DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-15, 17 and 19-22 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-15, 17-20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ihara et al. (hereinafter ‘Ihara’, Pub. No. 2019/0377479) in view of Ganschow et al. (hereinafter ‘Ganschow’, Pub. No. 2025/0332509).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 11, 13 and 17, Ihara teaches a system (100, Fig. 1) (with corresponding method and non-transitory computer readable medium) comprising:
processing circuitry; and memory, accessible by the processing circuitry, the memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry (elements on Fig. 10, where those elements are inherent on computing devices; [0040]; [0081]-[0083]), cause the processing circuitry to perform operations comprising:
generating a content design graphical user interface (GUI) (Fig. 3-8) configured to:
receive a first input selecting a content source of one or more available content sources, each having one or more video rendering parameters (902, Fig. 9A; [0044]; [0055]);
receive a second input selecting one or more content parameters from the one or more content parameters of the selected content source (906, Fig. 9A; [0050]); and
receive a third input selecting an access parameter, wherein the access parameter defines one or more user profiles authorized to view the selected content source (user targets content based on profiles of the users/devices/platforms that are the recipients of the targeted content, [0018]; [0030]; [0036]); and
generating an end user GUI (Fig. 3-8) configured to:
render a content item associated with the selected content source, the one or more selected content parameters, and the selected access parameter via a display of one or more client devices; and embed the content item within a video player of a platform (based on the selected parameters and for the audience/platform/content is targeted, target content is generated and rendered for the user and forward use of other users on the platform, [0042]; [0045]; [0047]; [0050]).
On the other hand, Ihara does not explicitly teach
wherein the content source is received based on a content provider map stored in a configuration table associated with a content provider application, wherein the content provider map stored in the configuration table comprises one or more connection aliases defining an endpoint to access an application programming interface (API) of the content provider application;
wherein the one or more user profiles authorized to view the selected content source satisfy one or more access credentials; and
by embedding the content item within a software video player of the end user GUI.
However, in an analogous art, Ganschow teaches a system for providing interactivity content with different video content through different apps of different sources ([0062]-[0065]). The system receives metadata with the different indicating the content information. With that extracted metadata, the system finds different APIs and pairs them to the different apps and/or client programming to obtain additional information and/or services ([0072]-[0077]; [0119]; [0120]; [0183]-[0186]). The data of the paired/aliased API to the different content is kept on databases and it’s frequently updated. The system updates API bundle information after re-mapping the information connections ([0192]-[0200]). The supplemental content received through the different APIs is presented overlaid on user interfaces on the video content player (at least Fig. 14; [0074]-[0076]; [0081]; [0201]).
For claims 11 and 17:
wherein the one or more user profiles authorized to view the selected content satisfy one or more access credentials including a token, a username, a password, or a combination thereof (Ganschow: [0177]-[0179], where content can be subscription services and the system uses tokens for authentication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ihara’s invention with Ganschow’s features of aliasing API access to content provider application, using tokens of authentication for the benefit of maintain ordered and updated information of paired API/supplemental information to different sources for easy access.
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Ihara and Ganschow teach comprising providing access, via the API one or more application programming interfaces (APIs), to the one or more available content sources (Ihara: [0035]; [0044]-[0047]. Ganschow: [0073]; [0076]; [0079]; [0129]; [0186]).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Ihara and Ganschow teach wherein the content design GUI is configured to:
display one or more pieces of content based on the selected content source, the selected one or more content parameters, and the selected access parameter (Ihara: based on the selected parameters and for the audience/platform/content is targeted, target content is generated and rendered for the user and forward use of other users on the platform, [0042]; [0045]; [0047]; [0050]); and
receive a fourth input selecting a particular piece of content from the one or more pieces of content; wherein the content item rendered by the end user GUI comprises the particular piece of content (Ihara: [0018]; [0036], where the targeted content is displayed at the platform as previously setup. It is inherent that the end user must select the platform/content, etc.).
Regarding claim 5, Ihara and Ganschow teach comprising augmenting the selected particular piece of content using a design canvas of the content design GUI by incorporating one or more static images, one or more text strings, or both (Ihara: Figs. 3-8; [0018]-[0021]; [055]).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Ihara and Ganschow teach wherein the content design GUI is configured to receive a fifth input selecting an access time parameter, one or more display parameters, one or more playback parameters (Ihara: re-sizing/scaling factor, [0037]; [0038]), or any combination thereof.
Regarding claims 8, 14 and 20, Ihara and Ganschow teach wherein the first input, the second input, or the third input, or any combination thereof, is based on one or more configuration tables of a content provider application associated with the available content sources (Ihara: [0044]; [0049]; [0064]).
Regarding claim 10, Ihara and Ganschow teach wherein the one or more selected content parameters comprise a play bar, a volume, a full screen, or any combination thereof (Ihara: [0031]; [0037], where the target content can be re-sized according to user’s desire).
Regarding claim 22, Ihara and Ganschow teach comprising determining that the content item associated with the selected video source is externally hosted prior to generating the end user GUI (Ganschow: at least, [0008]; [0057]; [0073]).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ihara et al. (hereinafter ‘Ihara’, Pub. No. 2019/0377479) in view of Ganschow et al. (hereinafter ‘Ganschow’, Pub. No. 2025/0332509)in further view of Leung et al. (hereinafter ‘Leung’, WO 2023/129556).
Regarding claim 21, Ihara and Ganschow teach all the limitations of the claim it depends on. On the other hand, they do not explicitly teach comprising receiving an access time parameter associated with a playback time of the selected content source.
However, in an analogous art, Leung teaches a system that integrates content from different platforms from which the user can select content through a content interface ([0021]; [0022]; [0030]). The system, when content is restricted, is presented with a price to be paid for access (Figs. 8 and 9; [0030]-[0034]) for a window of time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ihara and Ganschow’s invention with Leung’s feature of receiving an access period of time parameter to allow the user to playback restricted content for the benefit of allowing the user know when he/she can consume content after purchase/subscription from different platforms.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR S PARRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421