Drawings
The objections to the Drawings are withdrawn in view of the amendments to
the Figure 2.
The Drawings filed on 05/13/2026 are not acceptable. The amended Figure 2 appears to introduce new matter not supported by the original disclosure, such as, an assembly (200) or an assembly (200) of a graphics card (205) and a PCIe add-in card (210) or an information handling system (204) has a chassis enclosure (202) that includes an assembly (200).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed subject matter in the limitations of Claims 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Claim 11 recites “the fan duct that is configured to block the airflow from re-circulating in the information handling system”, no Figures or Drawings depict how the “fan duct” is “configured to block the airflow from re-circulating in the information handling system” as the Figures and Drawings depict an opening at the distal end of the graphics card wherein the add-in card does not cover to prevent/block airflow from re-circulating in the information handling system.
Claim 16 recites “a fan duct that is configured to block the airflow from re-circulating in the information handling system”, no Figures or Drawings depict how the “fan duct” is “configured to block the airflow from re-circulating in the information handling system” as the Figures and Drawings depict an opening at the distal end of the graphics card wherein the add-in card does not cover to prevent/block airflow from re-circulating in the information handling system.
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The objections to the Specification are withdrawn in view of the amendments to
the Title.
The amendment filed 05/26/2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: amended, there is no support in the specification that the graphics card 205 and the PCIe add-in card 210 are an assembly or parts of an assembly and also an assembly of a graphics card and a PCIe add-in card is not supported by the original disclosure.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Objections
The objections to the Claims 5, 10-20 are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the Claims 5, 10, 15.
Claims 1-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a fan duct that is affixed to the bracket with the vent holes”, to avoid antecedent issue and for clarity & consistency, the claim limitation should be changed to read “a fan duct that is affixed to the bracket with the plurality of vent holes”.
Claim 2-9 are also objected to since they depend on Claim 1 and inherit the
deficiency therein.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites “wherein the is a single-wide card”, amended Claim 20 is rendered indefinite as it is unclear what the amended claim limitations are trying to claim.
The Examiner will review Claim 20 limitations to be read as “wherein the PCIe add-in card is a single-wide card” for examination.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the bracket includes vent holes”, Claim 3 does not appear to be further limiting as Claim 1 recites “wherein the bracket includes a plurality of vent holes;… a fan duct that is affixed to the bracket with the plurality of vent holes,…”, thus Claim 3 is not further limiting than the claim limitations of Claim 1.
Claim 4 recites “wherein the add-in card is disposed adjacent to the graphic card”, Claim 4 does not appear to be further limiting as Claim 1 recites “a graphics card that is plugged into a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) slot disposed adjacent to another PCIe slot that the add-in card is plugged into”, thus Claim 4 is not further limiting than the claim limitations of Claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 6.772.246 - hereinafter, "Kim") in view of Memon (US 8,159,819 - hereinafter, "Memon").
With respect to Claim 1 , Kim teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
An add-in card (30) comprising:
a bracket (38) configured to mount the add-in card (30) to a chassis enclosure (12), wherein the bracket (38) includes a plurality of vent holes (see Figure 4-5, vent holes on bracket (38)); and
a fan duct (40+70) that is affixed to the bracket (38) with the plurality of vent holes (see Figure 4-5, vent holes on bracket (38)),
wherein the fan duct (40+70) is configured to create a partition (see Figure 2, 4-5) between an exhaust (see Figure 4-5, vent holes) and an intake fan (34), a graphics card (36) that is plugged into a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) slot (see Figure 3-5, graphics card (36) is plugged into a PCIe slot of the PCIe add-in card (30)) disposed adjacent (next to, see Figure 2-5, PCIe add-in card (30) is plugged into a PCIe slot of the information handling system (10) and the graphics card (36) is adjacent or next to the PCIe slot of the information handling system (10) where the PCIe add-in card (30) is slotted) to another PCIe slot (see Figure 2, PCIe add-in card (30) is plugged into a PCIe slot of the information handling system (10)) that the add-in card (30) is plugged into.
Kim fails to specifically teach or suggest an exhaust fin and an intake fan of a graphics card.
Memon, however, teaches (in Figure 1 and in column 7, lines 17-22)
an exhaust fin (slats, in column 7, lines 20-22, “Additional vents, such as slats, may be provided on the end 164 or other parts of the cover 158 to enhance air flow across the thermal management system 100”) and an intake fan (122) of a graphics card (102).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Memon with Kim, such that an exhaust fin and an intake fan of a graphics card as taught by Memon since doing so would enhance air flow of Kim’s graphics card (in column 7, lines 17-22)
With respect to Claim 2, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the add-in card (30) is a single-wide PCIe add-in card (see Figure 2, 4-5, the add-in card (30) is inserted into a single PCIe slot (28), in column 4, lines 17-22, “FIG. 4 shows a perspective side view of the PCI riser assembly 30 and shows a PCI riser connector 70. The PCI riser connector 70 is inserted into the conventional PCI-type edge connector 28 located on the motherboard 20 when the PCI riser assembly 30 is installed in the computer assembly 10”, thus is a single-wide PCIe add-in card).
With respect to Claim 3, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the bracket (38) includes vent holes (see Figure 4-5, vent holes on bracket (38)).
With respect to Claim 4, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the add-in card (30) is disposed adjacent to the graphics card (36, see Figure 2, 4-5, in column 1, lines 16-23, “The motherboard typically includes a number of connectors or slots in which special purpose printed circuit boards, often referred to as peripheral component interface (PCI) bus cards or "cards", may be inserted. These special purpose cards may be used to add to or enhance the functionality of the computer system. For example, a conventional computer system may have its graphics capability enhanced by the addition of a graphics card” and in column 3, lines 20-23, “Two printed circuit boards, such as conventional PCI cards 36 are shown disposed within and attached to the PCI riser assembly 30”)
With respect to Claim 5, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the fan duct (40+70) is configured to direct an airflow to vent holes (see Figure 4-5, vent holes on bracket (38)) of the bracket (38).
With respect to Claim 6, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the fan duct (40+70) includes a sloped side (see Figure 4-5, near the bracket (38), the fan duct (40+70), a portion of (70) includes a sloped side leading to bracket (38))
With respect to Claim 7, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the fan duct (40+70) includes a notch (small indentations or protrusions on (70), see Figure 4-5, in column 4, lines 17-22, “FIG. 4 shows a perspective side view of the PCI riser assembly 30 and shows a PCI riser connector 70. The PCI riser connector 70 is inserted into the conventional PCI-type edge connector 28 located on the motherboard 20 when the PCI riser assembly 30 is installed in the computer assembly 10”) that is configured to mate with a PCIe socket (28).
With respect to Claim 8, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the add-in card (30) is a PCIe add-in card (see Figure 2, in column 3, lines 31-39, “FIG. 2 is a partially exploded view of the computer assembly 10 that shows a conventional PCI-type edge connector 50 that is part of the PCI riser assembly 30. The PCI card 36 is positioned parallel to the motherboard 20, and a conventional connector 52 on the PCI card 36 is inserted into the PCI-type edge connector 50. The PCI riser assembly 30 provides electrical connections between the PCI card 36 and the motherboard 20 through the PCI-type edge connectors 50, 28”).
With respect to Claim 9, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the add-in card (30) is a peripheral component interconnect add-in card (see Figure 2, in column 3, lines 31-39, “FIG. 2 is a partially exploded view of the computer assembly 10 that shows a conventional PCI-type edge connector 50 that is part of the PCI riser assembly 30. The PCI card 36 is positioned parallel to the motherboard 20, and a conventional connector 52 on the PCI card 36 is inserted into the PCI-type edge connector 50. The PCI riser assembly 30 provides electrical connections between the PCI card 36 and the motherboard 20 through the PCI-type edge connectors 50, 28”).
With respect to Claim 10 , Kim teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
An information handling system (10), comprising:
a graphics card (36), wherein the graphics card (36) is plugged into a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) slot (see Figure 3-5, graphics card (36) is plugged into a PCIe slot of the PCIe add-in card (30)); and
a PCIe add-in card (30) that is plugged into a PCIe slot (see Figure 2, PCIe add-in card (30) is plugged into a PCIe slot of the information handling system (10)) disposed adjacent (next to, see Figure 2-5, PCIe add-in card (30) is plugged into a PCIe slot of the information handling system (10) and the graphics card (36) is adjacent or next to the PCIe slot of the information handling system (10) where the PCIe add-in card (30) is slotted) to the graphics card (36) and configured to direct an airflow from an intake fan (34) through vent holes (see Figure 4-5, vent holes of bracket (38)) of the PCIe add-in card (30),
wherein the PCIe add-in card (30) includes a bracket (38) configured to mount the PCIe add-in card (30, see Figure 2 and 4-5) to a chassis enclosure (12) of the information handling system (10),
wherein the bracket (38) includes the vent holes (see Figure 4-5, vent holes on bracket (38)),
wherein the PCIe add-in card (30) includes a fan duct (40+70) that is affixed to the bracket (38, see Figure 2 and 4-5), and
wherein the fan duct (40+70) is configured to create a partition (see Figure 2, 4-5) between the vent holes (see Figure 4-5, vent holes of bracket (38)) and the intake fan (34).
Kim fails to specifically teach or suggest a graphics card that includes an exhaust fin and an intake fan and configured to direct an airflow from the exhaust fin through vent holes of the PCIe add-in card, and wherein the fan duct is configured to create a partition between the exhaust fin and the intake fan of the graphics card.
Memon, however, teaches (in Figure 1 and in column 7, lines 17-22)
a graphics card (102) that includes an exhaust fin (slats, in column 7, lines 20-22, “Additional vents, such as slats, may be provided on the end 164 or other parts of the cover 158 to enhance air flow across the thermal management system 100”) and an intake fan (122) and wherein a fan duct (158) is configured to create a partition (see Figure 1) between the exhaust fin (slats) and the intake fan (122) of the graphics card (102).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Memon with Kim, such that a graphics card that includes an exhaust fin and an intake fan and wherein a fan duct is configured to create a partition between the exhaust fin and the intake fan of the graphics card as taught by Memon since doing so would enhance air flow of Kim’s graphics card (in column 7, lines 17-22)
With respect to the limitation requiring configured to direct an airflow from the exhaust fin through vent holes of the PCIe add-in card
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, with the combined the teachings of Memon with Kim, that Kim’s intake fan (34) would draw in air into a space created by Kim’s PCIe add-in card (30), wherein Memon’s graphics card (102) reside and Memon’s graphics card (102) would intake the air provided by Kim’s intake fan (34) through Memon’s graphics card’s opening (160) and graphics card’s fan (122, in column 7, lines 17-22, “In an alternative embodiment, the fan 122 pulls cool air through the vent 160 and pushes the air across the fins 132 of the heat sink 120 and out an end 164 of the cover 158. Additional vents, such as slats, may be provided on the end 164 or other parts of the cover 158 to enhance air flow across the thermal management system 100”) and the air would exit from Memon’s graphics card (102) through Memon’s graphics card’s exhaust fins (slats) and return to the space and the air would proceed to exit through the vent holes (see Figure 4-5, vent holes of bracket (38)) of Kim’s bracket (38, see Figure 4-5) of Kim’s PCIe add-in card (30), thus configured to direct an airflow from the exhaust fin through vent holes of the PCIe add-in card as taught by Kim as modified by Memon since doing so would enhance air flow of Kim’s graphics card (Memon’s column 7, lines 17-22).
With respect to Claim 11, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 10 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the fan duct (40+70) is configured to block the airflow from re-circulating (see Figure 2, 4-5) in the information handling system (10).
With respect to Claim 12, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 11 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the fan duct (40+70) includes a sloped side (see Figure 4-5, near the bracket (38), the fan duct (40+70), a portion of (70) includes a sloped side leading to bracket (38)).
With respect to Claim 13, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 11 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the fan duct (40+70) includes a notch (small indentations or protrusions on (70), see Figure 4-5, in column 4, lines 17-22, “FIG. 4 shows a perspective side view of the PCI riser assembly 30 and shows a PCI riser connector 70. The PCI riser connector 70 is inserted into the conventional PCI-type edge connector 28 located on the motherboard 20 when the PCI riser assembly 30 is installed in the computer assembly 10”) that is configured to mate with a PCIe socket (28).
With respect to Claim 14, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 11 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the fan duct (40+70, in column 3, line 24-27, “A riser card stiffener 40 provides support for the PCI riser assembly 30. The riser card stiffener 40 comprises an adjusting slot 42 and an adjustable slide assembly 44” and in column 3, line 50-52, “The adjustable slide assembly 44 comprises a thumbscrew 56, a washer 58, a tab 60 extending from the fan housing 32, and a nut 62”) includes a support structure (60) and a standoff nut (62).
With respect to Claim 15 , Kim teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
A chassis enclosure (12) comprising:
an information handling system (10) that includes:
a graphics card (36), wherein the graphics card (36) is plugged into a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) slot (see Figure 3-5, graphics card (36) is plugged into a PCIe slot of the PCIe add-in card (30)); and
a PCIe add-in card (30) that is plugged into a PCIe slot (see Figure 2, PCIe add-in card (30) is plugged into a PCIe slot of the information handling system (10)) disposed adjacent (next to, see Figure 2-5, PCIe add-in card (30) is plugged into a PCIe slot of the information handling system (10) and the graphics card (36) is adjacent or next to the PCIe slot of the information handling system (10) where the PCIe add-in card (30) is slotted) to the graphics card (36) and configured to direct an airflow from an intake fan (34) through vent holes (see Figure 4-5, vent holes on bracket (38)) of the PCIe add-in card (30),
wherein the PCIe add-in card (30) includes a bracket (38) configured to mount the PCIe add-in card (30) to the chassis enclosure (12) of the information handling system (10),
wherein the bracket (38) includes the vent holes (see Figure 4-5, vent holes of bracket (38)),
wherein the PCIe add-in card (30) includes a fan duct (40+70) that is affixed to the bracket (38), and
wherein the fan duct (40+70) is configured to create a partition (see Figure 2, 4-5) between vent holes (see Figure 4-5, vent holes of bracket (38)) and the intake fan (34).
Kim fails to specifically teach or suggest a graphics card that includes an exhaust fin and an intake fan and configured to direct an airflow from the exhaust fin through vent holes of the PCIe add-in card and the fan duct is configured to create a partition between the exhaust fin and the intake fan of the graphics card.
Memon, however, teaches (in Figure 1 and in column 7, lines 17-22)
a graphics card (102) that includes an exhaust fin (slats, in column 7, lines 20-22, “Additional vents, such as slats, may be provided on the end 164 or other parts of the cover 158 to enhance air flow across the thermal management system 100”) and an intake fan (122) and a fan duct (158) is configured to create a partition (see Figure 1) between the exhaust fin (slats) and the intake fan (122) of the graphics card (102).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Memon with Kim, such that a graphics card that includes an exhaust fin and an intake fan and a fan duct is configured to create a partition between the exhaust fin and the intake fan of the graphics card as taught by Memon since doing so would enhance air flow of Kim’s graphics card (in column 7, lines 17-22)
With respect to the limitation requiring configured to direct an airflow from the exhaust fin through vent holes of the PCIe add-in card
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, with the combined the teachings of Memon with Kim, that Kim’s intake fan (34) would draw in air into a space created by Kim’s PCIe add-in card (30), wherein Memon’s graphics card (102) reside and Memon’s graphics card (102) would intake the air provided by Kim’s intake fan (34) through Memon’s graphics card’s opening (160) and graphics card’s fan (122, in column 7, lines 17-22, “In an alternative embodiment, the fan 122 pulls cool air through the vent 160 and pushes the air across the fins 132 of the heat sink 120 and out an end 164 of the cover 158. Additional vents, such as slats, may be provided on the end 164 or other parts of the cover 158 to enhance air flow across the thermal management system 100”) and the air would exit from Memon’s graphics card (102) through Memon’s graphics card’s exhaust fins (slats) and return to the space and the air would proceed to exit through the vent holes (see Figure 4-5, vent holes of bracket (38)) of Kim’s bracket (38, see Figure 4-5) of Kim’s PCIe add-in card (30), thus configured to direct an airflow from the exhaust fin through vent holes of the PCIe add-in card as taught by Kim as modified by Memon since doing so would enhance air flow of Kim’s graphics card (Memon’s column 7, lines 17-22) .
With respect to Claim 16, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 15 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the fan duct (40+70) that is configured to block the airflow from re-circulating (see Figure 2, 4-5) in the information handling system (10).
With respect to Claim 17, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 16 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
herein the fan duct (40+70) includes a sloped side (see Figure 4-5, near the bracket (38), the fan duct (40+70), a portion of (70) includes a sloped side leading to bracket (38)).
With respect to Claim 18, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 16 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the fan duct (40+70) includes a notch (small indentations or protrusions on (70), see Figure 4-5, in column 4, lines 17-22, “FIG. 4 shows a perspective side view of the PCI riser assembly 30 and shows a PCI riser connector 70. The PCI riser connector 70 is inserted into the conventional PCI-type edge connector 28 located on the motherboard 20 when the PCI riser assembly 30 is installed in the computer assembly 10”) that is configured to mate with a PCIe socket (28).
With respect to Claim 19, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 15 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the PCIe add-in card (30, see Figure 2, in column 3, lines 31-39, “FIG. 2 is a partially exploded view of the computer assembly 10 that shows a conventional PCI-type edge connector 50 that is part of the PCI riser assembly 30. The PCI card 36 is positioned parallel to the motherboard 20, and a conventional connector 52 on the PCI card 36 is inserted into the PCI-type edge connector 50. The PCI riser assembly 30 provides electrical connections between the PCI card 36 and the motherboard 20 through the PCI-type edge connectors 50, 28”) is a single-wide PCIe add-in card (see Figure 2, 4-5, the add-in card (30) is inserted into a single PCIe slot (28), in column 4, lines 17-22, “FIG. 4 shows a perspective side view of the PCI riser assembly 30 and shows a PCI riser connector 70. The PCI riser connector 70 is inserted into the conventional PCI-type edge connector 28 located on the motherboard 20 when the PCI riser assembly 30 is installed in the computer assembly 10”, thus is a single-wide PCIe add-in card).
With respect to Claim 20, Kim as modified by Memon teaches the limitations of Claim 15 as per above, and Kim further teaches (in Figure 2, 4-5)
wherein the PCIe add-in card (30) is a single-wide card (see Figure 2, 4-5, the PCIe add-in card (30) is inserted into a single PCIe slot (28), in column 4, lines 17-22, “FIG. 4 shows a perspective side view of the PCI riser assembly 30 and shows a PCI riser connector 70. The PCI riser connector 70 is inserted into the conventional PCI-type edge connector 28 located on the motherboard 20 when the PCI riser assembly 30 is installed in the computer assembly 10”, thus is a single-wide card).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Applicant’s remarks to independent Claim 1, 10 and 15, Examiner notes that Applicant’s arguments are directed to the claims as amended, and the rejection has been modified to meet the limitations of the amended claims (See rejection above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.N./Examiner , Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841