Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed subject matter in the limitations of Claims 10-11, 15-16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Claim 10 recites “an information handling system, comprising:…”, no Figures or Drawings depict an “information handling system” wherein comprising a graphics card that includes an exhaust fin; and a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) add-in card disposed adjacent to the graphics card, the Figures and Drawings depict “a graphics card that includes an exhaust fin; and a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) add-in card disposed adjacent to the graphics card”, but not the “information handling system”.
Claim 11 recites the “information handling system”, no Figures or Drawings depict the “information handling system”, the Figures and Drawings depict “the PCIe add-in card includes a fan duct”, but not the “information handling system” or how the “fan duct” is “configured to block the airflow from re-circulating in the information handling system” as the Figures and Drawings depict an opening.
Claim 15 recites “An information handling system comprising: a chassis enclosure that includes:… an add-in card disposed adjacent to the graphics card and configured to direct airflow from the exhaust fin through vent holes of the graphics card”,
no Figures or Drawings depict the “information handling system” or the “chassis enclosure”, the Figures and Drawings depict “a graphics card that includes an exhaust fin; and an add-in card disposed adjacent to the graphics card”, but not the “information handling system” or the “chassis enclosure” and
for the limitation “an add-in card… configured to direct airflow from the exhaust fin through vent holes of the graphics card”, no Figures or Drawings depict “an add-in card… configured to direct airflow from the exhaust fin through vent holes of the graphics card” or “vent holes of the graphics card”, the Figures and Drawings depict “vent holes” of the “add-in card”, the Examiner recommends amending the limitations of Claim 15 to read “an add-in card… configured to direct airflow from the exhaust fin through vent holes of the add-in card” to rectify the drawing objection with regards to “an add-in card… configured to direct airflow from the exhaust fin through vent holes of the graphics card”.
Claim 16 recites the “information handling system”, no Figures or Drawings depict the “information handling system”, the Figures and Drawings depict “the add-in card includes a fan duct”, but not the “information handling system” or how the “fan duct” is “configured to block the airflow from re-circulating in the information handling system” as the Figures and Drawings depict an opening.
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: UNIVERSAL PERIPHERAL COMPONENT INTERCONNECT EXPRESS ADD-IN CARD COMPRISING A BRACKET AND A FAN DUCT CONFIGURED TO DIRECT AN AIRFLOW OF AN ADJACENT GRAPHICS CARD.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 10-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites “configured to direct airflow”, to avoid antecedent issues, “configured to direct airflow” should be changed to read “configured to direct an airflow”.
Claim 10 recites “configured to direct airflow”, to avoid antecedent issues, “configured to direct airflow” should be changed to read “configured to direct an airflow”.
Claim 15 recites “configured to direct airflow from the exhaust fin through vent holes of the graphics card”, to avoid antecedent issues, “configured to direct airflow from the exhaust fin through vent holes of the graphics card” should be changed to read “configured to direct an airflow from the exhaust fin through vent holes of the add-in card”.
Claim 11-14 are also objected to since they depend on Claim 10 and inherit the
deficiency therein.
Claim 16-20 are also objected to since they depend on Claim 15 and inherit the
deficiency therein.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 6.772.246 - hereinafter, "Kim") in view of Memon (US 8,159,819 - hereinafter, "Memon").
With respect to Claim 1 , Kim teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
An add-in card (30) comprising:
a bracket (38); and
a fan duct (40+70) that is affixed to the bracket (38),
wherein the fan duct (40+70) is configured to create a partition (see Figure 2, 4-5) between an exhaust (see Figure 4-5, vent holes on bracket (38)) and an intake fan (34) of a graphics card (36) that is disposed adjacent to the add-in card (30).
Kim fails to specifically teach or suggest an exhaust fin of a graphics card
Memon, however, teaches (in Figure 1 and in column 7, lines 17-22)
an exhaust fin (slats, in column 7, lines 20-22, “Additional vents, such as slats, may be provided on the end 164 or other parts of the cover 158 to enhance air flow across the thermal management system 100”) of a graphics card (102).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Memon with Kim, such that an exhaust fin of a graphics card as taught by Memon since doing so would enhance air flow of Kim’s graphics card (in column 7, lines 17-22)
With respect to Claim 2, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the add-in card (30) is a single-wide PCIe add-in card (see Figure 2, 4-5, the add-in card (30) is inserted into a single PCIe slot (28), in column 4, lines 17-22, “FIG. 4 shows a perspective side view of the PCI riser assembly 30 and shows a PCI riser connector 70. The PCI riser connector 70 is inserted into the conventional PCI-type edge connector 28 located on the motherboard 20 when the PCI riser assembly 30 is installed in the computer assembly 10”, thus is a single PCIe add-in card).
With respect to Claim 3, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the bracket (38) includes vent holes (see Figure 4-5, vent holes on bracket (38)).
With respect to Claim 4, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the add-in card (30) is disposed adjacent to the graphics card (36, see Figure 2, 4-5, in column 1, lines 16-23, “The motherboard typically includes a number of connectors or slots in which special purpose printed circuit boards, often referred to as peripheral component interface (PCI) bus cards or "cards", may be inserted. These special purpose cards may be used to add to or enhance the functionality of the computer system. For example, a conventional computer system may have its graphics capability enhanced by the addition of a graphics card” and in column 3, lines 20-23, “Two printed circuit boards, such as conventional PCI cards 36 are shown disposed within and attached to the PCI riser assembly 30”)
With respect to Claim 5, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the fan duct (40+70) is configured to direct airflow to vent holes (see Figure 4-5, vent holes on bracket (38)) of the bracket (38).
With respect to Claim 6, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the fan duct (40+70) includes a sloped side (see Figure 4-5, near the bracket (38), the fan duct (40+70), a portion of (70) includes a sloped side leading to bracket (38))
With respect to Claim 7, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the fan duct (40+70) includes a notch (small indentations or protrusions on (70), see Figure 4-5, in column 4, lines 17-22, “FIG. 4 shows a perspective side view of the PCI riser assembly 30 and shows a PCI riser connector 70. The PCI riser connector 70 is inserted into the conventional PCI-type edge connector 28 located on the motherboard 20 when the PCI riser assembly 30 is installed in the computer assembly 10”) that is configured to mate with a PCIe socket (28).
With respect to Claim 8, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the add-in card (30) is a peripheral component interconnect express add-in card (see Figure 2, in column 3, lines 31-39, “FIG. 2 is a partially exploded view of the computer assembly 10 that shows a conventional PCI-type edge connector 50 that is part of the PCI riser assembly 30. The PCI card 36 is positioned parallel to the motherboard 20, and a conventional connector 52 on the PCI card 36 is inserted into the PCI-type edge connector 50. The PCI riser assembly 30 provides electrical connections between the PCI card 36 and the motherboard 20 through the PCI-type edge connectors 50, 28”).
With respect to Claim 9, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the add-in card (30) is a peripheral component interconnect add-in card (see Figure 2, in column 3, lines 31-39, “FIG. 2 is a partially exploded view of the computer assembly 10 that shows a conventional PCI-type edge connector 50 that is part of the PCI riser assembly 30. The PCI card 36 is positioned parallel to the motherboard 20, and a conventional connector 52 on the PCI card 36 is inserted into the PCI-type edge connector 50. The PCI riser assembly 30 provides electrical connections between the PCI card 36 and the motherboard 20 through the PCI-type edge connectors 50, 28”).
With respect to Claim 10 , Kim teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
An information handling system (10), comprising:
a graphics card (36); and
a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) add-in card (30) disposed adjacent to the graphics card (36) and configured to direct an airflow from an intake fan (34) through vent holes (see Figure 4-5, vent holes of bracket (38)) of the PCIe add-in card (30).
Kim fails to specifically teach or suggest a graphics card that includes an exhaust fin and configured to direct an airflow from the exhaust fin through vent holes of the PCIe add-in card.
Memon, however, teaches (in Figure 1 and in column 7, lines 17-22)
a graphics card (102) that includes an exhaust fin (slats, in column 7, lines 20-22, “Additional vents, such as slats, may be provided on the end 164 or other parts of the cover 158 to enhance air flow across the thermal management system 100”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Memon with Kim, such that a graphics card that includes an exhaust fin as taught by Memon since doing so would enhance air flow of Kim’s graphics card (in column 7, lines 17-22)
With respect to the limitation requiring configured to direct an airflow from the exhaust fin through vent holes of the PCIe add-in card
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, with the combined the teachings of Memon with Kim, that Kim’s intake fan (34) would draw in air into a space created by Kim’s PCIe add-in card (30), wherein Memon’s graphics card (102) reside and Memon’s graphics card (102) would intake the air provided by Kim’s intake fan (34) through Memon’s graphics card’s opening (160) and graphics card’s fan (122, in column 7, lines 17-22, “In an alternative embodiment, the fan 122 pulls cool air through the vent 160 and pushes the air across the fins 132 of the heat sink 120 and out an end 164 of the cover 158. Additional vents, such as slats, may be provided on the end 164 or other parts of the cover 158 to enhance air flow across the thermal management system 100”) and the air would exit from Memon’s graphics card (102) through Memon’s graphics card’s exhaust fins (slats) and return to the space and the air would proceed to exit through the vent holes (see Figure 4-5, vent holes of bracket (38)) of Kim’s bracket (38, see Figure 4-5) of Kim’s PCIe add-in card (30), thus configured to direct an airflow from the exhaust fin through vent holes of the PCIe add-in card as taught by Kim as modified by Memon since doing so would enhance air flow of Kim’s graphics card (Memon’s column 7, lines 17-22).
With respect to Claim 11, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 10 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the PCIe add-in card (30) includes a fan duct (40+70) that is configured to block the airflow from re-circulating (see Figure 2, 4-5) in the information handling system (10).
With respect to Claim 12, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 11 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the fan duct (40+70) includes a sloped side (see Figure 4-5, near the bracket (38), the fan duct (40+70), a portion of (70) includes a sloped side leading to bracket (38)).
With respect to Claim 13, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 11 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the fan duct (40+70) includes a notch (small indentations or protrusions on (70), see Figure 4-5, in column 4, lines 17-22, “FIG. 4 shows a perspective side view of the PCI riser assembly 30 and shows a PCI riser connector 70. The PCI riser connector 70 is inserted into the conventional PCI-type edge connector 28 located on the motherboard 20 when the PCI riser assembly 30 is installed in the computer assembly 10”) that is configured to mate with a PCIe socket (28).
With respect to Claim 14, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 11 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the fan duct (40+70) is configured to create a partition (see Figure 2, 4-5, fan duct (40+70) creates a partition around the graphics card (36), a portion of the partition would be between the exhaust fin (slats, as taught by Memon in Claim 10 as per above) and an intake fan (122, as taught by Memon in Claim 10 as per above) ) between the exhaust fin (slats, as taught by Memon in Claim 10 as per above) and an intake fan (122, as taught by Memon in Claim 10 as per above) of the graphics card (36).
With respect to Claim 15 , Kim teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
An information handling system (10) comprising:
a chassis enclosure (12) that includes:
a graphics card (36); and
an add-in card (30) disposed adjacent to the graphics card (36) and configured to direct an airflow from an intake fan (34) through vent holes (see Figure 4-5, vent holes on bracket (38)) of the add-in card (30).
Kim fails to specifically teach or suggest a graphics card that includes an exhaust fin and configured to direct an airflow from the exhaust fin through vent holes of the add-in card.
Memon, however, teaches (in Figure 1 and in column 7, lines 17-22)
a graphics card (102) that includes an exhaust fin (slats, in column 7, lines 20-22, “Additional vents, such as slats, may be provided on the end 164 or other parts of the cover 158 to enhance air flow across the thermal management system 100”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Memon with Kim, such that a graphics card that includes an exhaust fin as taught by Memon since doing so would enhance air flow of Kim’s graphics card (in column 7, lines 17-22)
With respect to the limitation requiring configured to direct an airflow from the exhaust fin through vent holes of the PCIe add-in card
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, with the combined the teachings of Memon with Kim, that Kim’s intake fan (34) would draw in air into a space created by Kim’s PCIe add-in card (30), wherein Memon’s graphics card (102) reside and Memon’s graphics card (102) would intake the air provided by Kim’s intake fan (34) through Memon’s graphics card’s opening (160) and graphics card’s fan (122, in column 7, lines 17-22, “In an alternative embodiment, the fan 122 pulls cool air through the vent 160 and pushes the air across the fins 132 of the heat sink 120 and out an end 164 of the cover 158. Additional vents, such as slats, may be provided on the end 164 or other parts of the cover 158 to enhance air flow across the thermal management system 100”) and the air would exit from Memon’s graphics card (102) through Memon’s graphics card’s exhaust fins (slats) and return to the space and the air would proceed to exit through the vent holes (see Figure 4-5, vent holes of bracket (38)) of Kim’s bracket (38, see Figure 4-5) of Kim’s PCIe add-in card (30), thus configured to direct an airflow from the exhaust fin through vent holes of the PCIe add-in card as taught by Kim as modified by Memon since doing so would enhance air flow of Kim’s graphics card (Memon’s column 7, lines 17-22) .
With respect to Claim 16, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 15 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the add-in card (30) includes a fan duct (40+70) that is configured to block the airflow from re-circulating (see Figure 2, 4-5) in the information handling system (10).
With respect to Claim 17, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 16 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
herein the fan duct (40+70) includes a sloped side (see Figure 4-5, near the bracket (38), the fan duct (40+70), a portion of (70) includes a sloped side leading to bracket (38)).
With respect to Claim 18, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 16 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the fan duct (40+70) includes a notch (small indentations or protrusions on (70), see Figure 4-5, in column 4, lines 17-22, “FIG. 4 shows a perspective side view of the PCI riser assembly 30 and shows a PCI riser connector 70. The PCI riser connector 70 is inserted into the conventional PCI-type edge connector 28 located on the motherboard 20 when the PCI riser assembly 30 is installed in the computer assembly 10”) that is configured to mate with a PCIe socket (28).
With respect to Claim 19, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 15 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the add-in card (30) is a peripheral component interconnect express add-in card (see Figure 2, in column 3, lines 31-39, “FIG. 2 is a partially exploded view of the computer assembly 10 that shows a conventional PCI-type edge connector 50 that is part of the PCI riser assembly 30. The PCI card 36 is positioned parallel to the motherboard 20, and a conventional connector 52 on the PCI card 36 is inserted into the PCI-type edge connector 50. The PCI riser assembly 30 provides electrical connections between the PCI card 36 and the motherboard 20 through the PCI-type edge connectors 50, 28”).
With respect to Claim 20, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 15 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the add-in card (30) is a peripheral component interconnect add-in card (see Figure 2, in column 3, lines 31-39, “FIG. 2 is a partially exploded view of the computer assembly 10 that shows a conventional PCI-type edge connector 50 that is part of the PCI riser assembly 30. The PCI card 36 is positioned parallel to the motherboard 20, and a conventional connector 52 on the PCI card 36 is inserted into the PCI-type edge connector 50. The PCI riser assembly 30 provides electrical connections between the PCI card 36 and the motherboard 20 through the PCI-type edge connectors 50, 28”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 12,402,267 to Shi, which teaches a computer case with a graphics card holder is provided, which includes a computer case body and a graphics card holder. The graphics card holder includes a first support member, a second support member, and a third support member. The first support member is slidably connected to a fixing member, the second support member is vertically provided at one end of the first support member, the second support member is provided with a graphics card adapter cable. One side of the third support member away from the first support member is fixedly connected to the computer case body.
US 2025/0142764 to Chen et al., which teaches an air duct structure to receive a processing component. The air duct structure includes an air inlet opening, an air outlet opening, a plurality of side walls, and a support surface. The air inlet opening is in direct fluid communication with an air inlet of the computer chassis. The air outlet opening is in direct fluid communication with an air inlet of a processing component. The plurality of side walls at least partially define a channel extending between the air inlet opening and the air outlet opening. The support surface receives the processing component on the air duct structure relative to the computer chassis. The processing component includes an air exhaust to diffuse air, and the plurality of side walls at least partially fluidly isolate the air inlet opening from an air diffused from the air exhaust.
US 2022/0117111 to Tseng et al., which teaches a riser of an information handling system having an adjustable baffle that blocks air flowing through the riser from by-passing components of an expansion card, such as a PCIe card, installed in the riser. The baffle directs the flowing air across components of the expansion card to lower the operating temperature of the expansion card by convection. In some embodiments, part of the baffle is coupled to an angled slot of the riser body and another part of the baffle is coupled to a card holder so that movement of the card holder automatically adjusts the position of the baffle to direct otherwise by-passing air toward the components of the installed expansion card.
US 10,334,753 to Chu et al., which teaches an information handling system includes a component portion and a cooling portion. The component portion includes one or more components of the information handling system. The cooling portion includes a cooling fan and a baffle. The cooling fan provides air flow to the components. The baffle being movable between a first position and a second position to change an area available for the air flow to the components. The baffle is in the first position in response to only a first one of the components being located within the component portion, and the baffle is in the second position in response to both the first component and a second one of the components being located within the component portion.
US 2015/0115120 to YU, which teaches an expansion card securing mechanism includes a rail component, a sliding unit and a fastening component. The rail component extends in a sliding direction, is connected to an insertion side of an expansion card connecting device, and is pivotable about an axis that extends in the sliding direction. The sliding unit is connected to the rail component, is slidable in the sliding direction, and is formed with a securing structure that is adapted to be secured detachably to an expansion card. The fastening component interconnects the rail component and the sliding unit for positioning releasably the sliding unit relative to the rail component.
US 8,837,135 to Zheng et al., which teaches an expansion module for an interface card includes a transfer circuit-board, an expansion slot, a bottom-plate, a lateral-frame, and a latch. The transfer circuit-board has an electrical connector to be inserted into a card slot of a main circuit-board. The expansion slot is disposed on the transfer circuit-board and used for the interface card to be inserted into it, so as to connect the interface card to the main circuit-board.
US 2011/0110029 to Lodhia et al., which teaches a computer chassis comprises a plurality of chambers. Each of the chambers comprises a hardware group, an aft inlet exposed to air external to the chassis and dedicated to the chamber, and an air outlet exposed to air external to the chassis and dedicated to the chamber. Airflow between the air net and the air outlet cools the hardware group
US 2008/0137292 to CHEN et al., which teaches a heat dissipation device is to be mounted in a computer enclosure for dissipating heat generated by a VGA card. The heat dissipation device includes a heat sink, a fan and a fan duct connecting the heat sink and the fan. The heat sink contacts a heat-generating device of the VGA card. The fan has an inlet port and an outlet port. The outlet port communicates with an ambient air outside the computer enclosure. The fan duct has two open ends. One open end engages with the heat sink and the other open end engages with the inlet port of the fan.
US 2005/0061477 to Mira, which teaches a heat dissipation device, having a base plate for making contact with a heat producing integrated circuit; several fins disposed on and partially covering the base plate, the fins forming flow channels and the fins and the flow channels having proximal ends and distal ends. The device also includes a fan mounted on the base plate for delivering air flow to the fins, the fan being configured to deliver air to the proximal ends of the fins. The device also includes a shroud disposed over the fins and the fan. The shroud has an aperture that has a shape generally matching the overall shape of the fan, where the aperture acts as an air inlet for the fan.
/S.N./Examiner , Art Unit 2835
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2835