Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2023-079212, filed on 2023-12-05.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujiki et al. (JP2006140025A) using applicant’s provided original documents and translation.
Regarding Claim 1, Fujiki et al., teaches:
A battery pack comprising [0002]:
a plurality of battery modules [0002]; and
a case body forming a space where the plurality of battery modules are housed ([0002-0003] (“the batteries are often housed in a box-shaped battery pack case”)).
wherein, the case body includes a bottom portion, a side portion created from the bottom portion and surrounding the space ([0007], Figure 2, 2b)
a boss portion joined to the side portion outside of the space and used to fasten the case body, ([0023] Figure 2, 2d- boss portion) and,
a rib portion extending between the plurality of battery modules adjacent to each other and joined to the side portion in the space ([Figure 2-2c], Abstract)
and the boss portion and the rib portion are opposite to each other with the side portion interposed therebetween [Figure 2].
Regarding Claim 2, Fujiki et al., teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 2 depends on. Fujiki et al., further teaches:
The battery pack according to claim 1, wherein
When seen in a plan view, the bottom portion has a rectangular shape ([0021, Figure 2- 2a).
The side portion is erected from a peripheral edge portion of the bottom portion [0021] and,
The case body includes:
A plurality of the rib portions [0015] that, when the bottom portion is seen in the plan view, extend in a lattice pattern in the space and are each joined to the portion at an angle of 90° [0021] and,
A plurality of the boss portions that are respectively opposite to the plurality of rib portions with the side portion interposed therebetween and each extend in a direction orthogonal to the bottom portion [Figure 2- 2d]
Regarding Claim 3, Fujiki et al., teaches the limitation of claim 1, which claim 3 depends on. Fujiki et al., further teaches:
The battery pack according to claim 1, wherein
The case body is made of metal [0003], and
The bottom portion, the side portion, the boss portion, and the rib portion are formed so as to be integrated with each other ([0021-0023], Figure 2- 2a- bottom plate, 2b- side plate, 2d-boss portion, 2c- rib portion).
Conclusion
/SAURAV K JHA//S.K.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741