DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 5/27/2025 has been fully considered and is attached hereto.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
Liquid cooling pipe having an end configured for coupling with a liquid-cooling connector as in claim 13; and
The connector plug as in claim 13
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites, “the liquid cooling pipe having an end configured for coupling with a liquid-cooling connector” which is unclear. ¶ 0058 of the written description and the associated Figures in the drawings disclose that the cooling pipe (114) connects with the pipe exit side 170, not the liquid-cooling connector 108. Applicant should review lines 1-7 of claim 13 and provide appropriate clarification or correction.
Claims 14-20 are rejected since they depend from claim 13 and inherit the deficiency therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10-11, 13-16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eckberg et al. (US 9,351,428 – hereinafter, “Eckberg”).
With respect to claim 1, Eckberg teaches (In Figs 1-3) a self-aligning connector (40) for a computing system (10), the self-aligning connector comprising: a case (50) having a pipe channel extending internally, along a radial axis (48), between a case entry side (Side adjacent 52) and a case exit side (Side adjacent 54), the case entry side having a case entry end (End at the case entry side), the case exit side having a case exit end (End at the case exit side); and a fluid pipe (42) movably mounted within the pipe channel, the fluid pipe being separated from an internal surface of the pipe channel by a floating space (Space between 42 and 50, see Figs 2-3), the fluid pipe being rotatably (See Fig 3B) and linearly (See Fig 3A) movable relative to the radial axis within the floating space, the fluid pipe (42) including a pipe entry side with a pipe entry end (Side and end of 42 adjacent to 52) positioned at the case entry side (See Figs 2-3), a pipe exit side having a pipe exit end (Side and end of 42 adjacent 54) positioned at the case exit side (See Figs 2-3), an internal channel (Not labeled but channel which runs through the pipe, see Fig 2a) for receiving a liquid coolant, the internal channel extending along the radial axis between the pipe entry end and the pipe exit end (See Fig 2a), and a tilt area (Middle portion of 42 located within the floating space) located between the pipe entry side and the pipe exit side, the tilt area being configured to rotatably adjust the fluid pipe relative to the case (See Fig 3B).
With respect to claim 10, Eckberg further teaches that the pipe exit end is configured for coupling with a liquid cooling pipe (15, see Fig 2A).
With respect to claim 11, Eckberg further teaches that the pipe entry end is configured for insertion into a connector socket (The pipe entry end of Eckberg is configured for insertion into a connector socket).
With respect to claim 13, as best understood by the Examiner, Eckberg teaches (In Figs 1-3) a computing system comprising: a liquid-cooling server (10) having a liquid cooling pipe (15) for receiving a liquid coolant, the liquid cooling pipe having an end (End of 15 adjacent 58, see Fig 2A) configured for coupling with a liquid-cooling connector (42), the liquid-cooling connector having a connector plug (See Fig 2A, entrance of 42 which accepts 28); a rack manifold (24) having a connector socket (28) that is in fluid communication with the liquid-cooling server (10), the rack manifold configured to circulate the liquid coolant to the liquid-cooling server, the connector socket (28) being configured for coupling with the connector plug (Entrance of 42 which accepts 28); and a self-aligning connector (40) mounted between the liquid-cooling server and the rack manifold to provide the fluid communication, the self-aligning connector including a case (50) having a pipe channel extending internally, along a radial axis (48), between a case entry end (End adjacent 52) and a case exit end (End adjacent 54), and a fluid pipe (42) movably mounted within the pipe channel and separated from an internal surface of the pipe channel by a floating space (Space between 42 and 50), the fluid pipe being movable relative to the radial axis within the floating space (See Fig 3A), the fluid pipe including a pipe entry end (End of 42 adjacent 52) positioned near the case entry end and coupled to the liquid-cooling connector (28/30), a pipe exit end (End of 42 adjacent 54) positioned near the case exit end and coupled to the liquid cooling pipe (15/17), an internal channel for receiving the liquid coolant, the internal channel extending along the radial axis between the pipe entry end and the pipe exit end (See Figs 2-3), and an adjustable area (Middle portion of 42 located within the floating space) located between the pipe entry end and the pipe exit end, the adjustable area being configured to movably adjust the fluid pipe within the case (See Fig 3B).
With respect to claim 14, as best understood by the Examiner, Eckberg further teaches that the adjustable area is configured to rotatably adjust the fluid pipe within the case (See Fig 3B).
With respect to claim 15, as best understood by the Examiner, Eckberg further teaches that the adjustable area is configured to linearly adjust the fluid pipe within the case (See Fig 3A).
With respect to claim 16, as best understood by the Examiner, Eckberg further teaches that the adjustable area is configured to rotatably and linearly adjust the fluid pipe within the case (See Fig 3B).
With respect to claim 18, as best understood by the Examiner, Eckberg further teaches wherein the self-aligning connector (42) further includes a spring (60) mounted near the pipe exit end, the spring applying to the fluid pipe a linear force along the radial axis (See Fig 3A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9, 12, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckberg in view of Wu et al. (US 2024/0414891 – hereinafter, “Wu”).
With respect to claims 8-9, Eckberg teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the tilt area has a spherical shape (Cl. 8), wherein the tilt area has a tilt diameter that is larger than at least one of a pipe entry diameter and a pipe exit diameter (Cl. 9).
Wu, however, teaches a tilt area (1221) which has a spherical shape (Cl. 8), wherein the tilt area has a tilt diameter that is larger than at least one of a pipe entry diameter and a pipe exit diameter (See Fig A below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu with that of Eckberg such that, in Eckberg the tilt area has a spherical shape, wherein the tilt area has a tilt diameter that is larger than at least one of a pipe entry diameter and a pipe exit diameter, as taught by Wu, since doing so would provide additional shoulder material for the spring (60) to press against (See Fig B below for how Eckberg is modified in view of Wu).
Further it has been held that mere changes in shape are obvious1.
With respect to claim 12, Eckberg teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above and further teaches wherein the fluid pipe (42) is linearly movable within the floating space in one or more translational directions, the one or more translational directions including a first direction along the radial axis and parallel to a length of the case (See Fig 3A), and a third direction perpendicular to the radial axis and parallel to a height of the case (See Fig 3B). And while Eckberg does teaches that “This and other misalignments may be tolerated” (Col. 9, ll. 2-4), Eckberg fails to specifically teach or suggest a second direction perpendicular to the radial axis and parallel to a width of the case.
Wu, however, teaches a pipe joint module with a pipeline (Generally shown in Fig 3) that is movable in a second direction perpendicular to a radial axis (L0) and parallel to a width of a case (11, ¶ 0022, “The middle joint 121 is connected to the outer joint 11, and the middle joint 121 is movable in any radial direction of an axis L0 of the outer joint 11.” (emphasis added)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu with that of Eckberg, such that, in Eckberg the fluid pipe is linearly movable in a second direction perpendicular to the radial axis and parallel to a width of the case, as taught by Wu, since doing so would allow for the fluid pipe to connect even when the misalignment between the fluid pipe and an associated connector is in a direction parallel to the width of the case (IE: into and out of the page in Fig 2A of Eckberg).
With respect to claim 17, Eckberg teaches the limitations of claim 13 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the adjustable area is in the form of a tilt area that has a spherical shape.
Wu, however, teaches a tilt area (1221) which has a spherical shape.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu with that of Eckberg such that, in Eckberg the tilt area has a spherical shape, as taught by Wu, since doing so would provide additional shoulder material for the spring (60) to press against (See Fig B above for how Eckberg is modified in view of Wu).
Further it has been held that mere changes in shape are obvious1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if: a) rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and b), if applicable, rewritten to overcome the above mentioned 112(b) rejections.
With respect to claims 2-3, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent claim 2 and at least in part because claim 2 recites, “an entry holder mounted over the pipe entry side, the entry holder preventing linear movement towards the case entry end when the entry holder is in contact with an entry internal surface of the case entry side”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 2 are believed to render said claim 2 and all claims dependent therefrom patentable over the art of record.
With respect to claims 4-7, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent claim 4 and at least in part because claim 4 recites, “an exit holder mounted over the pipe exit side, the exit holder preventing linear movement towards the case exit end when the exit holder is in contact with an exit internal surface of the case entry side”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 4 are believed to render said claim 4 and all claims dependent therefrom patentable over the art of record.
With respect to claim 19, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent claim 19 and at least in part because claim 19 recites, “wherein the self-aligning connector further includes an entry holder mounted over the fluid pipe near the pipe entry end, the entry holder preventing linear movement towards the case entry end when the entry holder is in contact with an entry internal surface of the case”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 19 are believed to render said claim 19 and all claims dependent therefrom patentable over the art of record.
With respect to claim 20, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent claim 20 and at least in part because claim 20 recites, “wherein the self-aligning connector further includes an exit holder mounted over the fluid pipe near the pipe exit end, the exit holder preventing linear movement towards the case exit end when the exit holder is in contact with an exit internal surface of the case.”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 20 are believed to render said claim 20 and all claims dependent therefrom patentable over the art of record.
While Eckberg teaches many of the limitations of claims 2, 4, 19, 20 as per the above rejections to claims 1 and 13, neither Eckberg nor any other art of record – either alone or in combination – teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of claims 2, 4, 19, and 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11,892,252 to Yang et al. which teaches an adaptable liquid connector structure; and
US 2025/0081393 to Wu et al. which teaches a joint module, server, and computing system.
/ZACHARY PAPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835
1 In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)