DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on May 15th, 2024 has been entered. By this amendment claims 1-20 have been cancelled and claims 21-40 have been newly added. Accordingly, claims 21-40 are pending in the present application in which claims 21, 28, and 35 are in independent form.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on April 24th, 2024 has been considered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Method for operating a gaming device including modifying a displayed game play or a displayed game outcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 21-40 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Benbrahim et al. (U.S. Pub. 2008/0108423).
In re claim 21, Benbrahim discloses in a current embodiment a gaming system comprising a plurality of electronic gaming machines 10 (see paragraph [0088] and fig. 2B, note that the plurality of electronic gaming machines are in communication with each other and central controller 56), wherein each electronic gaming machine 10 of the plurality of electronic gaming machines 10 comprises a display screen 16 and an actuator (32,34), wherein the actuator (32,34) is configured to initiate a game on an electronic gaming machine of the plurality of electronic gaming machines 10 (see paragraph [0061] and figs. 1A, 1B, 2A), and wherein each electronic gaming machine of the plurality of electronic gaming machines 10 further comprises a network 56 interconnecting the plurality of electronic gaming machines 10 (see paragraph [0088] and fig. 2B); a random number generator configured to generate one or more random numbers, wherein the one or more random numbers are used to determine one or more game outcomes on the plurality of electronic gaming machines 10 (see paragraph [0049] and figs. 1A, 1B, 2A); at least one non-transitory computer readable medium that stores a plurality of instructions, which when executed by at least one processor 12 causes the at least one processor to display game play responsive to actuation of the actuator (32,34); display a game outcome of one or more game outcomes after conclusion of the displayed game play (see paragraphs [0049], [0053] and figs. 1A,1B,2A,2B,3).
In the current embodiment, Benbrahim is silent to wherein each electronic gaming machine of the plurality of electronic gaming machines further comprises a player interface device configured to receive a player input, wherein the player input is associated with a uniquely identified player; a player tracking system operatively connected to the network, wherein the player tracking system is configured to collect gaming data via the network, wherein the gaming data indicates game play associated with the uniquely identified player; at least one non-transitory computer readable medium that stores a plurality of instructions, which when executed by at least one processor causes the at least one processor to receive data that identifies a player of an electronic gaming machine of the plurality of electronic gaming machines; receive, via the network, player gaming data, wherein the player gaming data is associated with the player of the electronic gaming machine; and modify at least one of the displayed game play or displayed game outcome as a function of the player gaming data.
However, in another embodiment, Benbrahim discloses wherein each electronic gaming machine of the plurality of electronic gaming machines further comprises a player interface device configured to receive a player input, wherein the player input is associated with a uniquely identified player; a player tracking system operatively connected to the network (see paragraphs [0023], [0098], [0099], [0100], [0189]), wherein the player tracking system is configured to collect gaming data via the network, wherein the gaming data indicates game play associated with the uniquely identified player (see paragraph [0100]); at least one non-transitory computer readable medium that stores a plurality of instructions, which when executed by at least one processor causes the at least one processor to receive data that identifies a player of an electronic gaming machine of the plurality of electronic gaming machines; receive, via the network (LAN/WAN) (see paragraph [0101]), player gaming data, wherein the player gaming data is associated with the player of the electronic gaming machine (a platinum or gold status); and modify at least one of the displayed game play or displayed game outcome as a function of the player gaming data (game events associated with a designated game outcome achieved by a player with a high status provide that player with an opportunity to win higher awards than a play with a low status).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to incorporate the techniques as taught in other embodiments of Benbrahim into the current embodiment of Benbrahim in order to enable wherein each electronic gaming machine of the plurality of electronic gaming machines further comprises a player interface device configured to receive a player input, wherein the player input is associated with a uniquely identified player; a player tracking system operatively connected to the network, wherein the player tracking system is configured to collect gaming data via the network, wherein the gaming data indicates game play associated with the uniquely identified player; at least one non-transitory computer readable medium that stores a plurality of instructions, which when executed by at least one processor causes the at least one processor to receive data that identifies a player of an electronic gaming machine of the plurality of electronic gaming machines; receive, via the network, player gaming data, wherein the player gaming data is associated with the player of the electronic gaming machine; and modify at least one of the displayed game play or displayed game outcome as a function of the player gaming data in the current embodiment of Benbrahim to be realized in order to enhance the enjoyment and excitement of gaming experience to the player (see paragraph [0004]).
In re claim 22, as applied to claim 21 above, Benbrahim discloses wherein the plurality of electronic gaming machines 10 comprise one or more virtual slot machines, one or more virtual card machines, or one or more virtual table games (see paragraphs [0068], [0069] and figs. 1A,1B).
In re claim 23, as applied to claim 21 above, Benbrahim discloses wherein the plurality of instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, causes the at least one processor 12 to receive the data that identifies the player, further cause the at least one processor to at least one of: receive, by at least one electronic gaming machine of the plurality of electronic gaming machines 10, a player identification card or a digital signal comprising a player identifier (see paragraphs [0049], [0099]).
In re claim 24, as applied to claim 21 above, Benbrahim discloses wherein the plurality of instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to receive the player gaming data further causes the at least one processor to send a query comprising the data that identifies the player to a player account database (see paragraphs [0099], [0100]).
In re claim 25, as applied to claim 21 above, Benbrahim discloses wherein the plurality of instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to modify at least one of the displayed game play or the displayed game outcome as a function of the player gaming data further cause the at least one processor to determine a player value to a casino associated with the electronic gaming machine (see paragraphs [0023], [0099], [0100], [0189]).
In re claim 26, as applied to claim 21 above, Benbrahim discloses wherein the plurality of instructions, when executed by at least one processor, further causes the at least one processor to determine, based on the player gaming data, a player volatility preference associated with the player (see paragraphs [0098], [0099], [0189]).
In re claim 27, as applied to claim 21 above, Benbrahim discloses wherein the plurality of instructions, when executed by at least one processor, further causes the at least one processor to determine, based on the player gaming data, a winning outcome frequency preference associated with the player (see paragraphs [0098], [0099], [0189]).
In re claim 28, Benbrahim discloses in a current embodiment, a method comprising: receiving data that identifies a player of an electronic gaming machine of a plurality of electronic gaming machines 10 (see paragraph [0088] and fig. 2B); displaying game play responsive to actuation of an actuator (32,34) associated with the electronic gaming machine 10 (see paragraph [0061] and figs. 1A, 1B, 2A); displaying a game outcome of one or more game outcomes after conclusion of the displayed game play (see paragraph [0049] and figs. 1A, 1B, 2A).
Benbrahim in the current embodiment is silent to receiving, via a network, player gaming data, wherein the player gaming data is associated with the player of the electronic gaming machine; and modifying at least one of the displayed game play or the displayed game outcome as a function of the player gaming data.
However, in another embodiment, Benbrahim discloses wherein each electronic gaming machine of the plurality of electronic gaming machines further comprises a player interface device configured to receive a player input, wherein the player input is associated with a uniquely identified player; a player tracking system operatively connected to the network (see paragraphs [0023], [0098], [0099], [0100], [0189]), wherein the player tracking system is configured to collect gaming data via the network, wherein the gaming data indicates game play associated with the uniquely identified player (see paragraph [0100]); at least one non-transitory computer readable medium that stores a plurality of instructions, which when executed by at least one processor causes the at least one processor to receive data that identifies a player of an electronic gaming machine of the plurality of electronic gaming machines; receiving, via the network (LAN/WAN) (see paragraph [0101]), player gaming data, wherein the player gaming data is associated with the player of the electronic gaming machine (a platinum or gold status); and modifying at least one of the displayed game play or displayed game outcome as a function of the player gaming data (game events associated with a designated game outcome achieved by a player with a high status provide that player with an opportunity to win higher awards than a play with a low status).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to incorporate the techniques as taught in other embodiments of Benbrahim into the current embodiment of Benbrahim in order to enable to the processes of receiving, via a network, player gaming data, wherein the player gaming data is associated with the player of the electronic gaming machine; and modifying at least one of the displayed game play or the displayed game outcome as a function of the player gaming data in the current embodiment of Benbrahim to be performed in order to enhance the enjoyment and excitement of gaming experience to the player (see paragraph [0004]).
In re claim 29, as applied to claim 28 above, Benbrahim discloses wherein the plurality of electronic gaming machines comprise one or more virtual slot machines, one or more virtual card machines, or one or more virtual table games (see paragraphs [0068], [0069] and figs. 1A, 1B).
In re claim 30, as applied to claim 28 above, Benbrahim discloses wherein receiving the data that identifies the player comprises at least one of: receiving, by at least one electronic gaming machine of the plurality of electronic gaming machines 10, a player identification card or a digital signal comprising a player identifier (see paragraph [0099]).
In re claim 31, as applied to claim 28 above, Benbrahim discloses wherein receiving the player gaming data comprising sending a query comprising the data that identifies the player to a player account database (see paragraph [0099], [0100]).
In re claim 32, as applied to claim 28 above, Benbrahim discloses wherein modifying at least one of the displayed game play or the displayed game outcome as a function of the player gaming data comprising determining a player value to a casino associated with the electronic gaming machine (see paragraphs [0023], [0099], [0100], [0189]).
In re claim 33, as applied to claim 28 above, Benbrahim discloses wherein the method further comprising determining, based on the player gaming data, a player volatility preference associated with the player (see paragraphs [0098], [0099], [0189]).
In re claim 34, as applied to claim 28 above, Benbrahim discloses wherein the method further comprising determining, based on one or more of the player gaming data or the data that identifies the player, a winning outcome frequency preference associated with the player (see paragraphs [0098], [0099], [0189]).
In re claim 35, Benbrahim discloses in a current embodiment, an apparatus comprising: one or more processors 12 (see paragraph [0049] and fig. 2A); and memory storing processor executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors 12, cause the apparatus to: receive data that identifies a player of an electronic gaming machine of a plurality of electronic gaming machines 10 (see paragraph [0049] and fig. 2A); display game play responsive to actuation of an actuator (32,34) associated with the electronic gaming machine 10 (see paragraph [0061] and figs. 1A, 1B, 2A); display a game outcome of one or more game outcomes after conclusion of the displayed game play (see paragraph [0049] and figs. 1A, 1B, 2A).
Benbrahim in the current embodiment is silent to receive, via a network, player gaming data, wherein the player gaming data is associated with the player of the electronic gaming machine; and modify at least one of the displayed game play or displayed game outcome as a function of the player gaming data.
However, in another embodiment, Benbrahim discloses wherein each electronic gaming machine of the plurality of electronic gaming machines further comprises a player interface device configured to receive a player input, wherein the player input is associated with a uniquely identified player; a player tracking system operatively connected to the network (see paragraphs [0023], [0098], [0099], [0100], [0189]), wherein the player tracking system is configured to collect gaming data via the network, wherein the gaming data indicates game play associated with the uniquely identified player (see paragraph [0100]); at least one non-transitory computer readable medium that stores a plurality of instructions, which when executed by at least one processor causes the at least one processor to receive data that identifies a player of an electronic gaming machine of the plurality of electronic gaming machines; receive, via the network (LAN/WAN) (see paragraph [0101]), player gaming data, wherein the player gaming data is associated with the player of the electronic gaming machine (a platinum or gold status); and modify at least one of the displayed game play or displayed game outcome as a function of the player gaming data (game events associated with a designated game outcome achieved by a player with a high status provide that player with an opportunity to win higher awards than a play with a low status).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to incorporate the techniques as taught in other embodiments of Benbrahim into the current embodiment of Benbrahim in order to enable to the processes of receive, via a network, player gaming data, wherein the player gaming data is associated with the player of the electronic gaming machine; and modify at least one of the displayed game play or the displayed game outcome as a function of the player gaming data in the current embodiment of Benbrahim to be performed in order to enhance the enjoyment and excitement of gaming experience to the player (see paragraph [0004]).
In re claim 36, as applied to claim 35 above, Benbrahim discloses wherein the processor executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to receive the data that identifies the player further cause the apparatus to at least one of: receive, by at least one electronic gaming machine of the plurality of electronic gaming machines 10, a player identification card or a digital signal comprising a player identifier (see paragraph [0099]).
In re claim 37, as applied to claim 35 above, Benbrahim discloses wherein the plurality of electronic gaming machines comprise one or more virtual slot machines, one or more virtual card machines, or one or more virtual table games (see paragraphs [0068], [0069] and figs. 1A, 1B).
In re claim 38, as applied to claim 35 above, Benbrahim discloses wherein the processor executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to receive the player gaming data further cause the apparatus to send, to a player account database, a query comprising the data that identifies the player (see paragraphs [0099], [0100]).
In re claim 39, as applied to claim 35 above, Benbrahim discloses wherein the processor executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to determine, based on the player gaming data, a player volatility preference associated with the player (see paragraphs [0098], [0099], [0189]).
In re claim 40, as applied to claim 35 above, Benbrahim discloses wherein the processor executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to determine, based on one or more of the player gaming data or the data that identifies the player, a winning outcome frequency preference associated with the player (see paragraphs [0098], [0099], [0189]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mattice et al. (U.S. Pub. 2008/0076503 discloses an apparatus and method for a gaming system including a plurality of paytables, wherein each of the paytables has an average expected payout.
Mead (U.S. Pub. 2009/0111577) discloses a gaming device having a display device including one or more display screens and a blank physical mechanical rotatable wheel mounted behind the display screen.
/KHIEM D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892