CTNF 18/643,002 CTNF 82297 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Response to Arguments 1. With respect to applicant’s remarks filed on 05/04/26 regarding rejected claims 12-13, 15-20, pages 6-7, the new added limitations “ wherein the detector is configured to detect the deterioration state of the identified utility pole using the pattern included in the backscattered light and a trained model corresponding to the identified utility pole , wherein the pattern included in the backscattered light is a pattern of frequency characteristics of vibration data of the identified utility pole ” have been found in reference of Okamura and in new reference of Takuya et al. (JP 2018096866). Okamura discloses the detector is configured to detect the deterioration state of the identified utility pole using the pattern included in the backscattered light, (page 4, lines 8-24; Page 8, lines 34-41. Level change of the backscattered light is not different from the pattern included in the backscattered light). However, Okamura does not disclose a trained model corresponding to the identified utility pole, wherein the pattern included in the backscattered light is a pattern of frequency characteristics of vibration data of the identified utility pole. Takuya discloses a trained model corresponding to the identified utility pole, (page 2, lines 35-40; Page 5, lines 31-34, 38-45; Page 6, lines 1-14. Note: Machine learning is not different from a trained model. Please see attached files for Takuya’s reference), wherein the pattern included in the backscattered light is a pattern of frequency characteristics of vibration data of the identified utility pole, (page 1, Abstract; Background-Art; Page 2, lines 8-12, 25-34, 41-45; Page 5, lines 1-10; Page 6, lines 10-14, 25-32. Please see attached files for Takuya’s reference). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Okamura by having a trained model and the backscattered light is a pattern of frequency characteristics of vibration data in order to provide a structure deterioration determination device and a method to determine the deterioration of a structure with high accuracy (Takuya, Abstract). Grounds for the rejection of claims are provided below as necessitated by amendment. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA 2. A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 05/04/26 has been entered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 3. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 4. Claim (s) 12-13, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamura Isanaka (JP 2008067467) in view of Takuya et al. (JP 2018096866). Hereafter “Okamura” and “Takuya”. (Please see attached files for Takuya’s reference and previous office action for the reference of Okamura) . Regarding Claim(s) 12, 18, 19, 20, Okamura teaches a system/apparatus/method/medium for detecting deterioration of a utility pole, comprising: a receiver configured to receive, from an optical fiber laid on a utility pole (page 2, lines 25-27; Figure 2, pole breakage monitoring system 10. Monitoring system is not different from a receiver), backscattered light corresponding to an optical pulse launched into the optical fiber, the backscattered light including a pattern corresponding to a deterioration state of the utility pole; and a detector configured to detect the deterioration state of the utility pole based on the pattern included in the backscattered light, (page 4, lines 8-24; Page 8, lines 34-41. Level change of the backscattered light is not different from the pattern included in the backscattered light), wherein the receiver is configured to identify a utility pole that has generated the backscattered light using on a generation position of the backscattered light and pre-acquired information indicating positions of the utility pole (page 4, lines 47-49; Page 5, lines 1-5, 14-24). Wherein the detector is configured to detect the deterioration state of the identified utility pole using the pattern included in the backscattered light, (page 4, lines 8-24; Page 8, lines 34-41. Level change of the backscattered light is not different from the pattern included in the backscattered light). However, Okamura does not disclose a trained model corresponding to the identified utility pole, wherein the pattern included in the backscattered light is a pattern of frequency characteristics of vibration data of the identified utility pole. Takuya discloses a trained model corresponding to the identified utility pole, (page 2, lines 35-40; Page 5, lines 31-34, 38-45; Page 6, lines 1-14. Note: Machine learning is not different from a trained model), wherein the pattern included in the backscattered light is a pattern of frequency characteristics of vibration data of the identified utility pole, (page 1, Abstract; Background-Art; Page 2, lines 8-12, 25-34, 41-45; Page 5, lines 1-10; Page 6, lines 10-14, 25-32). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Okamura by having a trained model and the backscattered light is a pattern of frequency characteristics of vibration data in order to provide a structure deterioration determination device and a method to determine the deterioration of a structure with high accuracy (Takuya, Abstract). Further, according to claim 20, Okamura teaches computer-readable recording medium, (page 11, lines 32-43). Regarding Claim(s) 13, Okamura in view of Takuya disclose the claimed invention according to claim 12 as stated above except for the backscattered light received by the receiver is backscattered light received from the optical fiber that extends via a plurality of utility poles. Okamura further discloses the backscattered light received by the receiver is backscattered light received from the optical fiber that extends via a plurality of utility poles (figure 2, pole 1, fiber r, Pole breakage monitor system 10 is not different from a receiver). Regarding Claim(s) 15, Okamura in view of Takuya disclose the claimed invention according to claim 12 as stated above except for detector is configured to detect the deterioration state of the utility pole on a periodic basis, and to detect a temporal change in the deterioration state of the utility pole. Okamura further discloses the detector being configured to detect a sign of deterioration or breakage of the utility pole based on the temporal change in the deterioration state of the utility pole (page 1, Abstract; Page 2, lines 1-27). Regarding Claim(s) 16, Okamura in view of Takuya disclose the claimed invention according to claims 12, 15, as stated above except for detector being configured to detect a sign of deterioration or breakage of the utility pole using the temporal change in the deterioration state of the utility pole. Okamura further discloses the detector is configured to detect a sign of deterioration or breakage of the utility pole using the temporal change in the deterioration state of the utility pole (page 1, Abstract; Page 2, lines 1-27). Regarding Claim(s) 17, Okamura in view of Takuya disclose the claimed invention according to claim 12 as stated above except for detector being configured to learn the pattern corresponding to the deterioration state of the utility pole, and to detect the deterioration state of the utility pole using a result of the learning and the pattern included in the backscattered light received by the receiver. Okamura further the detector is configured to learn the pattern corresponding to the deterioration state of the utility pole, and to detect the deterioration state of the utility pole using a result of the learning and the pattern included in the backscattered light received by the receiver (page 4, lines 8-24; Page 8, lines 34-41). Fax/Telephone Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRI T TON whose telephone number is (571)272-9064. The examiner can normally be reached on 8am-4pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michelle Iacoletti can be reached on (571)270-5789. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. Application/Control Number: 18/643,002 Page 2 Art Unit: 2877 Application/Control Number: 18/643,002 Page 3 Art Unit: 2877 Application/Control Number: 18/643,002 Page 4 Art Unit: 2877 Application/Control Number: 18/643,002 Page 5 Art Unit: 2877 Application/Control Number: 18/643,002 Page 6 Art Unit: 2877 Application/Control Number: 18/643,002 Page 7 Art Unit: 2877