teaches in Fig. 7C and paragraphs [0132, 0134] an access line (420) comprises a first metal (e.g., 426A) and a second metal (e.g., 426B). Alternatively, the first metal may be 426B and the second metal may be 426A. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each control gate of each respective access line within Pekny’s apparatus based on the teachings of Park, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, to adjust a work function of the gate structure …, thereby adjusting a threshold voltage of the gate structure. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., access line, control gate, first metal, second metal) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Park) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Furthermore, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 17, Pekny as modified by Park teaches the apparatus of claim 16, and Pekny further teaches further comprising: a plurality of access lines (424) comprising the first metal (as Pekny’s access line 424 is modified by e.g., Park’s 426A), the second metal (as Pekny’s access line 424 is modified by e.g., Park’s 426B), or both, wherein each access line (424) of the plurality of access lines (424) comprises a respective control gate of the plurality of control gates {[0034], a portion of a word line 424 … forms a control gate}.
Regarding claim 18, Pekny as modified by Park teaches the apparatus of claim 16, and Pekny further teaches further comprising:
a first pillar (e.g., left-side 229) of charge trapping material extending alongside the conductive pillar (230) in the first direction (vertical in Fig. 2B) and associated with the first memory cell (e.g., 4501,2) of the two or more respective memory cells (450) at each level of the plurality of levels (lower, upper) {Figs. 2B, 4; [0033]}; and
a second pillar (e.g., right-side 229) of charge trapping material extending alongside the conductive pillar (230) in the first direction (vertical in Fig. 2B) and associated with the second memory cell (e.g., 4502,2) of the two or more respective memory cells (450) at each level of the plurality of levels (lower, upper) {Figs. 2B, 4; [0033]}.
Regarding claim 19, Pekny as modified by Park teaches the apparatus of claim 16, but Pekny does not teach wherein the first metal is associated with a first resistivity {unselected alternative}, the second metal is associated with a second resistivity different than the first resistivity {unselected alternative}, the first metal is associated with a first work function {unselected alternative}, the second metal is associated with a second work function different than the first work function, or a combination thereof {unselected alternative}.
Park teaches in Fig. 7C and paragraph [0134] that the first and second metals (426A, 426B) have different work functions. The motivation for this modification is identified with respect to base claim 16.
Regarding claim 20, Pekny as modified by Park teaches the apparatus of claim 16, and Pekny further teaches wherein a first length of the first metal (as Pekny’s access line 424 is modified by e.g., Park’s 426A) in a third direction (horizontal/vertical in Fig. 4) perpendicular to the first direction (vertical in Figs. 2B, 2C) and the second direction (vertical/horizontal in Fig. 4) and a second length of the second metal (as Pekny’s access line 424 is modified by Park by Park’s e.g., 426B) in the third direction (horizontal/vertical in Fig. 4) are based at least in part on one or more dimensions of a planar region of the respective memory cells, one or more dimensions of a curved region of the respective memory cells, or both {each access line 424 both makes contact with and is disposed between adjacent memory cells 450 having a conical structure, thus each access line 424 is based on dimensions of planar region of memory cell 450, which dimensions of the planar region are also based on dimensions of the curved region of memory cell 450}.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tanaka (US20220208268A1) teaches a memory might include an array of memory cells having a plurality of strings of series-connected split-gate memory cells each including a primary memory cell portion and an assist memory cell portion, a plurality of primary access lines each connected to a control gate of the primary memory cell portion of a respective split-gate memory cell of each string of series-connected split-gate memory cells of the plurality of strings of series-connected split-gate memory cells, and a plurality of assist access lines each connected to a control gate of the assist memory cell portion of its respective split-gate memory cell of each string of series-connected split-gate memory cells of the plurality of strings of series-connected split-gate memory cells.
Conclusion
/D.W.W./ Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891