Detailed Action
Specification Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9 and 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsunekawa (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0415912).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 2 of Tsunekawa discloses a memory device comprising a plurality of memory cells, wherein each of the memory cells comprises: a bottom electrode (1) disposed on a substrate (6); a ferroelectric layer (2) disposed on the bottom electrode; a barrier layer (3) disposed on the ferroelectric layer; and a top electrode (4) disposed on the barrier layer, wherein the barrier layer is interposed between the top electrode and the ferroelectric layer, and a thickness (1nm-4nm) of the barrier layer [0033] is less than a thickness (5nm-20nm) of the ferroelectric layer [0032].
Regarding Claim 2
Tsunekawa discloses the barrier layer comprises magnesium oxide (MgO) [0026].
Regarding Claim 3
Tsunekawa discloses the ferroelectric layer comprises hafnium zirconium oxide (HfZrO, HZO) [0002].
Regarding Claim 4
Tsunekawa discloses a material of the bottom electrode is different from a material of the top electrode [0027].
Regarding Claim 6
Tsunekawa discloses the thickness of the ferroelectric layer is about 6 nm [0032].
Regarding Claim 7
Tsunekawa discloses the thickness of the barrier layer is less than or equal to about 1 nm [0033].
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 4 of Tsunekawa discloses a gate structure disposed on the substrate; and a drain and a source respectively disposed in the substrate at opposite sides of the gate structure, wherein the drain is electrically connected to the bottom electrode, and the source is electrically connected to a bit line (BL).
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 2 of Tsunekawa discloses the bottom electrode (1) directly contacts the ferroelectric layer (2), and the barrier layer (3) directly contacts the top electrode (4) and the ferroelectric layer.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsunekawa, in view of Kim (KR 20250120639, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 5
Tsunekawa discloses Claim 4, wherein the bottom electrode comprises titanium nitride (TiN) [0031].
Tsunekawa is silent with respect to “the top electrode comprises tungsten (W)”.
FIG. 2 of Kim discloses a similar memory device, wherein the bottom electrode comprises titanium nitride (TiN) and the top electrode comprises tungsten (W).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tsunekawa, as taught by Kim, because such material) substitution or replacement would have been considered a mere substitution of art-recognized equivalent values, MPEP 2144.06. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Tsunekawa in the above manner for purpose of improving TER effect (text of Kim).
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsunekawa, in view of Pesic (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0054171).
Regarding Claim 8
Tsunekawa discloses Claim 6.
Tsunekawa is silent with respect to “the thickness of the barrier layer is less than or equal to about 0.5 nm”.
FIG. 2 of Kim discloses a similar memory device, wherein the thickness of the barrier layer is less than or equal to about 0.5 nm [005].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tsunekawa, as taught by Kim, because such material) substitution or replacement would have been considered a mere substitution of art-recognized equivalent values, MPEP 2144.06. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Tsunekawa in the above manner for purpose of improving TER effect (text of Kim).
Furthermore, said thickness is related to the device size and the barrier property of the material. Therefore, said thickness is considered to be a result effective variable. The claim to a specific thickness therefore constitutes an optimization of ranges. In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the parameters as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Pertinent Art
US 20210398990 discloses a gate structure disposed on the substrate; and a drain and a source respectively disposed in the substrate at opposite sides of the gate structure, wherein the drain is electrically connected to the bottom electrode, and the source is electrically connected to a bit line. US 20230054171 discloses a memory device, comprising: a bottom electrode; a ferroelectric layer disposed on the bottom electrode; a barrier layer disposed on the ferroelectric layer; and a top electrode disposed on the barrier layer, wherein the barrier layer is interposed between the top electrode and the ferroelectric layer, and a thickness of the barrier layer is less than a thickness of the ferroelectric layer.
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897