DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 and 20-21 are pending in this application and have been examined in response to application amendment filed on 05/20/2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Daimler et al. (US 10,754,884 B1) in view of Muntean (US 2025/0252210 A1).
As to INDEPENDENT claim 1, Daimler discloses a server computer system comprising: a communications module (fig.1, “network connection device 174”);
at least one processor coupled to the communications module (fig.1, CPU 171”); and
a memory (fig.1, “memory 160”) coupled to the at least one processor and storing processor-executable instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, configure the at least one processor to: obtain data associated with a plurality of assets (col.1, l.55; asset data is obtained from a database);
group the assets into one or more asset buckets (col.1, l.66-col.2, l.8; assets are grouped by user defined search criteria);
within at least one of the asset buckets, identify at least one representative asset based at least on stored selection criteria (fig.5; representative assets are displayed);
obtain at least one image associated with the at least one representative asset; and
send, via the communications module and to a computing device, an asset summary interface that includes the at least one image associated with the at least one representative asset (fig.1, fig.5; images of the representative assets are displayed in a result summary page). Daimler does not expressly disclose …via an application programming interface (API) request to an API endpoint,…
In the same field of endeavor, Muntean discloses …via an application programming interface (API) request to an API endpoint,…([0058], [0061]; a request is sent to an API endpoint, and data is retrieved to the client).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Daimler and Muntean before him prior to the effective filling date, to modify the asset grouping interface taught by Daimler to include API endpoints taught by Muntean with the motivation being to retrieve requested data from various locations.
INDEPENDENT claim 11 is a method variation of claim 1, claim 11 is therefore rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
INDEPENDENT claim 20 is a non-transitory computer readable medium variation of claim 1, claim 20 is therefore rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claims 6-7, 9 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daimler-Muntean in view of Takahashi et al. (US 10,896,234 B2).
As to claim 6, the prior art as combined does not expressly disclose calculate at least one metric for each asset bucket; and update the asset summary interface to include at least one interface element associated with the calculated at least one metric.
In the same field of endeavor, Takahashi discloses calculate at least one metric for each asset bucket; and update the asset summary interface to include at least one interface element associated with the calculated at least one metric (fig.4, fig.5; col.12, l.19-l.31; a heat map is presented, wherein sizes of the circles represent different aggregated values).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of the prior art as combined and Takahashi before him prior to the effective filling date, to modify the asset grouping interface taught by the prior art as combined to include visually clustering data sets taught by Takahashi with the motivation being to enhance data interpretation by allowing data to be visualized.
As to claim 7, the prior art as combined discloses wherein a size of the at least one interface element displayed on the asset summary interface is based on the calculated at least one metric (Takahashi, fig.4, fig.5; col.12, l.19-l.31; a heat map is presented, wherein sizes of the circles represent different aggregated values).
As to claim 9, the prior art as combined does not expressly disclose wherein the asset summary interface displays at least one indication of each asset, the at least one indication displayed in a particular size based on at least one metric of the asset and in a particular format based on the asset bucket the asset is grouped into.
In the same field of endeavor, Takahashi disclose wherein the asset summary interface displays at least one indication of each asset, the at least one indication displayed in a particular size based on at least one metric of the asset and in a particular format based on the asset bucket the asset is grouped into (col.12, l.19-l.31; assets are visualized by size and color).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of the prior art as combined and Takahashi before him prior to the effective filling date, to modify the asset grouping interface taught by the prior art as combined to include visually clustering data sets taught by Takahashi with the motivation being to enhance data interpretation by allowing data to be visualized.
Claim 16 is a method variation of claim 6, claim 16 is therefore rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Claim 17 is a method variation of claim 7, claim 17 is therefore rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daimler-Muntean in view of O’Toole et al. (US 2014/0218400 A1).
As to claim 8, the prior art as combined does not expressly disclose calculate at least one metric for each asset bucket; and overlay at least one interface element associated with the calculated at least one metric on the static image.
In the same field of endeavor, O’Toole discloses calculate at least one metric for each asset bucket; and overlay at least one interface element associated with the calculated at least one metric on the static image (fig.4, fig.5; metrics “68” are selectable and overlaid on map display “62”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of the prior art as combined and O’Toole before him prior to the effective filling date, to modify the asset grouping interface taught by the prior art as combined to include visual data overlay taught by O’Toole with the motivation being to enhance data interpretation by allowing data to be visualized.
Claim 18 is a method variation of claim 8, claim 18 is therefore rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daimler-Muntean in view of Hong (US 2013/0219315 A1).
As to claim 10, the prior art as combined does not expressly disclose engage a normalization engine to normalize the obtained data associated with the plurality of assets into a particular format.
In the same field of endeavor, Hong discloses engage a normalization engine to normalize the obtained data associated with the plurality of assets into a particular format ([0068]; asset data is normalized).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of the prior art as combined and Hong before him prior to the effective filling date, to modify the asset grouping interface taught by the prior art as combined to include data normalization taught by Hong with the motivation being to reduce confusion by displaying unified dataset.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daimler-Muntean in view of Gibbon et al. (US 2020/0258172 A1).
As to claim 21, the prior art as combined does not expressly disclose wherein the plurality of assets includes one or more assets generated using an artificial intelligence engine trained on asset data.
In the same field of endeavor, Gibbon discloses wherein the plurality of assets includes one or more assets generated using an artificial intelligence engine trained on asset data ([0044]; asset data is usable to train the machine learning engine).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of the prior art as combined and Gibbon before him prior to the effective filling date, to modify the asset grouping interface taught by the prior art as combined to include an artificial intelligence engine taught by Gibbon with the motivation being to enhance asset discovery by using AI.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAOSHIAN SHIH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179