CTFR 18/640,211 CTFR 93813 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-4, 6-10 and 13-20 are currently being examined. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the motor generator” should read as – the bottoming cycle motor generator --. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-2, 7, 14-15, 17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terwilliger et al. 20240026824 in view of Thomassin et al. 20220127009, Rodriguez Erdmenger et al. 20240175390 and Staubach et al. 20210301729 . Regarding independent claim 1 , Terwilliger teaches a hybrid electric bottoming cycle (40 Fig. 1A para. 0038-0042) comprising: an auxiliary shaft (42) supporting a bottoming cycle compressor (44); the auxiliary shaft supporting a bottoming cycle turbine (46); a waste heat recovery heat exchanger (32) fluidly coupled between the bottoming cycle turbine and the bottoming cycle compressor (as shown in Fig. 1A, 32 is fluidly coupled between 46 and 44, similarly to as shown in instant application Fig. 2 where waste heat recovery heat exchanger 90 is fluidly coupled between b.c. turbine 80 and b.c. compressor 82), wherein the waste heat recovery heat exchanger is upstream of the bottoming cycle turbine (as shown in Fig. 1A, 32 is upstream of 46; examiner’s note: since 40 is a loop, 32 may also be considered downstream of 46); a working fluid to fuel heat exchanger (50) fluidly coupled between the bottoming cycle turbine 46 and the bottoming cycle compressor 44 (as shown in Fig. 1A, 50 is fluidly coupled between 46 and 44), wherein the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger is downstream of bottoming cycle turbine 46 and upstream of the bottoming cycle compressor 44 (as shown in Fig. 1A, 50 is downstream of 46 and upstream of 44); a bottoming cycle working fluid fluidly coupled with the bottoming cycle compressor, the waste heat recovery heat exchanger, the bottoming cycle turbine and working fluid to fuel heat exchanger (paras. 0038-0041 describe a bottoming cycle working fluid fluidly coupled with 44, 32, 46 and 50); a bottoming cycle generator (43) in operative communication with the auxiliary shaft (as shown in Fig. 1A, 43 is in operative communication with 42; para. 0038); and a fan heat exchanger (with reference to Fig. 1A, 200; para. 0047 describes a fan 202 passes a secondary fluid, i.e., air, across heat exchanger 200, i.e., 200 is a fan heat exchanger, to remove additional heat that may remain in the bottoming cycle working fluid downstream of 50) fluidly coupled between the bottoming cycle turbine 46 and the bottoming cycle compressor 44 (as shown in Fig. 1A, 200 is fluidly coupled between 46 and 44), wherein the fan heat exchanger 200 is downstream of the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger 50 and upstream of the bottoming cycle compressor 44 (as shown in Fig. 1A, 200 is downstream of 50 and upstream of 44), a fan (31 Fig. 1A; [0037] describes fan 31 of gas turbine engine 20) fluidly coupled with an inlet air stream ([0037] describes 31 as delivering air into compressor 26, i.e., 31 is fluidly coupled with an inlet air stream, since an air stream entering an inlet of 31 is necessary to enable 31 to deliver air to 26), the fan coupled with a low pressure compressor ([0036] describes compressor 26 as including a low pressure compressor such that 31 is coupled with the low pressure compressor). Terwilliger is silent regarding a working fluid to oil heat exchanger fluidly coupled between the bottoming cycle compressor and the bottoming cycle turbine, wherein the working fluid to oil heat exchanger is downstream of the bottoming cycle compressor and upstream of the bottoming cycle turbine; the waste heat recovery heat exchanger is downstream of the working fluid to oil heat exchanger; the bottoming cycle working fluid fluidly coupled with the working fluid to oil heat exchanger; the bottoming cycle generator is a motor generator, wherein the bottoming cycle motor generator is configured to at least one of produce mechanical rotary shaft energy into the auxiliary shaft responsive to a predetermined gas turbine engine condition and generate electrical power responsive to another predetermined gas turbine engine condition; and an electrical power source in operative communication with the bottoming cycle motor generator, the fan heat exchanger also being fluidly coupled with air taken downstream from the fan through the fan heat exchanger to a fan nozzle downstream from the fan heat exchanger. Thomassin teaches a combustion engine (18 in Figs. 1 and 3; para. 0021 describes combustion engine 18 may be a gas turbine engine) including a bottoming cycle (120 in Fig. 3; para. 0023). Thomassin teaches with reference to Fig. 3, a working fluid to oil heat exchanger (42; para. 0030 describes 42 as facilitating heat transfer from oil used in 18 to a bottoming cycle working fluid of 120) fluidly coupled between a bottoming cycle compressor (38 para. 0029) and a bottoming cycle turbine (36 para. 0029), wherein the working fluid to oil heat exchanger is downstream of the bottoming cycle compressor and upstream of the bottoming cycle turbine (42 is downstream of 38 and upstream of 36 in Fig. 3; para. 0029); a waste heat recovery heat exchanger (44; para. 0032 describes 44 as facilitating heat transfer from the exhaust gas of 18 to the bottoming cycle working fluid of 120) is downstream of the working fluid to oil heat exchanger (44 is downstream of 42 in Fig. 3 and as described in para. 0030); the bottoming cycle working fluid fluidly coupled with the working fluid to oil heat exchanger (as shown in Fig. 3, 42 is fluidly coupled with the bottoming cycle working fluid of 120). The order of 42 and 44 along the flow path of the bottoming cycle working fluid may be selected based on the temperature of the respective heat sources and may be installed in order of increasing temperature of the respective heat sources so that the bottoming cycle working fluid may be progressively heated to a higher temperature as the bottoming cycle working fluid moves along the flow path between 38 and 36 (para. 0034). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terwilliger to include a working fluid to oil heat exchanger fluidly coupled between the bottoming cycle compressor and the bottoming cycle turbine, wherein the working fluid to oil heat exchanger is downstream of the bottoming cycle compressor and upstream of the bottoming cycle turbine; the waste heat recovery heat exchanger is downstream of the working fluid to oil heat exchanger; the bottoming cycle working fluid fluidly coupled with the working fluid to oil heat exchanger as taught by Thomassin to cool the oil with the bottoming cycle working fluid while also progressively heating the bottoming cycle working fluid to a higher temperature as the bottoming cycle working fluid moves along the flow path between the bottoming cycle compressor and the bottoming cycle turbine. Terwilliger in view of Thomassin is silent regarding the bottoming cycle generator is a bottoming cycle motor generator, wherein the bottoming cycle motor generator is configured to at least one of produce mechanical rotary shaft energy into the auxiliary shaft responsive to a predetermined gas turbine engine condition and generate electrical power responsive to another predetermined gas turbine engine condition; and an electrical power source in operative communication with the bottoming cycle motor generator, the fan heat exchanger also being fluidly coupled with air taken downstream from the fan through the fan heat exchanger to a fan nozzle downstream from the fan heat exchanger. Rodriguez Erdmenger teaches a gas turbine engine (100 Fig. 2) with a heat driven thermal management system (700 Fig. 7; paras. 0010, 0086-0089), i.e., a bottoming cycle (as 306b may be a waste heat recovery heat exchanger per para. 0082), including a turbomachine (702) with a compressor (506) and a turbine (504) supported on an auxiliary shaft (508) of a thermal transport bus (602a,602b), through which a heat exchange fluid, i.e., a bottoming cycle working fluid, flows (para. 0042). Rodriguez Erdmenger teaches a bottoming cycle motor generator (as described in para. 0087: turbomachine 702 includes motor generator 704 to supplement the power that the turbine 504 provides to the compressor 506 and/or to draw power from the turbine 504 itself) in operative communication with the auxiliary shaft (per para. 0087, 704 is coupled to 508, i.e., is in operative communication with 508), wherein the bottoming cycle motor generator is configured to at least one of produce mechanical rotary shaft energy into the auxiliary shaft responsive to a predetermined gas turbine engine condition (per para. 0095 when the M/G unit 704 operates as a motor, the mode circuitry 808 of controller 522 can cause the M/G unit 704 to supply a variable amount of mechanical power to the shaft 508 from startup speeds to a speed threshold where startup is a predetermined gas turbine engine condition), and generate electrical power responsive to another predetermined gas turbine engine condition (per para. 0096 when the shaft speed satisfies the speed threshold, the M/G unit 704 is to operate as a generator (in a “generator mode”) to produce electrical power induced from rotation of the shaft 508 and as described in para. 0089: when the turbomachine 702 operates at rotational speeds that satisfy, e.g., match or exceed, the speed threshold, control system 522 causes a power source to cease transmission of electrical power to the M/G unit 704, i.e., in motor mode, and routes the current of electrical power from the M/G unit 704, i.e., in generator mode, to the fuel management system, as the M/G unit 704 is electrically connected to a demultiplexer that leads to a plurality of power sinks, and the control system 522 can cause the demultiplexer to switch between the plurality of power sinks based on a command input or written instructions and/or operations stored on storage device(s) and/or on a machine readable medium, such that a condition of requiring power for the fuel management system is another predetermined gas turbine engine condition); and an electrical power source in operative communication with the bottoming cycle motor generator (para. 0089 describes control system 522 can cause a power source such as a battery or a generator, e.g., gas turbine engine 100, to supply electrical power, i.e., the power source is an electrical power source, to 704, and the control system 522 causes the electrical power source to cease transmission of electrical power to 704 and routes the current of electrical power from 704 to a power sink, such as onboard system(s) of the aircraft or gas turbine engine and/or to the battery; i.e., the electrical power source is in operative communication with 704). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terwilliger in view of Thomassin such that the bottoming cycle generator is a bottoming cycle motor generator, wherein the bottoming cycle motor generator is configured to at least one of produce mechanical rotary shaft energy into the auxiliary shaft responsive to a predetermined gas turbine engine condition and generate electrical power responsive to another predetermined gas turbine engine condition; and an electrical power source is in operative communication with the bottoming cycle motor generator as taught by Rodriguez Erdmenger so that the bottoming cycle motor generator can supplement the power that the bottoming cycle turbine provides to the bottoming cycle compressor and/or draw power from the bottoming cycle turbine itself as electrical power to be stored in the power source for later use and/or to be provided to a system of the gas turbine engine or aircraft (Rodriguez Erdmenger para. 0089). Terwilliger in view of Thomassin and Rodriguez Erdmenger does not explicitly teach the fan heat exchanger also being fluidly coupled with air taken downstream from the fan through the fan heat exchanger to a fan nozzle downstream from the fan heat exchanger. Staubach teaches a turbofan gas turbine engine (Figs. 1 and 4). Staubach teaches a fan heat exchanger (428 Fig. 4; [0056] describe 428 as a heat rejection heat exchanger in which heat of a working fluid 422 is transferred into a fan duct 407 which is an airflow path through gas turbine engine 400 separate from a core flow path) fluidly coupled with air taken downstream from a fan (406 with inlet 404 in Fig. 4; [0054] describes gas turbine engine 400 includes inlet 404 and fan 406; as shown in Fig. 4 and described in [0056-0057] airflow from downstream of fan 406 flows through fan duct 407 to 428) through the fan heat exchanger to a fan nozzle (420 Fig. 4; [0054] describes fan nozzle 408) downstream from the fan heat exchanger (as shown in Fig. 4, 408 is downstream of 428; [0057] describes fan heat exchanger 428 is arranged within or along fan duct 407 defined between the fan 406 and the fan nozzle 408). Similar to fan 202 upstream of fan heat exchanger 200 in Fig. 1A of Terwilliger, a fan 436 upstream of fan heat exchanger 428 is also included in Fig. 4 of Staubach to increase a pressure drop of the air from fan 406 across fan heat exchanger 428 (on the cold side) per Staubach [0057]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terwilliger in view of Thomassin and Rodriguez Erdmenger to have the fan heat exchanger also being fluidly coupled with air taken downstream from the fan through the fan heat exchanger to a fan nozzle downstream from the fan heat exchanger as taught by Staubach as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, in this case having the fan of the gas turbine engine provide the cooling air to the fan heat exchanger and exhausting the cooling air from the fan heat exchanger to a fan nozzle of the gas turbine engine to predictably cool the working fluid with the cooling airflow. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. . . . [W]hen a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious." KSR at 1395-66 (citing Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). Regarding claim 2 , Terwilliger as modified in view of Thomassin, Rodriguez Erdmenger and Staubach discussed above regarding claim 1, therefore teaches the bottoming cycle motor generator is in operative communication with a controller (704 is in operative communication with 522 per Rodriguez Erdmenger para. 0089 and Fig. 7). Regarding claim 7 , Terwilliger as modified in view of Thomassin, Rodriguez Erdmenger and Staubach discussed above regarding claim 1, therefore teaches the another predetermined gas turbine engine condition comprises an operating state demanding the electrical power. As discussed above in the claim 1 rejection, per Rodriguez Erdmenger para. 0089, the another gas turbine engine condition of requiring electrical power for a power sink, such as the fuel management system, means by power sink a system at an operating state demanding the electrical power. Regarding independent claim 14 , Terwilliger teaches a process for a hybrid electric bottoming cycle (40 Fig. 1A para. 0038-0042) for a gas turbine engine (21 para. 0035) comprising: supporting a bottoming cycle compressor (44) with an auxiliary shaft (42; 44 is supported on 42 in Fig. 1A); supporting a bottoming cycle turbine (46) with the auxiliary shaft (46 is supported on 42 in Fig. 1A); fluidly coupling a waste heat recovery heat exchanger (32) between the bottoming cycle turbine and the bottoming cycle compressor (as shown in Fig. 1A, 32 is fluidly coupled between 46 and 44, similarly to as shown in instant application Fig. 2 where waste heat recovery heat exchanger 90 is fluidly coupled between b.c. turbine 80 and b.c. compressor 82), wherein the waste heat recovery heat exchanger is upstream of the bottoming cycle turbine (32 is upstream of 46 in Fig. 1A; examiner’s note: since 40 is a loop, 32 may also be considered downstream of 46); fluidly coupling the waste heat recovery heat exchanger to a gas turbine air stream (as shown in Fig. 1A and described in para. 0038: downstream of turbine 30 products of combustion, i.e., a gas turbine air stream, pass through, i.e., are fluidly coupled to, waste heat recovery heat exchanger 32), and locating the waste heat recovery heat exchanger downstream from a low pressure turbine, (per para. 0036: 30 may include a low pressure turbine such that since 32 is downstream of 30, 32 is downstream of a low pressure turbine); fluidly coupling a working fluid to fuel heat exchanger (50) between the bottoming cycle turbine 46 and the bottoming cycle compressor 44 (as shown in Fig. 1A, 50 is fluidly coupled between 46 and 44), wherein the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger is downstream of bottoming cycle turbine 46 and upstream of the bottoming cycle compressor 44 (as shown in Fig. 1A, 50 is downstream of 46 and upstream of 44); fluidly coupling the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger (50) between a fuel tank (52) and a combustor (28) in the gas turbine engine (fluid coupling is shown by flow arrows from 52 to 50 to 28 in Fig. 1A); fluidly coupling a bottoming cycle working fluid with the bottoming cycle compressor 44, the waste heat recovery heat exchanger 32, the bottoming cycle turbine 46 and working fluid to fuel heat exchanger 50 (paras. 0038-0041 describe a bottoming cycle working fluid fluidly coupled with 44, 32, 46 and 50); coupling a bottoming cycle generator (43) in operative communication with the auxiliary shaft (as shown in Fig. 1A, 43 is coupled in operative communication with 42; para. 0038); fluidly coupling a fan heat exchanger (200 in Fig. 1A; para. 0047 describes a fan 202 passes a secondary fluid, i.e., air, across heat exchanger 200, i.e., 200 is a fan heat exchanger, to remove additional heat that may remain in the bottoming cycle working fluid downstream of 50) between the bottoming cycle turbine and the bottoming cycle compressor (as shown in Fig. 1A, 200 is fluidly coupled between 46 and 44), wherein the fan heat exchanger is downstream of the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger and upstream of the bottoming cycle compressor (as shown in Fig. 1A, 200 is downstream of 50 and upstream of 44); removing thermal energy from the bottoming cycle working fluid with the fan heat exchanger (para. 0047 describes fan 202 passes a secondary fluid, i.e., air, across heat exchanger 200 to remove additional heat, i.e., thermal energy, that may remain in the bottoming cycle working fluid); and air discharged from a fan (31 Fig. 1A; [0037] describes fan 31 of gas turbine engine 20 delivering, i.e., discharging, air into compressor 26), the fan being fluidly coupled with an inlet air stream (31 is fluidly coupled with an inlet air stream, since an air stream entering an inlet of 31 is necessary to enable 31 to deliver air to 26) and the fan being coupled with a low pressure compressor ([0036] describes compressor 26 as including a low pressure compressor such that 31 is coupled with the low pressure compressor). Terwilliger is silent regarding fluidly coupling a working fluid to oil heat exchanger between the bottoming cycle compressor and the bottoming cycle turbine, wherein the working fluid to oil heat exchanger is downstream of the bottoming cycle compressor and upstream of the bottoming cycle turbine; fluidly coupling the working fluid to oil heat exchanger to a gas turbine lubrication oil; the waste heat recovery heat exchanger is downstream of the working fluid to oil heat exchanger; fluidly coupling a bottoming cycle working fluid with the working fluid to oil heat exchanger; the bottoming cycle generator is a bottoming cycle motor generator; configuring the bottoming cycle motor generator to at least one of produce mechanical rotary shaft energy into the auxiliary shaft responsive to a predetermined gas turbine engine condition and generate electrical power responsive to another predetermined gas turbine engine condition; coupling an electrical power source in operative communication with the bottoming cycle motor generator; and transferring the thermal energy to the air discharged from the fan. Thomassin teaches a combustion engine (18 in Figs. 1 and 3; para. 0021 describes combustion engine 18 may be a gas turbine engine) including a bottoming cycle (120 in Fig. 3; para. 0023). Thomassin teaches with reference to Fig. 3, fluidly coupling a working fluid to oil heat exchanger (42; para. 0030 describes 42 as facilitating heat transfer from oil used in 18 to a bottoming cycle working fluid of 120) between a bottoming cycle compressor (38 para. 0029) and a bottoming cycle turbine (36 para. 0029), wherein the working fluid to oil heat exchanger is downstream of the bottoming cycle compressor and upstream of the bottoming cycle turbine (42 is downstream of 38 and upstream of 36 in Fig. 3; para. 0029); fluidly coupling the working fluid to oil heat exchanger to a gas turbine lubrication oil (para. 0030 describes a lubricating fluid which is oil of a lubricating system of gas turbine engine 18 and Fig. 3 shows a flow of oil from 18 to and through 42, such that 42 is fluidly coupled to lubrication oil of 18); a waste heat recovery heat exchanger (44; para. 0032 describes 44 as facilitating heat transfer from the exhaust gas of 18 to the bottoming cycle working fluid of 120) is downstream of the working fluid to oil heat exchanger (44 is downstream of 42 in Fig. 3 and as described in para. 0030); fluidly coupling the bottoming cycle working fluid with the working fluid to oil heat exchanger (as shown in Fig. 3, 42 is fluidly coupled with the bottoming cycle working fluid of 120). The order of 42 and 44 along the flow path of the bottoming cycle working fluid may be selected based on the temperature of the respective heat sources and may be installed in order of increasing temperature of the respective heat sources so that the bottoming cycle working fluid may be progressively heated to a higher temperature as the bottoming cycle working fluid moves along the flow path between 38 and 36 (para. 0034). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terwilliger to include fluidly coupling a working fluid to oil heat exchanger between the bottoming cycle compressor and the bottoming cycle turbine, wherein the working fluid to oil heat exchanger is downstream of the bottoming cycle compressor and upstream of the bottoming cycle turbine; fluidly coupling the working fluid to oil heat exchanger to a gas turbine lubrication oil; the waste heat recovery heat exchanger is downstream of the working fluid to oil heat exchanger; fluidly coupling a bottoming cycle working fluid with the working fluid to oil heat exchanger; as taught by Thomassin to cool the oil with the bottoming cycle working fluid while also progressively heating the bottoming cycle working fluid to a higher temperature as the bottoming cycle working fluid moves along the flow path between the bottoming cycle compressor and the bottoming cycle turbine. Terwilliger in view of Thomassin is silent regarding the bottoming cycle generator is a bottoming cycle motor generator; configuring the bottoming cycle motor generator to at least one of produce mechanical rotary shaft energy into the auxiliary shaft responsive to a predetermined gas turbine engine condition and generate electrical power responsive to another predetermined gas turbine engine condition; and coupling an electrical power source in operative communication with the bottoming cycle motor generator; and transferring the thermal energy to the air discharged from the fan. Rodriguez Erdmenger teaches a gas turbine engine (100 Fig. 2) with a heat driven thermal management system (700 Fig. 7; paras. 0010, 0086-0089), i.e., a bottoming cycle (as 306b may be a waste heat recovery heat exchanger per para. 0082), including a turbomachine (702) with a compressor (506) and a turbine (504) supported on an auxiliary shaft (508) of a thermal transport bus (602a,602b), through which a heat exchange fluid, i.e., a bottoming cycle working fluid, flows (para. 0042). Rodriguez Erdmenger teaches a bottoming cycle motor generator (as described in para. 0087: turbomachine 702 includes motor generator 704 to supplement the power that the turbine 504 provides to the compressor 506 and/or to draw power from the turbine 504 itself) in operative communication with the auxiliary shaft (per para. 0087, 704 is coupled to 508, i.e., is in operative communication with 508), configuring the bottoming cycle motor generator to at least one of produce mechanical rotary shaft energy into the auxiliary shaft responsive to a predetermined gas turbine engine condition (per para. 0095 when the M/G unit 704 operates as a motor, the mode circuitry 808 of controller 522 can cause the M/G unit 704 to supply a variable amount of mechanical power to the shaft 508 from startup speeds to a speed threshold where startup is a predetermined gas turbine engine condition) and generate electrical power responsive to another predetermined gas turbine engine condition (per para. 0096 when the shaft speed satisfies the speed threshold, the M/G unit 704 is to operate as a generator (in a “generator mode”) to produce electrical power induced from rotation of the shaft 508 and as described in para. 0089: when the turbomachine 702 operates at rotational speeds that satisfy, e.g., match or exceed, the speed threshold, control system 522 causes a power source to cease transmission of electrical power to the M/G unit 704, i.e., in motor mode, and routes the current of electrical power from the M/G unit 704, i.e., in generator mode, to the fuel management system, as the M/G unit 704 is electrically connected to a demultiplexer that leads to a plurality of power sinks, and the control system 522 can cause the demultiplexer to switch between the plurality of power sinks based on a command input or written instructions and/or operations stored on storage device(s) and/or on a machine readable medium, such that a condition of requiring power for the fuel management system is another predetermined gas turbine engine condition); and coupling an electrical power source in operative communication with the bottoming cycle motor generator (para. 0089 describes control system 522 can cause a power source such as a battery or a generator, e.g., gas turbine engine 100, to supply electrical power, i.e., the power source is an electrical power source, to 704, and the control system 522 causes the electrical power source to cease transmission of electrical power to 704 and routes the current of electrical power from 704 to a power sink, such as onboard system(s) of the aircraft or gas turbine engine and/or to the battery; i.e., coupling the electrical power source in operative communication with 704 is done via 522). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terwilliger in view of Thomassin such that the bottoming cycle generator is a bottoming cycle motor generator, configuring the bottoming cycle motor generator to at least one of produce mechanical rotary shaft energy into the auxiliary shaft responsive to a predetermined gas turbine engine condition and generate electrical power responsive to another predetermined gas turbine engine condition; and coupling an electrical power source in operative communication with the bottoming cycle motor generator as taught by Rodriguez Erdmenger so that the bottoming cycle motor generator can supplement the power that the bottoming cycle turbine provides to the bottoming cycle compressor and/or draw power from the bottoming cycle turbine itself as electrical power to be stored in the power source for later use and/or to be provided to a system of the gas turbine engine or aircraft (Rodriguez Erdmenger para. 0089). Terwilliger in view of Thomassin and Rodriguez Erdmenger does not explicitly teach transferring the thermal energy to the air discharged from the fan. Staubach teaches a turbofan gas turbine engine (Figs. 1 and 4). Staubach teaches a fan heat exchanger (428 Fig. 4; [0056] describe 428 as a heat rejection heat exchanger in which heat of a working fluid 422 is transferred into a fan duct 407 which is an airflow path through gas turbine engine 400 separate from a core flow path) fluidly coupled with air taken downstream from a fan (406 with inlet 404 in Fig. 4; [0054] describes gas turbine engine 400 includes inlet 404 and fan 406; as shown in Fig. 4 and described in [0056-0057] airflow from downstream of fan 406 flows through fan duct 407 to 428) and through the fan heat exchanger to a fan nozzle (420 Fig. 4; [0054] describes fan nozzle 408) downstream from the fan heat exchanger (as shown in Fig. 4, 408 is downstream of 428; [0057] describes fan heat exchanger 428 is arranged within or along fan duct 407 defined between the fan 406 and the fan nozzle 408). Therefore, Staubach teaches transferring the thermal energy to the air discharged from the fan 406 flowing to and through fan heat exchanger 428 to fan nozzle 420. Similar to fan 202 upstream of fan heat exchanger 200 in Fig. 1A of Terwilliger, a fan 436 upstream of fan heat exchanger 428 is also included in Fig. 4 of Staubach to increase a pressure drop of the air from fan 406 across fan heat exchanger 428 (on the cold side) per Staubach [0057]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terwilliger in view of Thomassin and Rodriguez Erdmenger to include transferring the thermal energy to the air discharged from the fan flowing to and through the fan heat exchanger and downstream of the fan heat exchanger to a fan nozzle as taught by Staubach as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, in this case having the fan of the gas turbine engine provide cooling air to the fan heat exchanger to predictably cool, i.e., transfer thermal energy from, the working fluid with the cooling air. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. . . . [W]hen a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious." KSR at 1395-66 (citing Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). Regarding claim 15 , Terwilliger as modified in view of Thomassin, Rodriguez Erdmenger and Staubach discussed above regarding claim 14, therefore teaches coupling a controller in operative communication with the bottoming cycle motor generator (522 is in operative communication with 704 per Rodriguez Erdmenger para. 0089 and Fig. 7). Regarding claim 17 , Terwilliger as modified in view of Thomassin, Rodriguez Erdmenger and Staubach discussed above regarding claim 14, therefore teaches fluidly coupling the fan heat exchanger with the air taken downstream from the fan through the fan heat exchanger to a fan nozzle downstream from the fan heat exchanger (as discussed above, as shown in Fig. 4 of Staubach and described in [0056-0057] airflow from downstream of fan 406 flows through fan duct 407 to 428 and as shown in Fig. 4, 408 is downstream of 428; [0057] describes fan heat exchanger 428 is arranged within or along fan duct 407 defined between the fan 406 and the fan nozzle 408). Regarding claim 19 , Terwilliger in view of Thomassin, Rodriguez Erdmenger and Staubach teaches all that is claimed above and Terwilliger further teaches with reference to Fig. 1A, expanding the bottoming cycle working fluid through the bottoming cycle turbine (per para. 0040 the bottoming cycle working fluid in line 48, downstream of bottoming cycle compressor 44, is heated by the products of combustion (Q1) in the heat exchanger 32 and therefore, when the working fluid in line 48 reaches the bottoming cycle turbine 46 it has increased energy, and provides additional work as the bottoming cycle turbine 46 rotates and expands the bottoming cycle working fluid) to produce rotary shaft energy (rotation of 46 provides rotary shaft energy); and configuring the bottoming cycle turbine to input the rotary shaft energy into the auxiliary shaft (46 uses the increased energy of the heated bottoming cycle working fluid to drive rotation of auxiliary shaft 42, i.e., inputs the rotary shaft energy into 42 as described in para. 0065: a bottoming cycle shaft is driven by the bottoming cycle turbine to drive the bottoming cycle compressor, and power from rotation of the bottoming cycle shaft is captured for further use). Regarding claim 20 , Terwilliger as modified in view of Thomassin, Rodriguez Erdmenger and Staubach discussed above regarding claim 14, therefore teaches employing the motor generator during gas turbine engine operation to at least one of: producing mechanical shaft energy through the auxiliary shaft (as cited above per Rodriguez Erdmenger para. 0095 when the M/G unit 704 operates as a motor, the mode circuitry 808 of controller 522 can cause the M/G unit 704 to supply a variable amount of mechanical power to the shaft 508 from startup speeds to a speed threshold); and utilizing auxiliary shaft rotary power to generate electricity (as cited above per Rodriguez Erdmenger para. 0096 when the shaft speed satisfies the speed threshold, the M/G unit 704 is to operate as a generator (in a “generator mode”) to produce electrical power induced from rotation of the shaft 508) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3-4 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terwilliger et al. 20240026824 in view of Thomassin et al. 20220127009, Rodriguez Erdmenger et al. 20240175390 and Staubach et al. 20210301729 as applied respectively to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Sibbach et al. 20240011417 . Regarding claim 3, Terwilliger in view of Thomassin, Rodriguez Erdmenger and Staubach teaches all that is claimed above and Terwilliger further teaches, with reference to Fig. 1A, a fuel line (line extending between 52 to fuel pump 54 to 50) between the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger (50) and a fuel tank (52) but is silent regarding a fuel bypass valve fluidly coupled to the fuel line. Sibbach teaches, with reference to Fig. 9, a gas turbine engine (710) with a fuel system (780). Sibbach teaches a working fluid to fuel heat exchanger (910) and a fuel tank (782), a fuel line (fuel line from 782 to 914 to 910) and a fuel bypass valve (914) fluidly coupled to the fuel line. The fuel bypass valve 914 is operable to open and to direct fuel through a fuel bypass line (912), bypassing the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger 910, and, thus, the fuel bypass valve 914 selectively operates the fuel system 780 to bypass the fuel heat exchanger 910 because there may be instances when heating the fuel with the working fluid in 910 is not desirable or when removing heat from the working fluid in 910 is not desirable (para. 0172). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terwilliger in view of Thomassin, Rodriguez Erdmenger and Staubach to have a fuel bypass valve fluidly coupled to the fuel line as taught by Sibbach to have fuel bypass the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger when there are instances when heating the fuel in the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger is not desirable or when removing heat from the working fluid in the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger is not desirable. Regarding claim 4, Terwilliger in view of Thomassin, Rodriguez Erdmenger and Staubach teaches all that is claimed above and Terwilliger further teaches, with reference to Fig. 1A, a fuel pump (54) fluidly coupled to a fuel line (fuel line extending between fuel tank 52 to fuel pump 54 to heat exchanger 50) and a fuel tank (52), but is silent regarding the fuel line between a fuel bypass valve and the fuel tank. Sibbach teaches, with reference to Figs. 8-9, a gas turbine engine (710) with a fuel system (780) and a working fluid to fuel heat exchanger (910 Fig. 9). Fuel system 780 includes a fuel delivery assembly (784 Fig. 8) which includes a fuel pump (786 Fig. 8) fluidly connected to a fuel tank (782) to induce the flow of fuel through the fuel delivery assembly 784 to the combustor (726). Sibbach teaches a fuel line (fuel line extending from 782 to 914 in Fig. 9) between a fuel bypass valve (914 Fig. 9) and the fuel tank 782. The fuel bypass valve 914 is operable to open and to direct fuel through a fuel bypass line (912 Fig. 9), bypassing the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger 910, and, thus, the fuel bypass valve 914 selectively operates the fuel system 780 to bypass the fuel heat exchanger 910 because there may be instances when heating the fuel with the working fluid in 910 is not desirable or when removing heat from the working fluid in 910 is not desirable (para. 0172). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terwilliger in view of Thomassin, Rodriguez Erdmenger and Staubach to have the fuel line between a fuel bypass valve and the fuel tank as taught by Sibbach so that fuel can bypass the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger when there are instances when heating the fuel in the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger is not desirable or when removing heat from the working fluid in the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger is not desirable. Regarding claim 16, Terwilliger in view of Thomassin, Rodriguez Erdmenger and Staubach teaches all that is claimed above and Terwilliger further teaches fluidly coupling a fuel line between the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger 50 and the fuel tank 52 (fuel line between 52 and 50 in Fig. 1A); fluidly coupling the fuel tank 52 to the combustor 28 in the gas turbine engine (as shown by flow arrows, 52 is fluidly coupled to 28 in Fig. 1A); and fluidly coupling a fuel pump (54) to the fuel line (as shown in Fig. 1A 54 is fluidly coupled to fuel line). Terwilliger is silent on fluidly coupling a fuel bypass valve to the fuel line, and fluidly coupling the fuel pump to the fuel line between the fuel bypass valve and the fuel tank. Sibbach teaches, with reference to Figs. 8-9, a gas turbine engine (710) with a fuel system (780) and a working fluid to fuel heat exchanger (910 Fig. 9). Fuel system 780 includes a fuel delivery assembly (784 Fig. 8) which includes a fuel pump (786 Fig. 8) fluidly connected to a fuel tank (782) to induce the flow of fuel through the fuel delivery assembly 784 to the combustor (726). Sibbach teaches fluidly coupling a fuel bypass valve (914 Fig. 9) to a fuel line (fuel line extending from 782 to 914 in Fig. 9) and fluidly coupling the fuel pump 786 to the fuel line between 914 and 782 in order to induce fuel flow from 782. The fuel bypass valve 914 is operable to open and to direct fuel through a fuel bypass line (912 Fig. 9), bypassing the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger 910, and, thus, the fuel bypass valve 914 selectively operates the fuel system 780 to bypass the fuel heat exchanger 910 because there may be instances when heating the fuel with the working fluid in 910 is not desirable or when removing heat from the working fluid in 910 is not desirable (para. 0172). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terwilliger in view of Thomassin, Rodriguez Erdmenger and Staubach to include fluidly coupling a fuel bypass valve to the fuel line, and fluidly coupling the fuel pump to the fuel line between the fuel bypass valve and the fuel tank as taught by Sibbach so that fuel can bypass the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger when there are instances when heating the fuel in the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger is not desirable or when removing heat from the working fluid in the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger is not desirable . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terwilliger et al. 20240026824 in view of Thomassin et al. 20220127009, Rodriguez Erdmenger et al. 20240175390 and Staubach et al. 20210301729 as applied respectively to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Chandler 20190368370 . Regarding claim 6 , Terwilliger in view of Thomassin, Rodriguez Erdmenger and Staubach teaches all that is claimed above but is silent on a gearbox in operative communication with the bottoming cycle motor generator, wherein the gearbox is in operative communication with components within the gas turbine engine. Chandler teaches with reference to Fig. 1, a gas turbine engine (10) with generator assembly (20) which, per para. 0044, includes a motor generator (90). A gearbox (as described in para. 0045, gear assembly 100 may be provided with a gearbox) is in operative communication with the motor generator (as described in paras. 0044: motor generator 90 has a shaft 92 and an electric motor gear 94 which drivably connects the generator assembly 20 to a main shaft 26 of the gas turbine engine 10 through a gear assembly 100 so the motor generator 90 may be driven by the main shaft 26 and/or the motor generator 90 may drive the gas turbine engine 10; and as described in para. 0045, gear assembly 100 includes a gearbox integrated onto the main shaft 26 and both the gear assembly 100 and the motor generator 90 may be tied to the gearbox, such that the gearbox is coupled in operative communication with the motor generator 90, to provide and receive power for the gas turbine engine 10 and the gear assembly 100 may employ a series of bevel gears or the like to enable the transfer of rotary motion from the main shaft 26 to the generator assembly 20 and vice versa), wherein the gearbox is in operative communication with components within the gas turbine engine (gearbox is in operative communication with at least main shaft 26, turbine 42 and fan 24 via 26 of gas turbine engine 10, and each are components within 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terwilliger in view of Thomassin, Rodriguez Erdmenger and Staubach to have a gearbox in operative communication with the bottoming cycle motor generator, wherein the gearbox is in operative communication with components within the gas turbine engine as taught by Chandler to enable the transfer of rotary motion from the main shaft of the gas turbine engine to the bottoming cycle motor generator and vice versa for the purpose of exchange of power back and forth between the gas turbine engine and the bottoming cycle motor generator. Regarding claim 18 , Terwilliger in view of Thomassin, Rodriguez Erdmenger and Staubach teaches all that is claimed above but is silent on coupling a gearbox in operative communication with the bottoming cycle motor generator; and coupling the gearbox in operative communication with the fan and components within the gas turbine engine. Chandler teaches with reference to Fig. 1, a gas turbine engine (10) with a fan (24) and a generator assembly (20) which, per para. 0044, includes a motor generator (90). Chandler teaches coupling a gearbox (as described in para. 0045, gear assembly 100 may be provided with a gearbox) in operative communication with the motor generator (as described in paras. 0030, 0032 and 0044: motor generator 90 has a shaft 92 and an electric motor gear 94 which drivably connects the generator assembly 20 to main shaft 26 which drives fan 24 of the gas turbine engine 10, through gear assembly 100 so the motor generator 90 may be driven by the main shaft 26 and/or the motor generator 90 may drive the gas turbine engine 10; and as described in para. 0045, gear assembly 100 includes a gearbox integrated onto the main shaft 26 and both the gear assembly 100 and the motor generator 90 may be tied to the gearbox, such that the gearbox is coupled in operative communication with the fan 24 and the motor generator 90, to provide and receive power for the gas turbine engine 10 and the gear assembly 100 may employ a series of bevel gears or the like to enable the transfer of rotary motion from the main shaft 26 to the generator assembly 20 and vice versa), and coupling the gearbox in operative communication with the fan and components within the gas turbine engine (gearbox is coupled in operative communication with the fan 24 via main shaft 26 and with turbine 42 per [0032] of gas turbine engine 10, and each of 26 and 42 are components within 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terwilliger in view of Thomassin, Rodriguez Erdmenger and Staubach to include coupling a gearbox in operative communication with the bottoming cycle motor generator; and coupling the gearbox in operative communication with the fan and components within the gas turbine engine as taught by Chandler to enable the transfer of rotary motion from the main shaft of the gas turbine engine to the bottoming cycle motor generator and vice versa for the purpose of exchange of power back and forth between the gas turbine engine and the bottoming cycle motor generator . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8-9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terwilliger et al. 20240026824 in view of Thomassin et al. 20220127009, Rodriguez Erdmenger et al. 20240175390, Staubach et al. 20210301729 and Chandler 20190368370 . Regarding independent claim 8 , Terwilliger teaches a hybrid electric bottoming cycle (40 Fig. 1A para. 0038-0042) comprising: an auxiliary shaft (42) supporting a bottoming cycle compressor (44); the auxiliary shaft supporting a bottoming cycle turbine (46); a waste heat recovery heat exchanger (32) fluidly coupled between the bottoming cycle turbine and the bottoming cycle compressor (as shown in Fig. 1A, 32 is fluidly coupled between 46 and 44, similarly to as shown in instant application Fig. 2 where waste heat recovery heat exchanger 90 is fluidly coupled between b.c. turbine 80 and b.c. compressor 82), wherein the waste heat recovery heat exchanger is upstream of the bottoming cycle turbine (as shown in Fig. 1A, 32 is upstream of 46; examiner’s note: since 40 is a loop, 32 may also be considered downstream of 46), the waste heat recovery heat exchanger fluidly coupled to a gas turbine air stream (as shown in Fig. 1A and described in para. 0038: downstream of turbine 30 products of combustion, i.e., a gas turbine air stream, pass through, i.e., are fluidly coupled to, waste heat recovery heat exchanger 32) and located downstream from a low pressure turbine (per para. 0036: 30 may include a low pressure turbine such that since 32 is downstream of 30, 32 is downstream of a low pressure turbine); a working fluid to fuel heat exchanger (50) fluidly coupled between the bottoming cycle turbine 46 and the bottoming cycle compressor 44 (as shown in Fig. 1A, 50 is fluidly coupled between 46 and 44), wherein the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger is downstream of bottoming cycle turbine 46 and upstream of the bottoming cycle compressor 44 (as shown in Fig. 1A, 50 is downstream of 46 and upstream of 44), the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger 50 fluidly coupled (shown by flow arrows from 52 to 50 to 28) between a fuel tank (52) and a combustor (28) in the gas turbine engine; a bottoming cycle working fluid fluidly coupled with the bottoming cycle compressor 44, the waste heat recovery heat exchanger 32, the bottoming cycle turbine 46 and working fluid to fuel heat exchanger 50 (paras. 0038-0041 describe a bottoming cycle working fluid fluidly coupled with 44, 32, 46 and 50); a bottoming cycle generator (43) in operative communication with the auxiliary shaft (as shown in Fig. 1A, 43 is in operative communication with 42; para. 0038); a fan heat exchanger (200 in Fig. 1A; para. 0047 describes a fan 202 passes a secondary fluid, i.e., air, across heat exchanger 200, i.e., 200 is a fan heat exchanger, to remove additional heat that may remain in the bottoming cycle working fluid downstream of 50) fluidly coupled between the bottoming cycle turbine 46 and the bottoming cycle compressor 44 (as shown in Fig. 1A, 200 is fluidly coupled between 46 and 44), wherein the fan heat exchanger (200) is downstream of the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger (50) and upstream of the bottoming cycle compressor (44) (as shown in Fig. 1A, 200 is downstream of 50 and upstream of 44); wherein the fan heat exchanger is configured to remove thermal energy from the bottoming cycle working fluid transferring the thermal energy to air (para. 0047 describes fan 202 passes a secondary fluid, i.e., air, across heat exchanger 200 to remove additional heat, i.e., thermal energy, that may remain in the bottoming cycle working fluid); a fan (31 Fig. 1A; [0037] describes fan 31 of gas turbine engine 20), the fan being fluidly coupled with an inlet air stream ([0037] describes 31 as delivering air into compressor 26, i.e., 31 is fluidly coupled with an inlet air stream, since an air stream entering an inlet of 31 is necessary to enable 31 to deliver air to 26) and coupled with a low pressure compressor ([0036] describes compressor 26 as including a low pressure compressor such that 31 is coupled with the low pressure compressor). Terwilliger is silent regarding a working fluid to oil heat exchanger fluidly coupled between the bottoming cycle compressor and the bottoming cycle turbine, wherein the working fluid to oil heat exchanger is downstream of the bottoming cycle compressor and upstream of the bottoming cycle turbine, the working fluid to oil heat exchanger being fluidly coupled to a gas turbine lubrication oil; the waste heat recovery heat exchanger is downstream of the working fluid to oil heat exchanger; the bottoming cycle working fluid fluidly coupled with the working fluid to oil heat exchanger; the bottoming cycle generator is a motor generator, wherein the bottoming cycle motor generator is configured to at least one of produce mechanical rotary shaft energy into the auxiliary shaft responsive to a predetermined gas turbine engine condition and generate electrical power responsive to another predetermined gas turbine engine condition; and an electrical power source in operative communication with the bottoming cycle motor generator; the air to which the thermal energy is transferred is discharged from the fan; and a gearbox in operative communication with the bottoming cycle motor generator and the fan, wherein the gearbox is in operative communication with components within the gas turbine engine. Thomassin teaches a combustion engine (18 in Figs. 1 and 3; para. 0021 describes combustion engine 18 may be a gas turbine engine) including a bottoming cycle (120 in Fig. 3; para. 0023). Thomassin teaches with reference to Fig. 3, a working fluid to oil heat exchanger (42; para. 0030 describes 42 as facilitating heat transfer from oil used in 18 to a bottoming cycle working fluid of 120) fluidly coupled between a bottoming cycle compressor (38 para. 0029) and a bottoming cycle turbine (36 para. 0029), wherein the working fluid to oil heat exchanger is downstream of the bottoming cycle compressor and upstream of the bottoming cycle turbine (42 is downstream of 38 and upstream of 36 in Fig. 3; para. 0029), the working fluid to oil heat exchanger being fluidly coupled to a gas turbine lubrication oil (para. 0030 describes a lubricating fluid which is oil of a lubricating system of gas turbine engine 18 and Fig. 3 shows a flow of oil from 18 to and through 42, such that 42 is fluidly coupled to lubrication oil of 18); a waste heat recovery heat exchanger (44; para. 0032 describes 44 as facilitating heat transfer from the exhaust gas of 18 to the bottoming cycle working fluid of 120) is downstream of the working fluid to oil heat exchanger (44 is downstream of 42 in Fig. 3 and as described in para. 0030); the bottoming cycle working fluid fluidly coupled with the working fluid to oil heat exchanger (as shown in Fig. 3, 42 is fluidly coupled with the bottoming cycle working fluid of 120). The order of 42 and 44 along the flow path of the bottoming cycle working fluid may be selected based on the temperature of the respective heat sources and may be installed in order of increasing temperature of the respective heat sources so that the bottoming cycle working fluid may be progressively heated to a higher temperature as the bottoming cycle working fluid moves along the flow path between 38 and 36 (para. 0034). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terwilliger to include a working fluid to oil heat exchanger fluidly coupled between the bottoming cycle compressor and the bottoming cycle turbine, wherein the working fluid to oil heat exchanger is downstream of the bottoming cycle compressor and upstream of the bottoming cycle turbine; the waste heat recovery heat exchanger is downstream of the working fluid to oil heat exchanger; the bottoming cycle working fluid fluidly coupled with the working fluid to oil heat exchanger as taught by Thomassin to cool the oil with the bottoming cycle working fluid while also progressively heating the bottoming cycle working fluid to a higher temperature as the bottoming cycle working fluid moves along the flow path between the bottoming cycle compressor and the bottoming cycle turbine. Terwilliger in view of Thomassin is silent regarding the bottoming cycle generator is a bottoming cycle motor generator, wherein the bottoming cycle motor generator is configured to at least one of produce mechanical rotary shaft energy into the auxiliary shaft responsive to a predetermined gas turbine engine condition and generate electrical power responsive to another predetermined gas turbine engine condition; and an electrical power source in operative communication with the bottoming cycle motor generator; the air to which the thermal energy is transferred is discharged from the fan; and a gearbox in operative communication with the bottoming cycle motor generator and the fan, wherein the gearbox is in operative communication with components within the gas turbine engine. Rodriguez Erdmenger teaches a gas turbine engine (100 Fig. 2) with a heat driven thermal management system (700 Fig. 7; paras. 0010, 0086-0089), i.e., a bottoming cycle (as 306b may be a waste heat recovery heat exchanger per para. 0082), including a turbomachine (702) with a compressor (506) and a turbine (504) supported on an auxiliary shaft (508) of a thermal transport bus (602a,602b), through which a heat exchange fluid, i.e., a bottoming cycle working fluid, flows (para. 0042). Rodriguez Erdmenger teaches a bottoming cycle motor generator (as described in para. 0087: turbomachine 702 includes motor generator 704 to supplement the power that the turbine 504 provides to the compressor 506 and/or to draw power from the turbine 504 itself) in operative communication with the auxiliary shaft (per para. 0087, 704 is coupled to 508, i.e., is in operative communication with 508), wherein the bottoming cycle motor generator is configured to at least one of produce mechanical rotary shaft energy into the auxiliary shaft responsive to a predetermined gas turbine engine condition (per para. 0095 when the M/G unit 704 operates as a motor, the mode circuitry 808 of controller 522 can cause the M/G unit 704 to supply a variable amount of mechanical power to the shaft 508 from startup speeds to a speed threshold where startup is a predetermined gas turbine engine condition), and generate electrical power responsive to another predetermined gas turbine engine condition (per para. 0096 when the shaft speed satisfies the speed threshold, the M/G unit 704 is to operate as a generator (in a “generator mode”) to produce electrical power induced from rotation of the shaft 508 and as described in para. 0089: when the turbomachine 702 operates at rotational speeds that satisfy, e.g., match or exceed, the speed threshold, control system 522 causes a power source to cease transmission of electrical power to the M/G unit 704, i.e., in motor mode, and routes the current of electrical power from the M/G unit 704, i.e., in generator mode, to the fuel management system, as the M/G unit 704 is electrically connected to a demultiplexer that leads to a plurality of power sinks, and the control system 522 can cause the demultiplexer to switch between the plurality of power sinks based on a command input or written instructions and/or operations stored on storage device(s) and/or on a machine readable medium, such that a condition of requiring power for the fuel management system is another predetermined gas turbine engine condition); and an electrical power source in operative communication with the bottoming cycle motor generator (para. 0089 describes control system 522 can cause a power source such as a battery or a generator, e.g., gas turbine engine 100, to supply electrical power, i.e., the power source is an electrical power source, to 704, and the control system 522 causes the electrical power source to cease transmission of electrical power to 704 and routes the current of electrical power from 704 to a power sink, such as onboard system(s) of the aircraft or gas turbine engine and/or to the battery; i.e., the electrical power source is in operative communication with 704). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terwilliger in view of Thomassin such that the bottoming cycle generator is a bottoming cycle motor generator, wherein the bottoming cycle motor generator is configured to at least one of produce mechanical rotary shaft energy into the auxiliary shaft responsive to a predetermined gas turbine engine condition and generate electrical power responsive to another predetermined gas turbine engine condition; and an electrical power source is in operative communication with the bottoming cycle motor generator as taught by Rodriguez Erdmenger so that the bottoming cycle motor generator can supplement the power that the bottoming cycle turbine provides to the bottoming cycle compressor and/or draw power from the bottoming cycle turbine itself as electrical power to be stored in the power source for later use and/or to be provided to a system of the gas turbine engine or aircraft (Rodriguez Erdmenger para. 0089). Terwilliger in view of Thomassin and Rodriguez Erdmenger does not explicitly teach the air to which the thermal energy is transferred is discharged from the fan; and a gearbox in operative communication with the bottoming cycle motor generator and the fan, wherein the gearbox is in operative communication with components within the gas turbine engine. Staubach teaches a turbofan gas turbine engine (Figs. 1 and 4). Staubach teaches a fan heat exchanger (428 Fig. 4; [0056] describe 428 as a heat rejection heat exchanger in which heat, i.e., thermal energy, of a working fluid 422 is transferred into a fan duct 407 which is an airflow path through gas turbine engine 400 separate from a core flow path) fluidly coupled with air taken downstream from a fan (406 with inlet 404 in Fig. 4; [0054] describes gas turbine engine 400 includes inlet 404 and fan 406; as shown in Fig. 4 and described in [0056-0057] airflow from downstream of fan 406 flows through fan duct 407 to through and to 428 to a fan nozzle 408). Therefore, Staubach teaches the air to which the thermal energy is transferred within fan heat exchanger 428 is discharged from the fan 406. Similar to fan 202 upstream of fan heat exchanger 200 in Fig. 1A of Terwilliger, a fan 436 upstream of fan heat exchanger 428 is also included in Fig. 4 of Staubach to increase a pressure drop of the air from fan 406 across fan heat exchanger 428 (on the cold side) per Staubach [0057]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terwilliger in view of Thomassin and Rodriguez Erdmenger to have the air to which the thermal energy is transferred is discharged from the fan as taught by Staubach as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, in this case having the fan of the gas turbine engine provide the cooling air to the fan heat exchanger to predictably cool the working fluid with the cooling airflow. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. . . . [W]hen a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious." KSR at 1395-66 (citing Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). Terwilliger in view of Thomassin, Rodriguez Erdmenger and Staubach does not explicitly teach a gearbox in operative communication with the bottoming cycle motor generator and the fan, wherein the gearbox is in operative communication with components within the gas turbine engine. Chandler teaches with reference to Fig. 1, a gas turbine engine (10) with fan (24) and generator assembly (20) which, per para. 0044, includes a motor generator (90). A gearbox (as described in para. 0045, gear assembly 100 may be provided with a gearbox) is in operative communication with the motor generator and the fan (as described in paras. 0030, 0032 and 0044: motor generator 90 has a shaft 92 and an electric motor gear 94 which drivably connects the generator assembly 20 to main shaft 26 which drives fan 24 with turbine 42 drivably connected to fan 24 through the main shaft 26 of the gas turbine engine 10, through gear assembly 100 so the motor generator 90 may be driven by the main shaft 26 and/or the motor generator 90 may drive the gas turbine engine 10; and as described in para. 0045, gear assembly 100 includes a gearbox integrated onto the main shaft 26 and both the gear assembly 100 and the motor generator 90 may be tied to the gearbox, such that the gearbox is coupled in operative communication with the fan 24 and the motor generator 90, to provide and receive power for the gas turbine engine 10 and the gear assembly 100 may employ a series of bevel gears or the like to enable the transfer of rotary motion from the main shaft 26 to the generator assembly 20 and vice versa), wherein the gearbox is in operative communication with components within the gas turbine engine (gearbox is in operative communication with at least main shaft 26, turbine 42 and fan 24 via 26 of gas turbine engine 10 and each are components within 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terwilliger in view of Thomassin, Rodriguez Erdmenger and Staubach to have a gearbox in operative communication with the bottoming cycle motor generator and the fan, wherein the gearbox is in operative communication with components within the gas turbine engine as taught by Chandler to enable the transfer of rotary motion from the main shaft of the gas turbine engine to the bottoming cycle motor generator and vice versa for the purpose of exchange of power back and forth between the gas turbine engine and the bottoming cycle motor generator. Regarding claim 9 , Terwilliger as modified in view of Thomassin, Rodriguez Erdmenger, Staubach and Chandler as discussed above regarding claim 8, therefore teaches a controller in operative communication with the motor generator (522 is in operative communication with 704 per Rodriguez Erdmenger para. 0089 and Fig. 7). Regarding claim 13 , Terwilliger in view of Thomassin, Rodriguez Erdmenger, Staubach and Chandler teaches all that is claimed above and Terwilliger further teaches with reference to Fig. 1A, the bottoming cycle turbine is configured to expand the bottoming cycle working fluid through the bottoming cycle turbine (per para. 0040 the bottoming cycle working fluid in line 48, downstream of bottoming cycle compressor 44, is heated by the products of combustion (Q1) in the heat exchanger 32 and therefore, when the working fluid in line 48 reaches the bottoming cycle turbine 46 it has increased energy, and provides additional work as the bottoming cycle turbine 46 rotates and expands the bottoming cycle working fluid) and produce rotary shaft energy (rotation of 46 provides rotary shaft energy), the bottoming cycle turbine being configured to input the rotary shaft energy into the auxiliary shaft (46 uses the increased energy of the heated bottoming cycle working fluid to drive rotation of auxiliary shaft 42, i.e., inputs the rotary shaft energy into 42 as described in para. 0065: a bottoming cycle shaft is driven by the bottoming cycle turbine to drive the bottoming cycle compressor, and power from rotation of the bottoming cycle shaft is captured for further use) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terwilliger et al. 20240026824 in view of Thomassin et al. 20220127009, Rodriguez Erdmenger et al. 20240175390, Staubach et al. 20210301729 and Chandler 20190368370 as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Sibbach et al. 20240011417 . Regarding claim 10, Terwilliger in view of Thomassin, Rodriguez Erdmenger, Staubach and Chandler teaches all that is claimed above and Terwilliger further teaches a fuel line between the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger 50 and the fuel tank 52 (fuel line between 52 and 50 in Fig. 1A), wherein the fuel tank 52 is fluidly coupled to the combustor 28 in the gas turbine engine (as shown by flow arrows, 52 is fluidly coupled to 28 in Fig. 1A); and a fuel pump (54) fluidly coupled to the fuel line (as shown in Fig. 1A 54 is fluidly coupled to fuel line). Terwilliger is silent on a fuel bypass valve fluidly coupled to the fuel line and the fuel pump fluidly coupled to the fuel line between the fuel bypass valve and the fuel tank. Sibbach teaches, with reference to Figs. 8-9, a gas turbine engine (710) with a fuel system (780) and a working fluid to fuel heat exchanger (910 Fig. 9). Fuel system 780 includes a fuel delivery assembly (784 Fig. 8) which includes a fuel pump (786 Fig. 8) fluidly connected to a fuel tank (782) to induce the flow of fuel through the fuel delivery assembly 784 to the combustor (726). Sibbach teaches a fuel bypass valve (914 Fig. 9) fluidly coupled to a fuel line (fuel line extending from 782 to 914 in Fig. 9) with fuel pump 786 fluidly coupled to the fuel line between 914 and 782 in order to induce fuel flow from 782. The fuel bypass valve 914 is operable to open and to direct fuel through a fuel bypass line (912 Fig. 9), bypassing the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger 910, and, thus, the fuel bypass valve 914 selectively operates the fuel system 780 to bypass the fuel heat exchanger 910 because there may be instances when heating the fuel with the working fluid in 910 is not desirable or when removing heat from the working fluid in 910 is not desirable (para. 0172). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terwilliger in view of Thomassin, Rodriguez Erdmenger, Staubach and Chandler to have a fuel bypass valve fluidly coupled to the fuel line and the fuel pump fluidly coupled to the fuel line between the fuel bypass valve and the fuel tank as taught by Sibbach so that fuel can bypass the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger when there are instances when heating the fuel in the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger is not desirable or when removing heat from the working fluid in the working fluid to fuel heat exchanger is not desirable. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on newly cited prior art as teaching new limitations particularly relating to a fan added to claims 1, 8 and 14 while relying on the prior art of record used in the prior rejection of record for teaching previously claimed limitations not specifically challenged in the argument. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSON JOAN HARRINGTON whose telephone number is (571)272-2359. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9 am - 5 pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Devon Kramer can be reached on (571) 272-7118. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /A.J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3741 /LORNE E MEADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 2 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 3 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 4 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 5 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 6 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 7 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 8 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 9 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 10 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 11 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 12 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 13 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 14 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 15 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 16 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 17 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 18 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 19 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 20 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 21 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 22 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 23 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 24 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 25 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 26 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 27 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 28 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 29 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 30 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 31 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 32 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 33 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 34 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 35 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 36 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 37 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 38 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 39 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 40 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 41 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 42 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 43 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/640,211 Page 44 Art Unit: 3741