DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/08/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of species 1, figures 1-3 in the reply filed on 12/08/2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “foot extending from a lower end portion of the at least one leg portion in forward and backward directions of the seat apparatus” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 11, and 18is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pearson (US 8226163 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Pearson (US 8226163 B1) discloses a seat apparatus comprising:
a seat frame supporting at least a seat bottom of the seat apparatus (Pearson, figure 4b, item 403);
at least one leg portion supporting the seat frame (Pearson, figures 3 and 4b, items 100, 109 and 200) and including an elongated hole formed to extend in a longitudinal direction of the at least one leg portion (Pearson, figure 3, item 301 and 303); and
a pin member mounted on the seat frame and inserted into the elongated hole to connect the seat frame and the at least one leg portion to each other (Pearson, figure 2, item 115, abstract, bolt/cross member connecting seat to leg),
wherein the elongated hole at least partially includes a narrow portion having a width narrower than a diameter or a width of the pin member (Pearson, figure 3, item 301).
Regarding claim 2, Pearson discloses the seat apparatus of claim 1, wherein the elongated hole includes:
a first end portion and a second end portion, respectively formed at first and second ends of the elongated hole in the longitudinal direction of the at least one leg portion; (Pearson, figure 3, items 303 and 207, slot with ends) and
the narrow portion connecting the first end portion and the second end portion of the elongated hole to each other (Pearson, figure 3, item 209),
wherein the narrow portion includes a constant width in a longitudinal direction of the elongated hole (Pearson, figure 3, item 209).
Regarding claim 11, Pearson discloses the seat apparatus of claim 2,
wherein the pin member is mounted at the first end portion in an unloaded state (Pearson, bolt capable of being mounted at an end in an unloaded state), and
a width of the first end portion is equal to the diameter or the width of the pin member (Pearson, col 4, lines 4-8).
Regarding claim 18, Pearson discloses the seat apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one leg portion is fixed to a floor within a cabin of a mobility vehicle (Pearson, figure 1, item 107, col 2 lines 40-52, legs fixed to cabin floor of vehicle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearson (US 8226163 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Honnorat (US 8408643 B2).
Regarding claim 17, Pearson discloses the seat apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one leg portion further includes a foot extending from a lower end portion of the at least one leg portion in forward and backward directions of the seat apparatus.
Honnorat (US 8408643 B2) teaches a seat wherein at least one leg portion further includes a foot extending from a lower end portion of the at least one leg portion in forward and backward directions of the seat apparatus (Honnorat, figure 1, items 5 and 6 leg extending in forward and backward directions of the seat).
Pearson and Honnorat are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of vehicle seating. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Pearson with the leg extending forward and backwards of Honnorat with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide an large attachment surface for anchoring the seat to the floor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 12, Pearson discloses the seat apparatus of claim 1, except:
wherein the seat frame includes:
a pair of side members respectively disposed on left and right sides of the seat apparatus, the pair of side members having symmetrical or same shapes; and
at least one support member disposed between the pair of side members to connect the pair of side members to each other,
wherein each side member has at least one through-hole through which the pin member is insertable and passable.
Claims 13-16 are indicated for depending on claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rink (EP 0463436 A2) teaches a side member attached to a side of the seat wherein each side member has at least one through-hole through which the pin member is insertable and passable.
Dhermand (FR 3055611 A1) teaches an energy absorption systems with a deformable backrest.
Hogan (US 3985388 A) teaches a seat with a slot for attaching to a pin of a shock; the slot has a narrowed section for absorbing shock
Ruff (US 5842669 A) teaches a similarly shaped seat and seat leg.
Hahn (US 20100207433 A1) teaches a seat with a sacrificial shear member which is sheared during vertical acceleration.
Pozzi (US 20240294259 A1) also teaches a similarly shaped seat and seat leg.
Lou (US 10612616 B1) teaches an elongated hole with a first end portion (Lou, figure 2, item 17) and a second end portion (Lou, figure 2, item 18), respectively formed at first and second ends of the elongated hole in the longitudinal direction of the at least one leg portion (Lou, figure 2, end portions at ends of the hole); and the narrow portion connecting the first end portion and the second end portion of the elongated hole to each other (Lou, figure 2, items 12, 13, and 14).
/RYAN ANDREW YANKEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642