DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 10, 13-14, and 18 have been amended. Claims 2-3 and 15 have been cancelled. Claims 21-23 have been added. Therefore, claims 1, 4-14, and 16-23 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings, Specification, and Claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed June 26, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-12, and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first portion" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 1 will be read as “a first portion”.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the third width portion" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 22 will be read as “a third width portion”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-14, and 16-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN111279088A), hereinafter "Li".
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Li teaches a spring clip (Fig 1, retainer 102) comprising:
a base plate (Fig 1, panel 106) having a first hole (Paragraph 0026, Examiner notes support panel 106 may include a through hole axially aligned with the fastener channel 143 as having a first hole) and a second hole (Fig 1, chamber 134) disposed therein, the first hole (Paragraph 0026) to permit passage (Paragraphs 0025-0026) of a bolt (Fig 3, fastener 170), the second hole (134) to secure (see Fig 1, Paragraph 0025) a retainer (Fig 1, base 140) to the base plate (106), the retainer (140) to hold (see Fig 1, Paragraph 0025) a nut (Fig 1, nut 104) for the bolt (170) in alignment (see Fig 1, Paragraph 0025) with the first hole (Paragraph 0026) regardless of a presence (see Fig 1) of the bolt (170); and
an arm (see Fig 1, Examiner notes clip 108 including rod 126 extending from corners 110, 116 as an arm) extending (see Fig 1) from the base plate (106), both (see Fig 1) the arm (see Fig 1) and the base plate (106) defined by a sheet of metal (see Fig 1, Paragraph 0020, Examiner notes single piece of stamped metal as defined by a sheet of metal), the arm (see Fig 1) including a first planar portion (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a planar portion of beam 118 extending perpendicular to panel 106 at corner 110 as including a first planar portion) and a second planar portion (see Fig 1, Examiner notes left rod 126 as a second planar portion), the first planar portion (see Fig 1) of the arm (see Fig 1) extending (see Fig 1) in a first direction (see Fig 1) transverse (see Fig 1) to the base plate (106) based on a first bend (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a bend between panel 106 and beam 118 at corner 110 as based on a first bend) in the sheet of metal (see Fig 1) between (see Fig 1) the base plate (106) and the first portion (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a portion of beam 118 extending perpendicular to panel 106 at corner 110 as the first portion), the second planar portion (see Fig 1) of the arm (see Fig 1) extending (see Fig 1) in a second direction (see Fig 1) transverse (see Fig 1) to the first planar portion (see Fig 1) of the arm (see Fig 1) based on a second bend (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a bend between beams 120, 122 at corner 110 as based on a second bend) in the sheet of metal (see Fig 1) between (see Fig 1) the first planar portion (see Fig 1) and the second planar portion (see Fig 1) so that the second planar portion (see Fig 1) overlaps (see Fig 1) the base plate (106), the first bend (see Fig 1) defined by a first angle (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a 90 degree angle between the planar portion of beam 118 extending perpendicular to panel 106 at corner 110 as defined by a first angle) between (see Fig 1) a planar portion (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a portion of surface 124 adjacent the planar portion of beam 118 extending perpendicular to panel 106 at corner 110 as a planar portion) of the base plate (106) and the first planar portion (see Fig 1) of the arm (see Fig 1), the second bend (see Fig 1) defined by a second angle (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a less than 90 degree angle between left rod 126 and the planar portion of beam 118 extending perpendicular to panel 106 at corner 110 as defined by a second angle) between (see Fig 1) the first planar portion (see Fig 1) of the arm (see Fig 1) and the second planar portion (see Fig 1) of the arm (see Fig 1), the second angle (see Fig 1) different (see Fig 1, Examiner notes the 90 degree angle between the planar portion of beam 118 extending perpendicular to panel 106 at corner 110 being greater than the less than 90 degree angle between left rod 126 and the planar portion of beam 118 extending perpendicular to panel 106 at corner 110 as different) from the first angle (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Li teaches the spring clip (102) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the second angle (see Fig 1) is less than (see Fig 1) the first angle (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, Li teaches the spring clip (102) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first (see Fig 1) and second angles (see Fig 1) result in a first point (see Figs 1 and 4, Examiner notes, with respect to Fig 4, a point in a middle of a V-shaped recess on an underside surface, i.e. adjacent panel 106, of left rod 126 as a first point) on the second planar portion (see Fig 1) of the arm (see Fig 1) being closer (see Fig 1) to the base plate (106) than a second point (see Figs 1 and 4, Examiner notes, with respect to Fig 4, a point in a middle of the V-shaped recess on a topside surface, i.e. distal panel 106, of left rod 126 as a second point) on the second planar portion (see Fig 1) of the arm (see Fig 1) is to the base plate (106), the first point closer (see Figs 1 and 4) to the first planar portion (see Fig 1) of the arm (see Fig 1) than the second point (see Figs 1 and 4) is to the first planar portion (see Fig 1) of the arm (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Li teaches the spring clip (102) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the arm (see Fig 1) includes a stem (see Fig 1, Examiner notes beam 118 at corner 110 as includes a stem) connecting (see Fig 1) the first planar portion (see Fig 1) of the arm (see Fig 1) and the second planar portion (see Fig 1) of the arm (see Fig 1), the stem (see Fig 1) narrower (see Fig 1) than a width (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a width of tab 130 as a width) of the base plate (106).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Li teaches the spring clip (102) of claim 6 and further teaches wherein the stem (see Fig 1) is a first stem (see Fig 1), and the arm (see Fig 1) includes a second stem (see Fig 1, Examiner notes beam 118 at corner 116 as includes a second stem), the first (see Fig 1) and second stems (see Fig 1) define opposite sides (see Fig 1) of a cutout (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a cutout between beams 118 at corners 110, 116 as a cutout) in the arm (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Li teaches the spring clip (102) of claim 6 and further teaches wherein at least a segment (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a segment of beam 118 at corner 110 as at least a segment) of the first planar portion (see Fig 1) of the arm (see Fig 1) has a first width (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a width of beam 118 at corner 110 as has a first width), the first width (see Fig 1) corresponding (see Fig 1, Examiner notes the width of beam 118 at corner 110 and the width of tab 130 being parallel as corresponding) to the width (see Fig 1) of the base plate (106).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Li teaches the spring clip (102) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the arm (see Fig 1) includes a cutout to increase a flexibility (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a cutout between beams 118 at corners 110, 116 as includes a cutout to increase flexibility) of the arm (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Li teaches the spring clip (102) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the arm (see Fig 1) is a first arm (see Fig 1), the spring clip (102) further including a second arm (see Fig 1, Examiner notes clip 108 including rod 126 extending from corners 112 and 114 as including a second arm) including a third planar portion (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a planar portion of beam 118 extending perpendicular to panel 106 at corner 112 as including a third planar portion) and a fourth planar portion (see Fig 1, Examiner notes right rod 126 as a fourth planar portion), the third planar portion (see Fig 1) extending (see Fig 1) in a third direction (see Fig 1) transverse (see Fig 1) to the base plate (106), the fourth planar portion (see Fig 1) extending (see Fig 1) in a fourth direction (see Fig 1) transverse (see Fig 1) to the third planar portion (see Fig 1), the fourth planar portion (see Fig 1) of the second arm (see Fig 1) extending (see Fig 1) towards the second planar portion (see Fig 1) of the first arm (see Fig 1), the second planar portion (see Fig 1) of the first arm (see Fig 1) extending (see Fig 1) towards the fourth planar portion (see Fig 1) of the second arm (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Li teaches the spring clip (102) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the base plate (106) includes a tab (Fig 1, wall 132) protruding (see Fig 1) outward from an edge (see Fig 1) of the base plate (106), the second hole (134) disposed (see Fig 1, Examiner notes chamber 134 being within wall 132 as disposed) in the tab (132).
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, Li teaches the spring clip (102) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the arm (see Fig 1) includes a tab (see Fig 1, Examiner notes beam 122 at corner 110 as includes a tab) protruding (see Fig 1) from a side (see Fig 1) of the arm (see Fig 1), the tab (see Fig 1) including a third hole (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an opening between beams 118, 122 at corner 110 in which base 140 engages as including a third hole).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches a unitary C-shaped clip (Fig 1, retainer 102) made of sheet metal (see Fig 1, Paragraph 0020, Examiner notes single piece of stamped metal as made of sheet metal) comprising:
a first segment (Fig 1, panel 106) of the sheet metal (see Fig 1) including a first opening (Paragraph 0026, Examiner notes support panel 106 may include a through hole axially aligned with the fastener channel 143 as including a first opening) for passage (Paragraphs 0025-0026) of a bolt (Fig 3, fastener 170);
a second segment (see Fig 1, Examiner notes clip 108 including rod 126 extending from corners 110, 116 as a second segment) of the sheet metal (see Fig 1) including a second opening (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a cutout between beams 118 at corners 110, 116 as including a second opening), the second opening (see Fig 1) to increase a flexibility (see Fig 1) of the second segment (see Fig 1) relative to the first segment (106), the second segment (see Fig 1) coupled (see Fig 1) to the first segment (106) at a first bend (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a bend between panel 106 and beam 118 at corner 110 as based on a first bend) in the sheet metal (see Fig 1), the second segment (see Fig 1) including a second bend (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a bend between beams 120, 122 at corner 110 as including a second bend) parallel (see Fig 1) to the first bend (see Fig 1), the second opening (see Fig 1) extending (see Fig 1) across the second bend (see Fig 1) and spaced (see Fig 1) apart from the first bend (see Fig 1) and the first segment (106); and
a third segment (see Fig 1, Examiner notes clip 108 including rod 126 extending from corners 112, 114 as a third segment) of the sheet metal (see Fig 1) including a third opening (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a cutout between beams 118 at corners 112, 114 as including a third opening), the third opening (see Fig 1) to increase a flexibility (see Fig 1) of the third segment (see Fig 1) relative to the first segment (106), the second (see Fig 1) and third segments (see Fig 1) defining opposing ends (see Fig 1) of the unitary C-shaped clip (102) with the first segment (106) disposed therebetween (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches the unitary C-shaped clip (102) of claim 13 and further teaches wherein the first bend (see Fig 1) has a first angle (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a 90 degree angle between a planar portion of beam 118 extending perpendicular to panel 106 at corner 110 as has a first angle), and the second bend (see Fig 1) has a second angle (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a less than 90 degree angle between left rod 126 and the planar portion of beam 118 extending perpendicular to panel 106 at corner 110 as has a second angle), the first angle (see Fig 1) and the second angle (see Fig 1) summing to less than 180 degrees (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a sum of the 90 degree angle between the planar portion of beam 118 extending perpendicular to panel 106 at corner 110 and the less than 90 degree angle between left rod 126 and the planar portion of beam 118 extending perpendicular to panel 106 at corner 110 as summing to less than 180 degrees).
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches the unitary C-shaped clip (102) of claim 13 and further teaches wherein the second segment (see Fig 1) has a first width (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a width of left beams 122 and left rod 126 as has a first width) at a first end (see Fig 1) distal (see Fig 1) to the first segment (106) and a second width (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a width of the planar portion of beam 118 extending perpendicular to panel 106 at corner 110 as a second width) at a second end (see Fig 1) proximal (see Fig 1) to the first segment (106), the first width (see Fig 1) greater (see Fig 1) than the second width (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches the unitary C-shaped clip (102) of claim 13 and further teaches wherein the first segment (106) of the sheet metal (see Fig 1) includes fourth and fifth openings (see Fig 1, Examiner notes bend reliefs on each of walls 132 as includes fourth and fifth openings) on opposite sides (see Fig 1) of the first opening (Paragraph 0026).
Regarding claim 18, Li teaches an apparatus (Fig 1, assembly 100) comprising:
a spring clip (Fig 1, retainer 102) including a hole (Paragraph 0026, Examiner notes support panel 106 may include a through hole axially aligned with the fastener channel 143 as including a hole) in a central portion (Paragraph 0026) of the spring clip (102), the hole (Paragraph 0025) dimensioned to permit (Paragraphs 0025-0026) a bolt (Fig 3, fastener 170) to pass (Paragraphs 0025-0026) through, the spring clip (102) including first (see Fig 1, Examiner notes clip 108 including rod 126 extending from corners 110, 116 as including a first arm) and second arms (see Fig 1, Examiner notes clip 108 including rod 126 extending from corners 112, 114 as a second arm) on opposing sides (see Fig 1) of the central portion (see Fig 1), the first (see Fig 1) and second arms (see Fig 1) bent (see Fig 1) relative to the central portion (see Fig 1) so that first (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an end of clip 108 including rod 126 extending from corners 110, 116 as a first free end) and second free ends (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an end of clip 108 including rod 126 extending from corners 112, 114 as a second free end) of the respective first (see Fig 1) and second arms (see Fig 1) extend (see Fig 1) towards one another (see Fig 1) in an area (see Fig 1) above (see Fig 1) the hole (Paragraph 0026); and
a nut (Fig 1, nut 104) to be fastened (see Fig 1) to the spring clip (102) adjacent (see Fig 1) to and in alignment (see Fig 1) with the hole (Paragraph 0026) when the bolt (170) is not extending (see Fig 1) through the hole (Paragraph 0026), the first (see Fig 1) and second free ends (see Fig 1) of the first (see Fig 1) and second arms (see Fig 1) to be spaced (see Fig 1) apart from the nut (104).
Regarding claim 19, Li teaches the apparatus (100) of claim 18 and further teaches wherein the hole (Paragraph 0026) is a first hole (Paragraph 0026), the apparatus (100) further including a retainer (Fig 1, base 140) to be secured (see Fig 1) to the spring clip (102) via second (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an opening between wall 132 and beam 118 extending from corner 110 in which base 140 engages as a second hole) and third holes (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an opening between wall 132 and beam 118 extending from corner 114 in which base 140 engages as a third hole) in the spring clip (102), the first hole (Paragraph 0026) larger (see Fig 1) than the second hole (see Fig 1) and larger (see Fig 1) than the third hole (see Fig 1), the first hole (Paragraph 0026) between (see Fig 1) the second (see Fig 1) and third holes (see Fig 1), the nut (104) to be fastened (see Fig 1) to the spring clip (102) by the retainer (140).
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches the apparatus (100) of claim 18 and further teaches wherein the first (see Fig 1) and second arms (see Fig 1) include respective first (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a cutout between beams 118 at corners 110, 116 as a first cutout) and second cutouts (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a cutout between beams 118 at corners 112, 114 as a second cutout) to provide flexibility (see Fig 1) to the first (see Fig 1) and second arms (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 21, as best understood, Li teaches the spring clip (102) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein both the planar portion (see Fig 1) of the base plate (106) and the first planar portion (see Fig 1) of the arm (see Fig 1) have a first width (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a width of the planar portion of beam 118 extending perpendicular to panel 106 at corner 110 and a width of the portion of surface 124 adjacent the planar portion of beam 118 extending perpendicular to panel 106 at corner 110 as have a first width), and the second planar portion (see Fig 1) of the arm (see Fig 1) has a second width (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a width of left rod 126 distal beam 120 as has a second width) that is greater (see Figs 1 and 4) than the first width (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 22, as best understood, Li teaches the spring clip (102) of claim 21 and further teaches wherein the second width (see Fig 1) is at an end (see Fig 1) of the second planar portion (see Fig 1) distal (see Fig 1) to the first planar portion (see Fig 1), the second planar portion (see Fig 1) including a third width (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a width of left rod 126 adjacent beam 120 as including a third width) proximate (see Fig 1) to the first planar portion (see Fig 1), the third width portion (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a portion of the width of left rod 126 adjacent beam 120 as the third width portion) corresponding (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a portion of the width of left rod 126 adjacent beam 120 and the width of the planar portion of beam 118 extending perpendicular to panel 106 at corner 110 being parallel as corresponding) to the first width (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 23, as best understood, Li teaches the spring clip (102) of claim 21 and further teaches including a tab (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a tab of panel 106 protruding adjacent wall 132 at corner 110 as including a tab) protruding outward (see Fig 1) from an edge (see Fig 1) of the base plate (106), the tab (see Fig 1) having a first length (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a length parallel to wall 132 of the tab of panel 106 protruding adjacent wall 132 at corner 110 as having a first length) extending parallel (see Fig 1) to a second length (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a length parallel to wall 132 of the planar portion of beam 118 extending perpendicular to panel 106 at corner 110 as a second length) of the planar portion (see Fig 1) of the base plate (106), the second length (see Fig 1) extending perpendicular (see Fig 1) to the first width (see Fig 1) of the planar portion (see Fig 1) of the base plate (106), the first length (see Fig 1) less than (see Figs 1 and 4) the second length (see Fig 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 13, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675