DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 4 and 6 – 15 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shively et al. (US 2021/0107446 A1) in view of Timoney (GB 2 238 517 A).
As for claim 1, Shively et al. disclose an electrified fire fighting vehicle comprising: a chassis; a front axle (14) coupled to the chassis; a first rear axle (16) coupled to the chassis; a second rear axle (16) coupled to the chassis, wherein the first rear axle is between the front axle and the second rear axle; a water tank (110) supported on the chassis in a location above the first rear axle; an electromechanical transmission device (240) coupled to the chassis in a location above the first rear axle and below the water tank; and a high voltage module (260) supported on the chassis in a location above the second rear axle, wherein the high voltage module includes a battery pack assembly.
Shively et al. do not disclose a high voltage wiring harness. Timoney discloses an electrified fire fighting vehicle comprising a high voltage wiring harness (7) connected to an electromechanical transmission device (8, 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Shively et al. to include the high-voltage wiring harness of Timoney to safely distribute electric power to the transmission.
As for claim 2, Shively et al. further an engine (210).
As for claim 3, Shively et al. disclose the high voltage module (260) arranged between the water tank (110) and the engine (210). See Figs. 2 and 9.
As for claim 4, Shively et al. disclose the high voltage module (260) arranged between the electromechanical transmission device (240) and the engine. See Fig. 9.
As for claims 6 – 7, the high voltage module (260) shown in in Fig. 9 of Shively et al. at least suggests a housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a housing to protect the battery cells. The high voltage wiring harness of Timoney extends along the frame, and portions of the wiring harness are arranged externally to the components that it connects.
As for claims 8 and 9, the high voltage wiring harness of Timoney is routed to the electromechanical transmission device so that the portion of the high voltage wiring harness is always maintained between frame rails of the chassis (Fig. 2) and does not cross or intersect frame planes that extend parallel to and intersect laterally-outer surfaces on frame rails of the chassis.
As for claims 10 – 11, any wiring harness connecting the high voltage device and electromechanical transmission of Shively et al. would necessarily extend beyond a rearmost portion of the water tank, as the high voltage device is located behind the water tank. Timoney teaches all portions of the wiring harness always maintained between frame rails of the chassis and not crossing or intersecting frame planes that extend parallel to and intersect laterally-outer surfaces on frame rails of the chassis.
As for claims 12 – 15, Timoney discloses a first cable connected to the electromechanical transmission device at a first interface and a second cable connected to the electromechanical transmission device at a second interface (Fig. 8). All portions of the first cable and the second cable are always maintained between frame rails of the chassis and have portions extending externally to the components that they connect. A cable connecting the high voltage module and electromechanical transmission of Shively et al. would necessarily have a portion extending beyond a rearmost portion of the water tank.
Claim(s) 5 and 16 – 20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shively et al. (US 2021/0107446 A1) in view of Timoney (GB 2 238 517 A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hatsuda et al. (US 7,195,087 B2).
As for claim 5, Shively et al. and Timoney meet all the limitations of the claimed invention, but do not disclose an inverter. Hatsuda et al. disclose a high voltage inverter (7) connected to an electromechanical transmission (3, 4) via a high voltage wiring harness (5). It would have been obvious to modify the vehicle of Shively et al. to include an inverter, as taught by Hatsuda, in order to safely convert power from the battery pack for delivery to the electromechanical transmission.
As for claim 16, Shively et al. disclose an electrified fire fighting vehicle comprising: a frame including a pair of frame rails; a water tank (110) supported on the frame; an electromechanical transmission device (240) coupled to the frame in a location below the water tank; a high voltage module (260) supported on the frame in a location rearward of both the water tank and the electromechanical transmission device. Timoney discloses an electrified fire fighting vehicle comprising a high voltage wiring harness (7) connected to an electromechanical transmission device (8, 3). The high voltage wiring harness is routed to the electromechanical transmission device so that all portions of the high voltage wiring harness are always maintained between the pair of frame rails. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Shively et al. to include the high-voltage wiring harness of Timoney to safely distribute electric power to the transmission. Hatsuda discloses and inverter (7) and cables for three-phase power. It would have been obvious to include an inverter and cables for three phase power, as such components are well-known in the art for delivering power from a battery to a drive motor.
As for claim 17, no portion of the high voltage wiring harness of Timoney crosses or intersects frame planes that extend parallel to and intersect laterally-outer surfaces on the pair of frame rails.
As for claims 18 and 19, any wiring harness connecting the high voltage device and electromechanical transmission of Shively et al. would necessarily extend beyond a rearmost portion of the water tank and electromechanical transmission, as the high voltage device is located behind the water tank and electromechanical transmission. Likewise, the high voltage device is located between a rearmost portion of a water tank frame and the engine, therefore part of the wiring harness would be as well.
As for claim 20, Shively et al. disclose an electrified fire fighting vehicle comprising: a chassis including a pair of frame rails; a front axle (14) coupled to the chassis; a first rear axle (16) coupled to the chassis; a second rear axle (16) coupled to the chassis, wherein the first rear axle is between the front axle and the second rear axle; a water tank (110) supported on the chassis in a location above the first rear axle; an electromechanical transmission device (240) coupled to the chassis in a location above the first rear axle and below the water tank; and a high voltage module (260) supported on the chassis in a location above the second rear axle, wherein the high voltage module includes a battery pack assembly. Timoney discloses an electrified fire fighting vehicle comprising a high voltage wiring harness (7) connected to an electromechanical transmission device (8, 3). The high voltage wiring harness is routed to the electromechanical transmission device so that all portions of the high voltage wiring harness are always maintained between the pair of frame rails. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Shively et al. to include the high-voltage wiring harness of Timoney to safely distribute electric power to the transmission. Hatsuda discloses and inverter (7) and cables for three-phase power. It would have been obvious to include an inverter and cables for three phase power, as such components are well-known in the art for delivering power from a battery to a drive motor. The high voltage module (260) shown in in Fig. 9 of Shively et al. at least suggests a housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a housing to protect the battery cells. The high voltage wiring harness of Timoney extends along the frame, and portions of the wiring harness are arranged externally to the components that it connects.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Katy M Ebner/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613