DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The applicant's arguments with respect to independent claims filed on 11/12/2025 are summarized along with examiner’s answers.
The applicant's arguments assert that one of the previously cited references, Yiu, does not mention "measurement configuration".
Answer: [Yiu, 0081] clearly mention "a first measurement gap configuration" and [Yiu, 0083] "a second measurement gap configuration". These paragraphs of Yiu clearly answer the applicant's assertion, thus the applicant's assertion is deemed unpersuasive.
The applicant's arguments assert that Yiu teaches only 'when' in "measurement gap configurations", instead of 'how' or 'what' to measure in the claimed first and second measurement configurations.
Answer: The recitation in the independent claims is silent about 'how' or 'what' to measure in the claimed first measurement configuration and second measurement configuration, thus the applicant's assertion is deemed unpersuasive.
The applicant's arguments assert that Yiu's RRC message does not contain two separate measurement configuration fields.
Answer: [Yiu, 0083] "the UE to process, based on the decoded NR RRC message, a second measurement gap configuration to indicate a measurement gap configuration corresponding to a frequency range 2 (FR2)" in Example 3 which includes Example 2 in [Yiu, 0082] which includes Example 1 in [Yiu, 0081] that describe "based on the decoded NR RRC message, a first measurement gap configuration to indicate a measurement gap configuration corresponding to a frequency range 1(FR1)". From the underlined limitations, it clearly say the Yiu's RRC message contains two different and separate measurement configurations, thus the applicant's assertion is deemed unpersuasive.
The applicant's arguments assert that Futaki's PCell and Scell connections are different from claimed dual connectivity. However, [Futaki, 0055] describes "The operation in which the radio station 1 operates a plurality of cells including the primary cell and the secondary cell is called, for example, carrier aggregation (CA) or a dual-cell operation." and its disclosure can be applied to the described dual-cell operation.
The applicant’s arguments assert on page 10 that Yiu and Futaki do not teach ‘separate measurement configuration fields, each with distinct measurement objects and reporting parameters, with different nodes in a dual connectivity scenario.’ Claim 6 recites “wherein the respective measurement configuration information elements define distinct measurement objects and reporting parameters for measurements to be performed with respect to the master node and the secondary node”. It is not clear if the distinct measurement objects and reporting parameters are associated with respect to the master node and the secondary node. From the recitation, the separate configurations define different measurement objects and reporting parameters. This can be rejected with Lee et al. (US 2020/0022011, “Lee”) Par. 0138 “The measurement configuration manager 715 may receive, from a base station 105, a first message indicating a set of measurement configurations, each measurement configuration of the set of measurement configurations including different sets of measurement parameters used for measuring a RS of a cell, receive, from the base station 105, a second message indicating that the UE 115 activate a first measurement configuration, deactivate the first measurement configuration, or switch to the first measurement configuration, where the first measurement configuration is from the set of measurement configurations, and determine a measurement reporting scheme based on the indication to activate, deactivate, or switch to the first measurement configuration.”
The measurements are to be performed with respect to the master node and the secondary node, and the defined measurement objects and reporting parameters are common with the master node and the secondary node. The examiner recommends to rephrase the recitation so that it can be read that the measurement objects and reporting parameters are differently and separately specified with the master node and the secondary node.
Therefore, the Applicant’s arguments overall are deemed unpersuasive, and the previous rejections are hereby maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,997,732 (hereinafter Pat-732). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 1 for instance, as shown in the following table, claims 20 and 23 of Pat-732 recites all the claimed limitations of the claim 1.
Pat-732 Language
Claims / App Language
20. A user equipment (“UE”) comprising: a processing circuit; a wireless transceiver coupled to the processing circuit; and a memory coupled to the processing circuit, the memory storing machine-readable computer program instructions that, when executed by the processing circuit, cause the UE to perform operations comprising:
receiving a radio resource control (“RRC”) message including a measurement configuration field, the RRC message including a first RRC message that is embedded in a second RRC message transmitted to the UE via a SRB1 bearer; and
extracting a measurement configuration information element (“IE”) for measurement of a wireless channel between the UE and a secondary node associated with a secondary cell group that together with a master node provides dual connectivity services to the UE,
wherein the measurement configuration field is associated with a defined signaling radio bearer (“SRB”) that is to be used by the UE for measurement reporting.
23. The UE of claim 20,
wherein the measurement configuration field includes a first measurement configuration field, and
wherein the RRC message includes a second measurement configuration field that includes a different measurement configuration IE than the first measurement configuration IE.
1. A method of operating a user equipment, UE, comprising:
receiving a radio resource control, RRC, message including a measurement configuration field; and
extracting a first measurement configuration for measurement of a wireless channel between the UE and a secondary node associated with a secondary cell group that together with a master node provides dual connectivity services to the UE,
wherein the measurement configuration field is a first measurement configuration field and
wherein the RRC message includes a second measurement configuration field that has a different measurement configuration than the first measurement configuration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 6 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, each recites the limitation “wherein the respective measurement configuration information elements …” (Emphasis Added). The underlined limitations cause an antecedent basis issue. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 11-12, 15 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0178333, “Liu”) in view of Yiu et al. (US 2019/0253909, “Yiu”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Liu unless otherwise mentioned.
Liu discloses “Resource Scheduling Method and Apparatus” (Title) and comprises the following features:
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 1, a method of operating a user equipment, UE, comprising:
receiving a radio resource control, RRC, message including a measurement configuration field ([0119] “The second access network device may send, to the terminal via the RRC reconfiguration signaling, related information about a to-be-measured object (which may be a carrier, a cell, a reference signal, or the like) on the first access network device.”); and
extracting a measurement configuration information element, IE ([0125] “The terminal measures a to-be-measured carrier based on the RRC reconfiguration signaling sent by the second access network device (a measConfig information element in the RRC reconfiguration signaling notifies the terminal of information about the carrier that will be measured)” for measurement of a wireless channel between the UE and a secondary node associated with a secondary cell group ([0122] “The to-be-measured cell may include the first uplink carrier, the downlink carrier corresponding to the first uplink carrier, and the second uplink carrier. For example, the first uplink carrier is an NR 3.5 GHz UL carrier, the downlink carrier corresponding to the first uplink carrier is an NR 3.5 GHz downlink (DL) carrier, and the second uplink carrier is an NR 1.8 GHz SUL carrier”, [0119] “The second access network device may send, to the terminal via the RRC reconfiguration signaling, related information about a to-be-measured object (which may be a carrier, a cell, a reference signal, or the like) on the first access network device.”, and [0098] “The first access network device may be a secondary access network device, and the second access network device is a primary access network device.”. For the claimed secondary node associated with a secondary cell group, see [0096 and Fig. 3] “in the LTE-NR DC scenario, an LTE eNB may be used as the MeNB, and an NR gNB may be used as the SgNB”, and [0004] “in the LTE-NR DC scenario, a master base station (e.g. Master eNB, MeNB), which is referred to as an MgNB or MeNB for short in the following) and a secondary base station (e.g. Secondary eNB, SeNB)”) that together with a master node provides dual connectivity services to the UE ([0178 and Fig. 5] “In a process shown in FIG. 5, a first access network device and a second access network device serve a terminal in a dual-connectivity manner.”).
It is noted that while disclosing RRC configuration for measurement, Liu does not specifically teach about the RRC message including a second measurement configuration. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Yiu as follows;
the measurement configuration field is a first measurement configuration field and wherein the RRC message includes a second measurement configuration field that has a different measurement configuration IE than the first measurement configuration IE ([Yiu, 0084] “the second measurement gap configuration is indicated by the IE in the NR RRC message, or an additional IE in the NR RRC message.” See [Yiu, 0081 and 0083].).
It, therefore, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Liu by using the features of Yiu in order to provide reliable data throughput and higher data rates such that “a UE may apply the same or different measurement gaps while operating with various technologies or services in various frequency ranges” [Yiu, Abstract].
Regarding claim 11, it is a user equipment claim corresponding to the method claim 1, except the limitations, “a processing circuit; a wireless transceiver coupled to the processing circuit; and a memory coupled to the processing circuit, the memory storing machine-readable computer program instructions” (See Fig. 7 for 701 “Processor”, 702 “Transceiver” and 703 “Memory”, and [0222] “The memory 703 may be configured to store a program instruction. By invoking the program instruction stored in the memory 703, the processor 701 may perform”), and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, it is a CRM claim corresponding to the method claim 1, except the limitations, “non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored therein that are executable by processing circuitry of a user equipment” ([0222] “The memory 703 may be configured to store a program instruction. By invoking the program instruction stored in the memory 703, the processor 701 may perform”), and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claims 2 and 12, the method of Claim 1 and the UE of claim 11, respectively, further comprising: performing a measurement on the wireless channel in response to the RRC message ([0125] “The terminal measures a to-be-measured carrier based on the RRC reconfiguration signaling sent by the second access network device (a measConfig information element in the RRC reconfiguration signaling notifies the terminal of information about the carrier that will be measured)”); and transmitting a measurement report to the master node and/or the secondary node ([0180] “Step 502: The terminal measures signal quality of a carrier in each cell of the first access network device, and returns a measurement result to the second access network device via a measurement report message.”).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, the method of Claim 1 and the UE of claim 11, respectively, wherein the RRC message comprises an RRCReconfiguration message (aforesaid [0119] “The second access network device may send, to the terminal via the RRC reconfiguration signaling”).
Claim(s) 3, 8 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0178333, “Liu”) in view of Yiu et al. (US 2019/0253909, “Yiu”) and further in view of Wu (US 2019/0254096, provisional application, 62/630262 (“262”)).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Liu unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, It is noted that while disclosing RRC configuration for measurement, Liu does not specifically teach about a signaling radio bearer. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Wu as follows;
the method of Claim 2 and the UE of claim 12, respectively, wherein the measurement configuration field is associated with a defined signaling radio bearer, SRB, that is to be used by the UE for measurement reporting ([Wu, 0020] “Step 304: The UE receives a first measurement configuration on the first SRB from the first BS.”, and [Wu, 0021] “Step 306: The UE transmits a first measurement report associated to the first measurement configuration, on the first SRB to the first BS.” See [262, 0016].); and wherein transmitting the measurement report comprises transmitting the measurement report on the defined SRB (See aforesaid [Wu, 0021]).
It, therefore, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Liu by using the features of Gao in order for a user equipment to efficiently establish dual connectivity such that “configuring a first signalling radio bearer (SRB) for communicating a first plurality of radio resource control (RRC) messages with the first BS; receiving a first measurement configuration on the first SRB from the first BS” [Wu, 0005].
Regarding claim 8, the method of Claim 1, wherein the RRC message is received from the master node via an SRB1 bearer ([Wu, 0013] “The communication device 100 connects to the MN and has a first signalling radio bearer (SRB), and the MN transmits a measurement configuration on the first SRB to the communication device 100”).
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Wu is the same as for claim 3.
Claim(s) 4 and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0178333, “Liu”) in view of Yiu et al. (US 2019/0253909, “Yiu”) and Wu (US 2019/0254096, provisional application, 62/630262 (“262”)), and further in view of Freda et al. (US 2020/0396654, “Freda”, provisional application, 62/585878 (“878”)).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Liu unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, it is noted that while disclosing RRC configuration for measurement, Liu does not specifically teach about SRB3. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Freda as follows;
the method of Claim 3 and the UE of claim 13, respectively, wherein the defined SRB comprises an SRB3 ([Freda, 0186] “The WTRU may (e.g. further) apply a determination (e.g. only) for RRC messages that may (e.g. normally) be transmitted on SRB3 (e.g. measurement reports related to measurement configuration configured by an NR SN).” See [878, 0171].).
It, therefore, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Liu by using the features of Freda in order to provide cell suitability criteria such that “A WTRU may inform a master node (MN) of an RUL/SUL configuration, for example, during secondary cell group (SCG) failure information reporting” [Freda, 0003].
Claim(s) 9 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0178333, “Liu”) in view of Yiu et al. (US 2019/0253909, “Yiu”) and Wu (US 2019/0254096, provisional application, 62/630262 (“262”)), and further in view of 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #103, R2-1812020 (“020”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Liu unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 9, it is noted that while disclosing RRC configuration for measurement, Liu does not specifically teach about embedding another RRC message. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by 020 as follows;
the method of Claim 8, wherein the RRC message comprises a first RRC message that is embedded in a second RRC message transmitted to the UE via the SRB1 bearer ([020, Section 2.2] “he UE behaviour will only be specified for the case that the embedded NR RRC POU in the LTE RRCConnectionReconfiguration includes secondaryCellGroup and/or measConfig”).
It, therefore, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Liu by using the features of 020 in order to effectively deliver RRC messages such that “Considering that we have many other DC cases in addition to EN-DC, i.e., NE-DC (Option 4), NG-EN-DC (Option 7) and NN-DC, ideally it would be optimal to have a common RRC baseline for all.” [020, Section 2.1].
Regarding claim 18, the UE of Claim 11, wherein the RRC message is received from the master node via an SRB1 bearer ([Wu, 0013] “The communication device 100 connects to the MN and has a first signalling radio bearer (SRB), and the MN transmits a measurement configuration on the first SRB to the communication device 100”)., and wherein the RRC message comprises a first RRC message that is embedded in a second RRC message transmitted to the UE via the SRB1 bearer ([020, Section 2.2] “he UE behaviour will only be specified for the case that the embedded NR RRC POU in the LTE RRCConnectionReconfiguration includes secondaryCellGroup and/or measConfig”).
The rational and motivation for adding this teachings of Wu and 020 are the same as for claims 3 and 9 .
Claim(s) 7 and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0178333, “Liu”) in view of Yiu et al. (US 2019/0253909, “Yiu”) and further in view of Wu (US 2019/0254096, provisional application, 62/630262 (“262”)).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Liu unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, the method of Claim 6 and the UE of claim 16, respectively, wherein the defined SRB comprises a first defined SRB and wherein the second measurement configuration field is associated with a second defined SRB that is different from the first defined SRB ([Wu, 0058] “the second measurement configuration is generated by the second BS. In one example, the second measurement configuration is included in a fourth RRC message (e.g., RRCConnectionReconfiguration or RRCReconfiguration) generated by the second BS, and is transmitted by the second BS on the second SRB to the UE while the UE is in the DC with the first BS and the second BS.”).
Claim(s) 6 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0178333, “Liu”) in view of Yiu et al. (US 2019/0253909, “Yiu”) and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0022011, “Lee”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Liu unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, the method of Claim 1 and the UE of claim 11, respectively,
wherein the first and second measurement configuration fields are each associated with different nodes in a dual connectivity configuration ([Yiu, 0023] “an FR1 measurement gap may be scheduled by the MN and an FR2 measurement gap may be scheduled by the SN so that the UE may comply with respective measurement gaps while operating in respective FR1 and FR2 ranges.”, [Yiu, 0062] “an FR1 measurement gap configuration may correspond to a measurement gap configuration that may be used for an operating frequency or carrier frequency within the range of FR1.”, and [Yiu, 0063] “an FR2 measurement gap configuration may further be configured to the UE to indicate a measurement gap for UE operations in frequency range of FR2.”), and
wherein the respective measurement configuration information elements define distinct measurement objects (See aforesaid [Yiu, 0062 and 0063] “FR1” and “FR2”).
It is noted that while disclosing RRC configuration for measurement, Liu does not specifically teach about configuration for reporting parameters. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Futaki as follows;
reporting parameters for measurements to be performed with respect to the master node and the secondary node ([Futaki, claim 1] “the measurement configuration includes: … measuring Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) and Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of reference signals transmitted in the PCell; measuring RSRP and RSRQ of reference signals transmitted in the added first SCell … reporting, in the PCell to the base station, a measurement report including: the RSRP and the RSRQ in the PCell, the RSRP and the RSRQ in the first SCel”).
It, therefore, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Liu by using the features of Futaki in order to support multiple frequency ranges and sensing such that “The measurement unit operates to perform, using a terminal measurement procedure for executing a first terminal measurement corresponding to radio access technology applied to the radio communication system, a second terminal measurement of a shared frequency shared by a plurality of radio systems” [Futaki, 0013].
Claim(s) 10 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2020/0178333, “Liu”) in view of Freda et al. (US 2020/0396654, “Freda”, provisional application, 62/585878 (“878”)).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Liu unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claims 10 and 19, it is noted that while disclosing RRC configuration for measurement, Liu does not specifically teach about SRB3. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Freda as follows;
the method of Claim 1 and the UE of claim 11, respectively, wherein the RRC message is received from a secondary cell group via an SRB3 bearer ([Freda, 0186] “The WTRU may (e.g. further) apply a determination (e.g. only) for RRC messages that may (e.g. normally) be transmitted on SRB3 (e.g. measurement reports related to measurement configuration configured by an NR SN).”).
It, therefore, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Liu by using the features of Freda in order to provide cell suitability criteria such that “A WTRU may inform a master node (MN) of an RUL/SUL configuration, for example, during secondary cell group (SCG) failure information reporting” [Freda, 0003].
Conclusion
/HARRY H KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411