DETAILED ACTION
This action is pursuant to claims filed on 4/20/2026. Claims 1-9 are pending. A final action on the merits of claims 1-9 is as follows.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 4/26/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Japanese application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Additionally, the attempt by the Office to electronically retrieve the priority document failed on 7/26/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (hereinafter ‘Hatakeyama’, US 20200317840 A1) in view of Voros et al. (hereinafter ‘Voros’, EP 3494875 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Hatakeyama discloses a bio-electrode, comprising:
a living-body contact layer (living body contact layer 3 in Fig. 1); and
a substrate (base 2 in Fig. 1), wherein
the living-body contact layer has an ionic polymer (A) as a material ([0013]-[0014]: the bio-electrode composition includes an ionic material (A)), and
the component (A) has a repeating unit-a of one or more selected from a fluorosulfonic acid, a fluorosulfonimide, and a fluorosulfonamide ([0013]-[0016]: the component (A) has a repeating unit-a having a structure selected from various salts of any of flurosulfonic acid, fluorosulfonimide, and a flurosulfonamide), and has a weight-average molecular weight within a range of 1,000 to 500,000 ([0088]: the weight average molecular weight is preferably between 2,000 and 500,000 which is entirely within the claimed range).
However, Hatakeyama does not disclose the living-body contact layer having a micropillar having a diameter within a range of 0.01 to 500 μm and a height within a range of 0.1 to 1,000 μm.
Voros teaches a sensor device designed for contacting the skin of a user and detecting an electrical signal, similar to the device of Hatakeyama ([Abstract]). The sensor is provided with protrusions that are rod shaped with a round foot on the end ([0021]). The protrusions have a cylindrical portion between 1 micrometer and 15 micrometers, a foot with a diameter between 3 and 19 micrometers, and a height between 1 and 5 micrometers ([0061]). The protrusions taught by Voros are micropillars as they are cylindrical, vertical protrusions and the dimensions taught are entirely within the claimed ranged as they have a diameter and a height within the claimed range. The protrusions are advantageous because they increase the adhesive force between the sensor device and the skin of the user ([0021]). Furthermore, modifying the shape of the living body contact layer of Hatakeyama would be of routine skill in the art and adding micropillars to the surface would lead to the expected outcome of increasing the adhesive force between the layer and the skin of the user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the micropillars of Voros that are between 1 and 15 micrometers in diameter and between 1 and 5 micrometers in height in order to increase the adhesive force between the living body contact layer and the skin of the user.
Regarding claim 2, the Hatakeyama/Voros combination discloses the bio-electrode according to claim 1, wherein the repeating unit-a has a partial structure represented by the following general formulae (1)-1 to (1)-4 ([0018]: repeating unit a has a structure that matches the formulas below),
wherein Rf1 and Rf2 represent a hydrogen atom, a fluorine atom, an oxygen atom, a methyl group, or a trifluoromethyl group, and when Rf1 and Rf2 represent an oxygen atom, Rf1 and Rf2 represent one oxygen atom bonded to one carbon atom to form a carbonyl group; Rf3 and Rf4 represent a hydrogen atom, a fluorine atom, or a trifluoromethyl group, and one or more of Rf1 to Rf4 represent a fluorine atom or a trifluoromethyl group; Rf5 represents a fluorine atom or a linear or branched alkyl group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms and having at least one or more fluorine atoms; Rf6 and Rf7 represent a linear, branched, or cyclic alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, an alkenyl group having 2 to 6 carbon atoms, an alkynyl group having 2 to 6 carbon atoms, or an aryl group having 6 to 10 carbon atoms, and wherein any of the carbon atoms of the alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl or aryl groups of Rf6 and Rf7, may be substituted with a fluorine atom, Rf6 and Rf7 having at least one or more fluorine atoms; M+ represents an ion selected from an ammonium ion, a sodium ion, a potassium ion, and a silver ion; and “m” represents an integer of 1 to 4 ([0018]: the structure stated above is disclosed as there are options disclosed for each variable that are also claimed options).
Regarding claim 3, the Hatakeyama/Voros combination discloses the bio-electrode according to claim 1, wherein the repeating unit-a has one or more selected from repeating units-A1 to -A4 represented by the following general formulae (2) ([0020]: repeating unit-a has the formulas shown by the general formula (2) – the last 3 formulas match with formulas A2-A4 below, which means the claim limitation is disclosed because the claim only requires “one or more” and in this case 3 of them match),
wherein R1, R3, R4, and R6 each independently represent a hydrogen atom or a methyl group; R2, R5, and R7 each independently represent a single bond or a linear, branched, or cyclic hydrocarbon group having 1 to 13 carbon atoms and may be having an ester group, an ether group, or both of them; X1, X2, X3, and X4 each independently represent any one of a single bond, a phenylene group, a naphthylene group, an ether group, an ester group, and an amide group; Rf1 and Rf2 represent a hydrogen atom, a fluorine atom, an oxygen atom, a methyl group, or a trifluoromethyl group, and when Rf1 and Rf2 represent an oxygen atom, Rf1 and Rf2 represent one oxygen atom bonded to one carbon atom to form a carbonyl group; Rf3 and Rf4 represent a hydrogen atom, a fluorine atom, or a trifluoromethyl group, and one or more of Rf1 to Rf4 represent a fluorine atom or a trifluoromethyl group; Rf5 represents a fluorine atom or a linear or branched alkyl group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms and having at least one or more fluorine atoms; Rf6 and Rf7 represent a linear, branched, or cyclic alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, an alkenyl group having 2 to 6 carbon atoms, an alkynyl group having 2 to 6 carbon atoms, or an aryl group having 6 to 10 carbon atoms, and wherein any of the carbon atoms of the alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl or aryl groups of Rf6 and Rf7, may be substituted with a fluorine atom, Rf6 and Rf7 having at least one or more fluorine atoms; “m” represents an integer of 1 to 4; a1, a2, a3, and a4 satisfy 0≤a1≤1.0, 0≤a2≤1.0, 0≤a3≤1.0, 0≤a4≤1.0, and 0<a1+a2+a3+a4≤1.0; and M+ represents an ion selected from an ammonium ion, a sodium ion, a potassium ion, and a silver ion ([0020]: the structure stated above is disclosed as there are options disclosed for each corresponding variable that are also claimed options).
Regarding claim 5, the Hatakeyama/Voros combination discloses the bio-electrode according to claim 2, wherein the repeating unit-a contains an ammonium ion represented by the following general formula (3) as the ammonium ion constituting the ammonium salt ([0022]: the repeating unit a contains an ammonium ion shown by the formula (3)),
wherein R101d, R101e, R101f, and R101g each represent a hydrogen atom, a linear, branched, or cyclic alkyl group having 1 to 15 carbon atoms, a linear, branched, or cyclic alkenyl group or alkynyl group having 2 to 12 carbon atoms, or an aromatic group having 4 to 20 carbon atoms, are unsubstituted or substituted with having one or more groups selected from an ether group, a carbonyl group, an ester group, a hydroxy group, a carboxyl group, an amino group, a nitro group, a sulfonyl group, a sulfinyl group, a halogen atom, and a sulfur atom; R101d and R101e, or R101d, R101e, and R101f may form a ring together with a nitrogen atom to which these groups are bonded, and when forming the ring, R101d and R101e, or R101d, R101e, and R101f form an alkylene group having 3 to 10 carbon atoms or a heteroaromatic ring having the nitrogen atom in the general formula (3) in the ring ([0022]: the structure stated above is disclosed).
Regarding claim 6, the Hatakeyama/Voros combination discloses the bio-electrode according to claim 1, further comprising a resin other than the component (A) as a component (B) contained in the material of the living-body contact layer ([0091]: the bio-electrode composition has a component A mixed with a resin).
Regarding claim 7, the Hatakeyama/Voros combination discloses the bio-electrode according to claim 6, wherein the component (B) is one or more selected from a silicone resin, a (meth)acrylate resin, and a urethane resin ([0091]: the resin is selected from a silicone base, acrylic base, or urethane base resins).
Regarding claim 8, the Hatakeyama/Voros combination discloses a method for manufacturing the bio-electrode according to claim 1. Voros further teaches the method comprising a step of manufacturing the micropillar by inserting a resin containing the component (A) into a mold to be a template (Voros [0033]: the sensor device is manufactured by providing a mold with an array of recesses etched into the substrate where the conductive material is deposited into the recesses of the array), and releasing the resin from the mold (Voros [0033]-[0034]: the sensor device is released from the mold by dissolution). It would be obvious to utilize the manufacturing method of Voros by including a sacrificial layer as doing so would provide for a strain-free release of the sensor which avoids the formation of micro-cracks.
Regarding claim 9, the Hatakeyama/Voros combination discloses a method for manufacturing the bio-electrode according to claim 1. Voros further teaches the method comprising a step of manufacturing the micropillar by inserting a resin containing the component (A) into a pattern of a resin to be a template (Voros [0033]-[0034]: the sensor device is manufactured by providing a mold with an array of recesses etched into a substrate which is made of a sacrificial material where the conductive material is deposited into the recesses of the array; [0076]: the sacrificial layer is made of PMGI derivative which is a type of resin), and dissolving a pattern of the resin with water or an alkaline aqueous solution to release the resin containing the component (A) (Voros [0033]-[0034]: the sacrificial layer of the mold is dissolved in the developer solution to release the conductive component; [0083]: a single developer solution can be used for the steps; [0084]: the developer is a basic buffered KOH solution – KOH is an aqueous alkaline solution). It would be obvious to utilize the manufacturing method of Voros by including a sacrificial layer as doing so would provide for a strain-free release of the sensor which avoids the formation of micro-cracks.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Hatakeyama/Voros combination as applied to claim 1 and described above, in view of Gupta et al. (hereinafter ‘Gupta’, Introduction to Polyurethane Chemistry).
Regarding claim 4, the Hatakeyama/Voros combination discloses the bio-electrode according to claim 1 as described above. The combination also discloses that unit-a has the following repeating units:
wherein the R, X, and M+ variables represent options that are the same as the claimed options ([0018], [0020]).
However, Hatakeyama does not disclose these repeating units having urethane groups in the main chain, since that is the only difference between units a5 and A6 and that is the main difference between the remaining groups.
Gupta teaches the chemistry of polyurethanes, their benefits, and their structure ([Abstract]). Gupta further teaches that polyurethanes are specifically used in medical devices, like that of Hatakeyama ([Abstract]). While not specifically directed to sensing electrodes, it is analogous to both the instant application and Hatakeyama because it discusses how to modify the main chain of a polymer to modify the properties of the polymer, which is the same focus of both Hatakeyama and the instant application as they are both modifying the polymeric structure in order to modify the properties of the polymer. Polyurethanes are characterized by the presence of a urethane linkage and are formed by a reaction between hydroxyl and isocyanate groups, similar to how the instant application forms the repeating units A5-A7 (Page 3). Creating a polymer with a high number of urethane linkages in the main can increase the interactions among the chains through hydrogen bonding and modifying polyols further aids in the physical properties of the polymer (Pages 6 and 9). Modifying the hydrogen bonding between chains is an obvious way to modify a materials physical properties since the interactions between the polymeric chains is increased. Furthermore, as evidenced by Gupta, modifying a polymer’s main chain to utilize urethane linkages is of routine skill in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the urethane linkages taught by Gupta in the repeating units of Hatakeyama in order to increase the interactions between the polymeric chains in the living body contact layer in order to modify the physical properties of that layer to have the desired strength.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 4/20/2026, with respect to the 112b rejections of claims 2-5 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments. The 112b rejections of claims 2-5 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant initially argues that Hatakeyama does not disclose or suggest utilizing micropillars and there is no motivation to utilize them. This argument is not persuasive. While Hatakeyama makes no mention of the shape of the living body contact layer, Voros clearly teaches utilizing micropillars of the claimed size in a living body contact layer to improve adhesion ([0021], [0061]). Improving adhesion is the motivation taught by Voros. Thus, while Hatakeyama makes no mention of the micropillars, Voros is used to explicitly teach the claimed micropillars and provides an obvious motivation as to why the micropillars would be used in a living body contact layer.
Applicant’s arguments that Voros does not teach the ionic material layer are not persuasive because Voros is not used to teach the composition of that layer, only the shape of the micropillars in the layer which improve adhesion ([0021], [0061]).
Applicant’s arguments that combining Hatakeyama and Voros would be hindsight is not persuasive. Both Hatakeyama and Voros were filed and published prior to the instant application. Incorporating the teachings of Voros is not hindsight reasoning because Voros explicitly describes that the micropillars are used to improve adhesion which would be an obvious improvement to the device of Hatakeyama. When the prior art of record teaches both the claimed structure and a clear motivation for utilizing such a structure, it is not hindsight reasoning. It is an obvious combination for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make.
Applicant’s arguments that Gupta makes no mention of the micropillars is not persuasive because Gupta is not used to teach the micropillars.
Lastly, applicant’s arguments that Hatakeyama and Voros cannot be properly combined is not persuasive. The applicant does not provide any reasons to why the combination would not function. Hatakeyama explicitly discloses the claimed formulation of the living body contact layer in claim 1 and Voros explicitly teaches the micropillar structure and provides a clear motivation to include such a structure, namely to improve the adhesive force of the living body contact layer ([0021]). Furthermore, a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. Therefore, the combination is proper because Voros is simply used to change the form/shape of the living body contact layer of Hatakeyama and provides explicit reasoning to why such a modification would be beneficial to a layer configured to attach to the skin of the user.
Therefore, because the Hatakeyama and Voros combination discloses claim 1, the rejection is maintained.
The rejections to the independent claims 2-9 are maintained because the rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOSEPH A STOKLOSA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794