DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwarz et al., US 2008/0028763, in view of Sercombe et al., US 2020/0381985.
Regarding Claim 1
Schwarz discloses a hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system (Schwarz, Figures 1A-3) comprising: a gas turbine engine (10, gas turbofan engine) (Schwarz, [0019]) including a first rotational assembly (R1, modified Figure 1A of Schwarz below) [a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize A of modified Figure 1A of Schwarz as a type of rotational assembly], the first rotational assembly (R1, modified Figure 1A of Schwarz below) is rotatable about a rotational axis (A, centerline axis) of the gas turbine engine (10) (Schwarz, [0021]), the first rotational assembly (R1, modified Figure 1A of Schwarz below) includes a first shaft (Schwarz, [0020], modified Figure 1A), a bladed first compressor rotor (16, high pressure compressor) (Schwarz, [0019]), and a bladed first turbine rotor (20, high pressure turbine) (Schwarz, [0019]), and the first shaft (Schwarz, [0020]) interconnects the bladed first compressor rotor (16) and the bladed first turbine rotor (20) (Schwarz, [0020]); and
an electrical assembly including a first motor-generator (generator) (Schwarz, [0028], Figure 3), a first motor control unit (63), and a motor-generator (MG) cooling system (generator cooling oil circuit) (Schwarz, [0007]), the first motor-generator (generator) is coupled to the first shaft, the first motor control unit (63) is electrically connected to the first motor-generator (generator) (Schwarz, [0028], Figure 3), the MG cooling system (46) is connected in fluid communication with the first motor-generator (generator) (Schwarz, [0023]).
However, Schwarz does not disclose that the electrical assembly includes a motor control unit (MCU) cooling system, wherein the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the first motor control unit and the MCU cooling system is independent of the MG cooling system.
Sercombe teaches an electrical assembly that includes a motor control unit cooling system (140), wherein the MCU cooling system (140) is connected in fluid communication with a first motor control unit (150), and the MCU cooling system (140) is independent of a motor generator cooling system (140) [Sercombe teaches an embodiment in which multiple independent cooling systems (14) can be included so that a cooling system of an electric motor (125) is separate from the cooling system of the motor controllers (150)] (Sercombe, [0027] and [0037]).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the motor control unit cooling system connected in fluid communication with the first motor control unit, wherein the MCU cooling system is independent of the motor generator cooling system as taught by Sercombe with the hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system taught by Schwarz since this would provide the advantage of cooling of the motor control unit separate from the cooling of the motor-generator.
Figure 1: Modified Figure 1A of Schwarz
Regarding Claim 4
Schwarz and Sercombe teach the hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 1. Schwarz further discloses a nacelle (32, fan nacelle) (Schwarz, [0021]) including a nacelle body (N, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz below) [a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize N of modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above as a type of nacelle body] extending circumferentially about the gas turbine engine (10), the nacelle body (N, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz below) forms an annular bypass duct (D, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz below) [a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize D of modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above as a type of annular bypass duct] between the nacelle body (N, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz below) and the gas turbine engine (10), wherein the gas turbine engine (10) includes a fan section (14) and a fan case (inner surface of nacelle (32), modified Figure 1B of Schwarz below), the fan case (inner surface of nacelle (32)) extends circumferentially about the rotational axis at the fan section (14) (Schwarz, Figure 1A), the nacelle body (N, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above) encloses the fan case (F), and the first motor control unit (63) is disposed on the fan case (inner surface of nacelle (32)) within the nacelle body (N, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz below) (Schwarz, modified Figure 1B and Figure 3).
Figure 2: Modified Figure 1B of Schwarz
Regarding Claim 10
Schwarz discloses a hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system comprising:
a gas turbine engine (10, gas turbofan engine) (Schwarz, [0019]) including a fan section (including (14), fan) (Schwarz, [0019]), a compressor section (including (16), high pressure compressor) (Schwarz, [0019]), a turbine section (including (20), high pressure turbine) (Schwarz, [0019]), a fan case (inner surface of nacelle (32)), and a first rotational assembly (R1, modified Figure 1A of Schwarz above) [a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize A of modified Figure 1A of Schwarz above as a type of rotational assembly], the fan case (inner surface of nacelle (32)) is disposed within the fan section (including (14), fan), the fan case (inner surface of nacelle (32)) extends circumferentially about a rotational axis (A) of the gas turbine engine (10), the first rotational assembly (R1) is rotatable about the rotational axis (A), the first rotational assembly (R1) includes a first shaft (Schwarz, [0020], modified Figure 1A above), a bladed first compressor rotor (16) for the compressor section (Schwarz, [0019]), and a bladed first turbine rotor (10) for the turbine section (Schwarz, [0019]), and the first shaft (Schwarz, [0020], modified Figure 1A above) interconnects the bladed first compressor rotor (16) and the bladed first turbine rotor (10) (Schwarz, [0019]-[0020]);
a nacelle (32, fan nacelle) including a nacelle body (N, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above) extending circumferentially about the gas turbine engine (10), the nacelle body (N) forms an annular bypass duct (D, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above)) between the nacelle body (N) and the gas turbine engine (10), and the nacelle body (N) encloses the fan case (inner surface of nacelle (32)) (Schwarz, modified Figures 1B above); and
an electrical assembly including a first motor-generator (generator) (Schwarz, [0028], Figure 3), a first motor control unit for the first motor-generator (generator) (Schwarz, [0028], Figure 3), a motor-generator (MG) cooling system (46), the first motor-generator (generator) (Schwarz, [0028], Figure 3) is coupled to the first rotational assembly (R1, modified Figure 1A above), the first motor control unit (63) is disposed on the fan case (inner surface of nacelle (32)) within the nacelle body (N, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above), the MG cooling system (46) is connected in fluid communication with the first motor-generator (generator) (Schwarz, [0023] and [0028], Figure 3).
However, Schwarz does not disclose that the electrical assembly includes a motor control unit (MCU) cooling system, wherein the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the first motor control unit and disposed at the fan case.
Sercombe teaches an electrical assembly that includes a motor control unit cooling system (140), wherein the MCU cooling system (140) is connected in fluid communication with a first motor control unit (150) (Sercombe, [0027] and [0037]).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the motor control unit cooling system connected in fluid communication with the first motor control unit, wherein the MCU cooling system is independent of the motor generator cooling system as taught by Sercombe with the hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system taught by Schwarz since this would provide the advantage of cooling of the motor control unit separate from the cooling of the motor-generator. [A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the MCU cooling system of Schwarz in view of Sercombe would be disposed at the fan case as the MCU is disposed on the fan case].
Regarding Claim 16
Schwarz discloses a hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system comprising:
a gas turbine engine a gas turbine engine (10, gas turbofan engine) (Schwarz, [0019]) including a first rotational assembly (R1, modified Figure 1A of Schwarz below) [a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize A of modified Figure 1A of Schwarz as a type of rotational assembly], a fan case (inner surface of the nacelle (32)), and an inner fixed structure (30, core nacelle) [a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize 30 of Figure 1B of Schwarz as a type of inner fixed structure], the fan case (inner surface of the nacelle (32)) and the inner fixed structure (30) form an annular bypass duct (D, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above) [a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize D of modified Figure 1B of Schwarz above as a type of annular bypass duct], the fan case (inner surface of the nacelle (32)) forms an outer radial boundary of the annular bypass duct (D), the inner fixed structure (30) forms an inner radial boundary of the annular bypass duct (D) (Schwarz, modified Figure 1B), the first rotational assembly (R1) (Schwarz, modified Figure 1A above) is rotatable about a rotational axis of the gas turbine engine (10) (Schwarz, [0021]), the first rotational assembly (R1) includes a first shaft (Schwarz, [0020], modified Figure 1A), a bladed first compressor rotor (16, high pressure compressor) (Schwarz, [0019]), and a bladed first turbine rotor (20, high pressure turbine) (Schwarz, [0019]), and the first shaft interconnects the bladed first compressor rotor (16) and the bladed first turbine rotor (20) (Schwarz, [0020]);
a nacelle (32) including a nacelle body (N, annotated Figure 1B of Schwarz above) extending circumferentially about the gas turbine engine (10), the nacelle body (N) is disposed at the fan case (inner surface of the nacelle (32)), the nacelle body (N) further forms the annular bypass duct (D) (Schwarz, modified Figure 1B of Schwarz); and
an electrical assembly including a first motor-generator(generator) (Schwarz, [0028], Figure 3), a first motor control unit (63) for the first motor-generator (Schwarz, [0028], Figure 3), a motor-generator (MG) cooling system (generator cooling oil circuit) (Schwarz, [0007]), the first motor-generator is coupled to the first rotational assembly (R1) (Schwarz, modified Figure 1A above), the first motor control unit (63) is disposed at the fan case, the MG cooling system (generator cooling oil circuit) is connected in fluid communication with the first motor-generator (generator) (Schwarz, [0023]).
However, Schwarz does not disclose that the electrical assembly includes a motor control unit (MCU) cooling system, wherein the MG cooling system is disposed at the inner fixed structure, the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the first motor control unit, and the MCU cooling system is disposed at the fan case
Sercombe teaches an electrical assembly that includes a motor control unit cooling system (140), wherein the MCU cooling system (140) is connected in fluid communication with a first motor control unit (150), and the MCU cooling system (140) is independent of a motor generator cooling system (140) [Sercombe teaches an embodiment in which multiple independent cooling systems (14) can be included so that a cooling system of an electric motor (125) is separate from the cooling system of the motor controllers (150)] (Sercombe, [0027] and [0037]).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the motor control unit cooling system connected in fluid communication with the first motor control unit, wherein the MCU cooling system is independent of the motor generator cooling system as taught by Sercombe with the hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system taught by Schwarz since this would provide the advantage of cooling of the motor control unit separate from the cooling of the motor-generator.
Regarding Claim 20
Schwarz and Sercombe teach the hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 16. Sercombe further teaches that the MCU cooling system (140) is independent of the MG cooling system (140) [Sercombe teaches an embodiment in which multiple independent cooling systems (14) can be included so that a cooling system of an electric motor (125) is separate from the cooling system of the motor controllers (150)] (Sercombe, [0027] and [0037]).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-11, 13-14, and 16-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,241. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
claim(s) 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,241 anticipate claim(s) 1-3 of the instant application. Accordingly, application claims 1-3 are not patentably distinct from claims 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,241.
claim(s) 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,241 anticipate claim(s) 10-11 and 13-14 of the instant application. Accordingly, application claims 10-11 and 13-14 are not patentably distinct from claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,241.
claim(s) 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,241 anticipate claim(s) 16-18 of the instant application. Accordingly, application claims 16-18 are not patentably distinct from claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,241.
Pat. No. 12,503,241
Application No. 18/643,622
Claim
Claim
1.
9.
An aircraft propulsion system comprising:
a gas turbine engine including a rotational assembly and an inner fixed structure, the rotational assembly is rotatable about a rotational axis of the gas turbine engine, the rotational assembly includes a shaft, a bladed compressor rotor, and a bladed turbine rotor, the shaft interconnects the bladed compressor rotor and the bladed turbine rotor, the inner fixed structure forms an exterior housing of the gas turbine engine;
a nacelle including a nacelle body, a first bifurcation, and a second bifurcation, the nacelle body extends circumferentially about the gas turbine engine, the nacelle body forms an annular bypass duct between the nacelle body and the inner fixed structure, and the first bifurcation and the second bifurcation extend between and connect the nacelle body and the inner fixed structure; and
an electrical assembly including a motor-generator, a motor control unit, a motor-generator (MG) cooling system, and a motor control unit (MCU) cooling system, the motor-generator is coupled to the shaft, the motor control unit is electrically connected to the motor-generator, the MG cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor-generator, the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger disposed at the first bifurcation within the annular bypass duct, the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor control unit, and the MCU cooling system includes a second heat exchanger disposed at the second bifurcation within the annular bypass duct.
The aircraft propulsion system of claim 1, wherein the MG cooling system is independent of the MCU cooling system.
1.
A hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system comprising:
a gas turbine engine including a first rotational assembly, the first rotational assembly is rotatable about a rotational axis of the gas turbine engine, the first rotational assembly includes a first shaft, a bladed first compressor rotor, and a bladed first turbine rotor, and the first shaft interconnects the bladed first compressor rotor and the bladed first turbine rotor; and
an electrical assembly including a first motor-generator, a first motor control unit, a motor-generator (MG) cooling system, and a motor control unit (MCU) cooling system, the first motor-generator is coupled to the first shaft, the first motor control unit is electrically connected to the first motor-generator, the MG cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the first motor-generator, the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the first motor control unit, and the MCU cooling system is independent of the MG cooling system.
1.
a nacelle including a nacelle body, a first bifurcation, and a second bifurcation, the nacelle body extends circumferentially about the gas turbine engine, the nacelle body forms an annular bypass duct between the nacelle body and the inner fixed structure [exterior housing of the gas turbine engine], and the first bifurcation and the second bifurcation extend between and connect the nacelle body and the inner fixed structure; and
an electrical assembly including a motor-generator, a motor control unit, a motor-generator (MG) cooling system, and a motor control unit (MCU) cooling system, the motor-generator is coupled to the shaft, the motor control unit is electrically connected to the motor-generator, the MG cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor-generator, the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger disposed at the first bifurcation within the annular bypass duct, the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor control unit, and the MCU cooling system includes a second heat exchanger disposed at the second bifurcation within the annular bypass duct.
2.
a nacelle including a nacelle body extending circumferentially about the gas turbine engine, the nacelle body forms an annular bypass duct between the nacelle body and the gas turbine engine, wherein the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger, the MCU cooling system includes a second heat exchanger, and the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger are disposed within the annular bypass duct.
1.
a nacelle including a nacelle body, a first bifurcation, and a second bifurcation, the nacelle body extends circumferentially about the gas turbine engine, the nacelle body forms an annular bypass duct between the nacelle body and the inner fixed structure [exterior housing of the gas turbine engine], and the first bifurcation and the second bifurcation extend between and connect the nacelle body and the inner fixed structure; and
an electrical assembly including a motor-generator, a motor control unit, a motor-generator (MG) cooling system, and a motor control unit (MCU) cooling system, the motor-generator is coupled to the shaft, the motor control unit is electrically connected to the motor-generator, the MG cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor-generator, the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger disposed at the first bifurcation within the annular bypass duct, the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor control unit, and the MCU cooling system includes a second heat exchanger disposed at the second bifurcation within the annular bypass duct.
3.
the nacelle further includes an upper bifurcation and a lower bifurcation, each of the upper bifurcation and the lower bifurcation extend radially inward from the nacelle body through the annular bypass duct, the first heat exchanger is disposed at the upper bifurcation and the second heat exchanger is disposed at the lower bifurcation.
1.
7.
An aircraft propulsion system comprising:
a gas turbine engine including a rotational assembly and an inner fixed structure, the rotational assembly is rotatable about a rotational axis of the gas turbine engine, the rotational assembly includes a shaft, a bladed compressor rotor, and a bladed turbine rotor, the shaft interconnects the bladed compressor rotor and the bladed turbine rotor, the inner fixed structure forms an exterior housing of the gas turbine engine;
a nacelle including a nacelle body, a first bifurcation, and a second bifurcation, the nacelle body extends circumferentially about the gas turbine engine, the nacelle body forms an annular bypass duct between the nacelle body and the inner fixed structure, and the first bifurcation and the second bifurcation extend between and connect the nacelle body and the inner fixed structure; and
an electrical assembly including a motor-generator, a motor control unit, a motor-generator (MG) cooling system, and a motor control unit (MCU) cooling system, the motor-generator is coupled to the shaft, the motor control unit is electrically connected to the motor-generator, the MG cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor-generator, the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger disposed at the first bifurcation within the annular bypass duct, the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor control unit, and the MCU cooling system includes a second heat exchanger disposed at the second bifurcation within the annular bypass duct.
The aircraft propulsion system of claim 1, wherein the gas turbine engine includes a fan section and a fan case, the fan case extends circumferentially about the rotational axis at the fan section, the nacelle body encloses the fan case, and the motor control unit is disposed on the fan case within the nacelle body.
10.
A hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system comprising:
a gas turbine engine including a fan section, a compressor section, a turbine section, a fan case, and a first rotational assembly, the fan case is disposed within the fan section, the fan case extends circumferentially about a rotational axis of the gas turbine engine, the first rotational assembly is rotatable about the rotational axis, the first rotational assembly includes a first shaft, a bladed first compressor rotor for the compressor section, and a bladed first turbine rotor for the turbine section, and the first shaft interconnects the bladed first compressor rotor and the bladed first turbine rotor;
a nacelle including a nacelle body extending circumferentially about the gas turbine engine, the nacelle body forms an annular bypass duct between the nacelle body and the gas turbine engine, and the nacelle body encloses the fan case; and
an electrical assembly including a first motor-generator, a first motor control unit for the first motor-generator, a motor-generator (MG) cooling system, and a motor control unit (MCU) cooling system, the first motor-generator is coupled to the first rotational assembly, the first motor control unit is disposed on the fan case within the nacelle body, the MG cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the first motor-generator, the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the first motor control unit, and the MCU cooling system is disposed at the fan case.
1.
an electrical assembly including a motor-generator, a motor control unit, a motor-generator (MG) cooling system, and a motor control unit (MCU) cooling system, the motor-generator is coupled to the shaft, the motor control unit is electrically connected to the motor-generator, the MG cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor-generator, the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger disposed at the first bifurcation within the annular bypass duct, the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor control unit, and the MCU cooling system includes a second heat exchanger disposed at the second bifurcation within the annular bypass duct.
11.
The hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 10, wherein the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger, the MCU cooling system includes a second heat exchanger, and the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger are disposed at the annular bypass duct.
1.
a nacelle including a nacelle body, a first bifurcation, and a second bifurcation, the nacelle body extends circumferentially about the gas turbine engine, the nacelle body forms an annular bypass duct between the nacelle body and the inner fixed structure [exterior housing of the gas turbine engine], and the first bifurcation and the second bifurcation extend between and connect the nacelle body and the inner fixed structure [exterior housing of the gas turbine engine]; and
an electrical assembly including a motor-generator, a motor control unit, a motor-generator (MG) cooling system, and a motor control unit (MCU) cooling system, the motor-generator is coupled to the shaft, the motor control unit is electrically connected to the motor-generator, the MG cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor-generator, the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger disposed at the first bifurcation within the annular bypass duct, the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor control unit, and the MCU cooling system includes a second heat exchanger disposed at the second bifurcation within the annular bypass duct.
13.
The hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 11, wherein the nacelle further includes an upper bifurcation and a lower bifurcation, each of the upper bifurcation and the lower bifurcation extend radially inward from the nacelle body through the annular bypass duct, the first heat exchanger is disposed at the upper bifurcation and the second heat exchanger is disposed at the lower bifurcation.
1.
An aircraft propulsion system comprising:
a gas turbine engine including a rotational assembly and an inner fixed structure, the rotational assembly is rotatable about a rotational axis of the gas turbine engine, the rotational assembly includes a shaft, a bladed compressor rotor, and a bladed turbine rotor, the shaft interconnects the bladed compressor rotor and the bladed turbine rotor, the inner fixed structure forms an exterior housing of the gas turbine engine;
a nacelle including a nacelle body, a first bifurcation, and a second bifurcation, the nacelle body extends circumferentially about the gas turbine engine, the nacelle body forms an annular bypass duct between the nacelle body and the inner fixed structure, and the first bifurcation and the second bifurcation extend between and connect the nacelle body and the inner fixed structure; and
an electrical assembly including a motor-generator, a motor control unit, a motor-generator (MG) cooling system, and a motor control unit (MCU) cooling system, the motor-generator is coupled to the shaft, the motor control unit is electrically connected to the motor-generator, the MG cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor-generator, the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger disposed at the first bifurcation within the annular bypass duct, the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor control unit, and the MCU cooling system includes a second heat exchanger disposed at the second bifurcation within the annular bypass duct.
14.
The hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 13, wherein the gas turbine engine further includes an inner fixed structure, the inner fixed structure houses and circumscribes the compressor section and the turbine section, the upper bifurcation and the lower bifurcation extend between and connected the nacelle body and the inner fixed structure, and the MG cooling system is disposed at the inner fixed structure.
1.
7.
An aircraft propulsion system comprising:
a gas turbine engine including a rotational assembly and an inner fixed structure, the rotational assembly is rotatable about a rotational axis of the gas turbine engine, the rotational assembly includes a shaft, a bladed compressor rotor, and a bladed turbine rotor, the shaft interconnects the bladed compressor rotor and the bladed turbine rotor, the inner fixed structure forms an exterior housing of the gas turbine engine;
a nacelle including a nacelle body, a first bifurcation, and a second bifurcation, the nacelle body extends circumferentially about the gas turbine engine, the nacelle body forms an annular bypass duct between the nacelle body and the inner fixed structure, and the first bifurcation and the second bifurcation extend between and connect the nacelle body and the inner fixed structure; and
an electrical assembly including a motor-generator, a motor control unit, a motor-generator (MG) cooling system, and a motor control unit (MCU) cooling system, the motor-generator is coupled to the shaft, the motor control unit is electrically connected to the motor-generator, the MG cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor-generator, the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger disposed at the first bifurcation within the annular bypass duct, the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor control unit, and the MCU cooling system includes a second heat exchanger disposed at the second bifurcation within the annular bypass duct.
The aircraft propulsion system of claim 1, wherein the gas turbine engine includes a fan section and a fan case, the fan case extends circumferentially about the rotational axis at the fan section, the nacelle body encloses the fan case, and the motor control unit is disposed on the fan case within the nacelle body.
16.
A hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system comprising:
a gas turbine engine including a first rotational assembly, a fan case, and an inner fixed structure, the fan case and the inner fixed structure form an annular bypass duct, the fan case forms an outer radial boundary of the annular bypass duct, the inner fixed structure forms an inner radial boundary of the annular bypass duct, the first rotational assembly is rotatable about a rotational axis of the gas turbine engine, the first rotational assembly includes a first shaft, a bladed first compressor rotor, and a bladed first turbine rotor, and the first shaft interconnects the bladed first compressor rotor and the bladed first turbine rotor;
a nacelle including a nacelle body extending circumferentially about the gas turbine engine, the nacelle body is disposed at the fan case, the nacelle body further forms the annular bypass duct; and
an electrical assembly including a first motor-generator, a first motor control unit for the first motor-generator, a motor-generator (MG) cooling system, and a motor control unit (MCU) cooling system, the first motor-generator is coupled to the first rotational assembly, the first motor control unit is disposed at the fan case, the MG cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the first motor-generator, the MG cooling system is disposed at the inner fixed structure, the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the first motor control unit, and the MCU cooling system is disposed at the fan case.
1.
an electrical assembly including a motor-generator, a motor control unit, a motor-generator (MG) cooling system, and a motor control unit (MCU) cooling system, the motor-generator is coupled to the shaft, the motor control unit is electrically connected to the motor-generator, the MG cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor-generator, the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger disposed at the first bifurcation within the annular bypass duct, the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor control unit, and the MCU cooling system includes a second heat exchanger disposed at the second bifurcation within the annular bypass duct.
17.
The hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 16, wherein the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger, the MCU cooling system includes a second heat exchanger, and the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger are disposed at the annular bypass duct.
1.
a nacelle including a nacelle body, a first bifurcation, and a second bifurcation, the nacelle body extends circumferentially about the gas turbine engine, the nacelle body forms an annular bypass duct between the nacelle body and the inner fixed structure [exterior housing of the gas turbine engine], and the first bifurcation and the second bifurcation extend between and connect the nacelle body and the inner fixed structure [exterior housing of the gas turbine engine]; and
an electrical assembly including a motor-generator, a motor control unit, a motor-generator (MG) cooling system, and a motor control unit (MCU) cooling system, the motor-generator is coupled to the shaft, the motor control unit is electrically connected to the motor-generator, the MG cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor-generator, the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger disposed at the first bifurcation within the annular bypass duct, the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor control unit, and the MCU cooling system includes a second heat exchanger disposed at the second bifurcation within the annular bypass duct.
18.
The hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 17, wherein the nacelle further includes an upper bifurcation and a lower bifurcation, each of the upper bifurcation and the lower bifurcation extend radially between and connect the nacelle body and the inner fixed structure, the first heat exchanger is disposed at the upper bifurcation and the second heat exchanger is disposed at the lower bifurcation.
Claims 4-5, 7, 12, and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,241 in view of other embodiments of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,241. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
claim(s) 1, 9, and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,241 anticipate claim(s) 4-5 of the instant application. Accordingly, application claims 4-5 not patentably distinct from claims 1, 9, and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,241.
claim(s) 1, 9, and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,241 anticipate claim(s) 7 of the instant application. Accordingly, application claim 7 is not patentably distinct from claims 1, 9, and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,241.
claim(s) 1, 7, and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,241 anticipate claim(s) 12 and 19 of the instant application. Accordingly, application claims 4-5 not patentably distinct from claims 12 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,241.
claim(s) 1, 7, and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,241 anticipate claim(s) 20 of the instant application. Accordingly, application claim 20 is not patentably distinct from claims 1, 7, and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,241.
Pat. No. 12,503,241
Application No. 18/643,622
Claim
Claim
1.
7.
An aircraft propulsion system comprising:
a gas turbine engine including a rotational assembly and an inner fixed structure, the rotational assembly is rotatable about a rotational axis of the gas turbine engine, the rotational assembly includes a shaft, a bladed compressor rotor, and a bladed turbine rotor, the shaft interconnects the bladed compressor rotor and the bladed turbine rotor, the inner fixed structure forms an exterior housing of the gas turbine engine;
a nacelle including a nacelle body, a first bifurcation, and a second bifurcation, the nacelle body extends circumferentially about the gas turbine engine, the nacelle body forms an annular bypass duct between the nacelle body and the inner fixed structure, and the first bifurcation and the second bifurcation extend between and connect the nacelle body and the inner fixed structure; and
an electrical assembly including a motor-generator, a motor control unit, a motor-generator (MG) cooling system, and a motor control unit (MCU) cooling system, the motor-generator is coupled to the shaft, the motor control unit is electrically connected to the motor-generator, the MG cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor-generator, the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger disposed at the first bifurcation within the annular bypass duct, the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor control unit, and the MCU cooling system includes a second heat exchanger disposed at the second bifurcation within the annular bypass duct.
the gas turbine engine includes a fan section and a fan case, the fan case extends circumferentially about the rotational axis at the fan section, the nacelle body encloses the fan case, and the motor control unit is disposed on the fan case within the nacelle body.
4.
a nacelle including a nacelle body extending circumferentially about the gas turbine engine, the nacelle body forms an annular bypass duct between the nacelle body and the gas turbine engine, wherein the gas turbine engine includes a fan section and a fan case, the fan case extends circumferentially about the rotational axis at the fan section, the nacelle body encloses the fan case, and the first motor control unit is disposed on the fan case within the nacelle body.
1.
a nacelle including a nacelle body, a first bifurcation, and a second bifurcation, the nacelle body extends circumferentially about the gas turbine engine, the nacelle body forms an annular bypass duct between the nacelle body and the inner fixed structure [exterior housing of the gas turbine engine], and the first bifurcation and the second bifurcation extend between and connect the nacelle body and the inner fixed structure [exterior housing of the gas turbine engine]; and
an electrical assembly including a motor-generator, a motor control unit, a motor-generator (MG) cooling system, and a motor control unit (MCU) cooling system, the motor-generator is coupled to the shaft, the motor control unit is electrically connected to the motor-generator, the MG cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor-generator, the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger disposed at the first bifurcation within the annular bypass duct, the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the motor control unit, and the MCU cooling system includes a second heat exchanger disposed at the second bifurcation within the annular bypass duct.
5.
The hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 4, wherein the nacelle further includes an upper bifurcation and a lower bifurcation, each of the upper bifurcation and the lower bifurcation extend radially inward from the nacelle body through the annular bypass duct, the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger, the MCU cooling system includes a second heat exchanger, the first heat exchanger is disposed at the upper bifurcation and the second heat exchanger is disposed at the lower bifurcation.
8.
the MG cooling system includes a first coolant, the MCU cooling system includes a second coolant, and the first coolant is different than the second coolant.
7.
The hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 1, wherein the MG cooling system includes a first coolant, the MCU cooling system includes a second coolant, and the first coolant is different than the second coolant.
8.
the MG cooling system includes a first coolant, the MCU cooling system includes a second coolant, and the first coolant is different than the second coolant.
12.
The hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 11, wherein the MG cooling system includes a first coolant, the MCU cooling system includes a second coolant, and the first coolant is different than the second coolant.
8.
the MG cooling system includes a first coolant, the MCU cooling system includes a second coolant, and the first coolant is different than the second coolant.
19.
The hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 16, wherein the MG cooling system includes a first coolant, the MCU cooling system includes a second coolant, and the first coolant is different than the second coolant.
9.
The aircraft propulsion system of claim 1, wherein the MG cooling system is independent of the MCU cooling system.
20.
The hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 16, wherein the MCU cooling system is independent of the MG cooling system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8-9, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In the hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 2, the inclusion of:
“a nacelle including a nacelle body extending circumferentially about the gas turbine engine, the nacelle body forms an annular bypass duct between the nacelle body and the gas turbine engine, wherein the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger, the MCU cooling system includes a second heat exchanger, and the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger are disposed within the annular bypass duct” was not found.
In the hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 5, the inclusion of:
“the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger, the MCU cooling system includes a second heat exchanger, the first heat exchanger is disposed at the upper bifurcation and the second heat exchanger is disposed at the lower bifurcation” was not found.
In the hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 6, the inclusion of:
“the electrical assembly further includes a second motor-generator and a second motor control unit, the second motor-generator is coupled to the second shaft, the second motor control unit is electrically connected to the second motor-generator, the MG cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the second motor-generator, and the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the second motor control unit” was not found.
In the hybrid-electric propulsion system of claim 7 and the hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 19, the inclusion of:
“the MG cooling system includes a first coolant, the MCU cooling system includes a second coolant, and the first coolant is different than the second coolant” was not found.
In the hybrid-electric propulsion system of claim 8, the inclusion of:
“the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger, and the first heat exchanger is an air-cooled heat exchanger” was not found.
In the hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 11, the inclusion of:
“the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger, the MCU cooling system includes a second heat exchanger, and the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger are disposed at the annular bypass duct” was not found.
In the hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 15, the inclusion of:
“the electrical assembly further includes a second motor-generator and a second motor control unit, the second motor-generator is coupled to the second rotational assembly, the second motor control unit is electrically connected to the second motor-generator, the MG cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the second motor-generator, and the MCU cooling system is connected in fluid communication with the second motor control unit” was not found.
In the hybrid-electric aircraft propulsion system of claim 17, the inclusion of:
“the MG cooling system includes a first heat exchanger, the MCU cooling system includes a second heat exchanger, and the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger are disposed at the annular bypass duct” was not found.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Suciu et al. (US 10,995,673) – gas turbine engine
Fish et al. (US 2020/0318545) – gas turbine engine with trailing edge heat exchanger
Schwarz et al. (US 2019/0145316) – gas turbine engine with fan rotor, compressor section, and turbine section
/K.L.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3746 1/22/2026
/MARK A LAURENZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746 2/18/2026