DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the application filed 4/22/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending with claims 1, 12, and 17 as independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/24/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 4/22/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dellinger et al. (US 2018/0373415, hereinafter as Dellinger).
Claim 12. An electronic server device for providing a link and associated preview of content on a workspace, the server device comprising:
at least one hardware processor; and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions, which, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, Dellinger discloses in [0136] device 300 is a laptop computer, a desktop computer, a tablet computer, a multimedia player device, a navigation device, an educational device (such as a child's learning toy), a gaming system, or a control device (e.g., a home or industrial controller). Device 300 typically includes one or more processing units (CPU's) 310, one or more network or other communications interfaces 360, memory 370”. (emphasis added) cause the server device to:
cause, on a first page of the workspace, display of a link to a second page of the workspace, wherein the second page embeds multiple blocks as in-page objects; Dellinger discloses in [0221-0223] “the home screen interface 700 is a startup, default, or landing interface… a dock region 704 with a plurality of application icons 706a, 706b, 706c, 706d, 706e, and 706f (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “application icons 706”) for a plurality of applications (e.g., a file browser application, a music application, a word processing application, a spreadsheet application, a presentation application, a PDF viewer application, and/or the like)… FIG. 7A also illustrates detecting a contact 711 (e.g., a tap/selection gesture) at a location that corresponds to the application icon 706a within the dock region 704.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the home screen 700 may be the workspace. The dock region 704 may be the first page, which displays application icon 706a as an embedded link to a second page,
preselect, prior to runtime of the display of the link to the second page in the first page, a subset of the multiple blocks to include in a preview of the second page, Dellinger discloses in [0221-0224] “As shown in FIG. 7B, the preview interface 710 for the file browser application includes a plurality of content item representations 714a, 714b, 714c, 714d, 714e, and 714f (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “representations 714”) for content items (e.g., presentations/slide-decks, notes, emails, images, messages, word processing documents, spreadsheets, audio files, videos, electronic documents, and/or the like).” (emphasis added) examiner note: the preview interface 710 may be the second page, which includes content item representation 714f as a subset of the multiple blocks included in the second page (block),
wherein the subset of the multiple blocks is preselected from among the multiple blocks based on content of a respective block or a location of the respective block on the second page; Dellinger discloses in [0221-0224] “As shown in FIG. 7B, the preview interface 710 for the file browser application includes a plurality of content item representations 714a, 714b, 714c, 714d, 714e, and 714f (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “representations 714”) for content items (e.g., presentations/slide-decks, notes, emails, images, messages, word processing documents, spreadsheets, audio files, videos, electronic documents, and/or the like)… the representations 714 correspond to frequently viewed and/or modified content items, recently viewed and/or modified content items, and/or the like.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the content item may be selected based on frequency usage of the content item. For example, an email application may be selected based on being frequently used or recently used, and
in response to an input relative to the link on the first page, cause, while displaying the link on the first page, display of the preview of the subset of the multiple blocks from the second page. Dellinger discloses in [0221-0223] “in response to detecting an input that corresponds to selecting an application icon, and in accordance with a determination that the input satisfies a content preview criterion (e.g., a hover input, double click input, double tap input, long press input, deep press input, or the like), the device 100 display a preview interface for the application that corresponds to the application icon over the current interface.” (emphasis added) examiner note: in response to hover input on icon 706a (link), the preview window 710 corresponds to the second page may be displayed while the icon 706a being in display as shown in fig. 7c.
Claims 13 and 18. The rejection of the server device of claim 12 is incorporated, wherein preselecting the subset of the multiple blocks to include in the preview of the second page comprises: selecting a predefined number of blocks on the second page on a predefined location of the second page. Dellinger discloses in [0187, 0208, and 0225] “the content item (e.g., the presentation in FIG. 6A) is not currently associated with any tags. As such, in FIG. 6C, the selectable tags 632a, 632b, 632c, 632d correspond to suggested tags based on frequency of use, recency of use, and/or the like… the representations 708 correspond to frequently used tags, recently used tags, and/or the like. According to some embodiments, each of the representations 708 is associated with a tag that corresponds to a category or subject. According to some embodiments, each of the representations 708 is associated with a tag that corresponds to a color, pattern, and/or appearance.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the predefined location for content item presentations (blocks) may be frequency of use or recency of use.
Claims 14 and 19. The rejection of the server device of claim 12 is incorporated, wherein preselecting the subset of the multiple blocks to include in the preview of the second page comprises:
adding content to the preview of the second page from a source that is external to the workspace, Dellinger discloses in [0245] “the preview interface 710 is updated to show content item representations for content items that match both the “Learning” tag and the “Study” tag. According to some embodiments, the preview interface 710 is updated to show content item representations for content items that match the “Learning” tag or the “Study” tag.” (emphasis added).
wherein the content is linked to the second page via a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) in one of the blocks in the subset of the multiple blocks. Dellinger discloses in [0096 and 0224] “browser module 147 includes executable instructions to browse the Internet in accordance with user instructions, including searching, linking to, receiving, and displaying web pages or portions thereof, as well as attachments and other files linked to web pages… the preview interface 710 for the file browser application includes a plurality of content item representations 714a, 714b, 714c, 714d, 714e, and 714f (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “representations 714”) for content items (e.g., presentations/slide-decks, notes, emails, images, messages, word processing documents, spreadsheets, audio files, videos, electronic documents, and/or the like).” And in [342] “the device selects the plurality of tags to include frequently used tags across a plurality of applications or a plurality of storage services (e.g., different cloud storage services).” (emphasis added) examiner note: the content item representations 714 may be linked via links such as URLs because the content items may be cloud storage service, which indicates that content items may be web content.
Claims 15 and 20. The rejection of the server device of claim 12 is incorporated, wherein preselecting the subset of the multiple blocks to include in the preview of the second page comprises:
determining that a particular block of the multiple blocks is associated with a link to a source external to the workspace; Dellinger discloses in [0221-0224] “As shown in FIG. 7B, the preview interface 710 for the file browser application includes a plurality of content item representations 714a, 714b, 714c, 714d, 714e, and 714f (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “representations 714”) for content items (e.g., presentations/slide-decks, notes, emails, images, messages, word processing documents, spreadsheets, audio files, videos, electronic documents, and/or the like)… the representations 714 correspond to frequently viewed and/or modified content items, recently viewed and/or modified content items, and/or the like.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the content item may be selected based on frequency usage of the content item. For example, an email application may be selected based on being frequently used or recently used, and
in response to determining that the particular block is associated with the link to the source external to the workspace, excluding the particular block from the subset of the multiple blocks. Dellinger discloses in [0200] “the primary region 656 is sorted such that a first subset 675a of the representations 672 and 674 (e.g., the content item representations 672a, 672b, 672c, 674a, and 674b) that correspond to content items associated with both the “Motorcycles” tag and the “Leather Jackets” tag is displayed at the top of the primary region 656… a second subset 675b of the representations 672 and 674 (e.g., the content item representations 672d, 672e, 674c, 674d, 674e, and 674f) that correspond to content items associated with one of the “Motorcycles” tag or the “Leather Jackets” tag (but not both) are displayed below the first subset 675a within the primary region 656.” And in [0258] “each of the one or more existing tags and the one or more suggested tags in the tag modification interface are associated with a unique color/appearance scheme in order to easily differentiate the tags… the one or more existing tags and the one or more suggested tags are displayed in separate regions.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the second subset, which may comprises external suggested content items may be excluded from being displayed with the existing content items in the first subset region as shown in fig. 6K.
Claim 17. A non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions recorded thereon, wherein the instructions, when executed by at least one data processor of a system, cause the system to perform a function on a workspace that includes multiple pages, the processor being caused to:
cause, on a first page of the workspace, display of a link to a second page of the workspace, Dellinger discloses in [0221-0223] “the home screen interface 700 is a startup, default, or landing interface… a dock region 704 with a plurality of application icons 706a, 706b, 706c, 706d, 706e, and 706f (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “application icons 706”) for a plurality of applications (e.g., a file browser application, a music application, a word processing application, a spreadsheet application, a presentation application, a PDF viewer application, and/or the like)… FIG. 7A also illustrates detecting a contact 711 (e.g., a tap/selection gesture) at a location that corresponds to the application icon 706a within the dock region 704.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the home screen 700 may be the workspace. The dock region 704 may be the first page, which displays application icon 706a as an embedded link to a second page,
wherein the second page embeds multiple blocks as in-page objects; Dellinger discloses in [0221-0223] “As shown in FIG. 7B, the preview interface 710 for the file browser application includes a plurality of content item representations 714a, 714b, 714c, 714d, 714e, and 714f (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “representations 714”) for content items (e.g., presentations/slide-decks, notes, emails, images, messages, word processing documents, spreadsheets, audio files, videos, electronic documents, and/or the like).” (emphasis added) examiner note: the preview interface 710 (second page) may embed multiple content item representations 714 as multiple blocks as in-page objects,
preselect, prior to runtime of the display of the link to the second page in the first page, a subset of the multiple blocks to include in a preview of the second page, Dellinger discloses in [0221-0224] “As shown in FIG. 7B, the preview interface 710 for the file browser application includes a plurality of content item representations 714a, 714b, 714c, 714d, 714e, and 714f (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “representations 714”) for content items (e.g., presentations/slide-decks, notes, emails, images, messages, word processing documents, spreadsheets, audio files, videos, electronic documents, and/or the like).” (emphasis added) examiner note: the preview interface 710 may be the second page, which includes content item representation 714f as a subset of the multiple blocks included in the second page (block),
wherein the subset of the multiple blocks is preselected from among the multiple blocks based on content of a respective block or a location of the respective block on the second page; Dellinger discloses in [0221-0224] “As shown in FIG. 7B, the preview interface 710 for the file browser application includes a plurality of content item representations 714a, 714b, 714c, 714d, 714e, and 714f (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “representations 714”) for content items (e.g., presentations/slide-decks, notes, emails, images, messages, word processing documents, spreadsheets, audio files, videos, electronic documents, and/or the like)… the representations 714 correspond to frequently viewed and/or modified content items, recently viewed and/or modified content items, and/or the like.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the content item may be selected based on frequency usage of the content item. For example, an email application may be selected based on being frequently used or recently used, and
in response to an input relative to the link on the first page, cause, while displaying the link on the first page, display of the preview of the subset of the multiple blocks from the second page. Dellinger discloses in [0221-0223] “in response to detecting an input that corresponds to selecting an application icon, and in accordance with a determination that the input satisfies a content preview criterion (e.g., a hover input, double click input, double tap input, long press input, deep press input, or the like), the device 100 display a preview interface for the application that corresponds to the application icon over the current interface.” (emphasis added) examiner note: in response to hover input on icon 706a (link), the preview window 710 corresponds to the second page may be displayed while the icon 706a being in display as shown in fig. 7c.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dellinger and further in view of Sommerer et al. (US 2004/0205514, hereinafter as Sommerer).
Claim 1. A computer-implemented method for providing a link and associated preview of content on a workspace, the method comprising:
causing, on a first page of the workspace, display of a link to a second page of the workspace, Dellinger discloses in [0221-0223] “the home screen interface 700 is a startup, default, or landing interface… a dock region 704 with a plurality of application icons 706a, 706b, 706c, 706d, 706e, and 706f (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “application icons 706”) for a plurality of applications (e.g., a file browser application, a music application, a word processing application, a spreadsheet application, a presentation application, a PDF viewer application, and/or the like)… FIG. 7A also illustrates detecting a contact 711 (e.g., a tap/selection gesture) at a location that corresponds to the application icon 706a within the dock region 704.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the home screen 700 may be the workspace. The dock region 704 may be the first page, which displays application icon 706a as a link to a second page,
wherein the first and second pages are blocks of the workspace, the link is embedded as an in-page object on the first page, and the second page embeds multiple blocks as in-page objects, Dellinger discloses in [0221-0223] “a dock region 704 with a plurality of application icons 706a, 706b, 706c, 706d, 706e, and 706f (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “application icons 706”) for a plurality of applications (e.g., a file browser application, a music application, a word processing application, a spreadsheet application, a presentation application, a PDF viewer application, and/or the like)” (emphasis added) examiner note: the application icon 706a (link for the second page) may be embedded on dock region 704 (the first page) as an object, and
preselecting, prior to runtime of the display of the link to the second page in the first page, a subset of the multiple blocks to include in a preview of the second page, Dellinger discloses in [0221-0224] “As shown in FIG. 7B, the preview interface 710 for the file browser application includes a plurality of content item representations 714a, 714b, 714c, 714d, 714e, and 714f (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “representations 714”) for content items (e.g., presentations/slide-decks, notes, emails, images, messages, word processing documents, spreadsheets, audio files, videos, electronic documents, and/or the like).” (emphasis added) examiner note: the preview interface 710 may be the second page, which includes content item representation 714f as a subset of the multiple blocks included in the second page (block),
wherein the subset of the multiple blocks is less than an entirety of the multiple blocks of the second page, Dellinger discloses in [0221-0224] “As shown in FIG. 7B, the preview interface 710 for the file browser application includes a plurality of content item representations 714a, 714b, 714c, 714d, 714e, and 714f (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “representations 714”) for content items (e.g., presentations/slide-decks, notes, emails, images, messages, word processing documents, spreadsheets, audio files, videos, electronic documents, and/or the like).” (emphasis added) examiner note: the preview interface 710 (second page) may include content item representation 714f as the subset of the representation 714 as multiple blocks, wherein content item representation 714f may be less than the entirety of the multiple blocks of content item representation 714a-714f, and
wherein the subset of the multiple blocks is preselected from among the multiple blocks based on content of a respective block or a location of the respective block on the second page; Dellinger discloses in [0221-0224] “As shown in FIG. 7B, the preview interface 710 for the file browser application includes a plurality of content item representations 714a, 714b, 714c, 714d, 714e, and 714f (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “representations 714”) for content items (e.g., presentations/slide-decks, notes, emails, images, messages, word processing documents, spreadsheets, audio files, videos, electronic documents, and/or the like)… the representations 714 correspond to frequently viewed and/or modified content items, recently viewed and/or modified content items, and/or the like.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the content item may be selected based on frequency usage of the content item. For example, an email application may be selected based on being frequently used or recently used,
receiving an input relative to the link on the first page, wherein the input incudes moving a cursor to a location that is within a threshold distance from the link; Dellinger discloses in [0221-0223] “in response to detecting an input that corresponds to selecting an application icon, and in accordance with a determination that the input satisfies a content preview criterion (e.g., a hover input, double click input, double tap input, long press input, deep press input, or the like), the device 100 display a preview interface for the application that corresponds to the application icon over the current interface.” (emphasis added), and
in response to the input, causing, while displaying the link on the first page, display of the preview of the subset of the multiple blocks from the second page. Dellinger discloses in [0221-0223] “in response to detecting an input that corresponds to selecting an application icon, and in accordance with a determination that the input satisfies a content preview criterion (e.g., a hover input, double click input, double tap input, long press input, deep press input, or the like), the device 100 display a preview interface for the application that corresponds to the application icon over the current interface.” (emphasis added) examiner note: in response to hover input on icon 706a (link), the preview window 710 corresponds to the second page may be displayed while the icon 706a being in display as shown in fig. 7c,
Dellinger does not explicitly disclose
wherein each block has multiple properties that are defined by a block type of the respective block. However, Sommerer, in an analogous art, discloses in [0027, 0035-0036 and 0064] “to invoke the preview 106, the user hovers with the mouse cursor over the hyperlink 104. In response to detecting the hovering of the mouse cursor over the hyperlink 104, the browser displays the preview 106… The retrieval operation 410 can retrieve the preview content from multiple sources… The retrieval operation 410 may also retrieve and store other information about the target resource page, including without limitation text summaries based on entities found in the textual content of the target resource page, associated search queries or user topics, or extracted logical units from the document (e.g., title, menus, tables of contents, paragraphs, nested documents and images, and other visual and audio characteristics)… if a target resource page includes an audio characteristic, such as a sound clip, the preview may be annotated with an icon indicating that the target resource page includes a sound clip… The layout analyzer module 706 identifies characteristics of the document and object within the document that would be exposed to a user (such as elements that the user can search or view independently). The layout analyzer module 706 analyzes the layout of the viewed resource page and the geometric characteristics of the rendered display of the resource page.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the multiple properties may be summaries based on entities found in the textual content of the target resource page such as layout characteristics for suitable presentation.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dellinger with the teaching of Sommerer because “managing a number of active browser windows or continuously navigating back and forth among multiple web pages while looking for desired content can be too complicated for many users… solve the discussed problems by providing a hyperlink preview utility that discerns user intent to display a preview of a target resource page associated with a linking control, such as a hyperlink or visit node. The preview is displayed adjacent to the linking control and may display layout and content information to a user.” Sommerer [0007-0008].
Claim 2. The rejection of the method of claim 1 is incorporated, wherein preselecting the subset of the multiple blocks to include in the preview of the second page comprises: selecting a predefined number of blocks on the second page on a predefined location of the second page. Dellinger discloses in [0187, 0208, and 0225] “the content item (e.g., the presentation in FIG. 6A) is not currently associated with any tags. As such, in FIG. 6C, the selectable tags 632a, 632b, 632c, 632d correspond to suggested tags based on frequency of use, recency of use, and/or the like… the representations 708 correspond to frequently used tags, recently used tags, and/or the like. According to some embodiments, each of the representations 708 is associated with a tag that corresponds to a category or subject. According to some embodiments, each of the representations 708 is associated with a tag that corresponds to a color, pattern, and/or appearance.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the predefined location for content item presentations (blocks) may be frequency of use or recency of use.
Claim 3. The rejection of the method of claim 1 is incorporated, wherein preselecting the subset of the multiple blocks to include in the preview of the second page comprises:
adding content to the preview of the second page from a source that is external to the workspace, Dellinger discloses in [0245] “the preview interface 710 is updated to show content item representations for content items that match both the “Learning” tag and the “Study” tag. According to some embodiments, the preview interface 710 is updated to show content item representations for content items that match the “Learning” tag or the “Study” tag.” (emphasis added).
wherein the content is linked to the second page via a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) in one of the blocks of the subset of the multiple blocks. Dellinger discloses in [0096 and 0224] “browser module 147 includes executable instructions to browse the Internet in accordance with user instructions, including searching, linking to, receiving, and displaying web pages or portions thereof, as well as attachments and other files linked to web pages… the preview interface 710 for the file browser application includes a plurality of content item representations 714a, 714b, 714c, 714d, 714e, and 714f (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “representations 714”) for content items (e.g., presentations/slide-decks, notes, emails, images, messages, word processing documents, spreadsheets, audio files, videos, electronic documents, and/or the like).” And in [342] “the device selects the plurality of tags to include frequently used tags across a plurality of applications or a plurality of storage services (e.g., different cloud storage services).” (emphasis added) examiner note: the content item representations 714 may be linked via links such as URLs because the content items may be cloud storage service, which indicates that content items may be web content.
Claim 4. The rejection of the method of claim 1 is incorporated, wherein preselecting the subset of the multiple blocks to include in the preview of the second page comprises:
determining that a particular block of the multiple blocks is an in-page object associated with a link to a source external to the second page; Dellinger discloses in [0221-0224] “As shown in FIG. 7B, the preview interface 710 for the file browser application includes a plurality of content item representations 714a, 714b, 714c, 714d, 714e, and 714f (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “representations 714”) for content items (e.g., presentations/slide-decks, notes, emails, images, messages, word processing documents, spreadsheets, audio files, videos, electronic documents, and/or the like)… the representations 714 correspond to frequently viewed and/or modified content items, recently viewed and/or modified content items, and/or the like.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the content item may be selected based on frequency usage of the content item. For example, an email application may be selected based on being frequently used or recently used, and
in response to determining that the particular block is the in-page object associated with the link to the source external to the workspace, excluding the particular block from the subset of the multiple blocks. Dellinger discloses in [0174] “the tag modification interface 530 also includes a plurality of selectable tags 532a, 532b, 532c, 532d (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “selectable tags 532”). In FIG. 5C, a first subset of the selectable tags 532 corresponds to tags that are currently associated with the content item (e.g., the selectable tags 532a and 532b) as indicated by the indicators 535 (e.g., the check mark icons), and a second subset of the selectable tags 532 corresponds to suggested tags (e.g., the selectable tags 532c and 532d) based on frequency of use, recency of use, and/or the like.” And in [0179-0180] “removing the indicator 535 associated with the selectable tag 532e to indicate that the associated tag (e.g., Summer) is no longer associated with the content item (e.g., the note) in response to detecting the selection of the tag 526c in FIG. 5G.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the content item “the note” may be the source for the category “Summer” and the category “Summer” may be removed based on no longer associated with the source “the note”. In other words, information from the category “Summer” maybe outside/external of the source “the note”.
Claim 5. The rejection of the method of claim 1 is incorporated, wherein preselecting the subset of the multiple blocks to include in the preview of the second page comprises:
selecting a particular block of the multiple blocks including text content and a particular link comprising a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) linked to content located outside the particular block; Dellinger discloses in [0259] “the tag modification interface 530 includes a plurality of selectable tags 532 with first subset that corresponds to tags that are currently associated with the note (e.g., the selectable tags 532a and 532b) as indicated by the indicators 535 (e.g., check mark icons), and a second subset that corresponds to suggested tags (e.g., the selectable tags 532c and 532d) based on frequency of use, recency of use, and/or the like.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the second subset may include suggested selectable tags 532c and 532d may be content located outside content of the first subset associated with the source “the note”, and
adding the particular block and the particular link to the preview of the second page. Dellinger discloses in [0224] “As shown in FIG. 7B, the preview interface 710 for the file browser application includes a plurality of content item representations 714a, 714b, 714c, 714d, 714e, and 714f (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “representations 714”) for content items (e.g., presentations/slide-decks, notes, emails, images, messages, word processing documents, spreadsheets, audio files, videos, electronic documents, and/or the like)… the representations 714 correspond to frequently viewed and/or modified content items, recently viewed and/or modified content items, and/or the like.” (emphasis added) examiner note: based on a user usage activity, particular content item representation (block) may be added to the preview 710 as shown in fig. 7B.
Claims 6 and 16. The rejection of the method of claim 1 is incorporated, wherein preselecting the subset of the multiple blocks to include in the preview of the second page comprises: Dellinger does not explicitly disclose
storing the preview as a preview property for a page-type block corresponding to the second page. However, Sommerer, in an analogous art, discloses in [0034 and 0036] “A retrieval operation 410 retrieves the target resource page and/or its preview representation (collectively referred to as "preview content") from the linked resource address on the network or from archive storage… The retrieval operation 410 may also retrieve and store other information about the target resource page, including without limitation text summaries based on entities found in the textual content of the target resource page, associated search queries or user topics, or extracted logical units from the document (e.g., title, menus, tables of contents, paragraphs, nested documents and images, and other visual and audio characteristics). (emphasis added), and
dynamically updating the preview property of the second page on demand or in response to a change to the second page or the multiple blocks. Further, Sommerer, in an analogous art, discloses in [0047] “A frequently changing target resource page may require frequent updates to the intermediate storage of the preview representation”. (emphasis added).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dellinger with the teaching of Sommerer because “managing a number of active browser windows or continuously navigating back and forth among multiple web pages while looking for desired content can be too complicated for many users… solve the discussed problems by providing a hyperlink preview utility that discerns user intent to display a preview of a target resource page associated with a linking control, such as a hyperlink or visit node. The preview is displayed adjacent to the linking control and may display layout and content information to a user.” Sommerer [0007-0008].
Claim 7. The rejection of the method of claim 1 is incorporated, further comprising, prior to preselecting the subset of the multiple blocks to include in the preview of the second page: Dellinger does not explicitly disclose determining that a preview property of a page-type block corresponding to the second page does not include a textual summary of content of the second page. However, Sommerer, in an analogous art, discloses in [0034 and 0036] “A retrieval operation 410 retrieves the target resource page and/or its preview representation (collectively referred to as "preview content") from the linked resource address on the network or from archive storage… The retrieval operation 410 may also retrieve and store other information about the target resource page, including without limitation text summaries based on entities found in the textual content of the target resource page, associated search queries or user topics, or extracted logical units from the document (e.g., title, menus, tables of contents, paragraphs, nested documents and images, and other visual and audio characteristics). (emphasis added) examiner note: the preview summary may be based on audio content not textual content.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dellinger with the teaching of Sommerer because “managing a number of active browser windows or continuously navigating back and forth among multiple web pages while looking for desired content can be too complicated for many users… solve the discussed problems by providing a hyperlink preview utility that discerns user intent to display a preview of a target resource page associated with a linking control, such as a hyperlink or visit node. The preview is displayed adjacent to the linking control and may display layout and content information to a user.” Sommerer [0007-0008].
Claim 8. The rejection of the method of claim 1 is incorporated, prior to causing display of a link to a second page of the workspace: Dellinger does not explicitly disclose processing a query for content included the workspace. However, Sommerer, in an analogous art, discloses in [0036] “The retrieval operation 410 may also retrieve and store other information about the target resource page, including without limitation text summaries based on entities found in the textual content of the target resource page, associated search queries or user topics, or extracted logical units from the document (e.g., title, menus, tables of contents, paragraphs, nested documents and images, and other visual and audio characteristics)… the preview may display the title of the target resource page, if available, or the preview may be annotated with search query parameters, if appropriate.” (emphasis added) examiner note: search queries may be processed for identifying web content, and
causing display of a list of search results that satisfy the query on the first page, wherein the link to the second page is included in the list of search results. Further, Sommerer teaches in [0006] “a user may access a web search results page having multiple links to resources identified by a web search engine.” (emphasis added).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dellinger with the teaching of Sommerer because “managing a number of active browser windows or continuously navigating back and forth among multiple web pages while looking for desired content can be too complicated for many users… solve the discussed problems by providing a hyperlink preview utility that discerns user intent to display a preview of a target resource page associated with a linking control, such as a hyperlink or visit node. The preview is displayed adjacent to the linking control and may display layout and content information to a user.” Sommerer [0007-0008].
Claim 9. The rejection of the method of claim 1 is incorporated, wherein preselecting the subset of the multiple blocks to include in the preview of the second page comprises:
determining whether the second page includes a block with an image object designated as a graphical representation of content of the second page; Dellinger discloses in [0224] “the preview interface 710 for the file browser application includes a plurality of content item representations 714a, 714b, 714c, 714d, 714e, and 714f (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “representations 714”) for content items (e.g., presentations/slide-decks, notes, emails, images, messages, word processing documents, spreadsheets, audio files, videos, electronic documents, and/or the like).” (emphasis added), and
in response to a determination that the second page includes the block with the image object, including the block with the image object in the subset of the multiple blocks from the second page. Dellinger discloses in [0224] “the preview interface 710 for the file browser application includes a plurality of content item representations 714a, 714b, 714c, 714d, 714e, and 714f (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “representations 714”) for content items (e.g., presentations/slide-decks, notes, emails, images, messages, word processing documents, spreadsheets, audio files, videos, electronic documents, and/or the like).” (emphasis added) examiner note: based on user input on icon embedded link 706a, a preview 710 (second page) may be displayed as an overlay as shown in fig. 7c.
Claim 10. The rejection of the method of claim 1 is incorporated, wherein displaying the preview of the subset of the multiple blocks comprises: Dellinger does not explicitly disclose displaying the preview as a pop-up feature that is positioned adjacent to or partially overlapping the link on the first page. However, Sommerer, in an analogous art, discloses in [0026] “A main window 102 displays the corresponding resource page, including multiple hyperlinks that are incorporated in the resource page. A hyperlink 104 is associated with and provides a link to another resource page, which is shown as a preview 106. It should be noted that the preview 106 does not fully obscure the resource page displayed in the main browser window, thereby allowing inspection of the previewed page's layout and content while concurrently viewing a substantial portion of the resource page.” (emphasis added).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dellinger with the teaching of Sommerer because “managing a number of active browser windows or continuously navigating back and forth among multiple web pages while looking for desired content can be too complicated for many users… solve the discussed problems by providing a hyperlink preview utility that discerns user intent to display a preview of a target resource page associated with a linking control, such as a hyperlink or visit node. The preview is displayed adjacent to the linking control and may display layout and content information to a user.” Sommerer [0007-0008].
Claim 11. The rejection of the method of claim 1 is incorporated, wherein displaying the preview of the subset of the multiple blocks comprises: Dellinger does not explicitly disclose displaying the preview on a windowpane that is separate from the first page. However, Sommerer, in an analogous art, discloses in [0028-0029] “the preview 200 is displayed in a scaled down browser window and is fully functional… The window for the preview 200 also includes an Increase Preview Size control 206, a Decrease Preview Size control 204, and a Highlight control 202. The Increase Preview Size control 206 enables the user to resize the preview window and its contents to a desired size.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the preview page may be displayed as independent fully function page as shown in fig. 2.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dellinger with the teaching of Sommerer because “managing a number of active browser windows or continuously navigating back and forth among multiple web pages while looking for desired content can be too complicated for many users… solve the discussed problems by providing a hyperlink preview utility that discerns user intent to display a preview of a target resource page associated with a linking control, such as a hyperlink or visit node. The preview is displayed adjacent to the linking control and may display layout and content information to a user.” Sommerer [0007-0008].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/AHAMED I NAZAR/Examiner, Art Unit 2178 5/29/2026
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178