DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/23/2024 and 2/19/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oka et al. US 2010/0133684.
Re claim 1, Oka teaches a power module structure (fig1), comprising:
a substrate (1 and 2, fig1, [32]);
a chip (5, fig1, [31]) disposed on the substrate;
a first metal structure (7 with larger diameter, fig1 and 2, [38]) disposed on the substrate;
a second metal structure (7 with smaller diameter, fig1, [38]) disposed on the substrate, wherein, from a cross-sectional view (fig2), the first metal structure has a larger width than that of the second metal structure (7, fig2); and
a packaging material (11, fig1 and 2, [34]) covering the substrate and the chip,
wherein portions of the first metal structure and the second metal structure are exposed from an upper surface of the packaging material (top surface of 7 exposed from 11, fig1).
Re claim 3, Oka teaches the power module structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the chip comprises a power component (5, fig1, [31]).
Re claim 4, Oka teaches the power module structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first metal structure and the second metal structure comprise copper (7, fig1, [38]), silver or aluminum (7, fig1, [38]).
Re claim 5, Oka teaches the power module structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein upper surfaces of the first metal structure and the second metal structure (upper surface of 7, fig1 and 2) are on the same plane as the upper surface of the packaging material (upper surface of 11, fig1).
Re claim 8, Oka teaches the power module structure as claimed in claim 1, further comprising another first metal structure (another 7 with smaller diameter, fig2, [38]) disposed on the substrate, wherein a portion of the other first metal structure is exposed from the upper surface of the packaging material (top surface of 7 exposed from 11, fig1 and 2).
Re claim 9, Oka teaches the power module structure as claimed in claim 8, wherein, from a top view, the first metal structure and the other first metal structure have different areas (7, fig2).
Re claim 10, Oka teaches the power module structure as claimed in claim 8, wherein, from a top view, the first metal structure (7 with larger diameter, fig1 and 2, [38]) and the other first metal structure (another 7 with smaller diameter, fig2, [38]) have different shapes.
Re claim 11, Oka teaches the power module structure as claimed in claim 10, wherein, from a top view, the first metal structure and the other first metal structure comprise a rectangle, a triangle or a circle in shape (7, fig2, [38]).
Re claim 13, Oka teaches the power module structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first metal structure further comprises a through hole (tube 7 with center hole, fig1 and 2, [38]).
Claim(s) 1, 6-7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oka et al. US 2012/0098138.
Re claim 1, Oka teaches a power module structure (fig1), comprising:
a substrate (1 and 2, fig1, [26]);
a chip (5, fig1, [27]) disposed on the substrate;
a first metal structure (wide 6 and 10, fig1, [32, 8, 42]) disposed on the substrate;
a second metal structure (narrow 6 and 11, fig1, [32, 8, 42]) disposed on the substrate, wherein, from a cross-sectional view (fig1), the first metal structure has a larger width than that of the second metal structure (fig1); and
a packaging material (7, fig1, [47]) covering the substrate and the chip,
wherein portions of the first metal structure and the second metal structure are exposed from an upper surface of the packaging material (top surface of 11 and 10 exposed from 7, fig1).
Re claim 6, Oka teaches the power module structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein upper surfaces of the first metal structure and the second metal structure are higher than the upper surface of the packaging material (top surface of 11 and 10 above 7, fig1).
Re claim 7, Oka teaches the power module structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein upper surfaces of the first metal structure and the second metal structure (top surface of 6 not overlapping with 11 or 10, fig1) are lower than the upper surface of the packaging material (7, fig1, [28]).
Re claim 12, Oka teaches the power module structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein, from a cross-sectional view, the first metal structure comprises a rectangle (10, fig1 and 3, [8, 42]) or an irregular shape.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oka et al. US 2010/0133684 in view of Tsai et al. US 2017/0317014.
Re claim 2, Oka does not explicitly show teaches the power module structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the substrate comprises aluminum oxide.
Oka teaches layer 2 as a high thermal conductive insulating layer ([31]).
Tsai teaches insulating layer with added aluminum oxide fillers to increase thermal conductivity (100, fig9A, [42]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Oka and Tsai to add aluminum oxide fillers in the insulating layer. The motivation to do so is to increase thermal conductivity for the layer (Tsai, [42]).
Conclusion
/XIAOMING LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2812