DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/761,312 in view of Stanford, et al. (US 2008/0013262).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Current Application U.S. Application No. 18/761,312
1. A blade open-close device, comprising: an elongated member having an opening on an optical axis of an optical unit and extending in an intersecting direction intersecting with a direction in which the optical axis of the optical unit extends;
a blade on the elongated member, the blade being movable in the intersecting direction to open and close the opening;
a drive configured to move the blade to one of a closed position to close the opening or an open position to open the opening;
a body to which the elongated member, the blade, and the drive are attached; and
1. A blade open-close device, comprising: an elongated member having an opening on an optical axis of an optical unit and extending in an intersecting direction intersecting with an optical axis direction in which the optical axis of the optical unit extends;
a blade movable in the intersecting direction, the blade being configured to cover or uncover the opening;
a drive configured to move the blade to one of a closing position to cover the opening or an opening position to uncover the opening;
a transmission member configured to transmit a driving force generated by the drive to the blade;
a body in which the elongated member, the blade, the drive, and the transmission member are located;
and a restrictor configured to restrict movement of the blade in the intersecting direction, wherein the elongated member and the transmission member are located between the body and the blade in the optical axis direction, the body has a facing surface facing the elongated member and the transmission member, and the restrictor is located on the facing surface.
Thus, the current claims are broader and thus fully met by the claim of Patent Application No. 18/761,312, except the claims of Application No. 18/761,312 do not set forth the limitation “a mount to which the body is attached in a detachable manner.”
However, the use of a mount for a camera body to attach in a detachable manner was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention as taught by Stanford (See Figure 3 and paragraph 0013). Thus, it would have been obvious to on having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claim of U.S. Application No. 18/761,312 to include a mount to which the body is attached in a detachable manner in order to connect the camera module (i.e., blade open-close device) to a laptop computer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sawanobori, et a. (US 2022/0091478).
Regarding claim 1, Sawanobori discloses “an elongated member (Fig. 2, ref.# 30) having an opening (Fig. 2, ref.# 31) on an optical axis of an optical unit and extending in an intersecting direction intersecting with a direction in which the optical axis (Fig. 2, ref.# P) of the optical unit extends; a blade (Fig. 2, ref.# 50) on the elongated member, the blade being movable in the intersecting direction to open and close the opening (Figs. 7A, 7B); a drive (Fig. 2, ref.# 20) configured to move the blade to one of a closed position to close the opening or an open position to open the opening; a body (Fig. 2, ref.# 10) to which the elongated member, the blade, and the drive are attached; and a mount (Fig. 1, ref.# 2; paragraphs 0026, 00027, 0038: a mounting structure, i.e, “a mount”, such as solder joints, etc. is necessary to mount the body to the substrate board 2) to which the body is attached in a detachable manner.”
Regarding claim 5, Sawanobori discloses “wherein the drive (Fig. 2, ref.# 20) includes a winding, a rotor, and a yoke, and the body includes a winding mount to which the winding is attached, a first housing accommodating the rotor, and a second housing accommodating the yoke.” (Fig. 4; paragraph 0032)
Regarding claim 6, Sawanobori discloses “the blade open-close device according to claim 1 (See Claim 1 above); and a substrate (Fig.1, ref.# 2) to which the mount included in the blade open-close device is fastened (paragraphs 0026, 00027, 0038).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawanobori, et a. (US 2022/0091478) in view of Han, et al. (US 2023/0208057).
Regarding claim 2, Sawanobori “a connection terminal electrically connected to the drive (paragraph 0037: “terminal plates 110 and 120 are metal plates”). Sawanobori does not specifically teach that “the connection terminal comprising an elastic material”. However, the use of a connection terminal that comprises an elastic material was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention as taught by Han (See Fig. 3J, 3K, ref.#s 420, 422). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use terminal comprising an elastic material in order to ensure a proper connection of the terminal as shown in Han, Fig. 3L)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lin, et al. (US 11,977,318), Su, et al. (US 2023/0236477), Wang, et al. (US 11,226,466) and Sawanobori (US 2022/0091479)1 teach an elongated bade open-close device.
/RODNEY E FULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
March 6, 2026