DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US 2013/0299376).
Regarding claim 1, Chen (figs. 3-4) discloses a cell box 212 comprising:
a bottom portion defining a bottom surface of a housing space in which a display panel 24 and a protective sheet 23 are housed in an overlapping manner; and
a side wall portion defining a side surface of the housing space,
wherein the housing space includes a first space in which the display panel 24 is disposed and a second space in which the display panel is not disposed and a part of the protective sheet 23 is disposed,
one or more protruding portions 22 protruding into the second space are provided in the bottom portion, the one or more protruding portions 22 each include a first portion extending in a normal direction of the bottom surface and a second portion 2111 more distant from the bottom surface than the first portion is, and the second portion 2111 includes an overhanging portion more overhanging than the first portion when viewed from the normal direction of the bottom surface.
Regarding claim 2, Chen further discloses the side wall portion includes a pair of first side walls opposed to each other in a first direction and each extending in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, and a pair of second side walls opposed to each other in the second direction and each extending in the first direction, and the side surface of the housing space is defined by an inner surface of each of the pair of first side walls and the pair of second side walls facing the housing space (figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Chen further discloses a plurality of the protruding portions 22 being provided in the bottom portion, the housing space includes two of the second spaces, one of the two second spaces is located further on one side than the first space in the first direction, the other of the two second spaces is located further on the other side than the first space in the first direction, one or more first protruding portions which are some of the plurality of protruding portions are provided in one of the two second spaces, one or more second protruding portions which are a remainder of the plurality of protruding portions are provided in the other of the two second spaces, both ends of the first space in the first direction are defined by at least one first protruding portion of the one or more first protruding portions and at least one second protruding portion of the one or more second protruding portions, and both ends of the first space in the second direction are defined by the inner surfaces of the pair of second side walls (paragraph 0014).
Regarding claim 8, Chen further discloses positions of the at least one first protruding portion 22 and the at least one second protruding portion 22 are aligned in the second direction (paragraph 0014).
Regarding claim 15, Chen further discloses the overhanging portion 2111overhangs at least on a side opposite to the first space (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Chen further discloses the overhanging portion 2111 of each of the at least one first protruding portion 22 and the at least one second protruding portion 22 does not overhang toward the first space.
Regarding claim 18, Chen further discloses the display panel 24 and the protective sheet 23 being alternately housed in an overlapping manner in the housing space, the part of the protective sheet 23 is formed with a hole larger than a corresponding one of the one or more protruding portion 22 when viewed from the normal direction of the bottom surface, and the corresponding one of the one or more protruding portion 22 is inserted into the hole of the protective sheet 23 (fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2013/0299376).
Regarding claims 9-10, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claims 11-14, Chen further discloses a plurality of the protruding portions 22 are provided in the bottom portion, the first space is surrounded by the second space, one or more first protruding portions which are some of the plurality of protruding portions are provided in a portion of the second space further on one side than the first space in the first direction, one or more second protruding portions which are another part of the plurality of protruding portions are provided in a portion of the second space further on the other side than the first space in the first direction, one or more third protruding portions which are another part of the plurality of protruding portions are provided in a portion of the second space further on one side than the first space in the second direction, one or more fourth protruding portions which are a remainder of the plurality of protruding portions are provided in a portion of the second space further on the other side than the first space in the second direction, both ends of the first space in the first direction are defined by at least one first protruding portion of the one or more first protruding portions and at least one second protruding portion of the one or more second protruding portions, and both ends of the first space in the second direction are defined by at least one third protruding portion of the one or more third protruding portions and at least one fourth protruding portion of the one or more fourth protruding portions. Regarding the exact locations of the protruding portions 22, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 17, Chen further discloses the overhanging portion of each of the at least one first protruding portion 22, the at least one second protruding portion 22, the at least one third protruding portion 22, and the at least one fourth protruding portion 22 does not overhang toward the first space (fig. 4).
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2013/0299376) in view of Glacki (US 12,441,531).
Regarding claims 3-6, Chen discloses all elements of the claimed invention except for:
one or more recessed portions recessed to a side opposite to the housing space are formed on the inner surface of at least one side wall of the pair of first side walls and the pair of second side walls, and when a portion of the inner surface in which none of the one or more recessed portions is formed is referred to as a main portion of the inner surface, both ends of the first space in the first direction are defined by the main portions of the inner surfaces of the pair of first side walls, and both ends of the first space in the second direction are defined by the main portions of the inner surfaces of the pair of second side walls;
wherein the housing space includes one or more of the second spaces defined by each of one or more specific recessed portions among the one or more recessed portions, and the one or more protruding portions protruding toward each of the one or more second spaces are provided in the bottom portion;
a specific recessed portion among the one or more specific recessed portions is formed in a central portion of each of the pair of first side walls in the second direction; and
wherein a specific recessed portion among the one or more specific recessed portions is formed further on one side of each of the pair of first side walls than a central portion of each of the pair of first side walls in the second direction and further on the other side of each of the pair of first side walls than the central portion of each of the pair of first side walls in the second direction.
However, Glacki teaches a package for flat substrates having recessed portions as claimed, defined by centering aids 400 (figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have provided the device of Chen recessed portions defined by centering aids, to contribute to the stabilization of the panels, as taught by Glacki in col. 8, lines 42-43.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BLAINE G NEWAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735