DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20, recites the limitation “…less than 360 with respect…”. It appears that Applicant has inadvertently taken out the unit ‘degrees’ in the most recent amendment, making the clause grammatically incomplete.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Revett (US 4,552,234) and further in view of Behrmann et al (US 2010/026967).
As concerns claim 1, Revett (US 4,552,234) discloses a bottom hole assembly, comprising:
a downhole conveyance (Revett - Figure 1) that is extendable from a terranean surface, through a wellbore, and to a subterranean formation; and
a perforating tool (Revett - 10) configured to couple to the downhole conveyance and create at least one pair of perforations, the at least one pair of perforations arranged linearly along a longitudinal direction of the wellbore and having a coverage of less than 360 degrees along a circumferential direction of the wellbore such that a first perforation in the at least one pair of perforations is oriented at an azimuthal offset angle relative to a second perforation in the at least one pair of perforations. (Revett - Figures 1 and 2)
Revett fails to specify, however, wherein a separation distance between the first perforation and the second perforation along the longitudinal direction is smaller than a spacing distance between adjacent pairs of the at least one pair of perforations along the longitudinal direction.
Behrmann et al (US 2010/026967) however teaches a perforating tool (Figure 3) which, arguably has two pairs of perforations (pair 1: 22a and 22c on the left; pair 2: 22a and 22c on the right), whereby the distance between the first perforation 22a and the second perforation 22c along the longitudinal direction (the distance of 22b) is smaller than the spacing distance between adjacent pairs of the at least one pair of perforations along the longitudinal direction (from the center point of each pair, at the midpoint of 22b, the distance from the center of the 22b on the left to the center of the 22b on the right is the length of three perforation elements, which is thus larger than the length of one perforation element.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Revett as taught by Behrmann to include the spacing of perforation elements as claimed, for the expected benefit of providing overlapping and acutely-targeted directional perforating of a borehole, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
As concerns claim 2, Revett discloses the bottom hole assembly of claim 1, wherein the azimuthal offset angle ranges between about 0 degree and about 60 degrees. (Revett - Figures 1 and 2)
As concerns claim 3, Revett discloses the bottom hole assembly of claim 1, wherein the azimuthal offset angle ranges between about 0 degree and about 20 degrees. (Revett - Figures 1 and 2)
As concerns claim 4, Revett discloses the bottom hole assembly of claim 1, wherein the azimuthal offset angle ranges between about 0 degree and about 180 degrees. (Revett - Figures 1 and 2)
As concerns claim 5, Revett discloses the bottom hole assembly of claim 1, wherein a separation distance between the first and second perforations along the longitudinal direction of the wellbore is equal to or less than about 1/6 foot. (Revett – Figure 6, layers are spaced 3 inches apart)
As concerns claim 6, Revett discloses the bottom hole assembly of claim 1, wherein the perforating tool comprises a plurality of shaped charges, and detonating directions of the shaped charges are phased at azimuthal angles smaller than about 60 degrees. (Revett – Figures 1-4)
As concerns claim 7, Revett discloses the bottom hole assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least one pair of perforations comprises a first pair of perforations (Revett – for example, 61 and 62), the azimuthal offset angle is a first azimuthal offset angle of the first pair of perforations (Revett - Figure 6), and
the at least one pair of perforations comprises a second pair of perforations (Revett – for example, 63 and 64), the second pair of perforations arranged along the longitudinal direction of the wellbore such that a first perforation in the second pair of perforations is oriented at a second azimuthal offset angle relative to a second perforation in the second pair of perforations. (Revett - Figure 6)
As concerns claim 8, Revett discloses the bottom hole assembly of claim 7, wherein a spacing distance between the first pair of perforations and the second pair of perforations is equal to or larger than about 1/6 foot. (Revett – Figure 6, layers are spaced 3 inches apart)
As concerns claim 9, Revett discloses the bottom hole assembly of claim 7, wherein the first azimuthal offset angle of the first pair of perforations is equal in magnitude to the second azimuthal offset angle of the second pair of perforations. (Revett – Figures 7 and 8)
As concerns claim 10, Revett discloses the bottom hole assembly of claim 1, wherein the perforating tool comprises a high-pressure coiled tubing jetting tool, a laser tool, or an abrasive jet perforating tool. (Revett – Background)
As concerns claim 11, Revett (US 4,552,234) discloses a bottom hole assembly, comprising:
a downhole conveyance (Revett - Figure 1) that is extendable from a terranean surface, through a wellbore, and to a subterranean formation; and
a perforating tool (Revett - 10) configured to couple to the downhole conveyance and create a plurality of pairs of perforations, each pair of the plurality of pairs of perforations arranged linearly along a corresponding longitudinal direction of the wellbore, such that a first perforation in each pair of perforations is oriented at a corresponding azimuthal offset angle relative to a second perforation in each pair of perforations, the corresponding azimuthal offset angle ranging between about 0 degree and about 60 degrees. (Revett - Figures 1 and 2)
Revett fails to specify, however, wherein a separation distance between the first perforation and the second perforation along the longitudinal direction is smaller than a spacing distance between adjacent pairs of the at least one pair of perforations along the longitudinal direction.
Behrmann et al (US 2010/026967) however teaches a perforating tool (Figure 3) which, arguably has two pairs of perforations (pair 1: 22a and 22c on the left; pair 2: 22a and 22c on the right), whereby the distance between the first perforation 22a and the second perforation 22c along the longitudinal direction (the distance of 22b) is smaller than the spacing distance between adjacent pairs of the at least one pair of perforations along the longitudinal direction (from the center point of each pair, at the midpoint of 22b, the distance from the center of the 22b on the left to the center of the 22b on the right is the length of three perforation elements, which is thus larger than the length of one perforation element.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Revett as taught by Behrmann to include the spacing of perforation elements as claimed, for the expected benefit of providing overlapping and acutely-targeted directional perforating of a borehole, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
As concerns claim 12, the combination discloses the bottom hole assembly of claim 11, wherein the plurality of pairs of perforations has a same azimuthal offset angle. (Behrmann – Paragraph [0004], among others)
As concerns claim 13, the combination discloses the bottom hole assembly of claim 11, wherein the azimuthal offset angle ranges between about 0 degree and about 20 degrees. (Behrmann – Paragraph [0004])
As concerns claim 14, the combination discloses the bottom hole assembly of claim 11, wherein at least two of the pairs of perforations have different azimuthal offset angles. (Behrmann – Paragraph [0019])
As concerns claim 15, the combination discloses the bottom hole assembly of claim 11, wherein at least two of the pairs of perforations are arranged along different azimuthal planes of the wellbore. (Behrmann – Paragraph [0019])
As concerns claim 16, the combination discloses the bottom hole assembly of claim 15, wherein the corresponding longitudinal direction of the wellbore comprise a direction parallel to a surface of the Earth. OFFICIAL NOTICE Lateral Wellbores
As concerns claim 17, the combination discloses the bottom hole assembly of claim 11, wherein the plurality of pairs of perforations are spaced apart from one another at an unequal distance. (Seeing the helical spacing of Revett, and applying the multi-faceted perforation sets of Behrmann, it can be seen that the distance between various pairs of perforations spaced about a downhole tool would be at varied distances from one another.)
As concerns claim 18, the combination discloses the bottom hole assembly of claim 11, wherein a spacing distance between adjacent pairs of perforations is equal to or larger than about 1/6 foot. (Revett – Figure 6, layers are spaced 3 inches apart)
As concerns claim 19, the combination discloses the bottom hole assembly of claim 11, wherein the perforating tool comprises a high-pressure coiled tubing jetting tool, a laser tool, or an abrasive jet perforating tool. (Revett – Background)
As concerns claim 20, Revett discloses a method to form perforations, comprising:
positioning a perforating tool (Revett - 10) adjacent a subterranean formation within a wellbore; and
operating the perforating tool to form a plurality of perforation clusters in the subterranean formation, at least one of the plurality of perforation clusters arranged linearly along a longitudinal direction of the wellbore and having a coverage of less than 360 degrees along a circumferential direction of the wellbore, at least one of the perforation clusters comprising a pair of perforations arranged along a longitudinal direction of the wellbore, a first perforation in the pair of perforations being oriented at a corresponding azimuthal offset angle relative to a second perforation in each pair of perforations (Figure 6), a spacing distance between adjacent perforation clusters being larger than 1/6 foot. (Revett – Figure 6, layers are spaced 3 inches apart) (Figure 1 illustrates the lack of 360 degree coverage at a given circumferential direction; as well as the linear spacing in a longitudinal direction)
Revett fails to specify, however, wherein a separation distance between the first perforation and the second perforation along the longitudinal direction is smaller than a spacing distance between adjacent pairs of the at least one pair of perforations along the longitudinal direction.
Behrmann et al (US 2010/026967) however teaches a perforating tool (Figure 3) which, arguably has two pairs of perforations (pair 1: 22a and 22c on the left; pair 2: 22a and 22c on the right), whereby the distance between the first perforation 22a and the second perforation 22c along the longitudinal direction (the distance of 22b) is smaller than the spacing distance between adjacent pairs of the at least one pair of perforations along the longitudinal direction (from the center point of each pair, at the midpoint of 22b, the distance from the center of the 22b on the left to the center of the 22b on the right is the length of three perforation elements, which is thus larger than the length of one perforation element.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Revett as taught by Behrmann to include the spacing of perforation elements as claimed, for the expected benefit of providing overlapping and acutely-targeted directional perforating of a borehole, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
As concerns claim 21, Revett discloses the method of claim 20, wherein the corresponding azimuthal offset angle ranges between 0 degree and 60 degrees. (Revett – Figures 1, 2, 7 and 8)
As concerns claim 22, Revett discloses the method of claim 20, wherein the corresponding azimuthal offset angle ranges between 0 degree and 20 degrees. (Revett – Figures 1, 2, 7 and 8)
As concerns claim 23, Revett discloses the method of claim 20, wherein the perforating tool comprises a high-pressure coiled tubing jetting tool, a laser tool, or an abrasive jet perforating tool. (Background)
As concerns claim 24, Revett discloses the method of claim 20, wherein the perforating tool comprises a plurality of shaped charges. (Background)
As concerns claim 25, Revett discloses the method of claim 24, wherein operating the perforating tool comprises:
orienting detonating directions of the shaped charges at an azimuthal phase angle equal in magnitude to the azimuthal offset angle of the pair of perforations of a corresponding one of the perforation clusters. (Revett – Figures 1, 2, 7 and 8 show how such a configuration is known.)
As concerns claim 26, Revett discloses the method of claim 25, wherein the azimuthal phase angle is smaller than 60 degrees. (Revett – Figures 1, 2, 7 and 8)
As concerns claim 27, Revett discloses the method of claim 20, wherein a separation distance between the first and second perforations of the pair of perforations along the longitudinal direction of the wellbore is equal to or less than 1/6 foot. (Revett – Figure 6, layers are spaced 3 inches apart is considered close enough to the claims 1/6 foot which is equal to 2 inches. Furthermore, Revett states wherein the separation is “approximately” 3 inches. Such a minor discrepancy does not represent novelty at this point.)
As concerns claim 28, the combination discloses the bottom hole assembly of claim 1, wherein the azimuthal offset angle is an angle offset with respect to a transverse plane along which the second perforation extends. (Behrmann illustrates such an angular offset, Figure 3)
Conclusion
/AARON L LEMBO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3679