DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A heating assembly in claim 1 wherein heating is a functional language with the term “assembly” being a generic placeholder for means.
A cooling assembly in claim 15 wherein cooling is a functional language with the term “assembly” being a generic placeholder for means.
A collection component in claim 17 wherein collection is a functional language with the term “component” being a generic placeholder for means.
A heating assembly is interpreted as a multiple set of heating components including electric heating, infrared heating, or hot air heating as described in the specification (para 0098), or its equivalents thereof.
A cooling assembly is interpreted as cooling rollers as described in the specification (par 0140), or its equivalents thereof.
A collection component is interpreted as a fan or an absorbent as described in the specification (para 0144), or its equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keil et al (US 2019/0081317).
With respect to claim 1, Keil discloses the electrode plate heating device claimed including a box (shown by a dryer 34; see Figure 12/13), two roller groups (shown by two sets of a top and a bottom group of rollers as shown in Figure 12/13) wherein the two roller groups are spaced apart along a first direction (shown by X-axis), each roller group comprises at least one first roller (e.g., 70A and 70B; also, see para 0053) for the electrode pate/substrate (20) to be alternatively wound around all the first group of rollers in the two groups successively, and a heating assembly (90) installed in the box configured to heat the electrode plate after coated (see para 0044). Also, see annotated drawing below.
With respect to claim 2, Keil discloses each roller group (top and bottom group) comprising a plurality of first guide rollers (shown by the top and bottom rollers) spaced apart along a second direction (shown by Y-axis) that is perpendicular to the first direction. Also, see annotated drawing above.
With respect to claim 3, Keil discloses the first guide rollers in the two roller groups are arranged in an staggered arrangement in the second direction.
With respect to claim 4, Keil discloses the axis of the first guide roller arranged along a third direction (i.e., Z-axis) perpendicular to the first direction.
With respect to claim 5, Keil discloses the first guide rollers that are rotatably arranged around their own axis wherein a rotation direction of the first guide rollers in one of the roller groups is, inherently, opposite to the other first guide rollers in the other roller group.
With respect to claims 6 and 7, Keil discloses the box provided with an inlet (shown by an entry location where an element 74A is located) and an outlet (shown by an exit where an element 74B is located) wherein a second guide roller (95) and a third guide roller (96) are arranged at the inlet and the outlet, respectively. Keil discloses that the second guide roller is located between the two roller groups along the second direction and configured to guide the electrode plate (20) from the inlet to first one of the guide rollers and/or the third guide roller that is further arranged to guide the electrode from the last one of the first guide rollers to the outlet. Also, see annotated drawing above.
With respect to claim 8, Keil discloses the heating assembly comprising multiple sets of heating components (90) located between the two roller groups along the first direction and spaced apart along the second direction wherein at least one set of heating components is provided between every two adjacent first guide rollers (e.g., between 70A and 70C) in the same group. Also, see Figure 12.
With respect to claims 9 and 10, Keil discloses the heating component that is configured to heat the electrode plate/substrate (20) on both sides wherein each set of heating components comprises a plurality of heating components (90) arranged side by side along the first direction.
With respect to claim 11, Keil discloses each of the roller groups (shown by the top and bottom group of rollers) comprising a plurality of first guide rollers spaced apart along the second direction and arranged in a stagged arrangement wherein a set of heating components (90) is provided in correspondence with each of the first guide rollers as illustrated in Figure 12.
With respect to claim 14, Keil discloses the first direction that is the height direction of the box as illustrated in Figure 12.
With respect to claim 17, Keil discloses the box provided with a recovery port (see Figure 12 wherein recirculating air 2 is recovered) with a collection component (85) that collects gases (heated and conditioned air) generated in the box during the heating process through the recovery port. Also, see para 0052.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keil et al (US 2019/0081317) in view of Fujita et al (WO 2014/163175).
With respect to claims 12 and 13, Keil discloses the heating device including the heating components that can be infrared emitters (para 0055) but does show the heating component that comprises a heating element with a protective cover wherein the heating element is sleeved with the protective cover.
Fujita discloses it is known to provide an infrared heater having a heating element (40) that is sleeved with a protective cover (36a) which is made of quartz glass that is light transmissive (para 0047) wherein the protective cover further includes a light-blocking (or reflective) layer (38; para 0045) provided along a first direction so that light emitted by the infrared heating element is irradiated towards both sides along the second direction toward a substrate (80). Also, see Figure 4.
In view of Fujita, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Keil with the heating components that are made of infrared heaters which are sleeved with a protective cover having a light-blocking or reflective layer which allows an irradiated light from the infrared heaters to be predictably and effectively directed toward the electrode plate/substrate with more concentrated and focused irradiated heat.
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keil et al (US 2019/0081317) in view of Yago (US 2005/0025889).
With respect to claims 15 and 16, Keil discloses the heating device claimed except for a cooling assembly as claimed.
Yago disclose it is known to provide a heating device for heating a coated web/substrate that is further provided with a cooling assembly having cooling rollers (18) arranged outside of the heating device to cool the heated web which is wound around the cooling roller as illustrated in Figure 1.
In view of Yago, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Keil with a cooling assembly for cooling down the heated electrode plate/substrate which would predictably allow the heated electrode plate/substrate to be cooled and retain its desired shape and form for further processing or applications as desired.
Conclusion
/SANG Y PAIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761