DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-14 and 16-20 have been considered but are moot on grounds of new rejection and interpretation of prior art.
Examiner notes that Lee et al. (US 2023/0178439 A1, Fig. 4) could have been used in place of Seo and Moon. Examiner suggests that the Applicant perfect foreign priority.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US 2022/0367475 A1 now US 11,700,724 B2) in view of Seo et al. (Seo) (US 2015/0214220 A1) in view of Moon et al. (Moon) (US 2019/0165122 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Wei (Figs. 1H-2, 2, 3C-1 and associated text and items) discloses a gate structure (item 122) comprising: a first conductive pattern (item 120); a first seed pattern (item 118) on a lower surface and a first portion of a sidewall of the first conductive pattern (item 120), wherein the first seed pattern (item 118) includes a first material (titanium nitride (TiN), tungsten nitride (WN), and/or tantalum nitride (TaN), paragraph 22), and the first conductive pattern (item 120) includes a second material (tungsten (W), aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), cobalt (Co), ruthenium (Ru), paragraph 22) that is different from the first material (titanium nitride (TiN), tungsten nitride (WN), and/or tantalum nitride (TaN), paragraph 22); and a gate insulation pattern (items 116 or 116 plus 134) that is in contact with a second portion of the sidewall of the first conductive pattern (item 120) and the first seed pattern (item 120), wherein the first material (titanium nitride (TiN), tungsten nitride (WN), and/or tantalum nitride (TaN)) directly contacts the second material (tungsten (W), aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), cobalt (Co), ruthenium (Ru), paragraph 22), and wherein a first work function (work function of titanium nitride (TiN) [4.1 eV to 4.5 eV], tungsten nitride (WN) [4.2 eV to 4.9 eV], and/or tantalum nitride (TaN) [4.2 eV to 4.8 eV) is lower than a second work function (work function of tungsten (W)[ 4.3 eV to 5.4 eV], aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), cobalt (Co) [4.8 eV to 5.0 eV, ruthenium (Ru)).
Examiner notes that the Applicant has not given a special definition to the term “contact”, therefore certain features can be in “direct” or “indirect” contact.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a first material having a first work function, a second material having a second work function, where the first work function is lower than the second work function, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
Wei does not specifically disclose wherein a lower surface of the first seed pattern is aligned with the second portion of the sidewall of the first conductive pattern.
Seo (Fig. 7 and associated text) discloses wherein a lower surface of the first seed pattern (item 120) is aligned with the second portion of the sidewall of the first conductive pattern (item 130).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Seo, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
Wei as modified by Seo does not specifically disclose the first conductive pattern includes a second material including molybdenum.
Moon (Figs. 2, 3 and associated text) discloses the first conductive pattern (item 140) includes a second material including molybdenum (paragraphs 33, 36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Moon, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 3, Wei (Figs. 1H-2, 2, 3C-1 and associated text and items) discloses wherein the first material includes tantalum, tantalum titanium, titanium nitride, tantalum nitride, lanthanum nitride, titanium silicon nitride, tantalum silicon nitride, lanthanum oxide, aluminum oxide, and/or scandium oxide (titanium nitride (TiN), tungsten nitride (WN), and/or tantalum nitride (TaN), paragraph 22).
In regards to claim 14, Wei (Figs. 1H-2, 2, 3C-1 and associated text and items) discloses a semiconductor device (Figs. 1H-2, 2, 3C-1) comprising: an active pattern (pattern within active region 104A) on a substrate (item 102); a gate structure (item 122) in an upper portion of the active pattern (pattern within active region 104A); a bit line structure (item 142) on a central portion of the active pattern (pattern within active region 104A); a contact plug structure (item 146) on each of opposite edge portions of the active pattern (pattern within active region 104A) in a horizontal direction that is parallel with an upper surface of the substrate (item 102); and a capacitor on the contact plug structure (item 146), wherein the gate structure (item 122) includes: : a first conductive pattern (item 120); a first seed pattern (item 118) on a lower surface and a first portion of a sidewall of the first conductive pattern (item 120), wherein the first seed pattern (item 118) includes a first material (titanium nitride (TiN), tungsten nitride (WN), and/or tantalum nitride (TaN), paragraph 22), and the first conductive pattern (item 120) includes a second material (tungsten (W), aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), cobalt (Co), ruthenium (Ru), paragraph 22) that is different from the first material (titanium nitride (TiN), tungsten nitride (WN), and/or tantalum nitride (TaN), paragraph 22); and a gate insulation pattern (items 116 or 116 plus 134) that is in contact with a second portion of the sidewall of the first conductive pattern (item 120) and the first seed pattern (item 120), wherein the first material (titanium nitride (TiN), tungsten nitride (WN), and/or tantalum nitride (TaN)) directly contacts the second material (tungsten (W), aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), cobalt (Co), ruthenium (Ru), paragraph 22),, and wherein the first work function (work function of titanium nitride (TiN) [4.1 eV to 4.5 eV], tungsten nitride (WN) [4.2 eV to 4.9 eV], and/or tantalum nitride (TaN) [4.2 eV to 4.8 eV]) is lower than the second work function (work function of tungsten (W)[ 4.3 eV to 5.4 eV], aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), cobalt (Co) [4.8 eV to 5.0 eV, ruthenium (Ru)).
Examiner notes the Applicant has not given a special definition to the term “contact”, therefore certain features can be in “direct” or “indirect” contact.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a first material having a first work function, a second material having a second work function, where the first work function is lower than the second work function, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
Wei does not specifically disclose wherein a lower surface of the first seed pattern is aligned with the second portion of the sidewall of the first conductive pattern.
Seo (Fig. 7 and associated text) discloses wherein a lower surface of the first seed pattern (item 120) is aligned with the second portion of the sidewall of the first conductive pattern (item 130).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Seo, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
Wei as modified by Seo does not specifically disclose the first conductive pattern includes a second material including molybdenum.
Moon (Figs. 2, 3 and associated text) discloses the first conductive pattern (item 140) includes a second material including molybdenum (paragraphs 33, 36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Moon, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 16, Wei (Figs. 1H-2, 2, 3C-1 and associated text and items) discloses wherein the first material includes tantalum, tantalum titanium, titanium nitride, tantalum nitride, lanthanum nitride, titanium silicon nitride, tantalum silicon nitride, lanthanum oxide, aluminum oxide, and/or scandium oxide (titanium nitride (TiN), tungsten nitride (WN), and/or tantalum nitride (TaN), paragraph 22),
Claim(s) 1 and 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (Oh) (KR 101987995 B1) in view of Seo et al. (Seo) (US 2015/0214220 A1) in view of Moon et al. (Moon) (US 2019/0165122 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Oh (Figs. 4, 5f, 5g and associated text and items) discloses a gate structure (Figs. 4, 5f, 5g) comprising: a first conductive pattern (items 115, 125); a first seed pattern (item 111) on a lower surface and a first portion of a sidewall of the first conductive pattern (item 115, 125), wherein the first seed pattern (item 111) includes a first material (titanium nitride TiNx, or the like, or a mixture of a plurality of materials), and the first conductive pattern (item 115, 125) includes a second material (tungsten (W)) that is different from the first material (titanium nitride TiNx, or the like, or a mixture of a plurality of materials); and a gate insulation pattern (item 109) that is in contact with a second portion of the sidewall of the first conductive pattern (item 115, 125) and the first seed pattern (item 111), wherein the first material (titanium nitride TiNx, or the like, or a mixture of a plurality of materials) directly contacts the second material (tungsten (W), and wherein a first work function (work function of titanium nitride TiNx [4.1 eV to 4.5 eV],) is lower than a second work function (work function of tungsten (W)[ 4.3 eV to 5.4 eV]). Examiner notes the Applicant has not given a special definition to the term “contact”, therefore certain features can be in “direct” or “indirect” contact.
Oh does not specifically disclose wherein a lower surface of the first seed pattern is aligned with the second portion of the sidewall of the first conductive pattern.
Seo (Fig. 7 and associated text) discloses wherein a lower surface of the first seed pattern (item 120) is aligned with the second portion of the sidewall of the first conductive pattern (item 130).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Seo, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
Oh as modified by Seo does not specifically disclose the first conductive pattern includes a second material including molybdenum.
Moon (Figs. 2, 3 and associated text) discloses the first conductive pattern (item 140) includes a second material including molybdenum (paragraphs 33, 36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Moon, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 3, Oh (Figs. 4, 5f, 5g and associated text and items) discloses wherein the first material includes tantalum, tantalum titanium, titanium nitride, tantalum nitride, lanthanum nitride, titanium silicon nitride, tantalum silicon nitride, lanthanum oxide, aluminum oxide, and/or scandium oxide (titanium nitride TiNx, or the like, or a mixture of a plurality of materials).
In regards to claim 4, Oh (Figs. 4, 5f, 5g and associated text and items) discloses further comprising: a second conductive pattern (items 119, 131) on the first conductive pattern (item 125), wherein the second conductive pattern (items 119, 131) includes doped polysilicon (N+ doped polysilicon).
In regards to claim 5, Oh (Figs. 4, 5f, 5g and associated text and items) discloses a gate mask (items 123, 137) on the second conductive pattern (item 131), wherein the gate insulation pattern (item 109) contacts a sidewall of the second conductive pattern (item 131) and a sidewall of the gate mask (items 123, 137).
In regards to claim 6, Oh (Figs. 4, 5f, 5g and associated text and items) discloses further comprising: a second conductive pattern (item 131) on the first conductive pattern (item 125), wherein the second conductive pattern (item 131) includes a third material (N+ doped polysilicon), and wherein the third material has a third work function (work function of N+ doped polysilicon) that is lower than the second work function (work function of tungsten (W)).
In regards to claim 7, Oh (Figs. 4, 5f, 5g and associated text and items) discloses further comprising: a second conductive pattern (item 131) on the first conductive pattern (item 125); and a second seed pattern (item 127) on a lower surface and a sidewall of the second conductive pattern (item 131), wherein the second seed pattern (item 127) is in contact with an upper surface of the first conductive pattern (item 125), wherein the second conductive pattern (item 131) includes a third material, wherein the second seed pattern (item 127) includes a fourth material (metal nitride), wherein the third material has a third work function, and wherein the fourth material has a fourth work function that is lower than the third work function.
In regards to claim 8, Oh (Figs. 4, 5f, 5g and associated text and items) discloses wherein the fourth material (metal nitride) is same as the first material (titanium nitride TiNx, or the like, or a mixture of a plurality of materials).
Oh as modified by Seo and Moon does not specifically disclose wherein the third material is same as the second material.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a third material being same as the second material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
Claim(s) 9, 10, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (Kwon) (US 2021/0066466 A1 now US 11,211,466 B2).
In regards to claim 9, Kwon (Fig. 4 and associated text and items) discloses a gate structure (item 300) comprising: a first conductive pattern (item 324); a first seed pattern (item 323) on a lower surface and a portion of a sidewall of the first conductive pattern (item 324), wherein the first seed pattern (item 323) includes a first material (paragraph 63, TiN or TaN), and the first conductive pattern (item 324) includes a second material (paragraph 64, W) that is different from the first material (paragraph 63, TiN or TaN); a second conductive pattern (item 322) that is in direct contact with an upper surface of the first conductive pattern (item 324) and an uppermost surface of the first seed pattern (item 323), a lower surface of the second conductive pattern (item 322) having a constant height; and a gate insulation pattern (item 110) that is in contact with a sidewall of the second conductive pattern (item 322) and a sidewall of the first seed pattern (item 323), wherein the first material has a first work function (work function of titanium nitride TiNx [4.1 eV to 4.5 eV]), and the second material has a second work function (work function of tungsten (W)[ 4.3 eV to 5.4 eV]), wherein the first material (work function of titanium nitride TiNx [4.1 eV to 4.5 eV]) is lower than the second work function (work function of tungsten (W)[ 4.3 eV to 5.4 eV]). Examiner notes the Applicant has not given a special definition to the term “contact”, therefore certain features can be in “direct” or “indirect” contact.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a first material having a first work function, a second material having a second work function, where the first work function is lower than the second work function, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 10, Kwon (Fig. 4 and associated text and items) discloses wherein the second conductive pattern (item 322) includes doped polysilicon (N-type polysilicon, paragraph 64).
In regards to claim 11, Kwon (Fig. 4 and associated text and items) discloses further comprising: wherein the second conductive pattern (item 322) includes a third material (N-type polysilicon), and wherein the third material has a third work function (work function of N-type polysilicon) that is lower than the second work function (work function of tungsten (W)).
In regards to claim 13, Kwon (Fig. 4 and associated text and items) discloses wherein the first material includes tantalum, tantalum titanium, titanium nitride, tantalum nitride, lanthanum nitride, titanium silicon nitride, tantalum silicon nitride, lanthanum oxide, aluminum oxide, and/or scandium oxide (TiN, TaN, TiSiN, TaSiN, paragraph 63).
Claim(s) 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (Oh) (KR 101987995 B1) in view of Kwon et al. (Kwon) (US 2021/0066466 A1 now US 11,211,466 B2).
In regards to claim 9, Oh (Figs. 4, 5f, 5g and associated text and items) discloses a gate structure (item 16) comprising: a first conductive pattern (item 125); a first seed pattern (item 111) on a lower surface and a portion of a sidewall of the first conductive pattern (item 125), wherein the first seed pattern (item 111) includes a first material, and the first conductive pattern (item 125) includes a second material that is different from the first material; a second conductive pattern (item 131) that is in contact with an upper surface of the first conductive pattern (item 125) and an uppermost surface of the first seed pattern (item 111); and a gate insulation pattern (item 109) that is in contact with a sidewall of the second conductive pattern (item 131) and a sidewall of the first seed pattern (item 111), wherein the first material (work function of titanium nitride TiNx [4.1 eV to 4.5 eV]) is lower than the second work function (work function of tungsten (W)[ 4.3 eV to 5.4 eV]). Examiner notes the Applicant has not given a special definition to the term “contact”, therefore certain features can be in “direct” or “indirect” contact.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a first material having a first work function, a second material having a second work function, where the first work function is lower than the second work function, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
Oh does not specifically disclose a second conductive pattern that is in direct contact with an upper surface of the first conductive pattern and the uppermost surface of the first seed pattern, a lower surface of the second conductive pattern having a constant height.
In regards to claim 9, Kwon (Fig. 4 and associated text and items) discloses a second conductive pattern (item 322) that is in direct contact with an upper surface of the first conductive pattern (item 324) and an uppermost surface of the first seed pattern (item 323), a lower surface of the second conductive pattern (item 322) having a constant height.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Kwon for the purpose of work function and a low resistance gate, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of
ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
In regards to claim 10, Oh (Figs. 4, 5f, 5g and associated text and items) and Kwon both discloses wherein the second conductive pattern (items 119, 131, Oh, item 322, Kwon) includes doped polysilicon (N+ doped polysilicon, Oh, N-type polysilicon, paragraph 64, Kwon).
In regards to claim 11, Oh (Figs. 4, 5f, 5g and associated text and items) discloses further comprising: wherein the second conductive pattern (item 131) includes a third material (N+ doped polysilicon), and wherein the third material has a third work function (work function of N+ doped polysilicon) that is lower than the second work function (work function of tungsten (W)).
In regards to claim 12, Oh (Figs. 4, 5f, 5g and associated text and items) discloses a gate mask (items 123, 137) on the second conductive pattern (item 131), wherein the gate insulation pattern (item 109) contacts a sidewall of the second conductive pattern (item 131) and a sidewall of the gate mask (items 123, 137).
In regards to claim 13, Oh (Figs. 4, 5f, 5g and associated text and items) discloses wherein the first material includes tantalum, tantalum titanium, titanium nitride, tantalum nitride, lanthanum nitride, titanium silicon nitride, tantalum silicon nitride, lanthanum oxide, aluminum oxide, and/or scandium oxide (titanium nitride TiNx, or the like, or a mixture of a plurality of materials).
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US 2022/0367475 A1 now US 11,700,724 B2) in view of Seo et al. (Seo) (US 2015/0214220 A1) in view of Moon et al. (Moon) (US 2019/0165122 A1) as applied to claims 1, 3, 14 and 16 above, and further in view of Oh et al. (Oh) (KR 101987995 B1).
In regards to claims 17-20, Wei as modified by Seo and Moon does not specifically disclose any of those limitations.
In regards to claim 17, Oh (Figs. 4, 5f, 5g and associated text and items) discloses further comprising: a second conductive pattern (items 119, 131) on the first conductive pattern (item 125), wherein the second conductive pattern (items 119, 131) includes doped polysilicon (N+ doped polysilicon).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Oh for the purpose of improving the GIDL and the gate resistance can be minimized to prevent deterioration of the current driving capability.
In regards to claim 18, Oh (Figs. 4, 5f, 5g and associated text and items) discloses a gate mask (items 123, 137) on the second conductive pattern (item 131), wherein the gate insulation pattern (item 109) contacts a sidewall of the second conductive pattern (item 131) and a sidewall of the gate mask (items 123, 137).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Oh for the purpose of protection.
In regards to claim 19, Oh (Figs. 4, 5f, 5g and associated text and items) discloses further comprising: a second conductive pattern (item 131) on the first conductive pattern (item 125), wherein the second conductive pattern (item 131) includes a third material (N+ doped polysilicon), and wherein the third material has a third work function (work function of N+ doped polysilicon) that is lower than the second work function (work function of tungsten (W)).
In regards to claim 20, Oh (Figs. 4, 5f, 5g and associated text and items) discloses further comprising: a second conductive pattern (item 131) on the first conductive pattern (item 125); and a second seed pattern (item 127) on a lower surface and a sidewall of the second conductive pattern (item 131), wherein the second seed pattern (item 127) is in contact with an upper surface of the first conductive pattern (item 125), wherein the second conductive pattern (item 131) includes a third material, wherein the second seed pattern (item 127) includes a fourth material (metal nitride), wherein the third material has a third work function, and wherein the fourth material has a fourth work function that is lower than the third work function.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 September 22, 2026