DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
The following is a Non-Final Office Action in response to the Request for Continued Examination filed 01/09/2026. Claims 1—10 and 12—20 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement received 04/23/2024 and 01/20/2025 has been reviewed and considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed on 01/09/2026 with respect to the objection of claims 1 and 12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to claims 1 and 12 is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed on 01/09/2026 with respect to the rejection of claim 21 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Examiner notes that claim 21 has been cancelled thereby rendering the rejection of claim 21 moot.
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed on 01/09/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1—2, 4—8, 12—15, 18, and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in overcoming the prior art rejection of record. The amendments, which include recitation of “a latch receptacle,” necessitate new grounds for rejection. As such, the prior art rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 to Keane in view of Richards is withdrawn and replaced with a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 to Keane in view of Richards and Rytlewski, as provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “anchoring the upper completion assembly in position in the wellbore, via a latch receptacle.” Claim 20 depend from claim 18 which recites “anchoring the upper completion assembly to the lower completion assembly via a latch receptacle after the communicatively coupling of the first line and the second line.” As such, it is unclear whether the anchoring step associated with the latch receptacle as recited in claim 20 is a separate step from that recited in claim 18 or if it is a redundant step. In either case, claim 20 recites the claim element “a latch receptacle,” where a previous recitation of “a latch receptacle,” is already present in claim 18. While it appears that the limitation may be an artifact of the previous claim set, the limitation renders claim 20 indefinite.
For the above cited reasons, claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1—10 and 12—19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published US Patent Application to Keane et al., hereinafter “Keane” (US 20230212915 A1) in view of Published US Patent Application to Richards (US 20100206561 A1) and Published US Patent Application to Rytlewski et al., hereinafter “Rytlewski” (US 20080029274 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Keane discloses [a]n apparatus (completion 26, see para. [0051]) comprising: a lower completion assembly (lower completion stage 28) to be positioned at a depth in a wellbore formed in a subsurface formation deeper than a gravel pack assembly (packer 134 and extension 136; para. [0066], “FIG. 12A shows an example stinger 58 having an extended length and configuration that allows the stinger 58 to pass through a packer 134 and extension 136 (e.g., a gravel pack extension).”) to be positioned in the wellbore (see FIG. 1, where completion 26 is disposed in wellbore 20), wherein the lower completion assembly is configured with a wet mate housing configured to receive a wet mate stinger (housing 32 of receptable 34; para. [0052], “[t]he lower completion stage 28 comprises a housing 32 that forms a receptacle 34 which is run into the wellbore and remains in the wellbore with lower completion stage 28…”), and wherein the wet mate housing is configured with a first wet mate (communication line connector 46) coupled with a first line to be positioned in the wellbore (para. [0052], “[l]ower completion stage 28 also comprises a passageway 42 through housing 32 for routing of a communication line 44 to a communication line connector 46 integrated with the lower completion stage.” The portion of communication line 44 that passes through housing 32 is understood to be a first line communicatively coupled by communication line connector 46.); and an upper completion assembly (upper completion stage 30) to be positioned in the gravel pack assembly and lower completion assembly (para. [0054], “[t]he upper completion stage 30 comprises an upper completion housing 56 that forms a stinger 58 designed for insertion into and engagement with receptacle 34… [t]he surrounding upper body portion 62 may comprise a passageway 70 for routing of a communication line 72 to a communication line connector 74 integrated with the upper completion stage.” Please see FIG. 6 which depicts lower communication line 44 and upper communication line 72 connected via communication line connectors 74 and 46.) and configured with the wet mate stinger, wherein the wet mate stinger comprises: a second wet mate (communication line connector 74) coupled with a second line (communication line 72, see FIG. 3) to be positioned on the upper completion assembly (upper completion 30, para. [0054], “[t]he upper completion stage 30 comprises an upper completion housing 56 that forms a stinger 58 designed for insertion into and engagement with receptacle 34… [t]he surrounding upper body portion 62 may comprise a passageway 70 for routing of a communication line 72 to a communication line connector 74 integrated with the upper completion stage.”), wherein the second wet mate is configured to connect to the first wet mate to communicatively couple the first line and the second line when the wet mate stinger is positioned in the wet mate housing (please see FIG. 9 which depicts lower communication line 44 and upper communication line 72 connected via communication line connectors 74 and 46.).
While Keane discloses an alignment key 64 and anti-rotation features to keep the tool engaged in proper alignment (e.g., see Keane para. [0070]—[0072]), Keane may not disclose:
a compensation spring or equivalents thereof configured to apply a force to the second wet mate to maintain a connection between the first wet mate and the second wet mate when the wet mate stinger is positioned in the wet mate housing; or
a latch receptacle positioned on the lower completion assembly and configured to axially anchor the upper completion assembly to the lower completion assembly after the wet mate stinger is positioned in the wet mate housing.
With regards to the compensation spring or equivalents thereof, Richards, which is in the same field of endeavor as the instant application insofar as it is directed to downhole connectors for communication lines including fiber optic cables, teaches the deficient limitation. For example, compression spring 134 of Richards achieves the feature of maintaining the connection as required by the limitation where Richards states “not only are fiber optic wet mate connectors 146 and fiber optic wet mate connectors 316 coupled together, there is a biasing force created by compressed spring 134 that assures the connections will not be lost. Specifically, compressed spring 134 downwardly biases connector member 136 which in turn applies a downward force on splitter 138 and fiber optic wet mate head 142. This force prevents any decoupling of fiber optic wet mate connectors 146 and fiber optic wet mate connectors 316.” (Richards, para. [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Keane to include the compression spring of Richards where the functions of the components of both Keane and Richards perform the same separately as they do in combination. The combination achieves the predictable result of providing for a feature which prevents to communication lines from decoupling, as described by Richards at para. [0040].
With regards to the limitation directed to the latch receptable, Rytlewski, which is in the same field of endeavor as the instant application insofar as it is directed to communication lines utilizing wet connects which are installed with gravel pack assemblies, teaches the deficient limitation. For example, Rytlewski teaches “an additional downhole retention mechanism 170 can be used to secure upper assembly 76 to lower assembly 78 upon full engagement of the upper and lower assemblies, as illustrated in FIG. 24. In this example, lower assembly 78 comprises a lower latch profile 172 positioned below the one or more lower control line connectors 86. The lower latch profile 172 is designed to engage a corresponding profile 174 located on a lower portion of upper assembly 76.” (Rytlewski, para. [0078]). This additional downhole retention mechanism functions in conjunction with a main latching system (68).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Keane modified by Richards to include the additional downhole retention mechanism of Rytlewski. The additional downhole retention mechanism of Rytlewski, which includes a latch profile disposed on the lower assembly, could be added to Keane modified by Richards where the retention mechanism would perform the same function in both Rytlewski and Keane modified by Richards. The results of the combination would render the predictable result of an additional retention mechanism utilized to secure the lower completion stage 28 of Keane with the upper completion stage 30 of Keane (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)). With this modification, the additional retention mechanism modified in to Keane and Richards will work in conjunction with the main latching system of Keane as cited above.
Regarding claim 2, Keane modified by Richards and Rytlewski teaches wherein the first line and the second line include one or more fiber optic cables, one or more electric lines, one or more hydraulic lines, one or more energy transfer lines, or any combination thereof (Keane, para. [0052], “[c]ommunication line 44 may comprise, for example, a fiber optic line, an electric line, an auxiliary conduit, or control line for transmitting hydraulic or other fluids, or a tubing for receiving a fiber optic line.”; para. [0054], “[a]s with lower completion stage 28, the communication line may comprise, for example, a fiber optic line, an electric line, an auxiliary conduit or control line for transmitting hydraulic or other fluids, or a tubing for receiving a fiber optic line.” Examiner notes that para. [0054] is directed to communication line 72.).
Regarding claim 3, Keane modified by Richards and Rytlewski as described provided in claim 1, may not explicitly teach “the first line is positioned in a sand face of a gravel pack of the wellbore.” However, Rytlewski, teaches the deficient limitation. For example, Rytlewski teaches wherein the first line (control line segment 88 of lower assembly 78) is positioned in a sand face of a gravel pack of the wellbore (para. [0084], “the lower assembly 78 comprises at least one control line connector 86 coupled to control line segment 88. When used in a gravel packing operation, control line segment 88 extends down through screens 224.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the generically recited location of at least a portion of the lower communication line 44 of Keane through a sand screen at the face of a gravel pack/sand face as taught by Rytlewski in order to achieve the predictable result of either one of taking measurements at the sand face or providing a place through which the communication line may pass when installed in combination with a gravel pack.
Keane modified by Richards and Rytlewski teaches the limitations of claims 4 and 5, directed to the wet mate comprising female and male connectors where either connection-type may be interchangeably applied to the upper or lower completion assemblies. For example, Keane discloses “[a]n some configurations, corresponding connectors of the lower completion 30 and upper completion 28, for example, connectors 152 and connectors in or on port(s) 145, are electrical connectors to form an electrical connection between the upper 28 and lower 30 completions. The electrical connectors can be or include, for example, electrical prong connectors that connect to each other, for example, wet-mate electrical connectors available from Diamould. In some configurations, the electrical connectors can be or include inductive coupler components (i.e., a male inductive coupler and a female inductive coupler) to form an electrical connection via an inductive coupler.” (para. [0078]).
Regarding claim 6, Keane modified by Richards and Rytlewski teaches the lower completion assembly (Keane, lower completion stage 28 including housing 32) further comprising: an orienting helix (Keane, shroud 36) configured to align the upper completion assembly with the wet mate housing (Keane, para. [0052], “[h]ousing 32 comprises a lower body section 35 and a shroud 36, e.g. a helical shroud or muleshoe, having an alignment slot 38 and a flush port 40.” Please see FIGs. 1—10).
Regarding claim 7, Keane modified by Richards and Rytlewski discloses wherein a helix straight slot (Keane, alignment slot 38) of the orienting helix (Keane, shroud 36) is azimuthally aligned with the wet mate housing (Keane, para. [0052], ““[h]ousing 32 comprises a lower body section 35 and a shroud 36, e.g. a helical shroud or muleshoe, having an alignment slot 38 and a flush port 40.” Please see FIGs. 1—10), and wherein an orienting key mandrel (Keane, alignment key 64) of the upper completion assembly (Keane, upper completion stage 30) interacts with the helix straight slot to align a wet mate stinger (Keane, stinger 58) on the upper completion assembly with the wet mate housing (Keane, para. [0054], “[t]he upper completion stage 30 comprises an upper completion housing 56 that forms a stinger 58 designed for insertion into and engagement with receptacle 34. Housing 56 may comprise an inner tubing 60, a surrounding upper body portion 62, and an alignment key 64.” Please see also para. [0066] and FIGs. 12A—12D).
Regarding claim 8, Keane modified by Richards and Rytlewski teaches the lower completion assembly further comprising: an indicator coupling (Keane, e.g., anti-rotation locking mechanism of FIGs. 15A—15C; para. [0070], “the stinger 58 is locked against accidental or undesired rotation, for example, via one or more anti-rotation features as shown in FIGS. 15A-15C. When the stinger 58 moves through the packer and reaches the receptacle, a sleeve 186, which may be above or uphole of and/or attached to the packer, allows the stinger to unlock and rotate.”) configured to activate a swivel sub on the upper completion assembly (Keane, swivel sub 142, para. [0067], “The stinger 58 also includes a swivel sub 142… The swivel sub 142 can rotate relative to the tubing string, e.g., relative to the upper completion 30 and/or lower completion 28 in an unlocked configuration…” Examiner notes that stinger 58 is part of upper completion 30), wherein at least a portion of the upper completion assembly below the swivel sub is activated for rotational movement about a central axis (see above citations to Keane along with para. [0071]—[0073] of Keane).
Regarding claim 9, Keane modified by Richards and Rytlewski, as combined in claim 1, may not explicitly teach “a dampening module configured to reduce a downward movement of travel of the upper completion assembly prior to connecting wet mates in the wet mate housing.” However, Rytlewski, teaches the deficient limitation. For example, Rytlewski teaches a dampening module (Rytlewski, soft landing system 145) configured to reduce a downward movement of travel of the upper completion assembly prior to connecting wet mates in the wet mate housing (Rytlewski, para. [0076], “soft landing system 145 slows or dampens the movement of upper assembly 76 and upper control line connector or connectors 92 toward the corresponding lower control line connectors 86. This ensures that extension 96 of upper control line connector 92 moves toward receptacle 90 of lower control line connector 86 and a through any debris covers 164 in a controlled manner, as illustrated best in FIG. 20.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the soft landing system 145 of Rytlewski into the completion system 26 of Keane modified by Richards and Rytlewski by known methods (e.g., as provided by Rytlewski) in order to achieve the predictable result of engaging the upper connector and the lower connector in a controlled manner. Rytlewski indicates at para. [0076] that executing the connection in a controlled manner is desirable and provides multiple avenues by which this may be accomplished. Please see Rytlewski, para. [0075]—[0078].
The limitations of claim 10 are taught by the combination of Keane as modified by Rytlewski in claim 9. For example, The orienting helix of Keane would align the upper and lower completion stages of Keane as described in para. [0056] of Keane. As noted above with respect to claim 9, the spring biased sleeves, which may function to dampen the engagement between the upper completion stage and the lower completion stage, are activated after the alignment described in para. [0056] of Keane takes place. The modification provided by Rytlewski, as described in claim 9, functions either together with, or as a replacement for, the biasing springs, such that the dampening of the engagement occurs after the alignment of the wet mate takes place.
Regarding claim 12, Keane discloses [a] system comprising: a gravel pack assembly (“packer 134 and extension 136 (e.g., a gravel pack extension)”) to be positioned in a wellbore formed in a subsurface formation (para. [0066], “FIG. 12A shows an example stinger 58 having an extended length and configuration that allows the stinger 58 to pass through a packer 134 and extension 136 (e.g., a gravel pack extension).”); a lower completion assembly (lower completion stage 28) to be positioned at a depth in the wellbore deeper than the gravel pack assembly (see FIG. 12A referenced above), wherein the lower completion assembly is configured with a wet mate housing configured to receive a wet mate stinger (housing 32 of receptable 34; para. [0052], “[t]he lower completion stage 28 comprises a housing 32 that forms a receptacle 34 which is run into the wellbore and remains in the wellbore with lower completion stage 28…”), and wherein the wet mate housing is configured with a first wet mate (communication line connector 46) coupled with a first line to be positioned in the wellbore (para. [0052], “[l]ower completion stage 28 also comprises a passageway 42 through housing 32 for routing of a communication line 44 to a communication line connector 46 integrated with the lower completion stage.” The portion of communication line 44 that passes through housing 32 is understood to be a first line communicatively coupled by communication line connector 46.); and an upper completion assembly (upper completion stage 30) to be positioned in the gravel pack assembly and lower completion assembly (para. [0054], “[t]he upper completion stage 30 comprises an upper completion housing 56 that forms a stinger 58 designed for insertion into and engagement with receptacle 34… [t]he surrounding upper body portion 62 may comprise a passageway 70 for routing of a communication line 72 to a communication line connector 74 integrated with the upper completion stage.” Please see FIG. 6 which depicts lower communication line 44 and upper communication line 72 connected via communication line connectors 74 and 46.) and configured with the wet mate stinger, wherein the wet mate stinger comprises: a second wet mate (communication line connector 74) coupled with a second line (communication line 72, see FIG. 3) to be positioned on the upper completion assembly (upper completion 30, para. [0054], “[t]he upper completion stage 30 comprises an upper completion housing 56 that forms a stinger 58 designed for insertion into and engagement with receptacle 34… [t]he surrounding upper body portion 62 may comprise a passageway 70 for routing of a communication line 72 to a communication line connector 74 integrated with the upper completion stage.”), wherein the second wet mate is configured to connect to the first wet mate to communicatively couple the first line and the second line when the wet mate stinger is positioned in the wet mate housing (please see FIG. 9 which depicts lower communication line 44 and upper communication line 72 connected via communication line connectors 74 and 46.).
While Keane discloses an alignment key 64 and anti-rotation features to keep the tool engaged in proper alignment (e.g., see Keane para. [0070]—[0072]), Keane may not disclose:
a compensation spring or equivalents thereof configured to apply a force to the second wet mate to maintain a connection between the first wet mate and the second wet mate when the wet mate stinger is positioned in the wet mate housing; or
a latch receptacle positioned on the lower completion assembly and configured to axially anchor the upper completion assembly to the lower completion assembly after the wet mate stinger is positioned in the wet mate housing.
With regards to the compensation spring or equivalents thereof, Richards, which is in the same field of endeavor as the instant application insofar as it is directed to downhole connectors for communication lines including fiber optic cables, teaches the deficient limitation. For example, compression spring 134 of Richards achieves the feature of maintaining the connection as required by the limitation where Richards states “not only are fiber optic wet mate connectors 146 and fiber optic wet mate connectors 316 coupled together, there is a biasing force created by compressed spring 134 that assures the connections will not be lost. Specifically, compressed spring 134 downwardly biases connector member 136 which in turn applies a downward force on splitter 138 and fiber optic wet mate head 142. This force prevents any decoupling of fiber optic wet mate connectors 146 and fiber optic wet mate connectors 316.” (Richards, para. [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Keane to include the compression spring of Richards where the functions of the components of both Keane and Richards perform the same separately as they do in combination. The combination achieves the predictable result of providing for a feature which prevents to communication lines from decoupling, as described by Richards at para. [0040].
With regards to the limitation directed to the latch receptable, Rytlewski, which is in the same field of endeavor as the instant application insofar as it is directed to communication lines utilizing wet connects which are installed with gravel pack assemblies, teaches the deficient limitation. For example, Rytlewski teaches “an additional downhole retention mechanism 170 can be used to secure upper assembly 76 to lower assembly 78 upon full engagement of the upper and lower assemblies, as illustrated in FIG. 24. In this example, lower assembly 78 comprises a lower latch profile 172 positioned below the one or more lower control line connectors 86. The lower latch profile 172 is designed to engage a corresponding profile 174 located on a lower portion of upper assembly 76.” (Rytlewski, para. [0078]). This additional downhole retention mechanism functions in conjunction with a main latching system (68).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Keane modified by Richards to include the additional downhole retention mechanism of Rytlewski. The additional downhole retention mechanism of Rytlewski, which includes a latch profile disposed on the lower assembly, could be added to Keane modified by Richards where the retention mechanism would perform the same function in both Rytlewski and Keane modified by Richards. The results of the combination would render the predictable result of an additional retention mechanism utilized to secure the lower completion stage 28 of Keane with the upper completion stage 30 of Keane (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)). With this modification, the additional retention mechanism modified in to Keane and Richards will work in conjunction with the main latching system of Keane as cited above.
Regarding claim 13, Keane modified by Richards and Rytlewski teaches the lower completion assembly (Keane, lower completion stage 28 including housing 32) further comprising: an orienting helix (Keane, shroud 36) configured to align the upper completion assembly with the wet mate housing (Keane, para. [0052], “[h]ousing 32 comprises a lower body section 35 and a shroud 36, e.g. a helical shroud or muleshoe, having an alignment slot 38 and a flush port 40.” Please see FIGs. 1—10).
Regarding claim 14, Keane modified by Richards and Rytlewski teaches wherein a helix straight slot (Keane, alignment slot 38) of the orienting helix (Keane, shroud 36) is azimuthally aligned with the wet mate housing (Keane, para. [0052], “[h]ousing 32 comprises a lower body section 35 and a shroud 36, e.g. a helical shroud or muleshoe, having an alignment slot 38 and a flush port 40.” Please see FIGs. 1—10), and wherein an orienting key mandrel (Keane, alignment key 64) of the upper completion assembly (Keane, upper completion stage 30) interacts with the helix straight slot to align a wet mate stinger (Keane, stinger 58) on the upper completion assembly with the wet mate housing (Keane, para. [0054], “[t]he upper completion stage 30 comprises an upper completion housing 56 that forms a stinger 58 designed for insertion into and engagement with receptacle 34. Housing 56 may comprise an inner tubing 60, a surrounding upper body portion 62, and an alignment key 64.” Please see also para. [0066] and FIGs. 12A—12D).
Regarding claim 15, Keane modified by Richards and Rytlewski teaches the lower completion assembly further comprising: an indicator coupling (Keane, e.g., anti-rotation locking mechanism of FIGs. 15A—15C; para. [0070], “the stinger 58 is locked against accidental or undesired rotation, for example, via one or more anti-rotation features as shown in FIGS. 15A-15C. When the stinger 58 moves through the packer and reaches the receptacle, a sleeve 186, which may be above or uphole of and/or attached to the packer, allows the stinger to unlock and rotate.”) configured to activate a swivel sub on the upper completion assembly (Keane, swivel sub 142, para. [0067], “The stinger 58 also includes a swivel sub 142… The swivel sub 142 can rotate relative to the tubing string, e.g., relative to the upper completion 30 and/or lower completion 28 in an unlocked configuration…” Examiner notes that stinger 58 is part of upper completion 30), wherein at least a portion of the upper completion assembly below the swivel sub is activated for rotational movement about a central axis (see above citations to Keane along with para. [0071]—[0073] of Keane).
Regarding claim 16, Keane modified by Richards and Rytlewski, as combined in claim 12, may not explicitly teach “a dampening module configured to reduce a downward movement of travel of the upper completion assembly prior to connecting wet mates in the wet mate housing.” However, Rytlewski, teaches the deficient limitation. For example, Rytlewski teaches a dampening module (Rytlewski, soft landing system 145) configured to reduce a downward movement of travel of the upper completion assembly prior to connecting wet mates in the wet mate housing (Rytlewski, para. [0076], “soft landing system 145 slows or dampens the movement of upper assembly 76 and upper control line connector or connectors 92 toward the corresponding lower control line connectors 86. This ensures that extension 96 of upper control line connector 92 moves toward receptacle 90 of lower control line connector 86 and a through any debris covers 164 in a controlled manner, as illustrated best in FIG. 20.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the soft landing system 145 of Rytlewski into the completion system 26 of Keane modified by Richards and Rytlewski by known methods (e.g., as provided by Rytlewski) in order to achieve the predictable result of engaging the upper connector and the lower connector in a controlled manner. Rytlewski indicates at para. [0076] that executing the connection in a controlled manner is desirable and provides multiple avenues by which this may be accomplished. Please see Rytlewski, para. [0075]—[0078].
The limitations of claim 17 are taught by the combination of Keane as modified by Rytlewski in claim 9. For example, The orienting helix of Keane would align the upper and lower completion stages of Keane as described in para. [0056] of Keane. As noted above with respect to claim 16, the spring biased sleeves, which may function to dampen the engagement between the upper completion stage and the lower completion stage, are activated after the alignment described in para. [0056] of Keane takes place. The additional modification provided by Rytlewski, as described in claim 16, functions either together with, or as a replacement for, the biasing springs, such that the dampening of the engagement occurs after the alignment of the wet mate takes place.
Regarding claim 18, Keane discloses positioning a gravel pack assembly (packer 134 and extension 136; para. [0066], “FIG. 12A shows an example stinger 58 having an extended length and configuration that allows the stinger 58 to pass through a packer 134 and extension 136 (e.g., a gravel pack extension).”) and a lower completion assembly (lower completion stage 28 of completion 26; para. [0051], “[a] completion 26 is illustrated in cross-sectional profile as having a first or lower completion stage 28 and a second or upper completion stage 30.”;) in a wellbore formed in a subsurface formation (see FIG. 1, where completion 26 is disposed in wellbore 20; Examiner notes that in order for completion 26 to be disposed in wellbore 20, it has to be positioned/placed in the wellbore), wherein the lower completion assembly is at a depth deeper than the gravel pack assembly(See FIG. 11 which depicts, from top to bottom, packer 134, extension 136, receptable 34, and lower completion station 28 where packer 134 and extension 136 comprise the gravel pack assembly), and wherein the lower completion assembly is configured with a wet mate housing (housing 32 of receptable 34; para. [0052], “[t]he lower completion stage 28 comprises a housing 32 that forms a receptacle 34 which is run into the wellbore and remains in the wellbore with lower completion stage 28…”) comprising a first wet mate (communication line connector 46) coupled with a first line positioned in the wellbore (para. [0052], “[l]ower completion stage 28 also comprises a passageway 42 through housing 32 for routing of a communication line 44 to a communication line connector 46 integrated with the lower completion stage.” The portion of communication line 44 that passes through housing 32 is understood to be a first line communicatively coupled by communication line connector 46.) and configured to receive a wet mate stinger (stinger 58, para. [0054], “[t]he upper completion stage 30 comprises an upper completion housing 56 that forms a stinger 58 designed for insertion into and engagement with receptacle 34… [t]he surrounding upper body portion 62 may comprise a passageway 70 for routing of a communication line 72 to a communication line connector 74 integrated with the upper completion stage.” Please see FIG. 6 which depicts lower communication line 44 and upper communication line 72 connected via communication line connectors 74 and 46.); positioning an upper completion assembly (upper completion stage 30) configured with the wet mate stinger in the gravel pack assembly and lower completion assembly (see para. [0054] above), wherein the wet mate stinger (stinger 58) includes a second wet mate (communication line connector 74) coupled with a second line (communication line 72, see FIG. 3) positioned on the upper completion assembly (upper completion 30, para. [0054], “[t]he upper completion stage 30 comprises an upper completion housing 56 that forms a stinger 58 designed for insertion into and engagement with receptacle 34… [t]he surrounding upper body portion 62 may comprise a passageway 70 for routing of a communication line 72 to a communication line connector 74 integrated with the upper completion stage.”); and communicatively coupling the first line (communication line 44) and the second line (communication line 72), via the first wet mate and the second wet mate when the wet mate stinger is positioned in the wet mate housing (please see FIG. 9 which depicts lower communication line 44 and upper communication line 72 connected via communication line connectors 74 and 46).
While Keane discloses an alignment key 64 and anti-rotation features to keep the tool engaged in proper alignment (e.g., see Keane para. [0070]—[0072]), Keane may not disclose:
wherein one or more mechanisms positioned on the wet mate stinger are configured to apply a force to the second wet mate to maintain a connection between the first wet mate and the second wet mate; and
anchoring the upper completion assembly to the lower completion assembly via a latch receptacle after the communicatively coupling the first line and the second line.
Regarding the one or more mechanisms… configured to apply a force, Richards, which is in the same field of endeavor as the instant application insofar as it is directed to downhole connectors for communication lines including fiber optic cables, teaches the deficient limitation. For example, compression spring 134 of Richards achieves the feature of maintaining the connection as required by the limitation where Richards states “not only are fiber optic wet mate connectors 146 and fiber optic wet mate connectors 316 coupled together, there is a biasing force created by compressed spring 134 that assures the connections will not be lost. Specifically, compressed spring 134 downwardly biases connector member 136 which in turn applies a downward force on splitter 138 and fiber optic wet mate head 142. This force prevents any decoupling of fiber optic wet mate connectors 146 and fiber optic wet mate connectors 316.” (Richards, para. [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Keane to include the compression spring of Richards where the functions of the components of both Keane and Richards perform the same separately as they do in combination. The combination achieves the predictable result of providing for a feature which prevents to communication lines from decoupling, as described by Richards at para. [0040].
With regards to the limitation directed to the latch receptable, Rytlewski, which is in the same field of endeavor as the instant application insofar as it is directed to communication lines utilizing wet connects which are installed with gravel pack assemblies, teaches the deficient limitation. For example, Rytlewski teaches “an additional downhole retention mechanism 170 can be used to secure upper assembly 76 to lower assembly 78 upon full engagement of the upper and lower assemblies, as illustrated in FIG. 24. In this example, lower assembly 78 comprises a lower latch profile 172 positioned below the one or more lower control line connectors 86. The lower latch profile 172 is designed to engage a corresponding profile 174 located on a lower portion of upper assembly 76.” (Rytlewski, para. [0078]). This additional downhole retention mechanism functions in conjunction with a main latching system (68).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Keane modified by Richards to include the additional downhole retention mechanism of Rytlewski. The additional downhole retention mechanism of Rytlewski, which includes a latch profile disposed on the lower assembly, could be added to Keane modified by Richards where the retention mechanism would perform the same function in both Rytlewski and Keane modified by Richards. The results of the combination would render the predictable result of an additional retention mechanism utilized to secure the lower completion stage 28 of Keane with the upper completion stage 30 of Keane (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)). With this modification, the additional retention mechanism modified in to Keane and Richards will work in conjunction with the main latching system of Keane as cited above. The upper and lower assemblies are secured with the retention mechanism upon full engagement of the assemblies as described above in para. [0078] of Rytlewski. As such, the assemblies are anchored together after being communicatively coupled, as required by the claim.
Regarding claim 19, Keane modified in claim 18 by Richards and Rytlewski, discloses activating a swivel sub on the upper completion assembly (Keane, swivel sub 142, para. [0067], “The stinger 58 also includes a swivel sub 142… The swivel sub 142 can rotate relative to the tubing string, e.g., relative to the upper completion 30 and/or lower completion 28 in an unlocked configuration…” Examiner notes that stinger 58 is part of upper completion 30); orienting the upper completion assembly via an orienting helix on the lower completion assembly (Keane, para. [0052], “[h]ousing 32 comprises a lower body section 35 and a shroud 36, e.g. a helical shroud or muleshoe, having an alignment slot 38 and a flush port 40.” Please see FIGs. 1—10);… and connecting the first wet mate on the wet mate housing with a second wet mate on a wet mate stinger of the upper completion assembly (Keane, para. [0054], “[t]he upper completion stage 30 comprises an upper completion housing 56 that forms a stinger 58 designed for insertion into and engagement with receptacle 34. Housing 56 may comprise an inner tubing 60, a surrounding upper body portion 62, and an alignment key 64.” Please see also para. [0066] and FIGs. 12A—12D)
Keane further discloses telescoping springs where “telescoping spring (not shown) can be used to hold telescoping body 62 in an open position to ensure that sleeves 48 and 76 are retracted and chamber 92 is fully opened before the telescoping process begins. Relative spring rates between the telescoping spring and the spring biased sleeves can be used to control this mating sequence.” (Keane, para. [0062]). However, it is not clear that Keane as modified in claim 18 by Richards and Rytlewski explicitly discloses “applying a weight to the upper completion assembly to engage a dampening module on the lower completion assembly.” However, Rytlewski, teaches the deficient limitation. For example, Rytlewski teaches applying a weight to the upper completion assembly to engage a dampening module (Rytlewski, soft landing system 145) on the lower completion assembly (Rytlewski, para. [0076], “soft landing system 145 slows or dampens the movement of upper assembly 76 and upper control line connector or connectors 92 toward the corresponding lower control line connectors 86. This ensures that extension 96 of upper control line connector 92 moves toward receptacle 90 of lower control line connector 86 and a through any debris covers 164 in a controlled manner, as illustrated best in FIG. 20.”; Rytlewski, para. [0072], “one embodiment of soft landing system 145 comprises one or more soft landing pistons 146 each slidably mounted in a cylinder 148 formed in an expanded region 150 of housing 144… As each piston 146 is moved along cylinder 148, the hydraulic fluid is forced past the piston in a direction opposite to the direction of piston movement and into cylinder 148 on an opposite side of the piston. This forced migration of hydraulic fluid provides a dampening effect that facilitates a smooth and secure mating of the upper control line connector 92 with the lower control line connector 86.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the soft landing system 145 of Rytlewski into the completion system 26 of Keane by known methods (e.g., as provided by Rytlewski) in order to achieve the predictable result of engaging the upper connector and the lower connector in a controlled manner. Rytlewski indicates at para. [0076] that executing the connection in a controlled manner is desirable and provides multiple avenues by which this may be accomplished. Please see Rytlewski, para. [0075]—[0078].
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published US Patent Application to Keane et al., hereinafter “Keane” (US 20230212915 A1) in view of in view of Published US Patent Application to Richards (US 20100026561 A1) and Published US Patent Application to Rytlewski et al., hereinafter “Rytlewski” (US 20080029274 A1) as applied above to claim 19, and in further view of Published US Patent Application to Tips et al., hereinafter “Tips” (US 20140083683 A1).
While Rytlewski teaches the limitations directed to the latch receptable as provided above in claim 18, Keane modified by Richards and Rytlewski may not explicitly teach each and every limitation of claim 20. However, Tips, which is in the same field of endeavor insofar as it is directed to utilizing a wet mate connector in a wellbore/completion assembly where the wellbore/completion assembly includes a gravel packing assembly teaches the deficient limitations.
For example, Tips teaches confirming connection of the first wet mate and the second wet mate in the wet mate housing (Tips, para. [0033], “[o]nce the wet mate connections are made and communication via the energy conductors therein is tested and confirmed.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the specific method steps of Tips into the method of Keane as modified by Richards and Rytlewski in order to achieve the predictable result of the testing and confirming the connection between the communication lines and securing the completion system in the wellbore.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Published US Patent Application to Wolters et al. (US 20250207465 A1) which teaches a wet mate connection where the upper connection assembly 110 includes connection mechanism 119 (e.g., a latch) and the lower connection assembly 130 includes a latching profile as discussed in para. [0095] and depicted in FIGs. 6 and 7;
Published US Patent Application to Shen et al. (US 20240191585 A1) which teaches a latch assembly which may be used in wellbore assemblies; and
Published US Patent Application to Cassidy et al. (US 20230323738 A1) which teaches a fiber optic wet mate comprising upper and lower connectors which include a helical alignment sleeve which engages with an alignment key which may further include a spring latch with engages with a latch key.
/U.L.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676