DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to the application filed on 22 April 2024.
Claims 1-16 are presently pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/24/2024 and 11/07/2024 have being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1-16 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims use acronyms and abbreviations without initially writing out the terms or phrase they represent. As such all abbreviations should be first written out followed by their acronyms in parenthesis such as “Data Radio Bearers (DRBs)” which applicant has correctly done so in this particular case. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dalmiya et al., U. S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0012050.
Regarding claim 14, Dalmiya discloses a method comprising taking initial values for a UL split threshold for a 4G and 5G leg for a number of split Data Radio Bearers (DRBs), wherein UL split threshold parameters () comprise one or more of: an average UL buffer measure for a UE using a Buffer Status Report (BSR) provided by the UE (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0070] and [0162]; buffer status report is provided); a UL data volume at a CU-UP for a DRB of the number of split DRBs (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0045] and [0047]; split DRBs data volume is disclosed); a UL PRB utilization (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0049] and [0155]; physical resource block utilization is provided); and a UL Cell throughput for each UL cell (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0024] and [0129]; uplink throughput is determined); communicating the UL split threshold parameters to a 5G CU (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0064] and [0083]; uplink split threshold parameters are transmitted); analyzing the parameters, by the 5G CU, to determine whether to change the values of UL split threshold parameters for some of the number of UL split DRBs, and if so (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0068] and [0084]; UL split threshold parameters are analyzed); updating the UL split threshold parameters at the 5G CU (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0067]; threshold parameter values are updated); and communicating the updated UL split threshold parameters to the UE (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0051] and [0067]; updated uplink split threshold parameter are transmitted).
Regarding claim 14, Dalmiya discloses further comprising: computing the average UL buffer measure with the BSR for a UE periodically at a 5G DU for each UL split and computing the average UL buffer measure with the BSR for a UE periodically at a 4G DU for each UL split DRB (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0070] and [0079]).
Regarding claim 16, Dalmiya discloses further comprising: communicating the periodically computed the average UL buffer measure for the UE at the 5G DU for each UL split to a 5G CU-CP via an F1-C interface; and communicating the periodically computed the average UL buffer measure for the UE at the 4G DU for each UL split to the 5G CU-CP via an F1-C interface (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0070] and [0162]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalmiya et al., U. S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0012050 in view of Sivaraj et al., U. S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0377804.
Regarding claim 1, Dalmiya discloses a method comprising taking initial values for a UL split threshold for a 4G and 5G leg for a number of split Data Radio Bearers (DRBs), wherein UL split threshold parameters (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0004] and [0039]; initial value of the UL split threshold is obtained) comprise: an average UL buffer measure for a UE using a Buffer Status Report (BSR) provided by the UE (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0070] and [0162]; buffer status report is provided); a UL data volume at a CU-UP for a DRB of the number of split DRBs (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0045] and [0047]; split DRBs data volume is disclosed); a UL PRB utilization (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0049] and [0155]; physical resource block utilization is provided); a UL Cell throughput for each UL cell (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0024] and [0129]; uplink throughput is determined); subscribing to the UL split threshold parameters from an gNB or eNB E2 node (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0028] and [0125]; uplink split threshold is subscribed to by end users); detecting, by the E2 node, an RIC event trigger (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0077]; detecting a trigger event is disclosed); analyzing the parameters, to determine whether to change the values of UL split threshold parameters for some of the number of UL split DRBs, and if so (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0068] and [0084]; UL split threshold parameters are analyzed); updating the UL split threshold parameters at the E2 node (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0067]; threshold parameter values are updated); and communicating the updated UL split threshold parameters to the UE (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0051] and [0067]; updated uplink split threshold parameter are transmitted).
Although Dalmiya discloses the invention substantially as claimed, it does not explicitly disclose the use of a near-RT RIC.
Sivaraj teaches the use of a near-RT RIC in a split bearers (see Sivaraj, ¶ [0072]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to incorporate the teachings of Sivaraj with that of Dalmiya in order to efficiently make real-time decisions on uplink traffic distribution across bearers thus improving the overall performance.
Regarding claim 2, Dalmiya-Sivaraj teaches further comprising: computing the average UL buffer measure with the BSR for a UE periodically at a 5G DU for each UL split; and computing the average UL buffer measure with the BSR for a UE periodically at a 4G DU for each UL split DRB (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0070] and [0079]).
Regarding claim 3, Dalmiya-Sivaraj teaches further comprising: communicating the periodically computed the average UL buffer measure for the UE at the 5G DU for each UL split to a 5G CU-CP via an F1-C interface; and communicating the periodically computed the average UL buffer measure for the UE at the 4G DU for each UL split to the 5G CU-CP via an F1-C interface (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0070] and [0162]).
Regarding claim 4, Dalmiya-Sivaraj teaches further comprising: computing the BSR for a corresponding Logical Channel Group ID (LCG ID) in the 4G network and the 5G network; wherein the 4G DU and the 5G DU each identify the BSR in a buffer size field of the corresponding LCG ID (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0159]-[0160).
Regarding claim 5, Dalmiya-Sivaraj teaches further comprising: mapping each of a BSR index (k) to a buffer size in a range (b1,b2] in bytes; and computing the lower value of the range; or computing an average of the range (average of b1+1 and b2) while computing average BSR (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0023] and [0162]).
Regarding claim 6, Dalmiya-Sivaraj teaches further comprising: informing, by the UE, the BSR for the 4G leg and 5G leg to the respective 4G DU and 5GU; computing the average BSR at the 4GDU and 5G DU or communicating the BSR to a near-RT-RIC and computing the average BSR at the near-RT-RIC (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0162] and Sivaraj, ¶ [0072]). Same motivation utilized for claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Dalmiya-Sivaraj teaches wherein an E2 protocol message includes an object for communicating the parameters from the 4G DU and the 5G DU to the near-RT-RIC (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0093] and Sivaraj, ¶ [0068]). Same motivation utilized for claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Dalmiya-Sivaraj teaches wherein the analyzing the parameters, by the near-RT RIC, to determine whether to dynamically change the values of UL split threshold parameters for some of the number of UL split DRBs comprises: determining if a BSR average across the 4G leg and the 5G leg for the split DRB for a time interval is above a configured threshold and is high; determining if a CU-UP data volumes for the split DRB is below a configured threshold; and reducing the value of the UL split threshold for the DRB and communicating the reduced value to the 4G CU and the 5G CU (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0047] and [0067]).
Regarding claim 9, Dalmiya-Sivaraj teaches further comprising: communicating, by the 4G CU, the reduced value to the UE (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0091]).
Regarding claim 10, Dalmiya-Sivaraj teaches further comprising: analyzing, by the near-RT-RIC, the UL PRB utilization for 4G DU and the 5G DU and identifies the 5G leg or 4G leg where a corresponding scheduler can give the UE optimal UL data transmission (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0068] and Sivaraj, ¶ [0072]). Same motivation utilized for claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Dalmiya-Sivaraj teaches further comprising: increasing, by the near-RT RIC, the UL cell throughput when a UL CU-UP data volume starts going up for a DRB or a packet drops at CU-UP for UL cell throughput; or increasing, by the near-RT RIC, the UL cell throughput when a UL CU-UP data volume starts going up for a DRB or a packet drops at CU-UP for UL cell throughput (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0024], [0129] and Sivaraj, ¶ [0072]). Same motivation utilized for claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Dalmiya-Sivaraj teaches further comprising: communicating the increased UL cell throughput to a 4GCU, and communicating, by the 4G CU, the updated UL split threshold to the UE (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0041] and Sivaraj, ¶ [0131]). Same motivation utilized for claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Dalmiya-Sivaraj teaches further comprising: decreasing, by the near-RT-RIC, the UL split threshold for some DRBs when both a UL cell throughput of 4G cell and a 5G cell is below a configured threshold; or decreasing, by the near-RT-RIC, the UL split threshold for some DRBs that were sending most of their data via the 5G leg when a UL cell throughput of a 5G UL cell throughput is above a configured threshold and is high and the throughput of 4G UL cell throughput is below a configured threshold and is low (see Dalmiya, ¶ [0067], [0091] and (Sivaraj, ¶ [0072]). Same motivation utilized for claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 13.
Prior Art of Record
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Please refer to form PTO-892 (Notice of Reference Cited) for a list of relevant prior art.
a. US 20160255551 A1 is directed to a method comprising establishing an uplink radio connection for split bearer from the wireless device to the first and second network nodes. The wireless device comprises first MAC and RLC modules for uplink radio communication with the first network node, second MAC and RLC modules for uplink radio communication with the second network node, and a PDCP module for communicating with the first and second RLC modules. The method further comprises communicating data for uplink transmission from the PDCP module to the first RLC module; obtaining an indication to switch transmission of uplink data from the first network node to the second network node; resetting the first RLC module and the first MAC module; and communicating data for uplink transmission from the PDCP module to the second RLC module.
b. US 20190364417 A1 is directed to a system for dual connectivity split bearer scenarios. A wireless station receives, from a core network associated with the wireless station, downlink packets directed to an end device that is using a dual-connectivity split bearer. The wireless station directs delivery of the downlink packets over different radio access networks (RANs) of the dual-connectivity split bearer. The wireless station logs a radio access technology (RAT)-type used to deliver each of the downlink packets and sends, based on the logging, a downlink RAT-type feedback report to a network device in the core network. The wireless station receives uplink packets from the end device using the dual-connectivity split bearer, marks each of the uplink packets with a RAT-type indicator, and forwards the marked packets to the network device in the core network.
c. US 20190069308 A1 is directed to a method for or handling for an uplink split operation in wireless communication system, the method comprising: generating and/or receiving second data available for transmission in a PDCP entity, and determining a RLC entity to be used for submitting the second data based on first data volume, if second data volume is larger than a first threshold and less than a second threshold; indicating the second data volume to a first MAC entity associated with a primary RLC entity, if the first data volume is less than the first threshold; and indicating the second data volume to both the first MAC entity associated with the primary RLC entity and a second MAC entity associated with a secondary RLC entity, if the first data volume is larger than the second threshold.
Conclusion
/Mohamed Ibrahim/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444