Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
2. Grounds for the rejection of claims are provided below as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable over Okamura Isanaka (JP 2008067467). Hereafter “Okamura”. (Please see attached files for Okamura’s reference).
Regarding Claim(s) 12, 18, 19, 20, Okamura teaches a system/apparatus/method/medium for detecting deterioration of a utility pole, comprising:
a receiver configured to receive, from an optical fiber laid on a utility pole (page 2, lines 25-27; Figure 2, pole breakage monitoring system 10. Monitoring system is not different from a receiver), backscattered light corresponding to an optical pulse launched into the optical fiber, the backscattered light including a pattern corresponding to a deterioration state of the utility pole; and a detector configured to detect the deterioration state of the utility pole based on the pattern included in the backscattered light, (page 4, lines 8-24; Page 8, lines 34-41. Level change of the backscattered light is not different from the pattern included in the backscattered light),
wherein the receiver is configured to identify a utility pole that has generated the backscattered light based on a generation position of the backscattered light and pre-acquired information indicating positions of the utility pole (page 4, lines 47-49; Page 5, lines 1-5, 14-24).
Further, according to claim 20, Okamura teaches computer-readable recording medium, (page 11, lines 32-43).
Regarding Claim(s) 13, Okamura teaches the backscattered light received by the receiver is backscattered light received from the optical fiber that extends via a plurality of utility poles (figure 2, pole 1, fiber r).
Regarding Claim(s) 14, Okamura teaches the detector is configured to detect the deterioration state of the identified utility pole based on the pattern included in the backscattered light and a trained model corresponding to the identified utility pole, (page 4, lines 8-24; Page 8, lines 34-41. Level change of the backscattered light is not different from the pattern included in the backscattered light).
Regarding Claim(s) 15, Okamura teaches the detector is configured to detect the deterioration state of the utility pole on a periodic basis, and to detect a temporal change in the deterioration state of the utility pole, (page 4, lines 8-24; Page 8, lines 34-41. Level change of the backscattered light is not different from a temporal change; Figure 2, poles 1 are in periodic basis).
Regarding Claim(s) 16, Okamura teaches the detector is configured to detect a sign of deterioration or breakage of the utility pole based on the temporal change in the deterioration state of the utility pole (page 1, Abstract; Page 2, lines 1-27).
Regarding Claim(s) 17, Okamura teaches the detector is configured to learn the pattern corresponding to the deterioration state of the utility pole, and to detect the deterioration state of the utility pole based on a result of the learning and the pattern included in the backscattered light received by the receiver (page 4, lines 8-24; Page 8, lines 34-41).
Conclusion
4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Fax/Telephone Information