DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the amendments and/or arguments filed on December 8, 2025. Claims 1-16 and 18-21 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 6, filed December 8, 2025, with respect to claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-10, filed December 8, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-16 and 18-21 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Cox et al. (US 20240140259; hereinafter Cox).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-8, 11, 13-15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider et al. (US 20230166601; hereinafter Schneider; already of record from IDS) in view of Cox et al. (US 20240140259; hereinafter Cox).
In regards to claim 1, Schneider discloses of an electric drive work machine (“The machine 102 can, in some examples, be a commercial or work machine, such as a mining machine, earth-moving machine, backhoe, scraper, dozer, loader (e.g., large wheel loader, track-type loader, etc.), shovel, truck (e.g., mining truck, haul truck, on-highway truck, off-highway truck, articulated truck, etc.), a crane, a pipe layer, farming equipment, or any other type of mobile machine or vehicle. The machine 102 may operate at, and/or travel around, a worksite, such as a mine site, a quarry, a construction site, or any other type of worksite or work environment. In some examples, the machine 102 can have one or more work tools, such as a bucket, scraper, ripper, blade, pusher, fork, grapple, plow, or other type of work tool. The machine 102 can accordingly be configured to move and/or use one or more types of work tools to interact with rocks, gravel, dirt, sand, lumber, construction material, and/or any other type of material on a worksite. As an example, the machine 102 can be a haul truck that moves material around a worksite. In other examples, the machine 102 can be an electric automobile or other type of mobile machine used for personal transportation, commercial transportation, or other purposes, such as an electric vehicle configured to travel on public and/or private roads.” (Para 0015)) comprising:
an electric motor (“As discussed above, the machine 102 can include electrical systems 112, including primary systems 116 and auxiliary systems 118 that are configured to operate using energy provided by the battery system 114 and/or the regenerative brake system 106. The primary systems 116 can include electric engines, electric motors, electrical conversion systems, electric drivetrains, and/or other electrical components that are configured to convert and/or use energy to cause overall propulsion or movement of the machine 102, power movement and/or other operations of work tools associated with the machine 102, and/or otherwise power primary operations of the machine 102.” (Para 0018));
an energy storage device configured to provide power to the electric motor (“As discussed above, the machine 102 can include electrical systems 112, including primary systems 116 and auxiliary systems 118 that are configured to operate using energy provided by the battery system 114 and/or the regenerative brake system 106. The primary systems 116 can include electric engines, electric motors, electrical conversion systems, electric drivetrains, and/or other electrical components that are configured to convert and/or use energy to cause overall propulsion or movement of the machine 102, power movement and/or other operations of work tools associated with the machine 102, and/or otherwise power primary operations of the machine 102.” (Para 0018), see also Para 0021 and 0025);
a load system configured to receive power produced by the electric motor (“The regenerative brake system 106 can be configured to capture kinetic energy and/or potential energy during braking operations of the machine 102. In some examples, energy captured by the regenerative brake system 106 can be stored in the battery system 114, and thereby charge one or more batteries 132 of the battery system 114. In other examples, energy captured by the regenerative brake system 106 can be used to directly power one or more electrical systems 112, such as one or more of the auxiliary systems 118, instead of or in addition to using the energy to charge the battery system 114. As described further below, energy captured by the regenerative brake system 106 can also be allocated to one or more other systems of the machine 102.” (Para 0025), “The system priority data 146 can indicate a priority order of various systems of the machine 102, including one or more of the brake systems 104, the battery system 114, and/or the auxiliary systems 118. For example, the system selector 144 can prioritize selecting and invoking a highest-priority system indicated by the system priority data 146 to receive energy associated with brake power of a braking operation. If the amount of energy associated with brake power of a braking operation is above a currently available capacity of the highest-priority system to receive energy, the system selector 144 can invoke the highest-priority system as well as one or more additional systems in an order indicated by the system priority data 146. For instance, the system selector 144 can allocate energy associated with brake power of a braking operation to one or more high-priority systems, up to the currently available capacity of those high-priority systems to receive energy, and allocate the remainder of the energy associated with the brake power of the braking operation to the next-highest-priority system that has a currently available capacity sufficient to receive the remaining energy.” (Para 0051), see also Para 0018);
a sensor system (“The machine 102 can have one or more sensors 122. The sensors 122 can include cameras, LIDAR sensors, RADAR sensors, other optical sensors or perception systems, Global Positioning System GPS) sensors, other location and/or positioning sensors, payload sensors, speed sensors, brake temperature sensors 124, other temperature sensors, tire pressure sensors, battery state of health (SoH) sensors 126, incline and decline travel sensors, and/or other types of sensors. One or more of the sensors 122 can provide data to the brake controller 120, a speed controller 128, a separate ECM of the machine 102, and/or off-board computing systems, such that sensor data can be used to determine a location of the machine 102, detect nearby terrain, detect nearby objects, such as vehicles, other machines, or personnel, detect the positions of such nearby objects relative to the machine 102, determine a weight of a payload carried by the machine 102, determine a SoC of the battery system 114, and/or perform other operations. In some examples, data provided by the sensors 122 can enable the machine 102 to drive and/or operate autonomously or semi-autonomously. Data associated with one or more of the sensors 122 can also be provided to a driver or other operator of the machine 102 via a user interface 130, for example via dashboard indicator lights, screens, or other displays.” (Para 0017)); and
a controller comprising a processor and a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor (“The brake control system 100 includes a brake controller 120 configured to determine which of the brake systems 104 to invoke for a particular braking operation, and/or how to distribute energy associated with the brake power of the braking operation among one or more of the brake systems 104, the battery system 114, one or more of the auxiliary systems 118, and/or other systems.” (Para 0014), “FIG. 4 shows an example system architecture for a computing system 400 associated with the machine 102. The computing system 400 can include one or more computing devices or other controllers that include one or more processors 402, memory 404, and/or communication interfaces 406.” (Para 0104), see also Fig 4), cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
determining, based on sensor data from the sensor system, to decelerate the electric drive work machine using the electric motor (“In other examples, the brake controller 120 and/or speed controller 128 can use the site map 140, historical work cycle data, and/or other data to determine that the machine 102 should preemptively brake in advance of reaching an upcoming downhill section or other area, so that subsequent braking operations associated with the upcoming downhill section or other area are associated with a reduced amount of brake power. For example, the site map 140 can indicate that the machine 102 will reach a downhill section in 50 meters. The brake controller 120 and/or speed controller 128 can accordingly schedule or otherwise cause the machine 102 to perform preemptive braking operations to reduce the speed of the machine 102 while the machine 102 travels through those 50 meters. Accordingly, rather than performing braking operations associated with a relatively high amount of brake power once the machine 102 reaches the downhill section, the already-slowed machine 102 can decelerate or maintain a slower speed using braking operations associated with lower amounts of brake power once the machine 102 reaches the downhill section. As discussed further below, such a lower amount of brake power may be more likely to lead to a higher percentage of captured energy being stored and re-used by systems such as the battery system 114 and/or auxiliary systems 118, instead of that energy being lost or wasted as heat.” (Para 0038), “For example, feedback from the battery system 114 can indicate a current SoC of the batteries 132, a maximum SoC of the batteries 132, a currently available capacity of the batteries 132 indicating how much additional energy the batteries 132 could store, and/or a current maximum charge rate at which energy could be transferred to the batteries 132. The currently available capacity can indicate how much energy captured by the regenerative brake system 106 during a braking operation could be provided to the battery system 114 to charge the batteries 132. Similarly, the current maximum charge rate can indicate a rate at which the regenerative brake system 106 could provide energy to the battery system 114 during a braking operation.” (Para 0046), see also Para 0071);
determining a charging current limit for the energy storage device (“In other examples, the brake controller 120 and/or speed controller 128 can use the site map 140, historical work cycle data, and/or other data to determine that the machine 102 should preemptively brake in advance of reaching an upcoming downhill section or other area, so that subsequent braking operations associated with the upcoming downhill section or other area are associated with a reduced amount of brake power. For example, the site map 140 can indicate that the machine 102 will reach a downhill section in 50 meters. The brake controller 120 and/or speed controller 128 can accordingly schedule or otherwise cause the machine 102 to perform preemptive braking operations to reduce the speed of the machine 102 while the machine 102 travels through those 50 meters. Accordingly, rather than performing braking operations associated with a relatively high amount of brake power once the machine 102 reaches the downhill section, the already-slowed machine 102 can decelerate or maintain a slower speed using braking operations associated with lower amounts of brake power once the machine 102 reaches the downhill section. As discussed further below, such a lower amount of brake power may be more likely to lead to a higher percentage of captured energy being stored and re-used by systems such as the battery system 114 and/or auxiliary systems 118, instead of that energy being lost or wasted as heat.” (Para 0038), “For example, feedback from the battery system 114 can indicate a current SoC of the batteries 132, a maximum SoC of the batteries 132, a currently available capacity of the batteries 132 indicating how much additional energy the batteries 132 could store, and/or a current maximum charge rate at which energy could be transferred to the batteries 132. The currently available capacity can indicate how much energy captured by the regenerative brake system 106 during a braking operation could be provided to the battery system 114 to charge the batteries 132. Similarly, the current maximum charge rate can indicate a rate at which the regenerative brake system 106 could provide energy to the battery system 114 during a braking operation.” (Para 0046), see also Para 0071); and
activating a feed forward signal in response to determining to decelerate the electric drive work machine, wherein the feed forward signal is based on the charging current limit (“In other examples, the brake controller 120 and/or speed controller 128 can use the site map 140, historical work cycle data, and/or other data to determine that the machine 102 should preemptively brake in advance of reaching an upcoming downhill section or other area, so that subsequent braking operations associated with the upcoming downhill section or other area are associated with a reduced amount of brake power. For example, the site map 140 can indicate that the machine 102 will reach a downhill section in 50 meters. The brake controller 120 and/or speed controller 128 can accordingly schedule or otherwise cause the machine 102 to perform preemptive braking operations to reduce the speed of the machine 102 while the machine 102 travels through those 50 meters. Accordingly, rather than performing braking operations associated with a relatively high amount of brake power once the machine 102 reaches the downhill section, the already-slowed machine 102 can decelerate or maintain a slower speed using braking operations associated with lower amounts of brake power once the machine 102 reaches the downhill section. As discussed further below, such a lower amount of brake power may be more likely to lead to a higher percentage of captured energy being stored and re-used by systems such as the battery system 114 and/or auxiliary systems 118, instead of that energy being lost or wasted as heat.” (Para 0038), “In still other examples, the braking operation determiner 134 can predict an upcoming braking operation of the machine 102, or otherwise determine a braking operation that the machine 102 is to perform at a future time or at a particular location. The braking operation determiner 134 can predict or determine an upcoming braking operation of the machine 102 based on the site map 140, historical data associated with braking operations, work cycles, or other operations previously performed by the machine 102 or similar machines, and/or other data.” (Para 0034), “As a non-limiting example, the system priority data 146 can indicate that use of the regenerative brake system 106 to charge the battery system 114 and/or power currently-active auxiliary systems 118 has the highest priority, that use of the resistive brake system 106 has second highest priority, that use of additional auxiliary systems 118 has the third highest priority, and that use of the mechanical brake system 110 has the lowest priority. Accordingly, in this example, the system selector 144 can prioritize using the highest-priority regenerative brake system 106 to charge the battery system 114 and/or power currently-active auxiliary systems 118, so that energy associated with a braking operation can be captured, stored, and/or re-used by the machine 102.” (Para 0053), see also Para 0051-0052 and Fig 2).
However, Schneider does not specifically disclose of pre-activates the load system prior to the load system being required to dissipate energy from the electric motor in response to decelerating the electric drive work machine.
Cox, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of pre-activates the load system prior to the load system being required to dissipate energy from the electric motor in response to decelerating the electric drive work machine (“In some examples, the predicting is further based on a driving mode of the vehicle. The driving mode being one of electric propulsion; combustion engine propulsion; or a combination thereof, e.g., a hybrid power unit. For example, the capacity of a battery in a hybrid commercial electric vehicle is likely to be significantly larger, and therefore has the capability to harvest the total energy from a regenerative braking event, than that of a typical mHEV, for example. Accordingly, the control strategy may be based on the driving mode of the vehicle. In practice, this will likely result in a higher threshold (i.e., a higher % SOC) before the activation of an electrical load is made to ensure there is enough spare capacity in the battery for a regenerative braking event. For example, the engine start-up procedure may be altered based on one or more of such contextual factors. After step 510, process 500 can activate process 100 as described with reference to FIG. 1, as shown via step A which leads to step A on FIG. 1.” (Para 0074), “In some examples, the control circuitry 910 is configured to carry out any of the methods as described herein. For example, storage 912 may be a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions encoded thereon, to be carried out by processing circuitry 914, which cause control circuitry 910 to carry out a method of controlling a regenerative braking system comprising a battery. The method comprising detecting that the battery state of charge is above a first threshold level; and activating a first electrical load prior to activation of the regenerative braking system to reduce the battery state of charge below the first threshold level.” (Para 0095), see also Para 0007).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feed forward signal, as taught by Schneider, to include pre-activating the load system prior to the dissipation of energy from the motor, as taught by Cox, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to ensure there is enough spare capacity in the battery for a regenerative braking event (Cox Para 0074).
In regards to claim 3, Schneider in view of Cox of the electric drive work machine of claim 1, wherein the sensor system comprises a grade sensor configured to detect a grade traversed by the electric drive work machine (“At block 206, the brake controller 120 can identify a braking operation associated with the machine 102. For example, based on a current speed indicated by the speed data 138, and/or brake input 136 that indicates a desired speed or a deceleration rate, the brake controller 120 can determine that the machine 102 is, or will be, performing a braking operation to slow the machine 102 from the current speed or to maintain the current speed of the machine 102. As another example, based on a downhill grade of upcoming terrain along the current path of the machine 102 indicated by the site map 140, speed data 138 indicating that the current speed of the machine 102 is to be maintained, historical work cycle data associated with the upcoming terrain, and/or other factors, the brake controller 120 can determine that the machine 102 will be performing a braking operation to counteract downhill acceleration to maintain the current speed of the machine 102. As yet another example, based on terrain information indicated by the site map 140, historical work cycle data, and/or other information, the brake controller 120 can determine that the machine 102 should perform a braking operation to slow the machine 102 before the machine 102 reaches a downhill segment of a current path being traversed by the machine 102.” (Schneider Para 0065)).
In regards to claim 5, Schneider in view of Cox of the electric drive work machine of claim 1, wherein the sensor system comprises map data of a worksite and location data of the electric drive work machine, and wherein determining to decelerate is based at least in part on the map data and the location data (“At block 206, the brake controller 120 can identify a braking operation associated with the machine 102. For example, based on a current speed indicated by the speed data 138, and/or brake input 136 that indicates a desired speed or a deceleration rate, the brake controller 120 can determine that the machine 102 is, or will be, performing a braking operation to slow the machine 102 from the current speed or to maintain the current speed of the machine 102. As another example, based on a downhill grade of upcoming terrain along the current path of the machine 102 indicated by the site map 140, speed data 138 indicating that the current speed of the machine 102 is to be maintained, historical work cycle data associated with the upcoming terrain, and/or other factors, the brake controller 120 can determine that the machine 102 will be performing a braking operation to counteract downhill acceleration to maintain the current speed of the machine 102. As yet another example, based on terrain information indicated by the site map 140, historical work cycle data, and/or other information, the brake controller 120 can determine that the machine 102 should perform a braking operation to slow the machine 102 before the machine 102 reaches a downhill segment of a current path being traversed by the machine 102.” (Schneider Para 0065) and “The braking operation determiner 134 can also access or maintain historical data associated with previous braking operations, previous work cycles, and/or other machine operations performed by the machine 102 or other machines at locations on the worksite indicated by the site map 140. Such historical data can, for example, indicate that the machine 102 previously performed a braking operation during travel through a section of the worksite during a previous work cycle, and thus may be likely to perform a similar braking operation at the same section of the worksite during a subsequent work cycle.” (Schneider Para 0036)).
In regards to claim 6, Schneider in view of Cox of the electric drive work machine of claim 1, wherein the feed forward signal is a function of the charging current limit of the energy storage device (“For example, feedback from the battery system 114 can indicate a current SoC of the batteries 132, a maximum SoC of the batteries 132, a currently available capacity of the batteries 132 indicating how much additional energy the batteries 132 could store, and/or a current maximum charge rate at which energy could be transferred to the batteries 132. The currently available capacity can indicate how much energy captured by the regenerative brake system 106 during a braking operation could be provided to the battery system 114 to charge the batteries 132. Similarly, the current maximum charge rate can indicate a rate at which the regenerative brake system 106 could provide energy to the battery system 114 during a braking operation.” (Schneider 0046), “At block 214, the brake controller 120 can determine a currently-available capacity of the battery system 114. In some examples, the system feedback received at block 204 can directly indicate a currently-available capacity of the battery system 114, associated with an amount of energy that could be used to charge the batteries 132 to a maximum SoC beyond a current SoC of the batteries 132. In other examples, the system feedback received at block 204 can indicate the current SoC of the batteries 132 and the maximum SoC of the batteries 132, and the brake controller 120 can determine the currently-available capacity of the battery system 114 based on a difference between the current SoC and the maximum SoC of the batteries. In some examples, the brake controller 120 can also use the system feedback received at block 204 to determine a current maximum charge rate of the battery system 114 that indicates a maximum rate at which the regenerative brake system 106 could provide energy to the regenerative brake system 106.” (Schneider Para 0071)).
In regards to claim 7, Schneider in view of Cox of the electric drive work machine of claim 1, wherein the load system comprises at least one of a fluid pump, hydraulic pump, secondary energy storage system, or dissipative energy system (“As yet another example, feedback from the auxiliary systems 118 can indicate a current amount of energy being drawn by the auxiliary systems 118. For example, one or more auxiliary systems 118, such as a radio, lights, a navigation system, an air conditioning system, hydraulic systems, such as hydraulic pumps and/or accumulators, electric systems, such as electric motors and/or converters, and/or other systems may currently be active and drawing a current amount of energy. The feedback from the auxiliary systems 118 can also indicate a maximum parasitic capacity of the auxiliary systems 118 to draw additional amounts of energy beyond the current amount of energy being drawn by the auxiliary systems 118. For example, one or more of the auxiliary systems 118 can be activated as parasitic systems to intentionally draw additional energy. Similarly, currently-active auxiliary systems 118 be adjusted to intentionally draw additional energy. As non-limiting examples, the auxiliary systems 118 can have a parasitic capacity to receive, store, and/or consume additional energy by turning on additional lights, by activating or turning up heating and/or cooling systems, turning on fans or increasing fan speeds, by turning on hydraulic systems or other elements that receive, store, and/or consume energy, and/or by otherwise increasing the amount of energy drawn by one or more auxiliary systems 118.” (Schneider Para 0048)).
In regards to claim 8, the claim recites analogous subject matter to claim 1 and is rejected on the same premise, but further teaches controlling, using a control loop, a load system to dissipate or store at least a portion of energy produced by the electric motor during deceleration (“The regenerative brake system 106 can be configured to capture kinetic energy and/or potential energy during braking operations of the machine 102. In some examples, energy captured by the regenerative brake system 106 can be stored in the battery system 114, and thereby charge one or more batteries 132 of the battery system 114. In other examples, energy captured by the regenerative brake system 106 can be used to directly power one or more electrical systems 112, such as one or more of the auxiliary systems 118, instead of or in addition to using the energy to charge the battery system 114. As described further below, energy captured by the regenerative brake system 106 can also be allocated to one or more other systems of the machine 102.” (Schneider Para 0025), “The system priority data 146 can indicate a priority order of various systems of the machine 102, including one or more of the brake systems 104, the battery system 114, and/or the auxiliary systems 118. For example, the system selector 144 can prioritize selecting and invoking a highest-priority system indicated by the system priority data 146 to receive energy associated with brake power of a braking operation. If the amount of energy associated with brake power of a braking operation is above a currently available capacity of the highest-priority system to receive energy, the system selector 144 can invoke the highest-priority system as well as one or more additional systems in an order indicated by the system priority data 146. For instance, the system selector 144 can allocate energy associated with brake power of a braking operation to one or more high-priority systems, up to the currently available capacity of those high-priority systems to receive energy, and allocate the remainder of the energy associated with the brake power of the braking operation to the next-highest-priority system that has a currently available capacity sufficient to receive the remaining energy.” (Schneider Para 0051), see also Schneider Para 0018).
In regards to claim 11, Schneider in view of Cox of the method of claim 8, wherein the feed forward signal is inversely proportional to the charging current limit (“As another example, if higher-priority systems do not have sufficient capacity to receive and/or consume all of the energy associated with brake power of a braking operation, the system selector 144 can determine to apply any remaining energy associated with the brake power to the lowest-priority system indicated by the system priority data 146. However, the notification manager 148 can prompt display, via the user interface 130, of a notification to a driver indicating that the lowest-priority system is being used for the braking operation. For instance, if the mechanical brake system 110 is the lowest-priority system, but the system selector 144 determines that higher-priority systems can at most receive 90% of the energy associated with brake power of a braking operation, the remaining 10% of the energy can be used by the mechanical brake system 110. In this situation, the notification manager 148 can prompt display, via the user interface 130, of a notification that indicates that the lowest-priority mechanical brake system 110 is being used for the braking operation, and indicate that some of the brake power associated with the braking operation is not being used to charge the battery system 114 or for other uses associated with higher-priority systems.” (Schneider Para 0058), “The brake controller 120 can determine, at block 218, which of the systems to invoke during the braking operation based at least in part on system priority data 146 indicating priorities of the systems. As described above, the system priority data 146 can indicate that systems capable of storing and/or re-using energy, such as the battery system 114 and/or the auxiliary systems 118, are higher priorities than other systems. Accordingly, the brake controller 120 can invoke specific systems based on the system priority data 146 to maximize amounts of energy that can be stored and/or re-used by systems of the machine 102. The brake controller 120 can also invoke additional lower-priority systems to receive and consume any excess energy beyond capacities of the higher-priority systems to receive, store, and/or re-use energy. A non-limiting example of determining which systems of the machine 102 to invoke is discussed further below with respect to FIG. 3. “ (Schneider Para 0074), see also Schneider Para 0061; where the amount of power being outputted to the regenerative braking or the auxiliary device is inversely proportional to the maximum energy capacity of them).
In regards to claims 13-14, the claims recite analogous limitations to claims 3 and 7, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
In regards to claim 15, Schneider in view of Cox of a controller for a work machine (“The brake control system 100 includes a brake controller 120 configured to determine which of the brake systems 104 to invoke for a particular braking operation, and/or how to distribute energy associated with the brake power of the braking operation among one or more of the brake systems 104, the battery system 114, one or more of the auxiliary systems 118, and/or other systems.” (Schneider Para 0014) and (“The machine 102 can, in some examples, be a commercial or work machine, such as a mining machine, earth-moving machine, backhoe, scraper, dozer, loader (e.g., large wheel loader, track-type loader, etc.), shovel, truck (e.g., mining truck, haul truck, on-highway truck, off-highway truck, articulated truck, etc.), a crane, a pipe layer, farming equipment, or any other type of mobile machine or vehicle. The machine 102 may operate at, and/or travel around, a worksite, such as a mine site, a quarry, a construction site, or any other type of worksite or work environment. In some examples, the machine 102 can have one or more work tools, such as a bucket, scraper, ripper, blade, pusher, fork, grapple, plow, or other type of work tool. The machine 102 can accordingly be configured to move and/or use one or more types of work tools to interact with rocks, gravel, dirt, sand, lumber, construction material, and/or any other type of material on a worksite. As an example, the machine 102 can be a haul truck that moves material around a worksite. In other examples, the machine 102 can be an electric automobile or other type of mobile machine used for personal transportation, commercial transportation, or other purposes, such as an electric vehicle configured to travel on public and/or private roads.” (Schneider Para 0015)) comprising:
a first control system configured to control operation of a load system of the work machine in response to a first signal indicative of a target power distributed to the load system, the load system configured to dissipate or store energy produced by an electric motor of the work machine during deceleration (“In some examples, the brake input 136 can be based on operator commands provided by a driver or other operator of the machine 102. For example, a driver can press a brake pedal, release an accelerator pedal, move levers, press buttons, and/or otherwise provide user input indicating a desire to slow down the machine 102 based on an indicated deceleration rate, to maintain a current speed of the machine 102, or to adjust the speed of the machine 102 to a specified speed. The braking operation determiner 134 can accordingly determine that a user has requested a braking operation based on user-provided brake input 136. As described further below, the brake controller 120 can implement the braking operation in part by determining one or more systems of the machine 102 to invoke during the braking operation (Schneider Para 0030), (“The regenerative brake system 106 can be configured to capture kinetic energy and/or potential energy during braking operations of the machine 102. In some examples, energy captured by the regenerative brake system 106 can be stored in the battery system 114, and thereby charge one or more batteries 132 of the battery system 114. In other examples, energy captured by the regenerative brake system 106 can be used to directly power one or more electrical systems 112, such as one or more of the auxiliary systems 118, instead of or in addition to using the energy to charge the battery system 114. As described further below, energy captured by the regenerative brake system 106 can also be allocated to one or more other systems of the machine 102.” (Schneider Para 0025), “The system priority data 146 can indicate a priority order of various systems of the machine 102, including one or more of the brake systems 104, the battery system 114, and/or the auxiliary systems 118. For example, the system selector 144 can prioritize selecting and invoking a highest-priority system indicated by the system priority data 146 to receive energy associated with brake power of a braking operation. If the amount of energy associated with brake power of a braking operation is above a currently available capacity of the highest-priority system to receive energy, the system selector 144 can invoke the highest-priority system as well as one or more additional systems in an order indicated by the system priority data 146. For instance, the system selector 144 can allocate energy associated with brake power of a braking operation to one or more high-priority systems, up to the currently available capacity of those high-priority systems to receive energy, and allocate the remainder of the energy associated with the brake power of the braking operation to the next-highest-priority system that has a currently available capacity sufficient to receive the remaining energy.” (Schneider Para 0051);
a second control system comprising a feed forward function configured to output a second signal for control of the load system in addition to the first signal wherein the feed forward signal pre-activates the load system prior to the load system being required to dissipate energy from the electric motor in response to decelerating the work machine (“In other examples, the brake controller 120 and/or speed controller 128 can use the site map 140, historical work cycle data, and/or other data to determine that the machine 102 should preemptively brake in advance of reaching an upcoming downhill section or other area, so that subsequent braking operations associated with the upcoming downhill section or other area are associated with a reduced amount of brake power. For example, the site map 140 can indicate that the machine 102 will reach a downhill section in 50 meters. The brake controller 120 and/or speed controller 128 can accordingly schedule or otherwise cause the machine 102 to perform preemptive braking operations to reduce the speed of the machine 102 while the machine 102 travels through those 50 meters. Accordingly, rather than performing braking operations associated with a relatively high amount of brake power once the machine 102 reaches the downhill section, the already-slowed machine 102 can decelerate or maintain a slower speed using braking operations associated with lower amounts of brake power once the machine 102 reaches the downhill section. As discussed further below, such a lower amount of brake power may be more likely to lead to a higher percentage of captured energy being stored and re-used by systems such as the battery system 114 and/or auxiliary systems 118, instead of that energy being lost or wasted as heat.” (Schneider Para 0038), “For example, feedback from the battery system 114 can indicate a current SoC of the batteries 132, a maximum SoC of the batteries 132, a currently available capacity of the batteries 132 indicating how much additional energy the batteries 132 could store, and/or a current maximum charge rate at which energy could be transferred to the batteries 132. The currently available capacity can indicate how much energy captured by the regenerative brake system 106 during a braking operation could be provided to the battery system 114 to charge the batteries 132. Similarly, the current maximum charge rate can indicate a rate at which the regenerative brake system 106 could provide energy to the battery system 114 during a braking operation.” (Schneider Para 0046), (“In some examples, the predicting is further based on a driving mode of the vehicle. The driving mode being one of electric propulsion; combustion engine propulsion; or a combination thereof, e.g., a hybrid power unit. For example, the capacity of a battery in a hybrid commercial electric vehicle is likely to be significantly larger, and therefore has the capability to harvest the total energy from a regenerative braking event, than that of a typical mHEV, for example. Accordingly, the control strategy may be based on the driving mode of the vehicle. In practice, this will likely result in a higher threshold (i.e., a higher % SOC) before the activation of an electrical load is made to ensure there is enough spare capacity in the battery for a regenerative braking event. For example, the engine start-up procedure may be altered based on one or more of such contextual factors. After step 510, process 500 can activate process 100 as described with reference to FIG. 1, as shown via step A which leads to step A on FIG. 1.” (Cox Para 0074), “In some examples, the control circuitry 910 is configured to carry out any of the methods as described herein. For example, storage 912 may be a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions encoded thereon, to be carried out by processing circuitry 914, which cause control circuitry 910 to carry out a method of controlling a regenerative braking system comprising a battery. The method comprising detecting that the battery state of charge is above a first threshold level; and activating a first electrical load prior to activation of the regenerative braking system to reduce the battery state of charge below the first threshold level.” (Cox Para 0095), see also Cox Para 0007 and Schneider Para 0071);
a switch configured to selectively activate and deactivate the second control system in response to an input (“At block 202, the brake controller 120 can receive brake input 136 and/or speed data 138. The brake input 136 can be a user command indicating a requested operation to reduce or maintain a speed of the machine 102, or to adjust the speed of the machine 102 to a particular specified speed. The speed data 138 can be provided by the speed controller 128, and can indicate a current speed of the machine 102, speed limits 142 that apply to the machine 102 in defined situations, an autonomous command to adjust the speed of the machine 102, and/or other information associated with a speed of the machine 102.” (Schneider 0063), “At block 206, the brake controller 120 can identify a braking operation associated with the machine 102. For example, based on a current speed indicated by the speed data 138, and/or brake input 136 that indicates a desired speed or a deceleration rate, the brake controller 120 can determine that the machine 102 is, or will be, performing a braking operation to slow the machine 102 from the current speed or to maintain the current speed of the machine 102. As another example, based on a downhill grade of upcoming terrain along the current path of the machine 102 indicated by the site map 140, speed data 138 indicating that the current speed of the machine 102 is to be maintained, historical work cycle data associated with the upcoming terrain, and/or other factors, the brake controller 120 can determine that the machine 102 will be performing a braking operation to counteract downhill acceleration to maintain the current speed of the machine 102. As yet another example, based on terrain information indicated by the site map 140, historical work cycle data, and/or other information, the brake controller 120 can determine that the machine 102 should perform a braking operation to slow the machine 102 before the machine 102 reaches a downhill segment of a current path being traversed by the machine 102.” (Schneider 0065); wherein the feedforward is activated and deactivated based on the determination that the downhill grade is upcoming); and
a summing component configured to sum the first signal the second signal and produce a combined signal for control of the load system (“At block 206, the brake controller 120 can identify a braking operation associated with the machine 102. For example, based on a current speed indicated by the speed data 138, and/or brake input 136 that indicates a desired speed or a deceleration rate, the brake controller 120 can determine that the machine 102 is, or will be, performing a braking operation to slow the machine 102 from the current speed or to maintain the current speed of the machine 102. As another example, based on a downhill grade of upcoming terrain along the current path of the machine 102 indicated by the site map 140, speed data 138 indicating that the current speed of the machine 102 is to be maintained, historical work cycle data associated with the upcoming terrain, and/or other factors, the brake controller 120 can determine that the machine 102 will be performing a braking operation to counteract downhill acceleration to maintain the current speed of the machine 102. As yet another example, based on terrain information indicated by the site map 140, historical work cycle data, and/or other information, the brake controller 120 can determine that the machine 102 should perform a braking operation to slow the machine 102 before the machine 102 reaches a downhill segment of a current path being traversed by the machine 102.” (Schneider 0065), “In some examples, the brake controller 120 and/or speed controller 128 can use the site map 140, historical work cycle data, and/or other data to determine that a brake operation performed by the machine 102 at a particular worksite location during a previous work cycle caused more energy to be captured than could be stored and re-used by systems of the machine 102. Accordingly, the brake controller 120 and/or speed controller 128 can determine that, during a subsequent work cycle, the machine 102 should travel at a slower speed before reaching that particular worksite location, perform a braking operation with a lower deceleration rate over a longer distance, or otherwise adjust machine operations in order to perform a braking operation with a lower amount of brake power in association with the particular worksite location. By adjusting operations of the machine 102 during a current work cycle to lower brake power associated with an upcoming braking operation, based on historical brake power levels associated with prior braking operations performed during previous work cycles, the adjustments to the operations of the machine 102 can lead to a higher percentage of captured energy being stored and re-used by systems of the machine 102 during the current work cycle.” (Schneider 0039); wherein the total output of the braking operation is determined by the combination of the user input and the adjustments made due to hills or historical data that is feed forward).
The motivation for combining Schneider and Cox is the same as that recited for claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 19, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 3, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
In regards to claim 20, Schneider in view of Cox of the controller of claim 15, wherein the input to the switch comprises an output of a location model comprising map data for a worksite and location data for the work machine (“At block 206, the brake controller 120 can identify a braking operation associated with the machine 102. For example, based on a current speed indicated by the speed data 138, and/or brake input 136 that indicates a desired speed or a deceleration rate, the brake controller 120 can determine that the machine 102 is, or will be, performing a braking operation to slow the machine 102 from the current speed or to maintain the current speed of the machine 102. As another example, based on a downhill grade of upcoming terrain along the current path of the machine 102 indicated by the site map 140, speed data 138 indicating that the current speed of the machine 102 is to be maintained, historical work cycle data associated with the upcoming terrain, and/or other factors, the brake controller 120 can determine that the machine 102 will be performing a braking operation to counteract downhill acceleration to maintain the current speed of the machine 102. As yet another example, based on terrain information indicated by the site map 140, historical work cycle data, and/or other information, the brake controller 120 can determine that the machine 102 should perform a braking operation to slow the machine 102 before the machine 102 reaches a downhill segment of a current path being traversed by the machine 102.” (Schneider Para 0065) and “The braking operation determiner 134 can also access or maintain historical data associated with previous braking operations, previous work cycles, and/or other machine operations performed by the machine 102 or other machines at locations on the worksite indicated by the site map 140. Such historical data can, for example, indicate that the machine 102 previously performed a braking operation during travel through a section of the worksite during a previous work cycle, and thus may be likely to perform a similar braking operation at the same section of the worksite during a subsequent work cycle.” (Schneider Para 0036)).
Claim(s) 2, 12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shneider in view of Cox, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Miyamoto et al. (US 20160251828; hereinafter Miyamoto; already of record from IDS).
In regards to claim 2, Schneider in view of Cox of the electric drive work machine of claim 1.
However, Schneider in view of Cox does not specifically teach of wherein the sensor system comprises a sensor configured to detect a user input associated with a directional change of the electric drive work machine.
Miyamoto, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of the sensor system comprises a sensor configured to detect a user input associated with a directional change of the electric drive work machine (“Next, the energy management requirement determination unit 85 is described in detail. FIG. 7 is a flow chart depicting an operation flow of the energy management requirement determination unit 85. The energy management requirement determination unit 85 determines the energy management required power Hem on the basis of the output rotation speed Nout, the forward/backward operation signal Afr and a voltage Vca in the capacitor 64. First, the energy management requirement determination unit 85 detects the first travel direction and the second travel direction (step S1). The first travel direction is the travel direction indicated by the forward/backward operation signal Afr which is an instruction from the operator inputted through the forward/backward travel switch operation device 54. The first travel direction is any one of the forward direction (F), neutral (N), or the backward direction (R). The second travel direction is a travel direction of the work vehicle 1 detected by the vehicle speed detecting unit 37. The second travel direction is either forward travel or backward travel. Next, the energy management requirement determination unit 85 determines whether the first travel direction and the second travel direction are the same direction or opposite directions (step S2). The energy management requirement determination unit 85 determines a mode on the basis of the determination result. When the first travel direction and the second travel direction are the same direction (step S2: No), or when the first travel direction and the second travel direction are different directions (step S2: Yes) and the first travel direction is neutral (step S3: No), the energy management requirement determination unit 85 determines that the mode is a normal mode (step S4). When the first travel direction and the second travel direction are different (step S2: Yes) and the first travel direction is not neutral (that is, the work vehicle 1 is performing a shuttle action) (step S3: Yes), the energy management requirement determination unit 85 determines that the mode is a charging priority mode (step S5).” (Para 0106) and “According to FIG. 8, the target electricity storage amount Cp_target in the charging priority mode is greater than the target electricity storage amount Cp_target in the normal mode if the output rotation speed Nout is the same. That is, when the first travel direction and the second travel direction are different (step S2: Yes) and the first travel direction is not neutral (step S3: Yes), that is, during the charging priority mode (step S5), the energy management requirement determination unit 85 increases the target electricity storage amount Cp_target (step S6). Moreover, the target electricity storage amount Cp_target decreases in correspondence to an increase in the absolute value |Nout| of the output rotation speed in the normal mode (step S4). That is, the energy management requirement determination unit 85 changes the target electricity storage amount Cp_target in response to the vehicle speed when the first travel direction and the second travel direction match. Further, the energy management requirement determination unit 85 reduces the target electricity storage amount Cp_target in correspondence to a rise in the absolute value of the vehicle speed when the first travel direction and the second travel direction match (step S7). The target electricity storage amount Cp_target in the charging priority mode (step S5) is constant at a predetermined value Cp_target_max regardless of the output rotation speed Nout (step S6). The predetermined value is a value derived by subtracting a predetermined margin from the maximum electricity storage amount of the capacitor 64. The margin is set in order to prevent overcharging due to the electricity storage amount overshooting and exceeding the maximum electricity storage amount of the capacitor 64.” (Para 0107), see also Para 0023).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor system, as taught by Schneider in view of Cox, to include detecting a directional change of the vehicle, as taught by Miyamoto, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow the storage to be close to the maximum, increasing the fuel efficiency and energy recovery amount (Miyamoto Para 0023).
In regards to claim 12, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 2, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
In regards to claim 18, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 2, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim(s) 4, 9-10, 16, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shneider in view of Cox, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Han et al. (US 20190176827; hereinafter Han; already of record from IDS).
In regards to claim 4, Schneider in view of Cox of the electric drive work machine of claim 1.
However, Schneider in view of Cox does not specifically teach of wherein the controller comprises a PID controller configured to operate the load system for dissipation or storage of energy produced by the electric motor during deceleration, and wherein the feed forward signal is added to an output control signal of the PID controller.
Han, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the controller comprises a PID controller configured to operate the load system for dissipation or storage of energy produced by the electric motor during deceleration, and wherein the feed forward signal is added to an output control signal of the PID controller (“The deceleration based FB controller 30 outputs an FB control value for feedback-compensating a difference between the deceleration depending on the regeneration step manually set by the driver and the actual vehicle deceleration by a proportional integral derivative (PID) control. Accordingly, the deceleration based FB controller 30 compensates for the vehicle deceleration error caused by the weight error of the vehicle and the road surface condition based on the FF control value output from the grade resistance based FF controller 20.” (Para 0036), “The coasting torque reflector 40 outputs a coasting torque by reflecting a correction torque calculated as a sum of the FF control value and the FB control value to a regenerative torque depending on the regeneration step manually set by the driver.” (Para 0037), see also Para 0044 and Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller including the feed forward signal, as taught by Schneider in view of Cox, to include summing the feed forward signal with a signal of a PID controller, as taught by Han, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to compensate for the vehicle deceleration error caused by the weight error of the vehicle and the road surface condition based on the FF control value (Han Para 0036).
In regards to claim 9, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 4, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
In regards to claim 10, Schneider in view of Cox in view of Han teaches of the method of claim 9, wherein the feed forward signal is summed with an output of the PID controller to produce a combined control signal, and wherein the combined control signal is configured to control operation of the load system (“The deceleration based FB controller 30 outputs an FB control value for feedback-compensating a difference between the deceleration depending on the regeneration step manually set by the driver and the actual vehicle deceleration by a proportional integral derivative (PID) control. Accordingly, the deceleration based FB controller 30 compensates for the vehicle deceleration error caused by the weight error of the vehicle and the road surface condition based on the FF control value output from the grade resistance based FF controller 20.” (Han Para 0036), “The coasting torque reflector 40 outputs a coasting torque by reflecting a correction torque calculated as a sum of the FF control value and the FB control value to a regenerative torque depending on the regeneration step manually set by the driver.” (Han Para 0037), see also Han Para 0044 and 0038 and Fig 3).
The motivation for combining Schneider, Cox, and Han is the same as that recited for claim 4 above.
In regards to claim 16, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 4, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
In regards to claim 21, the claim recites analogous subject matter to claims 10 and is rejected on the same premise, but further teaches controlling, using a feedback control loop, the load system based on a target power and an actual power of the load system(“The deceleration based FB controller 30 outputs an FB control value for feedback-compensating a difference between the deceleration depending on the regeneration step manually set by the driver and the actual vehicle deceleration by a proportional integral derivative (PID) control. Accordingly, the deceleration based FB controller 30 compensates for the vehicle deceleration error caused by the weight error of the vehicle and the road surface condition based on the FF control value output from the grade resistance based FF controller 20.” (Han Para 0036), “The coasting torque reflector 40 outputs a coasting torque by reflecting a correction torque calculated as a sum of the FF control value and the FB control value to a regenerative torque depending on the regeneration step manually set by the driver.” (Han Para 0037), see also Han Para 0044 and 0038 and Fig 3).
The motivation for combining Schneider, Cox, and Han is the same as that recited for claim 4 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rahm et al. (US 20240059153) discloses of having energy dissipation occur before a vehicle arrives at a location where power will be received by the electrical power system of the vehicle.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3663