DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group, I, Species I, Figs. 1-5, claims 1-4 & 12-14 in the reply filed on 7/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
2. The claims are objected because of the following reasons:
Re claim 4, line 2: delete “is” and insert --are--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bower et al. (US 2017/0250167).
Re claim 1, Bower teaches, under BRI, Fig. 5, [0062], a micro-component substrate structure, comprising:
-a carrier substrate (60) having a corrugated surface (upper surface of 60); and
-a micro-component (device 12) having a bottom surface disposed on the corrugated surface (of 60).
Re claim 13, Bower teaches, Fig. 5, wherein a plurality of micro-components (12) is in contact with the corrugated surface (of 60).
Re claim 14, Bower teaches, Fig. 5, wherein a surface material of the corrugated surface has been processed (applied with layer 24) to reduce adhesion between the micro-component and the corrugated surface (of 60).
4. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sri-Jayantha et al. (US 2012/0309187).
Re claim 1, Sri-Jayantha teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1a-b, [0004], a micro-component substrate structure, comprising:
-a carrier substrate (22) having a corrugated surface (defined by 28); and
-a micro-component (die 20) having a bottom surface disposed on the corrugated surface.
Re claim 2, Sri-Jayantha teaches, wherein the corrugated surface comprises an array of rounded (Figs. 1a-b), pyramid, cylindrical, rectangular, or tetrahedral corrugations.
Re claim 3, Sri-Jayantha teaches, Fig. 1b, wherein no more than 25 of an outermost surface of each of one or more of the corrugations is in contact with the micro-component (20).
Re claim 4, Sri-Jayantha teaches, Fig. 1b, wherein a plurality of the corrugations is in contact with the micro-component (20).
5. Claims 1-4, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akram et al. (US 5,483,741).
Re claim 1, Akram teaches, under BRI, Figs. 14-15, cols. 7-8, a micro-component substrate structure, comprising:
-a carrier substrate (12) having a corrugated surface (Fig. 14); and
-a micro-component (85) having a bottom surface disposed on the corrugated surface (Fig. 15).
Re claim 2, Akram teaches, Fig. 14, wherein the corrugated surface comprises an array of rounded, pyramid (Fig. 14), cylindrical, rectangular, or tetrahedral corrugations.
Re claim 3, Akram teaches, Fig. 15, wherein no more than 25 of an outermost surface of each of one or more of the corrugations is in contact with the micro-component (85).
Re claim 4, Akram teaches, Fig. 15, wherein a plurality of the corrugations is in contact with the micro-component (85).
Re claim 12, Akram teaches, Fig. 14, wherein the corrugated surface has corrugations having a height of no greater than one hundred microns (e.g., based on height of 65 is on the order of 50-100 um, col. 6, 2nd par.).
Re claim 14, Akram teaches, Fig. 14, wherein a surface material of the corrugated surface has been processed (applied with 78A) to reduce adhesion between the micro-component (85) and the corrugated surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akram.
The teachings of Akram have been discussed above.
Re claim 13, Akram does not explicitly teach wherein a plurality of micro-components is in contact with the corrugated surface.
Akram does teach multi-chip module, non-encapsulated dice (e.g., chips) (col. 1, lines 30-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ/modify the teaching as taught by Akram to obtain a plurality of micro-components is in contact with the corrugated surface as claimed, because it aids in achieving desired multi-chip module. Further, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Akram (US 6,437,423, Fig. 3B) discloses a plurality of contact members connecting with a semiconductor component.
/DUY T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 7/27/26