DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant argues claim 8, the second section extends to the “side” of the axis. The examiner is unclear as to the intent of this as the axis is that which the electric machine rotates about. Applicant argues that the first and second sections circle the axis and electric machine, but per claim 1, the electric machine already rotates about the axis. Further, the examiner is unclear as to the intent of a “side” of an infinitely extending line, i.e. an axis. It is not clear if Applicant is arguing for the side being the sections are disposed around the axis, which is already present in the claims, or if applicant intended to meant the side of the electric machine? Examiner will reject with both interpretations for clarity.
Claim 8 further recites, that the second section spirals, but claim 9, recites that the second section extends along a straight trajectory. As examiner noted in the rejection of claim 6 below, it is possible for the interpretation of a straight trajectory to be a helical passage that extends along a linear axial path, but applicant appears based upon the specification to mean that the straight section is an axial or radial linear extension of passageway without a spiral, which would result in claim 9 directly contradicting claim 8, unless Applicant accidentally intended to assign one of the straight or second spiral sections in claims 8+9, to the third section, not the second section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1, a2) as being anticipated by US 2019/0101057 to Stevenson et al. (S1).
In Re Claim 1:
S1 shows:
An assembly for a powerplant, comprising: [Abstract notes a gas turbine engine, which is suitable for a power generating plant.]
An electric machine(Fig. 3, 120) comprising an electric machine rotor, the electric machine rotor(124) configured to rotate about an axis; [Page 2, ¶31 notes the parts of an electric machine to include rotor and stator.]
A stationary structure(110) supporting the electric machine and comprising a heat exchange passage(115), the heat exchange passage spiraling around the electric machine as the heat exchange passage extends within the stationary structure and axially along the electric machine; and [Page 3, ¶37-39 notes the heat exchange passage for cooling and that is helical along a helical angle along the length, i.e. a spiral.]
A fuel source fluidly coupled to the heat exchange passage. [Page 1, ¶13 notes fuel can delivered, i.e. coupled to the heat exchanger.]
In Re Claims 2-14:
S1 further shows:
The assembly of claim 1, wherein:
(Claim 2) the stationary structure is configured to transfer heat energy from the electric machine into fuel flowing within the heat exchange passage that is received from the fuel source. [Title, Abstract, note cooling occurs across said passages, see further citations Page 3, ¶37-39 for cooling/heat exchange properties, and citations to claim 1 for fuel source.]
(Claim 3) the electric machine further comprises an electric machine stator(122) mounted to the stationary structure; and
The electric machine stator is radially next to the electric machine rotor, and the electric machine stator axially overlaps and circumscribes the machine rotor. [Figure 2 it can be seen the stator is attached to the structure 110, and surrounds the rotor radially and axially and circumferentially.]
(Claim 4) The heat exchange passage has a uniform radius from the axis as the heat exchange passage spirals around the electric machine. [Examiner notes per the claims a section may be designated, and that in Figure 3 it appears the entire section surrounding the rotor itself is the same radius around the electric machine. It is noted a section surrounding bearings has a different radius; however, Applicant also allows for subsections in their later claims, 6-10, and as such the section around the electric machine (stator/rotor) has the constant radius as claimed.]
(Claim 5) the heat exchange passage has a uniform pitch as the heat exchange passage spirals around the electric machine. [Examiner notes, the cross-section of the helical 115 passages appear equally spaced, i.e. a uniform pitch. Page 3, ¶37-39 notes the helical angle turns and length of the passage is calculated when forming the passages about the rotor, i.e. set a single value of each to determine the structure.]
(Claim 6) the heat exchange passage includes a first section and a second section fluidly coupled to the first section;
The first section spirals around the electric machine; and
The second section extends along a straight line trajectory. [Figures 1, 3, and 5 shows that the spiral section is preceded by and followed by straight line delivery sections (76).]
(Claim 7) claim 6, the heat exchanger passage further includes a third section fluidly coupled within the stationary structure and axially along the axis. [Examiner notes the manner by which claim 6 and 7 is claimed, “straight section” i.e. straight line trajectory is not explicitly defined as a straight axial line. Further Per Fig. 7-8 a choke point/converge/diverge section can occur in the middle region (125) around the motor which can be incorporated into any preceding embodiment as cited in Page 5, ¶54, and thus section 125 can be between two helical sections of Fig. 3 embodiment. Further, Examiner notes, the broadness of the language permits interpretations whereby, in Fig. 3, there are a first and third spiral section, around 120 and the downstream bearings, and in an intervening section, the fluid passes along a straight line trajectory in that the helical passages along a middle section of 120 region, extends in an axial straight line, that it curves around for its spiral. The language does not currently require, the specific, that the passage axially or radially in a linear path which would more narrowly claim Applicant’s structure.]
(Claim 8) the heat exchange passage includes a first section, a second section, and a third section fluidly coupled to the first section through the second section; [Examiner notes as discussed in claims 6-7, any number of sections may subdivide the heat exchange passage.]
The first section spirals around the electric machine; the second section is disposed to a side of the axis; and [Examiner notes, in Fig. 3, it can be seen in a first section the spiral surrounds 120, 122, 124 the electric machine and the second section is disposed in a circumferential tangential side of the axis (and to a side of the rotor/stator/machine).
The second section spirals around the axis as the heat exchange passage extends within the stationary structure and axially along the axis. [A second section, around the downstream bearings, spirals past the side of the electric machine.]
(Claim 9) the second section extends along a straight trajectory from the first section to the third section. [Examiner refers to the 112 rejection of claim 9 above, noting in so far as claim 9 is definite, as applied in claims 6-7 above, the spirals can extend along an straight line axial trajectory that they spiral about. The third section can be the exit (76) from the system as currently claimed, but if applicant amends to correct for a possible error in labeling in claims 8-9 as referred to above in the 112, then examiner notes the claim 6-7 interpretation would be suitable applicable here.]
(Claim 10) a shaft(unlabeled but seen in Fig. 3 extending from ends of the rotor(124), in Fig. 5 it can be see this shaft (12) extends throughout the assembly) configured to rotate about the axis; and [See Fig. 3.]
A bearing mounting the shaft to the stationary structure; [There are three visible bearings in Fig. 3 one upstream and two downstream.]
The electric machine rotor attached to and rotatable with the shaft; and [See Fig. 3]
The heat exchange passage spiraling around the bearings as the heat exchange passage extends within the stationary structure and axially along the bearing. [The two downstream bearings are surrounded by the spiraling structure which axially extends along them, within the stationary structure.]
(Claim 11) claim 10, a second bearing mounting the shaft to the stationary structure; [Per claim 10 above there are three bearings, two of which are clearly surrounded by the structure in Fig. 3, and per Figure 5-8, the passage can extend from upstream of the bearings meaning they’d surround the front third bearing as well.]
The heat exchange passage spiraling around the second bearing as the heat exchange passage extends within the stationary structure and axially along the second bearing. [Per claim 10 above there are three bearings, two of which are clearly surrounded by the structure in Fig. 3, and per Figure 5-8, the passage can extend from upstream of the bearings meaning they’d surround the front third bearing as well.]
(Claim 12) claim 10, the power plant comprises a turbine engine (Fig. 5, 10), and the assembly further comprises a bladed rotor (25) connected to and rotatable with the shaft (12).
(Claim 13) claim 10, a fuel system including the fuel source and the heat exchange passage;
The fuel system configured to direct fuel, received from the fuel source through the heat exchange passage, to the bearing to lubricate the bearing. [Fig. 9B and per Page 1, ¶13 and Page 5, ¶55-Page 6, ¶60 notes fuel may be used, and that some of the cooling fluid may be used to lubricate bearing structures.]
(Claim 14) the stationary structure comprises an inlet structure for the powerplant; [Fig. 5, inlet(20);
The inlet structure includes an inner platform structure an outer platform structure and a plurality of inlet vanes(113);
The inner platform structure includes the heat exchange passage, and the inner platform structure forms a radial inner peripheral boundary of a flowpath (marked by arrow of air flow) through the inlet structure;
The outer platform structure forms a radial outer peripheral boundary of the flowpath; and
The plurality of inlet vanes are arranged circumferentially around the axis, and each of the plurality of inlet vanes projects across the flowpath from the inner platform structure to the outer platform structure. [Page 4, ¶42 lays out multiple struts in the flowpath which act as vanes, and it can be seen the heat exchange spiral is on the inner end, the casing at the radial inner and outer ends form the inner and outer platforms of said struts.]
In Re Claim 15:
S1 shows:
An assembly for a powerplant, comprising: [Abstract notes a gas turbine engine, which is suitable for a power generating plant.]
A rotating assembly(Fig. 3, 120) configured to rotate about an axis; [Page 2, ¶31 notes the parts of an electric machine, i.e. rotating assembly including a rotor and stator.]
A stationary structure(110) axially overlapping and circumscribing the rotating assembly; [Fig. 3 shows the element 100 supports 122, which is the stator.]
A bearing mounting the rotating assembly to the stationary structure, wherein the stationary structure comprises a heat exchange passage, and the heat exchange passage spirals around the bearings as the heat exchange passage extends within the stationary structure and axially along the bearing; and [Page 3, ¶37-39 notes the heat exchange passage for cooling and that is helical along a helical angle along the length, i.e. a spiral. Figure 3 shows it surrounds a downstream bearing. Fig. 5 shows it can extend across the upstream end of the motor as well, i.e. the upstream bearing.]
A fuel source fluidly coupled to the heat exchange passage. [Page 1, ¶13 notes fuel can delivered, i.e. coupled to the heat exchanger.]
In Re Claim 16:
S1 shows:
The assembly of claim 15, wherein, the bearing is configured to receive fuel, form the fuel source through the heat exchange passage, for lubrication of the bearing. [Fig. 9B and per Page 1, ¶13 and Page 5, ¶55-Page 6, ¶60 notes fuel may be used, and that some of the cooling fluid may be used to lubricate bearing structures.]
In Re Claim 17:
S1 shows:
An assembly for a powerplant, comprising: [Abstract notes a gas turbine engine, which is suitable for a power generating plant.]
An inlet structure(Fig, 5, 20) configured to form an inlet into a flowpath of the powerplant, the inlet structure including an inner platform structure an outer platform structure and a plurality of inlet vanes(113) and a heat exchange passage; [Page 4, ¶42 lays out multiple struts in the flowpath which act as vanes, and it can be seen the heat exchange spiral is on the inner end, the casing at the radial inner and outer ends form the inner and outer platforms of said struts.]
the outer platform structure forms a radial outer peripheral boundary of the flowpath through the inlet structure; [same citations as above]
The plurality of inlet vanes are arranged circumferentially around the axis, and each of the plurality of inlet vanes projects across the flowpath from the inner platform structure to the outer platform structure; and [Page 4, ¶42 lays out multiple struts in the flowpath which act as vanes, and it can be seen the heat exchange spiral is on the inner end, the casing at the radial inner and outer ends form the inner and outer platforms of said struts.]
The heat exchange passage spiraling around the axis as the heat exchange passage extends within the inner platform structure and axially along the axis. [Page 3, ¶37-39 notes the heat exchange passage for cooling and that is helical along a helical angle along the length, i.e. a spiral.]
In Re Claims 18-20:
S1 shows:
The assembly of claim 17, further comprising:
(Claim 18) an electric machine (Fig. 3, 120, 122, 124) housed within an internal cavity of the inlet structure, (Fig 3 and Fig. 5); [See Fig. 3 and Fig. 5, note the inlet structure is in an internal radial cavity of the inlet region.]
The heat exchange passage spiraling around the electric machine, and the inner platform structure configured to transfer heat energy from the electric machine into a fluid flowing through the heat exchange passage. [Title, Abstract, note cooling occurs across said passages, see further citations Page 3, ¶37-39 for cooling/heat exchange properties, and citations to claim 1 for fuel source.]
(Claim 19) a shaft(unlabeled but seen in Fig. 3 extending from ends of the rotor(124), in Fig. 5 it can be see this shaft (12) extends throughout the assembly) configured to rotate about the axis; and [See Fig. 3.]
A bearing mounting the shaft to the inner platform structure; [There are three visible bearings in Fig. 3 one upstream and two downstream as part of the structure(110) which includes the inner platform/flowpath defining surface of the inlet.]
The heat exchange passage spiraling around the bearing, and the inner platform structure configured to transfer heat energy from the bearing into a fluid flowing through the heat exchange passage. [The two downstream bearings are surrounded by the spiraling structure which axially extends along them, within the stationary structure. See citations under claim 18 for heat exchange through the passages.]
(Claim 20) further comprising a fuel source fluidly coupled to the heat exchange passage. [Fig. 9B and per Page 1, ¶13 and Page 5, ¶55-Page 6, ¶60 notes fuel may be used, and that some of the cooling fluid may be used to lubricate bearing structures.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over S1 in view of US 7,224,082 to Bouiller et al. (B1).
In Re Claim 6:
S1 teaches:
The assembly of claim 1, wherein the heat exchange passage includes a first section and a second section fluidly coupled to the first section; [the sections may be subdivided in any number]
The first section spirals around the electric machine; and [See Claim 1 and spiral section surrounding the rotor/stator(124,122)
S1 does not teach:
[Some narrowed interpretations of the second section extending along a straight line trajectory for some definitions]
S1 further teaches:
A desire to direct some of the cooling to bearings, but it silent as to method of achieving such. [Fig. 9B and per Page 1, ¶13 and Page 5, ¶55-Page 6, ¶60 notes fuel may be used, and that some of the cooling fluid may be used to lubricate bearing structures.]
B1 teaches:
It is well-known to utilize a spiral cooling passage (Fig. 2, 72) around a stator(64) and rotor(62) of an engine, wherein the spiral passage includes at a downstream end and past a downstream side, a second section in a straight line trajectory path through nozzle (76, 52) that directs some fluid to bearings(42) and some fluid to continue in a third section as a second spiral cooling passage (78). [Col. 5, ll. 17-53.] This serves to enhance cooling of the bearings, as well as cool the magnet/rotor potion of the motor/generator with additional directed cooling. [Col. 5, ll. 17-53.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of S1, to further include a straight linear flow path section from the first section to a third section that spirals around the internal shaft and magnetic rotor potion of S1, while directing some fluid to the bearings, as taught by B1, with the expectation of successfully providing a method of directing the lubrication to bearings as desired by S1, while also further directing cooling to the rotor magnet portions. [Col. 5, ll. 17-53.] This would yield the limitation of a straight linear nozzle path section and a following third section that includes a second spiral. As shown in B1.
In Re Claim 7:
S1 as modified by B1 in claim 6 teaches:
The heat exchange passage further includes a third section fluidly coupled to the first section through the second section; and [B1, Fig. 2, straight section 76, and third section 78.]
The third section spirals around the axis as the heat exchange passage extends within the stationary structure and axially along the axis. [B1, Col. 5, ll. 17-53 and Fig. 2.]
In Re Claim 8:
S1 teaches:
The assembly of claim 1, wherein the heat exchange passage includes a first section, a second section, and a third section fluidly coupled to the first section through the second section; [the sections may be subdivided in any number]
The first section spirals around the electric machine; and [See Claim 1 and spiral section surrounding the rotor/stator(124,122)
S1 does not teach:
[Per the 112 rejection above with lack of clarity to claim 8 and 9 and a perceived requirement for the second section to be liner and spiraled or linear, while the third section was intended to be spiraled, and some narrowed interpretations of the second section disposed on a side of the axis, and extending along a straight line trajectory for some definitions]
S1 further teaches:
A desire to direct some of the cooling to bearings, but it silent as to method of achieving such. [Fig. 9B and per Page 1, ¶13 and Page 5, ¶55-Page 6, ¶60 notes fuel may be used, and that some of the cooling fluid may be used to lubricate bearing structures.]
B1 teaches:
It is well-known to utilize a spiral cooling passage (Fig. 2, 72) around a stator(64) and rotor(62) of an engine, wherein the spiral passage includes at a downstream end and past a downstream side, a second section in a straight line trajectory path through nozzle (76, 52) that directs some fluid to bearings(42) and some fluid to continue in a third section as a second spiral cooling passage (78). [Col. 5, ll. 17-53.] This serves to enhance cooling of the bearings, as well as cool the magnet/rotor potion of the motor/generator with additional directed cooling. [Col. 5, ll. 17-53.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of S1, to further include a straight linear flow path section from the first section to a third section that spirals around the internal shaft and magnetic rotor potion of S1, while directing some fluid to the bearings, as taught by B1, with the expectation of successfully providing a method of directing the lubrication to bearings as desired by S1, while also further directing cooling to the rotor magnet portions. [Col. 5, ll. 17-53.] This would yield the limitation of a straight linear nozzle path section and a following second/third section that includes a second spiral. As shown in B1.
In Re Claim 9:
S1 as modified by B1 teaches:
The second section extends along a straight trajectory from the first section to the third section.[With regards to some intentions of Applicant and 112 interpretations, it would appear either the second section isn’t spiraled and the third was intended to be or the second section can include both straight liner and spiraled sections. Either way B1 discloses a section with linear extension followed by a spiral from that is fed by a first fluidly coupled spiral section. Either this linear and second spiral are one second section or a second and third in Fig. 2, and further it is on an axial side of the rotor machine.]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2022/0235671 to Rambo discloses a spiraled cooling passage(304, 294) in a stator support section(300), per Fig. 7 and ¶69. US 2019/0284992 to Hoke et al. discloses a stator support structure (Fig. 2, 56) that surrounds an electric machine(52,54) and is in a spiral formed by fin (78) per Page 4, ¶32.] EP 2,305,981 to Fleig et al. discloses a turbomachine with motor/stator, that is cooled by a passages (31, 32) which are spiraled per the machine translation provided, and include the passages leads to delivering fluid to the bearings(34) via a straight line passage(24).
/JOSHUA R BEEBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745