DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 10 and 19, the limitation “oxide gap fil material” should be corrected to “oxide gap fill material”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, the term “high aspect ratio” in claims 1 and 12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is also unclear which dimension of the gap is being considered in this aspect ratio. For purpose of examination, any ratio is considered to read on the claim limitations. However, Applicant should clarify what is expected, without adding new matter. It is also unclear the numbers of “volume that is about 1.1 to about 2 greater” is being referred to as they have no units, they can be interpreted as about 1.1 to about 2 cm3, mm3 or times. For purpose of examination, the limitation is being interpreted as “volume that is about 1.1 to about 2 times greater”. However, Applicant should clarify what is expected, without adding new matter.
Claims 6 and 16 recites the limitation "the radical". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purpose of examination, claim 6 and 16 are interpreted to depend on claims 5 and 15, respectively. However, Applicant should clarify what is expected, without adding new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US20180350668) in view of Swenberg (US20200075332).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng teaches a method of gap filling of high aspect ratio features on a substrate (abstract, paragraph 0007), wherein the substrate have a high aspect ratio opening defining a gap between two or more features of the substrate (paragraphs 0017-0018) Cheng teaches to expose the substrate to a silicon precursor and a reactant plasma in a processing chamber to form a first film (expansion film) (paragraphs 0009, 0023, 0025-0026), wherein the precursor and the reactant plasma are sequentially exposed to the substate in an plasma enhanced atomic layer deposition (ALD) process (paragraphs 0025-0026). A precursor film is considered to be form on the substate by the precursor as it is known the precursor are being absorbed on the surface of the substrate to react with the reactant during ALD process. Cheng’s first film is silicon-containing material including silicon (paragraphs 0009, 0039), which is the same expansion film material of the instant claimed invention (forming a precursor film by delivering a precursor to a substate in a processing chamber, forming an expansion film by treating the precursor film with plasma). Cheng teaches to subject the first film with an oxygen containing compound to form an oxide film including silicon oxide (paragraphs 0039-0041, claim 10) to fill the gap (pargraph 0045) (delivering an oxygen containing compound to the expansion film to form an oxide gap fill material).
Cheng does not explicitly teach the oxide gap fill material have volume of about 1.1 to about 2 greater than the expansion film. However, Swenberg teaches a method of forming a silicon cap (abstract) and discloses silicon is oxidized by exposing to oxidant to form silicon oxide (paragraphs 0040-0042), wherein oxidation of the silicon results in volumetric expansion to provide a greater thickness of the silicon oxide layer than the silicon which was oxidized (paragraph 0042-0044). Swenberg teaches a silicon layer of about 3nm can be oxidized to form about 4nm of silicon oxide on 1nm of the remaining silicon layer and the oxidation process may oxidize 100% of the thickness of the silicon layer (pargraph 0043), thus, Swenberg teaches the volume of the oxide gap fill material (silicon oxide) is about 2 times greater than the expansion film (silicon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the oxide material with a volume that is greater than the expansion film as suggested by Swenberg in the method of Cheng because Swenberg teaches the oxidation of the silicon results in volumetric expansion to provide a greater thickness of the resulting layer (paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 2, Cheng teaches the temperature during deposition of the first film, including delivering the precursor to the substate, is in the range of about 100 to 500ºC (paragraph 0029), which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 4, Cheng teaches the first film is 0.1 to 100Å (paragraph 0031), and the precursor film is expected to be smaller than such thickness, which overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 5, Cheng teaches to treat the precursor film with the plasma comprises flowing a radical into the processing chamber (paragraph 0027).
Regarding claim 6, Cheng teaches the N2 plasma which is radical comprise N* containing radicals selected from N* (paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 7, Cheng teaches the expansion film comprises a silicon containing compound (paragraphs 0009, 0038).
Regarding claim 8, Cheng teaches the expansion film is silicon or silicon nitride (paragraphs 0009, 0038).
Regarding claim 9, Cheng teaches the expansion film is silicon (paragraphs 0009 and 0038), which is the same as the claimed invention, thus, intricially has Pilling-Bedworth ratio of about 2, which touches the claimed range. When a touching or overlapping range is found in the prior art, this is considered sufficient to support a holding of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 10, Cheng teaches to fill the gap of the substrate with the oxide gap fill material (paragraph 0045).
Regarding claim 11, Cheng teaches the oxygen containing compound is diatomic oxygen, ozone, water, nitrous oxide and oxygen plasma (paragraphs 0040-0041).
Regarding claim 12, Cheng teaches a method of gap filling of high aspect ratio features on a substrate (abstract, paragraph 0007), wherein the substrate have a high aspect ratio opening defining a gap between two or more features of the substrate (paragraphs 0017-0018) Cheng teaches to expose the substrate to a silicon precursor and a reactant plasma in a processing chamber to form a first film (expansion film) (paragraphs 0009, 0023, 0025-0026), wherein the precursor and the reactant plasma are sequentially exposed to the substate in an plasma enhanced atomic layer deposition (ALD) process (paragraphs 0025-0026) (the plasma and the precursor are alternated cyclically to form the expansion film). A precursor film is considered to be form on the substate by the precursor as it is known the precursor are being absorbed on the surface of the substrate to react with the reactant during ALD process. Cheng’s first film is silicon-containing material including silicon (paragraphs 0009, 0039), which is the same expansion film material of the instant claimed invention (forming a precursor film by delivering a precursor to a substate in a processing chamber, forming an expansion film by treating the precursor film with plasma). Cheng teaches to subject the first film with an oxygen containing compound to form an oxide film, including silicon oxide (paragraphs 0039-0041, claim 10) to fill the gap (pargraph 0045) (delivering an oxygen containing compound to the expansion film to form an oxide gap fill material). Cheng teaches the formation of the first film (expansion film) and treating of first film to form the second film (delivering oxygen containing compound to the expansion film) are repeated for multiple cycles to reach the desired thickness of the oxide gap fill material (paragraph 0045, figure 1).
Cheng does not explicitly teach the oxide gap fill material have volume of about 1.1 to about 2 greater than the expansion film. However, Swenberg teaches a method of forming a silicon cap (abstract) and discloses silicon is oxidized by exposing to oxidant to form silicon oxide (paragraphs 0040-0042), wherein oxidation of the silicon results in volumetric expansion to provide a greater thickness of the silicon oxide layer than the silicon which was oxidized (paragraph 0042-0044). Swenberg teaches a silicon layer of about 3nm can be oxidized to form about 4nm of silicon oxide on 1nm of the remaining silicon layer and the oxidation process may oxidize 100% of the thickness of the silicon layer (pargraph 0043), thus, Swenberg teaches the volume of the oxide gap fill material (silicon oxide) is about 2 times greater than the expansion film (silicon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the oxide material with a volume that is greater than the expansion film as suggested by Swenberg in the method of Cheng because Swenberg teaches the oxidation of the silicon results in volumetric expansion to provide a greater thickness of the resulting layer (paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 13, Cheng teaches the temperature during deposition of the first film, including delivering the precursor to the substate, is in the range of about 100 to 500ºC (paragraph 0029), which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 14, Cheng teaches the first film is 0.1 to 100Å (paragraph 0031), and the precursor film is expected to be smaller than such thickness, which overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 15, Cheng teaches to treat the precursor film with the plasma comprises flowing a radical into the processing chamber (paragraph 0027).
Regarding claim 16, Cheng teaches the N2 plasma which is radical comprise N* containing radicals selected from N* (paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 17, Cheng teaches the expansion film comprises a silicon containing compound, including silicon or silicon nitride (paragraphs 0009, 0038).
Regarding claim 18, Cheng teaches the expansion film is silicon (paragraphs 0009 and 0038), which is the same as the claimed invention, thus, intricially has Pilling-Bedworth ratio of about 2, which touches the claimed range. When a touching or overlapping range is found in the prior art, this is considered sufficient to support a holding of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 19, Cheng teaches to fill the gap of the substrate with the oxide gap fill material (paragraph 0045).
Regarding claim 20, Cheng teaches the oxygen containing compound is diatomic oxygen, ozone, water, nitrous oxide and oxygen plasma (paragraphs 0040-0041).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US20180350668) in view of Swenberg (US20200075332) as applied to claims 1-2 and 4-20, and further in view of Golovchenko (CN101203740).
Regarding claim 3, Cheng in view of Swenberg teaches all limitations of this claim, except the duration of delivering the precursor. However, Golovchenko teaches a ALD method (paragraph 0106) and discloses duration of each processing step in one ALD rection cycles is selected of sufficient reaction time without providing excessive precursor or exhaust (paragraph 0111). Therefore, it would have been within the skill of the ordinary artisan to adjust and optimize the duration for delivery the precursor in the ALD process to yield sufficient reaction time without providing excessive precursor or exhaust . Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: George (US20180223437, paragraphs 0053, 0060 and 0069).
/NGA LEUNG V LAW/ Examiner, Art Unit 1717