DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 responsive to communications on 04/23/2024 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are under examination on their merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delaney et al. (US20190233878A1, PGPub of US10837047B2 on IDS 05/24/2024) in view of Hindson et al. (US9,388,465B2, 2016, on IDS 05/24/2024).
In regards to claims 1 and 15, Delaney (who is noted is the same instant applicant) teaches methods comprising providing pluralities of charged species (particles, e.g., cell beads, tags etc.; it is noted that the specification does not define “charged particle” and therefore, has been broadly interpreted as referring to any charged particle) and a plurality of biological particles (paragraphs [0010, 0012, 0057, 0092, 0247-0252]; Figs. 2 and 10). Delaney teaches that the mixture comprises a complex (coupling) comprising a charged particle of the plurality of charged particles couple to a biological particle of the plurality of biological particles (paragraphs [0010, 0012, 0057, 0092, 0247-0252]; Figs. 2 and 10). Delaney teaches that the biological particle comprises a cell or organelle (paragraphs [0010, 0012, 0065]). Delaney teaches that the biological sample complexes are isolated from other complexes and that the method allows the biological samples to be partitioned and processed separately (paragraph [0003]; Figs. 2 and 10), and therefore, prevented from adhering to another biological particle of the plurality of biological particles.
Delaney teaches that the complexes may be isolated (paragraph [0003]), but is silent as to the process.
However, Delaney also teaches that the fluid channels in which the complexes are contained can be controlled by centrifugal force or gravity flow (paragraph [0077]). Additionally, as taught by Hindson (who is noted is also the same applicant), it was known in the art that barcode containing beads can be isolated by sedimentation, including density gradient centrifugation specifically (Summary, column 1; columns 11 and 12). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to isolate complexes based at least in part on the density of the complex, including sedimentation, because the prior art specifically teaches that this is a known technique for isolating these structures. Furthermore, because Delaney teaches that the complexes may be subject to centrifugation and Hindson teaches that sedimentation/density gradient centrifugation may be use to separate these particles, it could have been done with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to claim 2, Delaney teaches that the organelle is a cell nucleus (paragraphs [0010, 0012, 0065]).
In regards to claim 3, Delaney teaches that the plurality of charged particles can be positively charged (paragraphs [0010, 0012, 0250-0251]).
In regards to claim 4, Delaney teaches that there may be at least 1000 barcode sequences (a species of charged particle) (paragraph [0159]), which overlaps with the claimed range.
In regards to claims 5 and 6, Delaney teaches that the one more barcode sequences (a species of charged particle) may include sequences that are the same for all nucleic acid molecules coupled to a given bead and/or sequences that are different across all nucleic acid molecules coupled to the given bead (paragraphs [0110, 0159]), and therefore may be both homogeneous and heterogeneous.
In regards to claim 7, Delaney teaches that the beads (charged particles) can have a heterogeneous (different) sizes (paragraph [0101]).
In regards to claim 8, as above, Delaney teaches that the one more barcode sequences (a species of charged particle) may include sequences that are different across all nucleic acid molecules coupled to the given bead (paragraph [0110]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that since they have different sequences (which have different masses and are subject to gravity) they would have different weights.
In regards to claim 9, Delaney teaches that the charged particle comprises charged particles having different functional groups (paragraphs [0247, 0251, 0258—261]).
In regards to claim 10, Delaney teaches that the charged particle (e.g., a bead) can have a diameter of about 50 µm (paragraph [0101]).
In regards to claims 11-13, Delaney teaches that molecular tags (a species of charged particle) may be proteins or oligonucleotides (paragraph [0057, 0067, 0121]). Delaney teaches that the oligonucleotides can be from about 6 to about 20 nucleotides (paragraph [0157]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that an oligonucleotide of about 6 to about 20 nucleotides comprises a diameter of no more than 1/2 the diameter of a cell.
In regards to claim 14, Delaney teaches that at least two or more barcodes (a species of charged particle) may be couple to the biological particle (paragraph [0156]; referencing Fig. 2).
In regards to claim 16, Delaney teaches that the charged particle coupled to the biological particle is partitioned (Figs. 2 and 10).
In regards to claims 17 and 18, Delaney teaches that the charged particle (nucleic acid barcode) coupled to the biological particle is partitioned and coupled to nucleic acid molecule of the biological particle (Fig. 2; paragraph [0057]). It is noted that, as above, since the charged particle broadly refers to any charged particle, and since nucleic acid barcodes are charged, they read on both of these limitations.
In regards to claims 19-20, Delaney teaches that reagents (moieties) may be included which capture intracellular molecules from the cell (e.g., oligonucleotides that capture mRNA) (paragraph [0271]).
Therefore, the combined teachings of Delaney and Hindson render the invention unpatentable as claimed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,065,688 B2 in view Hindson et al. (US9,388,465B2, 2016, on IDS 05/24/2024).
Claims 4-14 and 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,065,688 B2 in view Hindson et al. (US9,388,465B2, 2016, on IDS 05/24/2024) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Delaney et al. (US20190233878A1, PGPub of US10837047B2 on IDS 05/24/2024).
Although the instant claims and the claims of the patent are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because both are drawn to methods comprising contacting biological particles (a nucleus) with a plurality (positively) charged particle (a functionalized polymer or nucleic acid barcode) which is partitioned (preventing from adhering to another particle).
In regards to isolating by density and sedimentation, Hindson (who is noted is also the same applicant), teaches it was known in the art that barcode containing beads can be isolated by sedimentation, including density gradient centrifugation specifically (Summary, column 1; columns 11 and 12). Therefore, it would have been predictably obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art would to isolate complexes based at least in part on the density of the complex, including sedimentation.
In regards to the remaining claims, these are all known embodiments as taught by Delaney as discussed above.
Specifically, Delaney teaches that there may be at least 1000 barcode sequences (a species of charged particle) (paragraph [0159]), which overlaps with the claimed range. Delaney teaches that the one more barcode sequences (a species of charged particle) may include sequences that are the same for all nucleic acid molecules coupled to a given bead and/or sequences that are different across all nucleic acid molecules coupled to the given bead (paragraphs [0110, 0159]), and therefore may be both homogeneous and heterogeneous. Delaney teaches that the beads (charged particles) can have a heterogeneous (different) sizes (paragraph [0101]). Delaney teaches that the one more barcode sequences (a species of charged particle) may include sequences that are different across all nucleic acid molecules coupled to the given bead (paragraph [0110]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that since they have different sequences (which have different masses and are subject to gravity) they would have different weights. Delaney teaches that the charged particle comprises charged particles having different functional groups (paragraphs [0247, 0251, 0258—261]). Delaney teaches that the charged particle (e.g., a bead) can have a diameter of about 50 µm (paragraph [0101]). Delaney teaches that molecular tags (a species of charged particle) may be proteins or oligonucleotides (paragraph [0057, 0067, 0121]). Delaney teaches that the oligonucleotides can be from about 6 to about 20 nucleotides (paragraph [0157]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that an oligonucleotide of about 6 to about 20 nucleotides comprises a diameter of no more than 1/2 the diameter of a cell. Delaney teaches that at least two or more barcodes (a species of charged particle) may be couple to the biological particle (paragraph [0156]; referencing Fig. 2). Delaney teaches that the charged particle coupled to the biological particle is partitioned (Figs. 2 and 10).Delaney teaches that the charged particle (nucleic acid barcode) coupled to the biological particle is partitioned and coupled to nucleic acid molecule of the biological particle (Fig. 2; paragraph [0057]). It is noted that, as above, since the charged particle broadly refers to any charged particle, and since nucleic acid barcodes are charged, they read on both of these limitations. Delaney teaches that reagents (moieties) may be included which capture intracellular molecules from the cell (e.g., oligonucleotides that capture mRNA) (paragraph [0271]).
It would have been predicably obvious to incorporate these embodiments because Delaney is the same inventive entity and because Delaney indicates that they are suitable for isolating biological particles and charged particles as discussed above.
Claims 1, 15, and 17-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,851,700 B1 in view Hindson et al. (US9,388,465B2, 2016, on IDS 05/24/2024).
Claims 2-14, 16, and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,851,700 B1 in view Hindson et al. (US9,388,465B2, 2016, on IDS 05/24/2024) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Delaney et al. (US20190233878A1, PGPub of US10837047B2 on IDS 05/24/2024).
Although the instant claims and the claims of the patent are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because both are drawn to methods comprising contacting biological particles (a nucleus or a cell) with a plurality charged particle (a nucleic acid barcode) which is partitioned the biological particles into single cells (preventing from adhering to another particle).
In regards to isolating by density and sedimentation, Hindson (who is noted is also the same applicant), teaches it was known in the art that barcode containing beads can be isolated by sedimentation, including density gradient centrifugation specifically (Summary, column 1; columns 11 and 12). Therefore, it would have been predictably obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art would to isolate complexes based at least in part on the density of the complex, including sedimentation.
In regards to the remaining claims, these are all known embodiments as taught by Delaney as discussed above.
Specifically, Delaney teaches that there may be at least 1000 barcode sequences (a species of charged particle) (paragraph [0159]), which overlaps with the claimed range. Delaney teaches that the one more barcode sequences (a species of charged particle) may include sequences that are the same for all nucleic acid molecules coupled to a given bead and/or sequences that are different across all nucleic acid molecules coupled to the given bead (paragraphs [0110, 0159]), and therefore may be both homogeneous and heterogeneous. Delaney teaches that the beads (charged particles) can have a heterogeneous (different) sizes (paragraph [0101]). Delaney teaches that the one more barcode sequences (a species of charged particle) may include sequences that are different across all nucleic acid molecules coupled to the given bead (paragraph [0110]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that since they have different sequences (which have different masses and are subject to gravity) they would have different weights. Delaney teaches that the charged particle comprises charged particles having different functional groups (paragraphs [0247, 0251, 0258—261]). Delaney teaches that the charged particle (e.g., a bead) can have a diameter of about 50 µm (paragraph [0101]). Delaney teaches that molecular tags (a species of charged particle) may be proteins or oligonucleotides (paragraph [0057, 0067, 0121]). Delaney teaches that the oligonucleotides can be from about 6 to about 20 nucleotides (paragraph [0157]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that an oligonucleotide of about 6 to about 20 nucleotides comprises a diameter of no more than 1/2 the diameter of a cell. Delaney teaches that at least two or more barcodes (a species of charged particle) may be couple to the biological particle (paragraph [0156]; referencing Fig. 2). Delaney teaches that the charged particle coupled to the biological particle is partitioned (Figs. 2 and 10).Delaney teaches that the charged particle (nucleic acid barcode) coupled to the biological particle is partitioned and coupled to nucleic acid molecule of the biological particle (Fig. 2; paragraph [0057]). It is noted that, as above, since the charged particle broadly refers to any charged particle, and since nucleic acid barcodes are charged, they read on both of these limitations. Delaney teaches that reagents (moieties) may be included which capture intracellular molecules from the cell (e.g., oligonucleotides that capture mRNA) (paragraph [0271]).
It would have been predicably obvious to incorporate these embodiments because Delaney is the same inventive entity and because Delaney indicates that they are suitable for isolating biological particles and charged particles as discussed above.
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-49 of U.S. Patent No. 10,590,244 B2 in view Hindson et al. (US9,388,465B2, 2016, on IDS 05/24/2024).
Claims 2-14 and 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,590,244 B2 in view Hindson et al. (US9,388,465B2, 2016, on IDS 05/24/2024) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Delaney et al. (US20190233878A1, PGPub of US10837047B2 on IDS 05/24/2024).
Although the instant claims and the claims of the patent are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because both are drawn to methods comprising contacting biological particles (a nucleus or a cell) with a plurality charged particle (a gel or nucleic acid barcode) which is partitioned the biological particles into single cells (preventing from adhering to another particle).
In regards to isolating by density and sedimentation, Hindson (who is noted is also the same applicant), teaches it was known in the art that barcode containing beads can be isolated by sedimentation, including density gradient centrifugation specifically (Summary, column 1; columns 11 and 12). Therefore, it would have been predictably obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art would to isolate complexes based at least in part on the density of the complex, including sedimentation.
In regards to the remaining claims, these are all known embodiments as taught by Delaney as discussed above.
Specifically, Delaney teaches that there may be at least 1000 barcode sequences (a species of charged particle) (paragraph [0159]), which overlaps with the claimed range. Delaney teaches that the one more barcode sequences (a species of charged particle) may include sequences that are the same for all nucleic acid molecules coupled to a given bead and/or sequences that are different across all nucleic acid molecules coupled to the given bead (paragraphs [0110, 0159]), and therefore may be both homogeneous and heterogeneous. Delaney teaches that the beads (charged particles) can have a heterogeneous (different) sizes (paragraph [0101]). Delaney teaches that the one more barcode sequences (a species of charged particle) may include sequences that are different across all nucleic acid molecules coupled to the given bead (paragraph [0110]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that since they have different sequences (which have different masses and are subject to gravity) they would have different weights. Delaney teaches that the charged particle comprises charged particles having different functional groups (paragraphs [0247, 0251, 0258—261]). Delaney teaches that the charged particle (e.g., a bead) can have a diameter of about 50 µm (paragraph [0101]). Delaney teaches that molecular tags (a species of charged particle) may be proteins or oligonucleotides (paragraph [0057, 0067, 0121]). Delaney teaches that the oligonucleotides can be from about 6 to about 20 nucleotides (paragraph [0157]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that an oligonucleotide of about 6 to about 20 nucleotides comprises a diameter of no more than 1/2 the diameter of a cell. Delaney teaches that at least two or more barcodes (a species of charged particle) may be couple to the biological particle (paragraph [0156]; referencing Fig. 2). Delaney teaches that the charged particle coupled to the biological particle is partitioned (Figs. 2 and 10).Delaney teaches that the charged particle (nucleic acid barcode) coupled to the biological particle is partitioned and coupled to nucleic acid molecule of the biological particle (Fig. 2; paragraph [0057]). It is noted that, as above, since the charged particle broadly refers to any charged particle, and since nucleic acid barcodes are charged, they read on both of these limitations. Delaney teaches that reagents (moieties) may be included which capture intracellular molecules from the cell (e.g., oligonucleotides that capture mRNA) (paragraph [0271]).
It would have been predicably obvious to incorporate these embodiments because Delaney is the same inventive entity and because Delaney indicates that they are suitable for isolating biological particles and charged particles as discussed above.
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/342,226 in view Hindson et al. (US9,388,465B2, 2016, on IDS 05/24/2024).
Claims 2-14 and 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/342,226 in view Hindson et al. (US9,388,465B2, 2016, on IDS 05/24/2024) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Delaney et al. (US20190233878A1, PGPub of US10837047B2 on IDS 05/24/2024).
Although the instant claims and the claims of the copending Application are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because both are drawn to methods comprising contacting biological particles (a nucleus or a cell) with a plurality charged particle (a gel or nucleic acid barcode) which is partitioned the biological particles into single cells (preventing from adhering to another particle).
In regards to isolating by density and sedimentation, Hindson (who is noted is also the same applicant), teaches it was known in the art that barcode containing beads can be isolated by sedimentation, including density gradient centrifugation specifically (Summary, column 1; columns 11 and 12). Therefore, it would have been predictably obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art would to isolate complexes based at least in part on the density of the complex, including sedimentation.
In regards to the remaining claims, these are all known embodiments as taught by Delaney as discussed above.
Specifically, Delaney teaches that there may be at least 1000 barcode sequences (a species of charged particle) (paragraph [0159]), which overlaps with the claimed range. Delaney teaches that the one more barcode sequences (a species of charged particle) may include sequences that are the same for all nucleic acid molecules coupled to a given bead and/or sequences that are different across all nucleic acid molecules coupled to the given bead (paragraphs [0110, 0159]), and therefore may be both homogeneous and heterogeneous. Delaney teaches that the beads (charged particles) can have a heterogeneous (different) sizes (paragraph [0101]). Delaney teaches that the one more barcode sequences (a species of charged particle) may include sequences that are different across all nucleic acid molecules coupled to the given bead (paragraph [0110]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that since they have different sequences (which have different masses and are subject to gravity) they would have different weights. Delaney teaches that the charged particle comprises charged particles having different functional groups (paragraphs [0247, 0251, 0258—261]). Delaney teaches that the charged particle (e.g., a bead) can have a diameter of about 50 µm (paragraph [0101]). Delaney teaches that molecular tags (a species of charged particle) may be proteins or oligonucleotides (paragraph [0057, 0067, 0121]). Delaney teaches that the oligonucleotides can be from about 6 to about 20 nucleotides (paragraph [0157]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that an oligonucleotide of about 6 to about 20 nucleotides comprises a diameter of no more than 1/2 the diameter of a cell. Delaney teaches that at least two or more barcodes (a species of charged particle) may be couple to the biological particle (paragraph [0156]; referencing Fig. 2). Delaney teaches that the charged particle coupled to the biological particle is partitioned (Figs. 2 and 10).Delaney teaches that the charged particle (nucleic acid barcode) coupled to the biological particle is partitioned and coupled to nucleic acid molecule of the biological particle (Fig. 2; paragraph [0057]). It is noted that, as above, since the charged particle broadly refers to any charged particle, and since nucleic acid barcodes are charged, they read on both of these limitations. Delaney teaches that reagents (moieties) may be included which capture intracellular molecules from the cell (e.g., oligonucleotides that capture mRNA) (paragraph [0271]).
It would have been predicably obvious to incorporate these embodiments because Delaney is the same inventive entity and because Delaney indicates that they are suitable for isolating biological particles and charged particles as discussed above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of copending Application No. 18/795,976 in view Hindson et al. (US9,388,465B2, 2016, on IDS 05/24/2024).
Claims 2-14 and 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of copending Application No. 18/795,976 in view Hindson et al. (US9,388,465B2, 2016, on IDS 05/24/2024) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Delaney et al. (US20190233878A1, PGPub of US10837047B2 on IDS 05/24/2024).
Although the instant claims and the claims of the copending Application are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because both are drawn to methods comprising contacting biological particles (a nucleus or a cell) with a plurality charged particle (a gel or nucleic acid barcode) which is partitioned the biological particles into single cells (preventing from adhering to another particle).
In regards to isolating by density and sedimentation, Hindson (who is noted is also the same applicant), teaches it was known in the art that barcode containing beads can be isolated by sedimentation, including density gradient centrifugation specifically (Summary, column 1; columns 11 and 12). Therefore, it would have been predictably obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art would to isolate complexes based at least in part on the density of the complex, including sedimentation.
In regards to the remaining claims, these are all known embodiments as taught by Delaney as discussed above.
Specifically, Delaney teaches that there may be at least 1000 barcode sequences (a species of charged particle) (paragraph [0159]), which overlaps with the claimed range. Delaney teaches that the one more barcode sequences (a species of charged particle) may include sequences that are the same for all nucleic acid molecules coupled to a given bead and/or sequences that are different across all nucleic acid molecules coupled to the given bead (paragraphs [0110, 0159]), and therefore may be both homogeneous and heterogeneous. Delaney teaches that the beads (charged particles) can have a heterogeneous (different) sizes (paragraph [0101]). Delaney teaches that the one more barcode sequences (a species of charged particle) may include sequences that are different across all nucleic acid molecules coupled to the given bead (paragraph [0110]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that since they have different sequences (which have different masses and are subject to gravity) they would have different weights. Delaney teaches that the charged particle comprises charged particles having different functional groups (paragraphs [0247, 0251, 0258—261]). Delaney teaches that the charged particle (e.g., a bead) can have a diameter of about 50 µm (paragraph [0101]). Delaney teaches that molecular tags (a species of charged particle) may be proteins or oligonucleotides (paragraph [0057, 0067, 0121]). Delaney teaches that the oligonucleotides can be from about 6 to about 20 nucleotides (paragraph [0157]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that an oligonucleotide of about 6 to about 20 nucleotides comprises a diameter of no more than 1/2 the diameter of a cell. Delaney teaches that at least two or more barcodes (a species of charged particle) may be couple to the biological particle (paragraph [0156]; referencing Fig. 2). Delaney teaches that the charged particle coupled to the biological particle is partitioned (Figs. 2 and 10).Delaney teaches that the charged particle (nucleic acid barcode) coupled to the biological particle is partitioned and coupled to nucleic acid molecule of the biological particle (Fig. 2; paragraph [0057]). It is noted that, as above, since the charged particle broadly refers to any charged particle, and since nucleic acid barcodes are charged, they read on both of these limitations. Delaney teaches that reagents (moieties) may be included which capture intracellular molecules from the cell (e.g., oligonucleotides that capture mRNA) (paragraph [0271]).
It would have been predicably obvious to incorporate these embodiments because Delaney is the same inventive entity and because Delaney indicates that they are suitable for isolating biological particles and charged particles as discussed above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/JOSEPH PAUL MIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 1631