DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 05/20/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,241 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 2
Line 4 recites the limitation “a first heat exchanger”. However, Claim 1 previously claimed “a first heat exchanger”. It is unclear if the first heat exchanger of line 4 is the same limitation as the first heat exchanger of claim 1, or if it is a new limitation. For examination purposes, the first heat exchanger of line 4 is interpreted as the same heat exchanger as the first heat exchanger of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3
Claim 3 is rejected insofar as it is dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Regarding Claim 5
Line 4 recites the limitation “a first heat exchanger”. However, Claim 1 previously claimed “a first heat exchanger”. It is unclear if the first heat exchanger of line 4 is the same limitation as the first heat exchanger of claim 1, or if it is a new limitation. For examination purposes, the first heat exchanger of line 4 is interpreted as the same heat exchanger as the first heat exchanger of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-10, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwarz et al., US 2008/0028763, in view of Sercombe et al., US 2020/0381985, and further in view of Schwarz et al., US 2017/0307311 (hereafter referred to as Schwarz II).
Regarding Claim 1
Schwarz discloses a hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system (Schwarz, Figures 1A-3) comprising: a gas turbine engine (10, gas turbofan engine) (Schwarz, [0019]) including a first rotational assembly (R1, modified Figure 1A of Schwarz below) [a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize A of modified Figure 1A of Schwarz as a type of rotational assembly], the first rotational assembly (R1, modified Figure 1A of Schwarz below) is rotatable about a rotational axis (A, centerline axis) of the gas turbine engine (10) (Schwarz, [0021]), the first rotational assembly (R1, modified Figure 1A of Schwarz below) includes a first shaft (Schwarz, [0020], modified Figure 1A), a bladed first compressor rotor (16, high pressure compressor) (Schwarz, [0019]), and a bladed first turbine rotor (20, high pressure turbine) (Schwarz, [0019]), and the first shaft (Schwarz, [0020]) interconnects the bladed first compressor rotor (16) and the bladed first turbine rotor (20) (Schwarz, [0020]); and
an electrical assembly including a first motor-generator (generator) (Schwarz, [0028], Figure 3), a first motor control unit (63), and a motor-generator (MG) cooling system (generator cooling oil circuit) (Schwarz, [0007]), the first motor-generator (generator) is coupled to the first shaft, the first motor control unit (63) is electrically connected to the first motor-generator (generator) (Schwarz, [0028], Figure 3), the MG cooling system (46) is connected in fluid communication with the first motor- generator (generator) (Schwarz, [0023]).
However, Schwarz does not disclose that the electrical assembly includes a motor control unit (MCU) cooling system, wherein the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the first motor control unit and the MCU cooling system is independent of the MG cooling system.
Sercombe teaches an electrical assembly that includes a motor control unit cooling system (140), wherein the MCU cooling system (140) is connected in fluid communication with a first motor control unit (150), and the MCU cooling system (140) is independent of a motor generator cooling system (140) [Sercombe teaches an embodiment in which multiple independent cooling systems (14) can be included so that a cooling system of an electric motor (125) is separate from the cooling system of the motor controllers (150)] (Sercombe, [0027] and [0037]).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the motor control unit cooling system connected in fluid communication with the first motor control unit, wherein the MCU cooling system is independent of the motor generator cooling system as taught by Sercombe with the hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system taught by Schwarz since this would provide the advantage of cooling of the motor control unit separate from the cooling of the motor-generator.
However, Schwarz and Sercombe do not explicitly teach that the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger, wherein the first heat exchanger is an air-cooled heat exchanger. Schwarz II teaches a gas turbine engine system in which a first heat exchanger (102) is an air-cooled heat exchanger (102) that is positioned within the bypass duct (B) formed by the nacelle (Schwarz II, [0040], Figures 2 and 3B).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Schwarz and Sercombe such that the MG cooling system includes a first air-cooled heat exchanger as is taught by Schwarz II in order to provide an alternative cooling means that utilizes existing cooling elements of the system.
Figure 1: Modified Figure 1A of Schwarz
Figure 2: Modified Figure 1B of Schwarz
Regarding Claim 2
Schwarz, Sercombe, and Schwarz II teach the hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 1. Schwarz further discloses a nacelle (32, fan nacelle) (Schwarz, [0021]) including a nacelle body (N, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz below) [a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize N of modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above as a type of nacelle body] extending circumferentially about the gas turbine engine (10), the nacelle body (N, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above) forms an annular bypass duct (D, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above) [a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize D of modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above as a type of annular bypass duct] between the nacelle body (N, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above) and the gas turbine engine (10). Schwarz II further teaches a first heat exchanger (102), a second heat exchanger (102), and the first heat exchanger (102) and the second heat exchanger (102) are disposed within the annular bypass duct (B) (Schwarz II, [0040], Figures 2 and 3B).
Regarding Claim 3
Schwarz, Sercombe, and Schwarz II teach the hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 2. Schwarz further discloses that the nacelle (32, fan nacelle) further includes an upper bifurcation (Ub, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above) and a lower bifurcation (Lb, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above), each of the upper bifurcation and the lower bifurcation (Ub, Lb) extend radially inward from the nacelle body (N, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above) through the annular bypass duct (D, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above). While Schwarz, Sercombe, and Schwarz II do not explicitly disclose that the first heat exchanger is disposed at the upper bifurcation and the second heat exchanger is disposed at the lower bifurcation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding Claim 4
Schwarz, Sercombe, and Schwarz II teach the hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 1. Schwarz further discloses a nacelle (32, fan nacelle) (Schwarz, [0021]) including a nacelle body (N, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above) [a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize N of modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above as a type of nacelle body] extending circumferentially about the gas turbine engine (10), the nacelle body (N, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above) forms an annular bypass duct (D, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above) [a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize D of modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above as a type of annular bypass duct] between the nacelle body (N, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above) and the gas turbine engine (10), wherein the gas turbine engine (10) includes a fan section (14) and a fan case (inner surface of nacelle (32), modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above), the fan case (inner surface of nacelle (32)) extends circumferentially about the rotational axis at the fan section (14) (Schwarz, Figure 1A), the nacelle body (N, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above) encloses the fan case (F), and the first motor control unit (63) is disposed on the fan case (inner surface of nacelle (32)) within the nacelle body (N, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above) (Schwarz, modified Figure 1B and Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 5
Schwarz, Sercombe, and Schwarz II teach the hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 4. Schwarz further teaches that the nacelle (32, fan nacelle) further includes an upper bifurcation (Ub, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above) and a lower bifurcation (Lb, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above), each of the upper bifurcation and the lower bifurcation (Ub, Lb) extend radially inward from the nacelle body (N, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above) through the annular bypass duct (D, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above). Schwarz II further teaches a first heat exchanger (102) and a second heat exchanger (102) in the annular bypass duct (D) (Schwarz II, [0040], Figures 2 and 3B). While Schwarz, Sercombe, and Schwarz II the first heat exchanger is disposed at the upper bifurcation and the second heat exchanger is disposed at the lower bifurcation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding Claim 9
Schwarz, Sercombe, and Schwarz II teach the hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 1. Schwarz II further teaches multiple heat exchangers (102) utilized to cool gas turbine engine components (Schwarz II, [0040], Figure 3B). Sercombe further teaches the MG cooling system is fuel cooled (Sercombe, [0027] and [0037]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the MG cooling system to include a second heat exchanger, that is a fuel-cooled heat exchanger, as it would be obvious to provide alternative means of cooling the system components to ensure proper system function.
Regarding Claim 10
Schwarz discloses a hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system comprising: a gas turbine engine (10, gas turbofan engine) (Schwarz, [0019]) including a fan section (including (14), fan) (Schwarz, [0019]), a compressor section (including (16), high pressure compressor) (Schwarz, [0019]), a turbine section (including (20), high pressure turbine) (Schwarz, [0019]), a fan case (inner surface of nacelle (32)), and a first rotational assembly (R1, modified Figure 1A of Schwarz above) [a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize A of modified Figure 1A of Schwarz above as a type of rotational assembly], the fan case (inner surface of nacelle (32)) is disposed within the fan section (including (14), fan), the fan case (inner surface of nacelle (32)) extends circumferentially about a rotational axis (A) of the gas turbine engine (10), the first rotational assembly (R1) is rotatable about the rotational axis (A), the first rotational assembly (R1) includes a first shaft (Schwarz, [0020], modified Figure 1A above), a bladed first compressor rotor (16) for the compressor section (Schwarz, [0019]), and a bladed first turbine rotor (10) for the turbine section (Schwarz, [0019]), and the first shaft (Schwarz, [0020], modified Figure 1A above) interconnects the bladed first compressor rotor (16) and the bladed first turbine rotor (10) (Schwarz, [0019]-[0020]);
a nacelle (32, fan nacelle) including a nacelle body (N, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above) extending circumferentially about the gas turbine engine (10), the nacelle body (N) forms an annular bypass duct (D, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above)) between the nacelle body (N) and the gas turbine engine (10), and the nacelle body (N) encloses the fan case (inner surface of nacelle (32)) (Schwarz, modified Figures 1B above); and
an electrical assembly including a first motor-generator (generator) (Schwarz, [0028], Figure 3), a first motor control unit for the first motor-generator (generator) (Schwarz, [0028], Figure 3), a motor- generator (MG) cooling system (46), the first motor-generator (generator) (Schwarz, [0028], Figure 3) is coupled to the first rotational assembly (R1, modified Figure 1A above), the first motor control unit (63) is disposed on the fan case (inner surface of nacelle (32)) within the nacelle body (N, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above), the MG cooling system (46) is connected in fluid communication with the first motor- generator (generator) (Schwarz, [0023] and [0028], Figure 3).
However, Schwarz does not disclose that the electrical assembly includes a motor control unit (MCU) cooling system, wherein the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the first motor control unit and disposed at the fan case.
Sercombe teaches an electrical assembly that includes a motor control unit cooling system (140), wherein the MCU cooling system (140) is connected in fluid communication with a first motor control unit (150) (Sercombe, [0027] and [0037]).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the motor control unit cooling system connected in fluid communication with the first motor control unit, wherein the MCU cooling system is independent of the motor generator cooling system as taught by Sercombe with the hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system taught by Schwarz since this would provide the advantage of cooling of the motor control unit separate from the cooling of the motor-generator. [A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the MCU cooling system of Schwarz in view of Sercombe would be disposed at the fan case as the MCU is disposed on the fan case].
However, Schwarz and Sercombe do not explicitly teach that the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger, the MCU cooling system includes a second heat exchanger, and the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger are disposed at the annular bypass duct.
Schwarz II further teaches a first heat exchanger (102), a second heat exchanger (102), and the first heat exchanger (102) and the second heat exchanger (102) are disposed within the annular bypass duct (B) (Schwarz II, [0040], Figures 2 and 3B).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Schwarz and Sercombe such that the MG cooling system includes a first air-cooled heat exchanger and the MCU cooling system includes a second heat exchanger, wherein the first and second heat exchangers are disposed at the annular bypass duct as is taught by Schwarz II in order to provide an alternative cooling means that utilizes existing cooling elements of the system.
Regarding Claim 13
Schwarz, Sercombe, and Schwarz II teach the hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 10. Schwarz further teaches that the nacelle (32, fan nacelle) further includes an upper bifurcation (Ub, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above) and a lower bifurcation (Lb, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above), each of the upper bifurcation and the lower bifurcation (Ub, Lb) extend radially inward from the nacelle body (N, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above) through the annular bypass duct (D, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above). Schwarz II further teaches a first heat exchanger (102) and a second heat exchanger (102) in the annular bypass duct (D) (Schwarz II, [0040], Figures 2 and 3B). While Schwarz, Sercombe, and Schwarz II the first heat exchanger is disposed at the upper bifurcation and the second heat exchanger is disposed at the lower bifurcation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding Claim 14
Schwarz, Sercombe, and Schwarz II teach the hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 13. Schwarz further discloses that the gas turbine engine (10) further includes an inner fixed structure, the inner fixed structure houses and circumscribes the compressor section (16) and the turbine section (20), the upper bifurcation (Ub, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above) and the lower bifurcation (Lb, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above) extend between and connect the nacelle body (N, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above) and the inner fixed structure, and the MG cooling system (generator cooling oil circuit) is disposed at the inner fixed structure (Schwarz, modified Figure 1B and Figure 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-18 and 20 are allowed. Claims 6-7, 12, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In the hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claims 6 and 15, the inclusion of:
“the gas turbine engine further includes a second rotational assembly, the second rotational assembly is rotatable about the rotational axis, the second rotational assembly includes a second shaft, a bladed second compressor rotor, and a bladed second turbine rotor, and the second shaft interconnects the bladed second compressor rotor and the bladed second turbine rotor; and the electrical assembly further includes a second motor-generator and a second motor control unit, the second motor-generator is coupled to the second shaft, the second motor control unit is electrically connected to the second motor-generator, the MG cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the second motor-generator, and the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the second motor control unit” was not found.
Schwarz et al. (US 2008/0028763), Sercombe et al. (US 2020/0381985), and Schwarz et al., US 2017/0307311 (hereafter referred to as Schwarz II) teach the subject matter closest to the claim. However, Schwarz, Sercombe, and Schwarz II do not teach that the gas turbine engine components of claims 6 and 15.
In the hybrid-electric propulsion system of claims 7, 12, and 16, the inclusion of:
“the MG cooling system includes a first coolant, the MCU cooling system includes a second coolant, and the first coolant is different than the second coolant” was not found.
Schwarz et al. (US 2008/0028763), Sercombe et al. (US 2020/0381985), and Schwarz et al., US 2017/0307311 (hereafter referred to as Schwarz II) teach the subject matter closest to the claim. Sercombe teaches an electrical assembly that includes a motor control unit cooling system (140), wherein the MCU cooling system (140) is connected in fluid communication with a first motor control unit (150), and the MCU cooling system (140) is independent of a motor generator cooling system (140) [Sercombe teaches an embodiment in which multiple independent cooling systems (14) can be included so that a cooling system of an electric motor (125) is separate from the cooling system of the motor controllers (150)] (Sercombe, [0027] and [0037]). However, Schwarz, Sercombe, and Schwarz II do not teach that the MG cooling system includes a first coolant, the MCU cooling system includes a second coolant, and the first coolant is different than the second coolant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. After further consideration of the application and performing a new search, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
/K.L.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3741 /DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741