DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/22/24 and 02/03/25 comply with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner considered the information disclosure statements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harada et al. (US 20080088730).
Regarding claim 1, Harada teaches an optical assembly (annotated fig. 3 below) comprising, an optical element (OE) comprising a first surface (1stOE); a mount (M) comprising a first surface (1stM); a first transmissive layer (FTL); a first adhesive layer (1stAL) disposed between a first surface of the first transmissive layer (1stFTL) and the first surface of the optical element (1stOE); and a second adhesive layer (2ndAL) disposed between a second surface of the first transmissive layer (2ndFTL) and the first surface of the mount (1stM), wherein the first transmissive layer (FTL) is configured to transmit illumination to the first adhesive layer (1stAL) and the second adhesive layer (2ndAL) to cure (¶36, ¶49-¶55, claim 7, the fixing plate and the fixing members are made of glass materials permeable to UV light for curing the UV-curing adhesive) the first adhesive layer (1stAL) and the second adhesive layer (2ndAL).
Regarding claim 3, Harada teaches the optical assembly (annotated fig. 3 above) of claim 1, wherein the optical element (OE) comprises at least one of a mirror, a lens, a filter, a prism (prism 40), or a beam splitter.
Regarding claim 5, Harada teaches the optical assembly (annotated fig. 3 above) of claim 1, wherein the first transmissive layer (FTL) is transparent to ultraviolet light (claim 7, the fixing plate and the fixing members are made of glass materials permeable to UV light for curing the UV-curing adhesive.).
Regarding claim 6, Harada teaches the optical assembly (annotated fig. 3 above) of claim 1, wherein the first adhesive layer (1stAL) and the second adhesive layer (2ndAL) are cured via ultraviolet light (claim 7, the fixing plate and the fixing members are made of glass materials permeable to UV light for curing the UV-curing adhesive.).
Regarding claim 7, Harada teaches an optical system (annotated fig. 3 above) comprising, an optical assembly comprising, an optical element (OE) comprising a first surface (1stOE); a mount (M) comprising a first surface (1stM); a first transmissive layer (FTL); a first adhesive layer (1stAL) disposed between a first surface of the first transmissive layer (1stFTL) and the first surface of the optical element (1stOE); and a second adhesive layer (2ndAL) disposed between a second surface of the first transmissive layer (2ndFTL) and the first surface of the mount (1stM), wherein the first transmissive layer(FL) is configured to transmit illumination to the first adhesive layer (1stAL) and the second adhesive layer (2ndAL) to cure (¶36, ¶49-¶55, claim 7, the fixing plate and the fixing members are made of glass materials permeable to UV light for curing the UV-curing adhesive) the first adhesive layer (1stAL) and the second adhesive layer (2ndAL).
Regarding claim 9, Harada teaches a method for coupling (shown in annotated fig. 3 above) an optical element (OE) to a mount (M) comprising, applying a first adhesive layer (1stAL) to a first surface of the mount (1stM); adhering a first surface of a first transmissive layer (1stFTL) onto the first surface of the mount (1stM) via the first adhesive layer (1stAL); applying a second adhesive layer (2ndAL) to a second surface of the first transmissive layer (2ndFTL); adhering a first surface of an optical element (1stOE) onto the second surface of the first transmissive layer (2ndFTL) via the second adhesive layer (2ndAL); and curing (¶36, ¶49-¶55, claim 7, the fixing plate and the fixing members are made of glass materials permeable to UV light for curing the UV-curing adhesive) the first adhesive layer (1stAL) and the second adhesive layer (2ndAL) by exposing a surface of the first transmissive layer (FTL) to illumination, wherein the first transmissive layer (FTL) transmits the illumination to the first adhesive layer (1stAL) and the second adhesive layer (2ndAL).
Regarding claim 11, Harada teaches the method of claim 9, wherein illumination comprises ultraviolet light (claim 7, the fixing plate and the fixing members are made of glass materials permeable to UV light for curing the UV-curing adhesive.).
Regarding claim 14, Harada teaches the method (fig. 3) of claim 9, wherein the optical element (OE) comprises at least one of a mirror, a lens, a filter, a prism (prism 40), or a beam splitter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al. (US 20080088730) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Fu et al. (US 20220163382).
Regarding claim 8, Harada teaches the invention as set forth above but does not specifically teaches wherein the optical system comprises a metrology system. However, Krishnan teaches the optical system (fig. 2A/B/C), wherein the optical system comprises a metrology system (200). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the optical system of Harada with the optical system comprises a metrology system for the purpose of providing a measuring of quantity of light feature (abstract).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al. (US 20080088730).
Regarding claim 12, Harada teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the first adhesive layer (1stAL) and the second adhesive layer (2ndAL) but does not specifically teach that the layers are cured simultaneously. The claims themselves indicate that the curing step may be perform either simultaneously (claim 12 or sequentially (claim 13). This demonstrates that the curing order represents alternative ways of performing the curing operation rather than a critical feature of the method. Because Harada already teaches the adhesive layers and curing of the adhesive, selecting either simultaneous curing or sequential curing would have been an obvious variation of the curing step for a person of ordinary skill in the art. Accordingly, modifying the method of Harada to cure the adhesive layers simultaneously (or sequentially) would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 13, The method of claim 9, wherein the first adhesive layer (1stAL) and the second adhesive layer (2ndAL) but does not specifically teach that the layers are cured sequentially. The claims themselves indicate that the curing step may be perform either simultaneously (claim 12 or sequentially (claim 13). This demonstrates that the curing order represents alternative ways of performing the curing operation rather than a critical feature of the method. Because Harada already teaches the adhesive layers and curing of the adhesive, selecting either simultaneous curing or sequential curing would have been an obvious variation of the curing step for a person of ordinary skill in the art. Accordingly, modifying the method of Harada to cure the adhesive layers simultaneously (or sequentially) would have been obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 10, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons of the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art does not discloses the claimed optical assembly specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein the optical element comprises a second surface, wherein the mount comprises a second surface, the optical assembly further comprising, a second transmissive layer; a third adhesive layer disposed between a first surface of the second transmissive layer and the second surface of the optical element; and a fourth adhesive layer disposed between a second surface of the second transmissive layer and the second surface of the mount wherein the second transmissive layer is configured to transmit illumination to the third adhesive layer and the fourth adhesive layer to cure the third adhesive layer and the third adhesive layer.”
Regarding claim 4, the prior art does not discloses the claimed optical assembly specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein the first transmissive layer comprises a glass prism.”
Regarding claim 10, the prior art does not discloses the claimed optical assembly specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “further comprising: applying a third adhesive layer to a second surface of the optical element; adhering a first surface of a second transmissive layer to the second surface of the optical element via the third adhesive layer; curing the third adhesive layer by exposing the second transmissive layer to illumination, wherein the illumination transmits through the second transmissive layer to the third adhesive layer; applying a fourth adhesive layer to at least one of a second surface of the second transmissive layer or a second surface of the mount; adhering the second surface of the second transmissive layer to the second surface of the mount; and curing the fourth adhesive layer by exposing an exposed surface of the second transmissive layer to illumination.”
Regarding claim 15, the prior art does not discloses the claimed optical assembly specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein the first transmissive layer comprises a glass prism.”
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art taken either singly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the independent claims, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103 would be improper.
Regarding claim 16, the closest prior art Harada et al. (US 20080088730) teaches a method (annotated fig. 3 above) for coupling an optical element (OE) comprising, an optical element (OE) comprising a first surface (1stOE); a mount (M) comprising a first surface (1stM); a first transmissive layer (FTL); a first adhesive layer (1stAL) disposed between a first surface of the first transmissive layer (1stFTL) and the first surface of the optical element (1stOE); and a second adhesive layer (2ndAL) disposed between a second surface of the first transmissive layer (2ndFTL) and the first surface of the mount (1stM), wherein the first transmissive layer (FTL) is configured to transmit illumination to the first adhesive layer (1stAL) and the second adhesive layer (2ndAL) to cure (¶36, ¶49-¶55, claim 7, the fixing plate and the fixing members are made of glass materials permeable to UV light for curing the UV-curing adhesive) the first adhesive layer (1stAL) and the second adhesive layer (2ndAL).
However, regarding claim 16, the prior art Harada taken either singly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest a method for coupling an optical element to a first surface of a mount and a second surface of the mount comprising, applying a first adhesive layer to the first surface of the mount; applying a second adhesive layer to the second surface of the mount; adhering a first surface of a first transmissive layer to the first surface of the mount via the first adhesive layer; adhering a first surface of a second transmissive layer to the second surface of the mount via the second adhesive layer; curing the first adhesive layer and the second adhesive layer by exposing the first transmissive layer and the second transmissive layer to illumination, wherein the illumination transmits through the first transmissive layer to the first adhesive layer, and transmits through the second transmissive layer to the second adhesive layer; applying a third adhesive layer to a second surface of the first transmissive layer or a first surface of the optical element; applying a fourth adhesive layer to a second surface of the second transmissive layer or the second surface of the optical element; adhering the optical element to the second surface of the first transmissive layer and the second surface of the second transmissive layer via the third adhesive layer and the fourth adhesive layer; and curing the third adhesive layer and the fourth adhesive layer by exposing an exposed surface of the first transmissive layer and an exposed surface of the second transmissive layer to illumination, wherein the illumination transmits through the first transmissive layer to the third adhesive layer, and through the second transmissive layer to the fourth adhesive layer, in combination with all other claim limitation of claim 16.
With respect to claims 17-21, these claims depend on claim 16 and are allowable at least for the reasons stated supra.
Conclusion
/HENRY DUONG/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872 03/07/26