DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” “… are disclosed,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: multi-axis movement mechanism, article-picking device (Claims 1-8 and 17-19), first gripping mechanism, second gripping mechanism (Claim 2), first gripping member, second gripping member (Claims 1-19), third gripping member, fourth gripping member (Claims 2, 14), and first stabilization member (Claims 5, 13). The term “member” is construed to be a generic placeholder.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "first gripping mechanism" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if the first gripping mechanism should be the first gripping member or something else. From this, construing Claim 2 is not clear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakasono (JP 2006-62000 A).
Claim 9: a first gripping member having a first face (42) that is positioned opposite a second face of a second gripping member (other 42), wherein the first and second gripping members are adapted to transition from an open configuration to a closed configuration by laterally and linearly sliding toward each other through a common plane (figure 6);
Claim 10: wherein said first and second gripping members linearly sliding toward each other includes one or more of the following: (1) at least one of the first and second gripping members linearly sliding toward the other or (2) both of said first and second gripping members linearly sliding toward each other (figure 6);
Claim 12: wherein the closed configuration is characterized by the first and second gripping members being in common contact with a first article such that at least a portion of the first face is in contact with the first article and at least a portion of the second face is simultaneously in contact with the first article (figure 6).
Claim(s) 9 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lei (US 2020/0290825; Filed: Dec. 3, 2019; Prov. application, filed Mar. 14, 2019; current application, FIG. 8A et seq. with third and fourth gripping members are not disclosed in prov. appl. 62/889,294).
Claim 9: a first gripping member having a first face that is positioned opposite a second face of a second gripping member, wherein the first and second gripping members are adapted to transition from an open configuration to a closed configuration by laterally and linearly sliding toward each other through a common plane (“first grasping blade 310, the second grasping blade 312, the third grasping blade 314, and the fourth grasping blade 420”; “linear displacement”);
Claim 14: a third gripping member having a third face that is positioned opposite a fourth face of a fourth gripping member, wherein the third and fourth gripping members are adapted to transition from an open configuration to a closed configuration by laterally and linearly sliding toward each other through a common plane (“first grasping blade 310, the second grasping blade 312, the third grasping blade 314, and the fourth grasping blade 420”; “linear displacement”; FIG. 7 shows common plane of gripping members with the same profiles/etc.);
Claim 15: one or more sensors operable to facilitate transitioning from the open configuration to the closed configuration (“first position sensor 510 and the third position sensor 514, and the second position sensor 512 and the fourth position sensor 516”; “the gripper 122 can be configured with the orientation sensor 702 proximate to the second grasping blade 312.”; para. [0143]/[0164]);
Claim 16: wherein the one or more sensors comprise one or more of a fixed field sensor, a reflective sensor, or a proximity sensor (para. [0143]/[0164]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-8, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakasono in view of Tetsuji Kosen (JP 6-45948 U) (“Tetsuji”). Nakasono discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above; and
Claim 1: a multi-axis movement mechanism (9; para. [0019]) coupled to an article-picking device (11/12) that includes a first gripping member (42) and a second gripping member (other 42)
a storage system that includes a first cartridge (8 for “containing one or more articles”) that is adapted to hold a first article and a plurality of second articles (figure 7), wherein the article-picking device is adapted to retrieve the first article from the first cartridge by utilizing the first gripping member to grasp a wrapping of the first article when the first gripping member is in the closed configuration (figure 6(d) where W picked-up by upper surface wrapping the inside matter of W);
Claim 5: wherein the first gripping member further includes a first stabilization member that extends laterally from the first gripping member and is adapted to stabilize the first article when it is picked (41 aids in stabilizing W);
Claim 7: wherein the wrapping is made from one or more of the following: plastic, cellophane, paper, tissue, or foil (para. [0002], plastic);
Claim 8: wherein the wrapping includes one or more of the following: a covering that covers all the first article, a material that covers only a portion of the first article, or a band (figure 6(d) where W picked-up by upper surface wrapping the inside matter of W is a covering).
Nakasono does not directly show:
Claim 1: a second gripping member spaced apart fewer than two inches in an open configuration and at least one of the first or second gripping members;
Claim 11: wherein the open configuration is characterized by the first and second gripping members being separated by fewer than two inches;
Claim 13: wherein the first gripping member further includes a first stabilization member that extends laterally from the first gripping member and is adapted to stabilize the first article when it is picked.
Tetsuji shows a similar device having:
Claim 1: a second gripping member spaced apart fewer than two inches in an open configuration and at least one of the first or second gripping members (para. [0011], about 0.1 mm < 2 inches);
Claim 11: wherein the open configuration is characterized by the first and second gripping members being separated by fewer than two inches (para. [0011], about 0.1 mm < 2 inches);
Claim 13: wherein the first gripping member further includes a first stabilization member that extends laterally from the first gripping member and is adapted to stabilize the first article when it is picked (body of 11 in figures 7-8 help stabilize first article 10);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the article is properly lifted to reduce the possibility of dropping the article (para. [0003]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakasono as taught by Tetsuji and include Tetsuji’s similar device having:
Claim 1: a second gripping member spaced apart fewer than two inches in an open configuration and at least one of the first or second gripping members;
Claim 11: wherein the open configuration is characterized by the first and second gripping members being separated by fewer than two inches;
Claim 13: wherein the first gripping member further includes a first stabilization member that extends laterally from the first gripping member and is adapted to stabilize the first article when it is picked;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the article is properly lifted to reduce the possibility of dropping the article.
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata et al. (US 2020/0198157; 102(a)(2) date: Aug. 31, 2017) (“Hirata”) in view of Martin et al. (US 2011/0071666) (“Martin”). Hirata discloses:
Claim 17: utilizing a multi-axis movement mechanism (100) to transport an article-picking device (1)
utilizing the article-picking device to retrieve an article (article inside P1 in FIG. 5)
Claim 19: wherein each of the [containers] is adapted to contain a plurality of greeting cards (P1 is adapted to contain a plurality of greeting cards).
Hirata does not directly show:
Claim 17: transport an article-picking device to a storage system that includes a plurality of cartridges, wherein each of the plurality of cartridges is adapted to contain a plurality of articles;
transporting the article to a conveyance system;
Claim 18: wherein utilizing the article-picking device to retrieve an article comprises inserting at least a portion of the article-picking device into an interior portion of the one of the plurality of cartridges;
Claim 19: wherein each of the plurality of cartridges is adapted to contain a plurality of greeting cards.
Martin shows a similar device having:
Claim 17: transport an article-picking device to a storage system that includes a plurality of cartridges, wherein each of the plurality of cartridges is adapted to contain a plurality of articles (230a-230c);
Claim 18: wherein utilizing the article-picking device to retrieve an article comprises inserting at least a portion of the article-picking device into an interior portion of the one of the plurality of cartridges (FIG. 2/etc.);
Claim 19: wherein each of the plurality of cartridges is adapted to contain a plurality of greeting cards (234 of Martin are adapted to being within P1 of Hirata);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the number of storage devices to decrease the cost of providing multiple retrieving devices (para. [0006]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hirata as taught by Martin and include Martin’s similar device having:
Claim 17: transport an article-picking device to a storage system that includes a plurality of cartridges, wherein each of the plurality of cartridges is adapted to contain a plurality of articles;
Claim 18: wherein utilizing the article-picking device to retrieve an article comprises inserting at least a portion of the article-picking device into an interior portion of the one of the plurality of cartridges;
Claim 19: wherein each of the plurality of cartridges is adapted to contain a plurality of greeting cards;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the number of storage devices to decrease the cost of providing multiple retrieving devices.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakasono in view of Tetsuji and Stiernagle et al. (US 2016/0325933) (“Stiernagle”). Nakasono discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Nakasono does not directly show:
Claim 3: wherein the storage system comprises a storage unit that includes a plurality of shelves vertically spaced apart from one another, and wherein each of the plurality of shelves is adapted to hold a portion of a plurality of cartridges in addition to the first cartridge;
Claim 4: wherein each of the plurality of shelves is coupled to a cartridge conveyance system, and wherein the cartridge conveyance system comprises a plurality of tracks adapted to transport one or more cartridges to the plurality of shelves.
Stiernagle shows a similar device having:
Claim 3: wherein the storage system comprises a storage unit that includes a plurality of shelves vertically spaced apart from one another (shelves for 230/etc.), and wherein each of the plurality of shelves is adapted to hold a portion of a plurality of cartridges in addition to the first cartridge (230/etc.);
Claim 4: wherein each of the plurality of shelves is coupled to a cartridge conveyance system, and wherein the cartridge conveyance system comprises a plurality of tracks (372/373/etc.) adapted to transport one or more cartridges to the plurality of shelves;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing efficiency by increasing access to multiple storage units (para. [0064]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakasono and Tetsuji as taught by Stiernagle and include Stiernagle’s similar device having:
Claim 3: wherein the storage system comprises a storage unit that includes a plurality of shelves vertically spaced apart from one another, and wherein each of the plurality of shelves is adapted to hold a portion of a plurality of cartridges in addition to the first cartridge;
Claim 4: wherein each of the plurality of shelves is coupled to a cartridge conveyance system, and wherein the cartridge conveyance system comprises a plurality of tracks adapted to transport one or more cartridges to the plurality of shelves;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing efficiency by increasing access to multiple storage units.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakasono in view of Tetsuji and Davidson et al. (US 2016/0073584) (“Davidson”). Nakasono discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Nakasono does not directly show:
Claim 6: wherein the system is adapted to retrieve the first article from the first cartridge and transport the article to a conveyance system in ten seconds or fewer.
Davidson shows a similar device having:
Claim 6: wherein the system is adapted to retrieve the first article from the first cartridge and transport the article to a conveyance system in ten seconds or fewer (para. [0048], 6 seconds or less; it is noted that para. [0010] discloses “approximately nine seconds”);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of minimizing damage to the article during conveyance (para. [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakasono and Tetsuji as taught by Davidson and include Davidson’s similar device having:
Claim 6: wherein the system is adapted to retrieve the first article from the first cartridge and transport the article to a conveyance system in ten seconds or fewer;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of minimizing damage to the article during conveyance.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,012,293 (“USPN”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application claims are broader than the USPN claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: “wherein the third and fourth faces are spaced apart such that there is a second gap that is not more than two inches between the third and fourth faces when the second gripping mechanism is in an open configuration, but the second gap is closed when the second gripping mechanism is in a closed configuration” is not disclosed in the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2019/0299424 discloses gripping members 100 in FIG. 3A-3D.
/Gerald McClain/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652