DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species C, Fig. 7 in the reply filed on 1/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15, 17, 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/26/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “225” has been used to designate both a combustor in Fig. 7 [left side] and valve.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10, 12-14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veilleux (2023/0358166) in view of Wang et al (2023/0290967) and Palmer et al (2023/0391467)1. Veilleux [see annotations] teaches (1) A fuel system for a gas turbine engine including a compressor section 14, a combustion section 16, and a turbine section 18, 20, the fuel system comprising: a fuel tank 28 for storing a fuel; a plurality of heat exchangers 32 [“one or more” includes plural, see ¶ 0047] and a heater (heat from 22 heats fuel) downstream of the fuel tank 28; a valve [see annotations] downstream of the plurality of heat exchangers 32, the valve [see annotations] including a fuel inlet in fluid communication with the a heat exchanger 32 and a heater (heat from 22 heats fuel), a first fuel outlet in fluid communication with a first fluid pathway [see annotations], and a second fuel outlet in fluid communication with a second fluid pathway [see annotations]; a fuel cell 40 including an anode inlet 36, 26 , the anode inlet 36, 26 in fluid communication with the first fluid pathway 26; a combustion chamber of the combustion section 16 in fluid communication with the second fluid pathway and; and a controller [flight control, ¶ 0039]; controlling an amount of the fuel delivered to the first fluid pathway 26, the second fluid pathway, or both the first fluid pathway 26 and the second fluid pathway based on a temperature [T] of the fuel. (2) the plurality of heat exchangers 32 and a heater (heat from 22 heats fuel) and configured to control a flowrate of fluid [including plural valves upstream the heat exchangers 32] through the plurality of heat exchangers 32 and heater (heat from 22 heats fuel). (3) at least one temperature sensor T disposed in the first fluid pathway 26 and communicatively coupled to the controller, the at least one temperature sensor T configured to measure the temperature of the fuel; (8) wherein the fuel cell 40 comprises: a cathode inlet in fluid communication with the compressor section 14 via a fourth fluid pathway [compressed air]; and a cathode outlet 50 in fluid communication with the combustion chamber 16 via a fifth fluid pathway [50, 14, 16]; wherein the fuel cell 40 is configured to receive air from the compressor section 14 via the cathode inlet 38; and wherein the combustion chamber is configured to receive excess air from the cathode outlet. (9) further comprising at least one temperature sensor 46 disposed in the fourth fluid pathway, the at least one temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of air received from the compressor section 14. (10) at least one valve 42 or 48 disposed in the fourth fluid pathway, the at least one valve downstream of the compressor section 14 and upstream of the fuel cell 40, wherein the at least one valve is configured to control an amount of the air delivered to the fuel cell 40; wherein the temperature of the air T, 46 measured by the at least one temperature sensor disposed in the fourth fluid pathway. (11) a second recuperator 44, HX including a first fluid passage in fluid communication with the fourth fluid pathway 42 [see annotations] and a second fluid passage in fluid communication with the fifth fluid pathway [see annotations]; wherein the first fluid passage of the second recuperator is in fluid communication with the compressor section 14 and the cathode inlet of the fuel cell 40; wherein the second fluid passage of the second recuperator 44 is in fluid communication with the cathode outlet 50 and the combustion chamber 16. (12) at least one electric heater 22 upstream of the fuel cell 40 and the combustion chamber; wherein the electric heater 22 is configured to heat the fuel supplied to the fuel cell 40, the combustion chamber, or both the fuel cell 40 and the combustion chamber. (13) wherein the at least one electric heater is disposed in the second fluid pathway for heating the fuel supplied to the combustion chamber. (14) wherein the at least one electric heater is disposed in the first fluid pathway 26 for heating the fuel supplied to the fuel cell 40 during a cold start-up process of the gas turbine engine. Veilleux teach a plurality of heat exchangers 32 [one or more of 32, see ¶ 0047] and an electric heater 22. For an alternate treatment of the plurality of heat exchangers downstream of the fuel tank, since only one is illustrated, Palmer et al teach using a plurality of heat exchangers 306, 307 downstream of the fuel tank 304, along with a pre-heater 305. Palmer et al teach using a plurality of heat exchangers ensures the fuel (hydrogen) is sufficiently heated [¶ 0049-0050]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a plurality of heat exchangers, as taught by Palmer et al, in order to ensure the fuel is sufficiently heated and as consistent with the use of one or more heat exchangers taught by Veilleux. Veilleux does not teach the fuel cell including …an anode outlet; a combustion chamber of the combustion section in fluid communication with the second fluid pathway and the anode outlet of the fuel cell; and a controller communicatively coupled to the valve and configured to generate a valve command signal for the valve for selectively controlling an amount of the fuel delivered to the first fluid pathway, the second fluid pathway, or both the first fluid pathway and the second fluid pathway based on a temperature of the fuel. Wang et al teach a fuel cell including an anode 298 inlet and an anode 298 outlet 354, the anode inlet in fluid communication with the first fluid pathway 150A; a combustion chamber 228 of the combustion section in fluid communication with the second fluid pathway 151C, 102 and the anode outlet 354 of the fuel cell; and a controller 240 communicatively coupled to the valve [e.g. 274, 151C, 151B ¶ 0077] and configured to generate a valve command signal for the valve for selectively controlling an amount of the fuel delivered to the first fluid pathway 150A, the second fluid pathway 151C, or both the first fluid pathway and the second fluid pathway based on a temperature of the fuel [fuel temperatures are used to determine mode of operation, e.g. cold / ground start, warm start, sufficient warmup of the fuel cell, note temperatures of the fuel are measured circa the fuel cell ¶ 0082, 0088, 0090 and in other locations] including for startup operations [e.g. Figs. 6-10]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the fuel cell including …an anode outlet; a combustion chamber of the combustion section in fluid communication with the second fluid pathway and the anode outlet of the fuel cell, as taught by Wang et al, as the anode outlet is highly conventional in fuel cells and directed the anode outlet flow to the combustion chamber allows for excess fuel or fuel products from the anode to be combusted and thus increase engine efficiency and/or power produced. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a controller communicatively coupled to the valve and configured to generate a valve command signal for the valve for selectively controlling an amount of the fuel delivered to the first fluid pathway, the second fluid pathway, or both the first fluid pathway and the second fluid pathway based on a temperature of the fuel, as taught by Wang et al, in order to facilitate control over the existing valve of Veilleux and control the amount of fuel in each of the first, second or both fluid pathways so that the power generation needs may be met, including for startup operations.
Veilleux do not teach (2) wherein the controller is communicatively coupled to the plurality of heat exchangers and configured to control a flowrate of fluid through the plurality of heat exchangers. (3) at least one temperature sensor disposed in the first fluid pathway and communicatively coupled to the controller, the at least one temperature sensor configured to measure the temperature of the fuel; wherein the controller is configured to generate the valve command signal based on the temperature of the fuel measured by the at least one temperature sensor. (4) wherein the valve command signal comprises: opening the first fuel outlet of the valve and directing at least a portion of the fuel to the fuel cell in response to the temperature of the fuel being greater than or equal to a temperature threshold; and opening the second fuel outlet of the valve and directing at least a portion of the fuel to the combustion chamber in response to the temperature of the fuel being less than the temperature threshold. (5) wherein the temperature threshold is greater than or equal to 500° C and less than or equal to 1000° C. Wang et al teach (2) wherein the controller 240 is communicatively coupled to t to control a flowrate of fluid through the system 274, 151C, 151B – this is at a relatively upstream location -- when combined with the system of Veilleux, this also controls the flow rate through the heat exchanger. Alternately, Palmer teaches the heat exchangers 305, 306, 307 are controlled to control the flowrate [see ¶ 0047] and temperature exiting the heat exchangers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the controller is communicatively coupled to the plurality of heat exchangers and configured to control a flowrate of fluid through the plurality of heat exchangers, as taught by Wang et al and/or Palmer, in order to control the flowrates through the system.
Wang et al further teach: (3) at least one temperature sensor [¶ 0082] disposed in the first fluid pathway and communicatively coupled to the controller 240, the at least one temperature sensor configured to measure the temperature of the fuel; wherein the controller is configured to generate the valve command signal based on the temperature of the fuel measured by the at least one temperature sensor. (4) wherein the valve command signal comprises: opening the first fuel outlet of the valve and directing at least a portion of the fuel to the fuel cell in response to the temperature of the fuel being greater than or equal to a temperature threshold [see ¶ 0132, 0137 where normal fuel cell temperatures and thresholds of 600-1000 °C]; and opening the second fuel outlet of the valve and directing at least a portion of the fuel to the combustion chamber in response to the temperature of the fuel being less than the temperature threshold [note that gas turbine ground start has much lower temperatures than the disclosed threshold and fuel cell operation may begin after different stages of gas turbine starting, see ¶ 0120-0124]. (5) wherein the temperature threshold is greater than or equal to 500° C and less than or equal to 1000° C ¶ 0132, 0137]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ (3) at least one temperature sensor disposed in the first fluid pathway and communicatively coupled to the controller, the at least one temperature sensor configured to measure the temperature of the fuel; wherein the controller is configured to generate the valve command signal based on the temperature of the fuel measured by the at least one temperature sensor; (4) wherein the valve command signal comprises: opening the first fuel outlet of the valve and directing at least a portion of the fuel to the fuel cell in response to the temperature of the fuel being greater than or equal to a temperature threshold; and opening the second fuel outlet of the valve and directing at least a portion of the fuel to the combustion chamber in response to the temperature of the fuel being less than the temperature threshold; (5) wherein the temperature threshold is greater than or equal to 500° C and less than or equal to 1000° C, as taught by Wang et al, in order to control the amount of fuel to the first flowpath and allow switching or simultaneous operation of the gas turbine and fuel cell, including during starting operations. Veilleux further teach (20) A gas turbine engine, comprising: a turbomachine, the turbomachine comprising a compressor section 14, a combustion section, and a turbine section 18, 20 in serial flow order and together defining a working gas flow path; and the fuel system of claim 1. Veilleux does not teach the fan and the turbomachine (gas turbine) coupled to the fan for driving the fan. Note however, Veilleux does teach use on an aircraft engine of which the fan driven type is the most commonly employed due its increased thrust, efficiency and fuel economy. Wang et al teach (20) A gas turbine engine, comprising: a fan 128; a turbomachine [gas turbine / core engine] operably coupled 124 to the fan for driving the fan 128, the turbomachine comprising a compressor section, a combustion section, and a turbine section in serial flow order and together defining a working gas flow path; and the fuel system of claim 1. Palmer et al also teach the fan 213 and the turbomachine (gas turbine) coupled 215, 214 to the fan for driving the fan. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a fan with the turbomachine operably coupled to the fan for driving the fan, as taught by Wang et al or Palmer et al, in order to provide for increased thrust, efficiency and fuel economy and/or as the typical practice in the art.
Veilleux do not teach (9) further comprising at least one temperature sensor 46 disposed in the fourth fluid pathway and communicatively coupled to the controller, the at least one temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of air received from the compressor section 14. (10) at least one valve 42 or 48 disposed in the fourth fluid pathway, the at least one valve downstream of the compressor section 14 and upstream of the fuel cell 40, wherein the at least one valve is configured to control an amount of the air delivered to the fuel cell 40; wherein the controller is configured to generate a valve command signal based on the temperature of the air T, 46 measured by the at least one temperature sensor disposed in the fourth fluid pathway. Wang teaches the controller communicates with sensors of the fuel cell temperature and gas turbine conditions and the quantities of claims 9 and 19 are already sensed by Veilleux. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the sensed quantities communicatively coupled to the controller and make the controller configured to generate a valve command signal based on the temperature, as would be typically done in the art, in light of the controller of Wang et al using the engine and fuel cell conditions to control the valves and warm up / start operations.Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Veilleux combination, as applied above, and further in view of Terwilliger (20240254898). The prior art do not teach (17) a condenser in fluid communication with the combustion chamber and an exhaust nozzle of the gas turbine engine; wherein the condenser is configured to reduce water content in exhaust gas received from the combustion chamber and reduce contrail formation. Terwilliger teaches a condenser 56 in fluid communication with the combustion chamber 26 and an exhaust nozzle 56 of the gas turbine engine; wherein the condenser i56 s configured to reduce water content in exhaust gas received from the combustion chamber and reduce contrail formation [inherent as contrails are formed by steam / engine exhaust, and by reducing the quantity of the exhaust, contrails are also reduced]. Terwilliger teaches that the water condensed in the gas turbine exhaust is recycled and reused not exhausted as well as moderating the combustion temperature and increasing performance and power output [¶ 0035-0036]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a condenser in fluid communication with the combustion chamber and an exhaust nozzle of the gas turbine engine; wherein the condenser is configured to reduce water content in exhaust gas received from the combustion chamber and reduce contrail formation, as taught by Terwilliger, as an obvious way of reusing the water in the exhaust and allowing for moderating the combustion temperature and increasing performance and power output..
Claim(s) 12-14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Veilleux combination, as applied above, and further in view of Palmer (2024/0133343). Veilleux combination already teach an electric heater for claim 12. For an alternate treatment of the electric heater of claims 12-15, as well as for the limitations of claim 16, Palmer et al ‘343 is applied. Palmer et al ‘343 teach (12) at least one electric heater 230 upstream of the fuel cell 562 and the combustion chamber 206; wherein the electric heater is configured to heat the fuel supplied to the fuel cell, the combustion chamber, or both the fuel cell and the combustion chamber [see ¶ 0060]. (13) wherein the at least one electric heater is disposed in the second fluid pathway for heating the fuel supplied to the combustion chamber 206. (14) wherein the at least one electric heater is disposed in the first fluid pathway for heating the fuel 218 supplied to the fuel cell during a cold start-up process of the gas turbine engine. (16) wherein: the controller is communicatively coupled to the at least one electric heater 230; and the controller is configured to generate a heater signal for regulating power delivered to the at least one electric heater. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ (12) at least one electric heater upstream of the fuel cell and the combustion chamber; wherein the electric heater is configured to heat the fuel supplied to the fuel cell, the combustion chamber, or both the fuel cell and the combustion chamber; (13) wherein the at least one electric heater is disposed in the second fluid pathway for heating the fuel supplied to the combustion chamber; (14) wherein the at least one electric heater is disposed in the first fluid pathway for heating the fuel supplied to the fuel cell during a cold start-up process of the gas turbine engine; (16) wherein: the controller is communicatively coupled to the at least one electric heater; and the controller is configured to generate a heater signal for regulating power delivered to the at least one electric heater, as taught by Palmer et al ‘343, in order to ensure fuel is vaporized prior to combustion.
Claim(s) 6, 11, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Veilleux combination, as applied above, and further in view of Owoeye (2025/0277471). The prior art do not teach (6) a third fluid pathway between the anode outlet of the fuel cell and the combustion chamber; and a first recuperator including a first fuel passage in fluid communication with the first fluid pathway and a second fuel passage in fluid communication with the third fluid pathway; wherein the first recuperator is configured to heat the fuel in the first fuel passage using excess fuel received by the second fuel passage from the anode outlet.Owoeye teaches (6) a third fluid pathway 384 between the anode outlet 372 of the fuel cell 368 and the combustion chamber 352; and a first recuperator 354 including a first fuel passage in fluid communication with the first fluid pathway and a second fuel passage in fluid communication with the third fluid pathway; wherein the first recuperator 354 is configured to heat the fuel 504 in the first fuel passage using excess fuel 372 received by the second fuel passage from the anode outlet 372. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a first recuperator, as taught by Owoeye, in order to recover waste heat and reuse it in the fuel system.
The prior art do not teach (11) a second recuperator including a first fluid passage in fluid communication with the fourth fluid pathway and a second fluid passage in fluid communication with the fifth fluid pathway; wherein the first fluid passage of the second recuperator is in fluid communication with the compressor section and the cathode inlet of the fuel cell; wherein the second fluid passage of the second recuperator is in fluid communication with the cathode outlet and the combustion chamber; and wherein the second recuperator is configured to heat the air in the first fluid passage received from the compressor section using heat from the excess air received by the second fluid passage from the cathode outlet. Owoeye teaches (11) a second recuperator 392 including a first fluid passage in fluid communication with the fourth fluid pathway CA and a second fluid passage in fluid communication with the fifth fluid pathway EA; wherein the first fluid passage of the second recuperator is in fluid communication with the compressor section 390 and the cathode inlet 374 of the fuel cell; wherein the second fluid passage of the second recuperator is in fluid communication with the cathode outlet 376 and the combustion chamber 120; and wherein the second recuperator 392 is configured to heat the air in the first fluid passage received from the compressor section 390 using heat from the excess air received by the second fluid passage EA from the cathode outlet 376. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a second recuperator, as taught by Owoeye, in order to recover waste heat and reuse it in the fuel system. The prior art do not teach (19) a fuel-water separator in fluid communication with the anode outlet of the fuel cell and the combustion chamber; wherein the fuel-water separator is configured to separate water from excess fuel discharged from the anode outlet the fuel cell; wherein the excess fuel is delivered to the combustion chamber; and wherein the water is delivered to the turbine section, a water treatment and storage system of the gas turbine engine, or a combination thereof. Owoeye teaches (19) a fuel-water separator 382 in fluid communication with the anode outlet 508 of the fuel cell and the combustion chamber 352; wherein the fuel-water separator is configured to separate water from excess fuel discharged from the anode outlet the fuel cell; wherein the excess fuel is delivered to the combustion chamber 352; and wherein the water 512 is delivered to the turbine section 138, a water treatment and storage system of the gas turbine engine, or a combination thereof. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the fuel-water separator, as taught by Owoeye, in order to facilitate recovery of the water and /or fuel from the anode outlet.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Ted Kim/
Telephone
571-272-4829
Primary Examiner
Fax
571-273-8300
February 23, 2026
1 Veilleux combination