DETAILED ACTION
In addressing the rejection ground, each claim may not have been separately discussed to the extent the claimed features are the same as or similar to the previously-discussed features; the previous discussion is construed to apply for the other claims in the same or similar way.
In the office action, “/” should be read as and/or as generally understood. For example, “A/B” means A and B, or A or B.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 16 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/01/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Claim 1 recites “includes materials used on other components…at least one other component”. The drawing figures fail to show “other components” and “at least one other component”.
Similarly, claim 14 recites “includes materials used on other components…at least one other component”. The drawing figures fail to show “other components” and “at least one other component”.
Therefore, the above features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
In addition, neither the drawing figures nor specification discloses or suggests how/when to control one/two/three components in which the first set of materials is used, for example
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the phrase ”includes materials used on other components in the storage device…wherein the first set of materials is used in at least one other component in the storage device”. However, the original specification failed to describe/point out what other components and at least one other component are. In addition, the specification fails to show what the relationship between other components/at least one other component and circuit elements in the storage device. For example, the original specification fails to show whether there are any circuit elements in the storage device besides the first set of materials are reused in other components/at least one other component. In addition, the original specification fails to describe how/when to control at least one component in which the first set of materials is used. For example, neither the drawing figures nor specification discloses or suggests how/when to control one/two/three components in which the first set of materials is used. In addition, it’s not clear whether at least one other component could include any recited circuit elements in the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the phrase ”includes materials used on other components in the storage device…wherein the first set of materials is used in at least one other component in the storage device”, which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Neither specification nor drawing figures indicates/shows what at least one other component is. In addition, they do not indicate/show any claim-recited overlay circuit elements in at least one other component. In addition, it’s unclear how the first set can be used to control one of turning on and turning off the states of the bi-color LED and are also used in other one/two/three/four component(s).
Claims 2-13 are rejected based on the dependency from claim 1.
Similarly, claim 14 recites “the bi-color control circuitry includes materials used on other components in the storage device...the first set of materials is used in at least one other component in the storage device”, which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Neither specification nor drawing figures indicates/shows what at least one other component is. In addition, they do not indicate/show any claim-recited overlay circuit elements in at least one other component. In addition, it’s unclear how the first set can be used to control one of turning on and turning off the states of the bi-color LED and are also used in other one/two/three/four component(s).
Claim 15 is rejected based on the dependency from claim 14.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). It appears the term “material” in at least claims 1, 2 and 14 is used by the claims to mean “circuit element”. The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. It’s not clear whether “first set of materials” recites in the claim refer to first set of circuit elements, first set of substances, or something else.
Claims 2-13 are rejected based on the dependency from claim 1.
Claim 15 is rejected based on the dependency from claim 14.
Further clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maya (US 2023/0007748).
Regarding claim 1 (as best understood), Maya discloses a bi-color control circuitry [e.g. 100 fig. 2/300 fig. 5 (see the corresponding elements)] in a storage device [see at least para. 0010], the bi-color control circuitry controls states of a bi-color light-emitting diode (LED) and includes materials used on other components [first set of materials and at least one of R3/R4/D3; ; resistive component(s)/a first component and/or a second component] in the storage device, the bi-color control circuitry comprises: a bi-color LED [e.g. LED1, LED2]; a first current limit resistor [R1/R2/R3/R4] and a second current limit resistor [R2/R3/R4/R1], the first current limit resistor and the second current limit resistor being different value resistors; and a first set of materials [e.g. Q1, Q2] contributing to one of turning on and turning off the states of the bi-color LED, wherein the first set of materials is used in at least one other component [e.g. first set of materials and at least one of R3/R4/D3; considered as resistive component(s)/a first component and/or a second component] in the storage device and wherein the first set of materials, the first current limit resistor, and the second current limit resistor change the states of the bi-color LED according to a host signal [e.g. LED Pin A10] received by the bi-color control circuitry.
Regarding claim 4 (as best understood), Maya discloses the bi-color control circuitry of claim 1, wherein the values of the first current limit resistor and the second current limit resistor vary depending on a light requirement of the bi-color LED.
Regarding claim 5 (as best understood), Maya discloses the bi-color control circuitry of claim 1, wherein the bi-color control circuitry receives the host signal through an LED pin connector [e.g. LED_Pin A10] between a host and the storage device.
Regarding claim 6 (as best understood), Maya discloses the bi-color control circuitry of claim 1, wherein the bi-color LED is an amber LED [e.g. LED2, see para. 0023, LED2 can have amber color] and a blue LED [e.g. LED1], and when a high host signal is received by the bi-color control circuitry, the high host signal goes through the amber LED to ground, the amber LED turns into a forward state, and current flows through the first current limit resistor [e.g. R1].
Regarding claim 7 (as best understood), Maya discloses the bi-color control circuitry of claim 6, wherein the high host signal flows through a first MOSFET [e.g. X1 fig. 5], turns the first MOSFET on and the current passes through the first MOSFET, shorting a gate voltage of a second MOSFET [e.g. X2] and turning the second MOSFET to an off state to turn off the blue LED.
Regarding claim 8 (as best understood), Maya discloses the bi-color control circuitry of claim 1, wherein the bi-color LED is an amber LED [e.g. LED2, see para. 0023, LED2 can have amber color] and a blue LED [e.g. LED1], and when a low host signal is received by the bi-color control circuitry, no current flows to the amber LED and the amber LED is turned to an off state.
Regarding claim 9 (as best understood), Maya discloses the bi-color control circuitry of claim 8, wherein a gate of a first MOSFET [e.g. X1 fig. 5] gets the low host signal, turns off the first MOSFET so that no current flows to the first MOSFET, turns on a second MOSFET [e.g. X2], and moves the blue LED to a forward state, wherein current flows through the second current limit resistor [e.g. R1/R3/R4] and the blue LED.
Regarding claim 10 (as best understood), Maya discloses the bi-color control circuitry of claim 1, wherein the bi-color LED is an amber LED [e.g. LED2, see para. 0023, LED2 can have amber color] and a blue LED [e.g. LED1], and when no host signal is received by the bi-color control circuitry, current flowing through a first resistor [e.g. R1] and a second resistor [e.g. R2] is insufficient to turn on the amber LED.
Regarding claim 11 (as best understood), Maya discloses the bi-color control circuitry of claim 10, wherein the current turns on a first MOSFET [e.g. X2 fig. 5] and turns off a second MOSFET [e.g. X1] and the blue LED.
Regarding claim 12 (as best understood), Maya discloses the bi-color control circuitry of claim 1, wherein the bi-color LED is an amber LED [e.g. LED2, see para. 0023, LED2 can have amber color] and a blue LED [e.g. LED1] and the amber LED off and on states are independent of current flowing through the bi-color control circuitry.
Regarding claim 13 (as best understood), Maya discloses the bi-color control circuitry of claim 1, wherein the bi-color LED is an amber LED [e.g. LED2, see para. 0023, LED2 can have amber color] and a blue LED [e.g. LED1], and the blue LED is in an off state when current is not present in the bi-color control circuitry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maya (US 2023/0007748).
Regarding claim 2 (as best understood), Maya discloses the bi-color control circuitry of claim 1, wherein the first set of materials includes a first metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET) [e.g. X1/X2], a second MOSFET [e.g. X2/X1], a first resistor [e.g. R3/R4/R1/R2], and a second resistor [e.g. R4/R3/R2/R1]. Maya does not disclose one resistor has the same value as another resistor. However, the resistance values are merely a design choice. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first resistor and the second resistor having a same value because the circuit needs a specific implementation, or at least one of the resistors can be combined by multiple resistors having same resistance value or having same resistance value of another resistor because they are equivalent circuit having same resistance value (e.g. the resistance value of a resistor is combined by smaller values but the resistance value is not changed).
It’s suggested to recite more circuit structure of the bi-color control circuitry.
Regarding claim 3 (as best understood), Maya discloses the bi-color control circuitry of claim 1. Maya discloses the first current limit resistor is approximately 800 ohm [para. 0018], but Maya does not explicitly disclose the first current limit resistor is an 845-ohm resistor, and the second current limit resistor is a 130-ohm resistor. However, the resistance values are merely a design choice. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first current limit resistor is an 845-ohm resistor, and the second current limit resistor is a 130-ohm resistor because the circuit needs a specific implementation, or at least one of the resistors can be combined by multiple resistors having an 845-ohm resistor and/or a 130-ohm resistor because they are equivalent circuit having same resistance value.
Regarding claim 14 (as best understood), Maya discloses a bi-color control circuitry in a storage device, the bi-color control circuitry controls states of a bi-color light-emitting diode (LED) including a first LED and a second LED [e.g. LED1, LED2] and the bi-color control circuitry includes materials used on other components [e.g. the component having the first set of materials and at least one of R1/R2/D3/R3/R4; resistive component(s)/a first component and/or a second component] in the storage device, the bi-color control circuitry comprises: a bi-color LED; a first current limit resistor and a second current limit resistor, the first current limit resistor and the second current limit resistor being different value resistors; and a first set of materials contributing to one of turning on and turning off the states of the bi-color LED, wherein the first set of materials is used in at least one other component [e.g. the component having the first set of materials and at least one of R1/R2/D3/R3/R4; resistive component(s)/a first component and/or a second component] in the storage device and the first set of materials includes a first metal-oxide-semiconductor field- effect transistor (MOSFET) [e.g. X1/X2], a second MOSFET [e.g. X2/X1], a first resistor [e.g. R3/R2/R4], and a second resistor [e.g. R4/R3/R2] placed between the second MOSFET and the first LED [e.g. LED1/LED2], wherein the first set of materials, the first current limit resistor, and the second current limit resistor change the states of the bi-color LED according to a host signal received by the bi-color control circuitry. See at least rejections of claims 1-2.
Maya does not disclose one resistor has the same value as another resistor. However, the resistance values are merely a design choice. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first resistor and the second resistor having a same value because the circuit needs a specific implementation, or at least one of the resistors can be combined by multiple resistors having same resistance value or having same resistance value of another resistor because they are equivalent circuit having same resistance value.
Claim 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maya (US 2023/0007748) in view of Gupta et al. (US 2020/0018782).
Regarding claim 15 (as best understood), Maya discloses the bi-color control circuitry of claim 14, except wherein the bi-color control circuitry uses different sized MOSFETs. Maya does not disclose X2 (or X1) can be a p-type MOSFET. However, it’s well-known to replace a n-type MOSFET with a p-type MOSFET, for example, Gupta discloses to replace a n-type MOSFET with a p-type MOSFET [para. 0058], such that the combination discloses the bi-color control circuitry uses different sized MOSFETs Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Maya in accordance with the teaching of Gupta regarding MOSFETs in order to utilize a well-known p-type MOSFET.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
‘Applicant submits that the drawings show a controller which may include components on which materials M1, M2, R1, and R2 (i.e., the first set of materials) are currently used. For example, one skilled in the art would clearly understand that the controller may include GPIO control circuits, GPIO polarity inversion circuits, switch circuits for other LEDs, pull up and pull-down resistors of various strapping circuits, termination resistors, current limiting circuits for GPIO, and/or pull up resistors for open drain GPIOs on which materials M1, M2, R1, and R2 (i.e., the first set of materials) are currently used. It would be impractical of Applicant to show all the components used in the controller. The present application, as filed, clearly states that using the first set of materials to form the control circuitry reduces the bill of materials used to configure the storage device as the first set of materials may be reused to configure other components, for example, the controller, of the storage device.’
However, Examiner respectfully disagree. The drawing figures fail to show what “other components” and “at least one other component” are. In addition, the phrase “the controller may include GPIO control circuits, GPIO polarity inversion circuits, switch circuits for other LEDs, pull up and pull-down resistors of various strapping circuits, termination resistors, current limiting circuits for GPIO, and/or pull up resistors for open drain GPIOs on which materials M1, M2, R1, and R2 (i.e., the first set of materials) are currently used” contains new matters. The original specification fails to teach or to suggest the controller may include GPIO control circuits, GPIO polarity inversion circuits, switch circuits for other LEDs, pull up and pull-down resistors of various strapping circuits, termination resistors, current limiting circuits for GPIO, and/or pull up resistors for open drain GPIOs on which materials M1, M2, R1, and R2 (i.e., the first set of materials) are currently used”. In addition, one having skills in the art would have want to know how the control circuitry is designed to have the first set of materials be used in any components, e.g. GPIO control circuits, GPIO polarity inversion circuits, switch circuits for other LEDs, pull up and pull-down resistors of various strapping circuits, termination resistors, current limiting circuits for GPIO, and/or pull up resistors for open drain GPIOs in which materials M1, M2, R1, and R2 (i.e., the first set of materials) are currently used.
Further, any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). The drawing figures are required to show “what at least one component” is. In addition, one having skills in the art would have want to know how/when to control at least one component in which the first set of materials is used. In addition, it’s not clear whether at least one other component could include any claim-recited circuit elements because at least the first set of materials are included in at least one other component. Therefore, the drawing objection is sustained.
Applicant argues:
‘Paragraph 0022 of the present application also discloses that based on the specifications used to configure the storage device, each of the materials (the common anode bi-color amber/blue LED, R1, R2, R3, R4, D3, Q1, and Q2) of first amber/blue bi-color control circuitry 200 (i.e., each of the materials used in the amber/blue bi-color control circuitry of FIG. 2) are not reused in other components of storage device 104, thus increasing the bill of materials (BOM) when first amber/blue bi-color control circuitry 200 is used in the storage device. Paragraph 0023 of the present application also discloses that based on the specifications used to configure storage device 104, each of the materials (i.e., the common cathode bi-color amber/blue LED, R1, R2, R3, R4, R5, Q1, and Q2) of second amber/blue bi-color control circuitry 300 (i.e., each of the materials used in the amber/blue bi-color control circuitry of FIG. 3) are also not reused in other components of storage device 104, thus increasing the BOM when second amber/blue bi-color control circuitry 300 is used in storage device 104.
On the other hand, FIGS. 4 and 5 of the present application show a novel amber/blue bi- color control circuitry used in a storage device. The novel amber/blue bi-color control circuitry of FIGS. 4 and 5 show materials M1, M2, R1, and R2 (referred to herein as a first set of materials). According to the specifications used to configure components on the storage device, the first set of materials are currently used in other components (for example, the controller) of the storage device. See paragraphs 0024 and 0030 of the present application as filed. For example, MOSFET M1 and M2 may be used in other components needed to make the controller functional. As previously noted, M1 and M2 may be used in components of the controller, such as GPIO control circuits, GPIO polarity inversion circuits, and switch circuits for other LEDs. Resistors R1 and R2 may be used as pull up and pull-down resistors of various strapping circuits, termination resistors, current limiting circuits for GPIO, and/or pull up resistors for open drain GPIOs.’
However, the phrase “For example, MOSFET M1 and M2 may be used in other components needed to make the controller functional. As previously noted, M1 and M2 may be used in components of the controller, such as GPIO control circuits, GPIO polarity inversion circuits, and switch circuits for other LEDs. Resistors R1 and R2 may be used as pull up and pull-down resistors of various strapping circuits, termination resistors, current limiting circuits for GPIO, and/or pull up resistors for open drain GPIOs” contains new matters. The specification fails to disclose or suggest “For example, MOSFET M1 and M2 may be used in other components needed to make the controller functional. As previously noted, M1 and M2 may be used in components of the controller, such as GPIO control circuits, GPIO polarity inversion circuits, and switch circuits for other LEDs. Resistors R1 and R2 may be used as pull up and pull-down resistors of various strapping circuits, termination resistors, current limiting circuits for GPIO, and/or pull up resistors for open drain GPIOs”. The specification only discloses the first materials in fig. 4/5 can be used in at least one other component. In addition, the specification does not indicate fig. 2/fig. 3 as a prior art or as a conventional art. In addition, the drawing figures do not show the limitation difference, “the first set of materials is used in at least one other component“, when comparing fig. 2/3 and fig. 4/5.
Applicant argues:
‘Although the various components of the controller, such as the GPIO control circuits, GPIO polarity inversion circuits, switch circuits for other LEDs, pull up and pull-down resistors of various strapping circuits, termination resistors, current limiting circuits for GPIO, and/or pull up resistors for open drain GPIOs are not listed in the specification as filed, such components are known to generally be included in a controller. By disclosing the controller, one skilled in the art would immediately understand that these components are provided in the storage device. The specification as filed clearly states that materials M1, M2, R1, and R2 (i.e., the first set of materials) are currently used in other components of the storage device thus decreasing the number of different materials that may need to be procured and the BOMs required to construct the storage device.’
However, as discussed above, it contains new matters. Further, it’s not clear whether Applicant suggest that the controller in the invention may include the GPIO control circuits, GPIO polarity inversion circuits, switch circuits for other LEDs, pull up and pull-down resistors of various strapping circuits, termination resistors, current limiting circuits for GPIO, and pull up resistors for open drain GPIOs. It’s not clear to one ordinary skills in the art how the controller in the invention may include and utilize these components in which the first set of materials are used. For example, how the controller are designed, so the first set of materials can be used in at least components and are also used to one of turning on and turning off the states of the bi-color LED. For example, first set of materials are used to control one of turning on and turning off the states of the bi-color LED and are also used to other two/three/four components.
In addition, it’s not conventional art that the controller includes a first set of materials and at least one other component, wherein the first set of materials contributes to one of turning on and turning off the states of the bi-color LED, and the first set of materials is used in at least one other component in the storage device.
In addition, regarding “GPIO control circuits”, there are no GPIO control circuits shown in the figures and it’s not disclosed in the specification. In addition, regarding “switch circuits for other LEDs”, there are no other LEDs shown in the figures and it is not disclosed in the specification. In addition, regarding “GPIO polarity inversion circuits”, there are no GPIO polarity inversion circuits shown in the figures and those are not disclosed in the specification. In addition, regarding “pull up and pull-down resistors of various strapping circuits”, there are no pull up and pull-down resistors of various strapping circuits shown in the figures and those are not disclosed in the specification. In addition, regarding “termination resistors”, there are no termination resistors shown in the figures and those are not disclosed in the specification. In addition, regarding “current limiting circuits for GPIO”, there are no current limiting circuits for GPIO shown in the figures and those are not disclosed in the specification. In addition, regarding “pull up resistors for open drain GPIOs”, there are no pull up resistors for open drain GPIOs shown in the figures and those are not disclosed in the specification.
In addition, it appears that Applicant does not know or not sure what “at least one component” is, so Applicant listed many different components discussed above. In summary, Applicant still fails to disclose what “at least one component” is/are.
Applicant argues:
‘Contrary to the arguments presented in the Response to Arguments section, the first set of materials (Q1, Q2 fig. 2/ X1, X2 fig. 5) are not reused in any other component needed to build the storage device. In other words, other than being used in the circuits shown in FIGS. 2 and 5 of Maya, the materials (Q1, Q2 fig. 2/ X1, X2 fig. 5) are not reused in any other components needed to build the storage device. Hence, using the materials shown in Maya and FIGS 2 and 3 of the present application increases the bill of materials for the storage device. The pending claims recite features for an amber/blue bi-color control circuit that includes a first set of materials (i.e., M1, M2, R1, and R2) that may be reused in other components of storage device 104, reducing the bill of materials and the cost of the storage device, a feature that is not taught or suggested in Maya.
In view of the foregoing, Applicant respectfully submits that independent claims 1 and 14 are patentable over Maya, and therefore the rejection of claims 1 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 103 should be withdrawn. Dependent claims 2-13 and 15 depend on claims 1 and 14, and include all the limitations of independent claims 1 and 14. Therefore, Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration of dependent claims 2-13 and 15, and requests the withdrawal of the rejection of these claims. Applicant requests that claims 1-15 now be passed to allowance.’
However, Maya discloses the first set of materials is used in at least one other component [e.g. first set of materials and at least one of R3/R4/D3; considered as resistive component(s)/a first component and/or a second component]. Since the storage device include fig. 2/5, the materials (Q1, Q2 fig. 2/ X1, X2 fig. 5) are reused in at least one other component needed to build the storage device. In addition, please see the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b) rejection sections. Therefore, Claims1 and 14 are not patentable at this point. Accordingly, claims 2-13 and 15 depending on claims 1 and 14 are not patentable at this point.
Conclusion
/PATRICK C CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836