Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claim(s) as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea.
Claims 1 and 9 are independent claims directed to an apparatus and a method. Products and Processes fall within statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
The claims are then analyzed to determine whether it is directed to an exception. In this case, the claims are drawn to the abstract idea of certain methods of organizing human activity, specifically the fundamental economic practice of creating a patron account to track patron activity and dispensing money.
The claim recite:
receiving information regarding a patron ID
creating a patron account
issuing a media
reading said patron media and a monetary value gaming ticket
transmitting information regarding said patron media and said monetary value gaming ticket
causing said money dispenser to dispense money
There appear to be two fundamental economic practices contained in the claim language. The creation of a patron account and issuing a patron media to track patron activity is one practice. Receiving a gaming ticket and dispensing money is the other practice.
The steps cover performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting a ticket redemption station and a reporting system, nothing in the claim elements precludes the steps from being a fundamental economic practice. The mere nominal recitation of a generic computer system performing routine functions to achieve a fundamental economic practice does not take the claim limitations out of the organizing human activity grouping.
Note that the ticket redemption station and the reporting system have recited sub-elements of generic computer such as the monetary value gaming ticket redemption station including a housing, a processor, a memory, machine readable code, a video display, a patron input device, a reader, a media dispenser, and a money dispenser and the reporting system including a computing device, a memory, a communication interface, and a data storage device. The mere nominal recitation of a generic computer system sub-elements performing routine functions to achieve a fundamental economic practice does not take the claim limitations out of the organizing human activity grouping.
(Step 2A, prong one: YES)
The claims are then analyzed to determine whether there are additional element(s) or a combination of elements in the claim that apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
In this case, the claims recite that a ticket redemption station and a reporting system are configured perform the steps.
The processor in the steps is recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of processing data. This generic processor limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
(Step 2A, prong two: NO)
Viewing the limitations individually,
The claims are then analyzed to determine whether the claims provide an inventive concept, i.e., does the claim recite additional element(s) or a combination of elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception in the claim.
The additional elements, a ticket redemption station and a reporting system are configured perform the steps, in the claims amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Viewing the limitations as a combination, the claim simply instructs the practitioner to implement the concept of certain methods of organizing human activity, specifically the fundamental economic practice of creating a patron account to track patron activity and dispensing money with routine, conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment. When viewed either as individual limitations or as an ordered combination, the claim as a whole does not add significantly more to the abstract idea of creating a patron account to track patron activity and dispensing money.
(Step 2B: NO). The claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 2-8 and 10-17 have been considered each as whole claim as to the abstract idea and the “significantly more” criterion. While being more specific, the limitations did not make the claims less abstract nor provide “significantly more” to the claims to make them patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benoy et al. (US PG pub 2003/0054878) in view of Shepherd et al. (US PG pub 2021/0241575).
Benoy et al. shows all of the limitations of the claims except for specifying sub-elements in the ticket redemption station including a housing, a processor, a memory, machine readable code stored in said memory and executable by said processor, and a money dispenser with a validation process.
Benoy et al. shows
In regards to claims 1, 9, and 11-15
at least one monetary value gaming ticket redemption station (see figure 1, the Casino Kiosk 63 is considered to be the gaming ticket redemption station.)
a reporting system comprising a computing device comprising a processor configured to execute machine readable code, a memory, a communication interface, and machine readable code stored in the memory the executable by the processor and a data storage device; (see paragraph [0023]. The loyalty program server is considered to be the reporting system.)
wherein the machine readable code of said reporting system is configured to,
in response to receiving information regarding a patron ID (paragraph [0072] shows that a loyalty program registration interface 260 receives from the player or patron identification information required for registration.)
read by said reader of said monetary value gaming ticket redemption station, (paragraph [0078] discusses the "point of play" registration method. The paragraph continues with, “In addition, the method may be implemented on a touch screen display located on a casino kiosk. The casino kiosk may include a card reader and baskets containing blank magnetic striped cards or other gaming devices used as a loyalty program instruments.” The card reader and touch screen display are considered to show least one video display, at least one patron input device, and a reader.)
create a patron account (from paragraph [0022] below, generating a new loyalty program account using the loyalty program information.) and
cause said monetary value gaming ticket redemption station to issue a media to said patron via said media dispenser; (from paragraph [0040] below, “After joining, the participant is usually presented with a loyalty program instrument.” The loyalty program instrument is considered to be “a media”.
Also, from paragraph [0040] below, “Examples of loyalty program instruments include a magnetic striped card, a smart card and a portable wireless device. However, in general, a loyalty program instrument may be any device that carries the information necessary for a player to participate in a loyalty program. For instance, a printed ticket with a bar code, plastic card with a bar code or a room key encoding player tracking information may be used as loyalty program instrument.” Since the participant is presented with a loyalty program instrument, it is considered that there is a media dispenser for each of the various forms of loyalty program instruments.)
in response to said reader thereof reading said patron media (see paragraph [0078] above.)
transmit information regarding said patron media (see figure 1, information transmitted from kiosk 63 to Player tracking/accounting server 62).
[0078] The "point of play" registration method, described above, is not limited to touch screen displays located on a player tracking unit. The method may be implemented on a touch screen display used as the main display on the gaming machine or as a secondary display on the gaming machine. In addition, the method may be implemented on a touch screen display located on a casino kiosk. The casino kiosk may include a card reader and baskets containing blank magnetic striped cards or other gaming devices used as a loyalty program instruments.
[0072] After the "point of play" registration has been initiated on the gaming machine, a logic device on the player tracking unit or the gaming machine may instruct the player to insert the "blank" magnetic striped card into the card reader and display the loyalty program registration interface 260 on the touch screen display. Using a finger or stylus, a player may enter their name, address and other identification information required for registration.
[0019] The loyalty program may be a player tracking program and the loyalty program server may be a player tracking server. The loyalty program instrument may be selected from the group consisting of a magnetic-striped card, a smart card, a ticket, a room key and a hand-held computing device where the loyalty program instrument information stored on the loyalty program instrument is at least one of a bar code and a serial number.
[0022] Another aspect of the present invention provides a method of registering a player to a loyalty program in a loyalty program server. The method may be generally characterized as including:
1) receiving a registration request message containing loyalty program information and loyalty program instrument information from a gaming machine;
2) generating a new loyalty program account using the loyalty program information and the loyalty program instrument information; and
[0040] To participate in a loyalty program, a participant is generally required to join the program. In one embodiment of the present invention, a method is described that allows a player to join a loyalty program at a gaming machine. After joining, the participant is usually presented with a loyalty program instrument. The loyalty program instrument typically contains information that allows a member to accrue loyalty points during designated program activities. For example, for most slot clubs, a player is required to insert a magnetic striped card (i.e. a player tracking card) into the gaming machine before player tracking point points are accrued for the player. Examples of loyalty program instruments include a magnetic striped card, a smart card and a portable wireless device. However, in general, a loyalty program instrument may be any device that carries the information necessary for a player to participate in a loyalty program. For instance, a printed ticket with a bar code, plastic card with a bar code or a room key encoding player tracking information may be used as loyalty program instrument.
Benoy et al. teaches, figure 1, a gaming machine with a housing, a processor, a memory, machine readable code stored in said memory and executable by said processor, but it is silent as to the physical structure of casino kiosk 63.
Based on the teaching of Benoy et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Benoy et al. system to specify that the physical structure of casino kiosk 63 includes a housing, a processor, a memory, machine readable code stored in said memory and executable by said processor in order to make the kiosk functional in the casino environment.
Shepherd et al. teaches, paragraph [0043] and figure 2, a cash dispensing ticket voucher redemption kiosk 224 in a casino environment. Paragraph [0059] teaches that ticket vouchers are associated with ticket voucher identification information maintained by the ticket voucher system to identify that ticket voucher for subsequent validation upon a redemption of that ticket voucher.
Based on the teaching of Shepherd et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Benoy et al. system to incorporate a money dispenser with a validation process in casino kiosk 63 in order to provide better customer service.
In regards to claim 2,
wherein said patron media comprises a temporary printed card. (see paragraph [0040], the printed ticket is considered to be a temporary printed card.)
In regards to claim 3,
wherein said printed card bears patron account identifying information. (see paragraph [0040], a loyalty program instrument may be any device that carries the information necessary for a player to participate in a loyalty program.)
Claims 4-5, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benoy et al. (US PG pub 2003/0054878) and Shepherd et al. (US PG pub 2021/0241575) in further view of Nelson et al. (US PG pub 2007/0117623).
The combination invention of Benoy et al. and Shepherd et al., as applied above, show all of the limitations of the claims except for utilizing the information regarding the patron media transmitted from the monetary value gaming ticket redemption station to identify said patron account and to associate said information regarding said monetary value gaming ticket therewith; analyzing information stored in association with said patron account as part of a determination of whether to validate said monetary value gaming ticket; and wherein said patron media has an expiration date.
Nelson et al. teaches, figure 8, the transmission of loyalty program instrument information (810), a payout step (812), and validation steps (814-834)
Nelson et al. also teaches, paragraph [0091] teaches, “Also, the loyalty program transaction information may include transaction status information such as whether the loyalty program instrument has been validated, is outstanding or has expired.”
Based on the teaching of Nelson et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination invention of Benoy et al. and Shepherd et al. to incorporate utilizing the information regarding the patron media transmitted from the monetary value gaming ticket redemption station to identify said patron account and to associate said information regarding said monetary value gaming ticket therewith; analyzing information stored in association with said patron account as part of a determination of whether to validate said monetary value gaming ticket; and wherein said patron media has an expiration date in order to improve the efficiency of control and use of the patron data.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benoy et al. (US PG pub 2003/0054878), Shepherd et al. (US PG pub 2021/0241575) and Nelson et al. (US PG pub 2007/0117623) in further view of Rowan (US PG pub 2007/0066398)
The combination invention of Benoy et al., Shepherd et al. and Nelson et al., as applied above, show all of the limitations of the claims except for wherein when said monetary value gaming ticket is not validated, said monetary value gaming ticket redemption station displaying instructions on said at least one video display instructing said patron to redeem said monetary value gaming ticket at an attended redemption location which is a cashier.
Rowan, paragraph [0022] teaches, “If there is a discrepancy, the player is asked to replace the cash device 190 on the reader and the transaction is rolled back to the cash device 190. The player is then referred to a cashier for manual reconciliation. This also occurs if the last transaction has exceeded a pre-set time out, for example 24 hours, on the transactions, as discussed below.”
Based on the teaching of Rowan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination invention of Benoy et al., Shepherd et al., and Nelson et al. to incorporate wherein when said monetary value gaming ticket is not validated, said monetary value gaming ticket redemption station displaying instructions on said at least one video display instructing said patron to redeem said monetary value gaming ticket at an attended redemption location which is a cashier in order to provide customer support to resolve issues.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benoy et al. (US PG pub 2003/0054878) and Shepherd et al. (US PG pub 2021/0241575) in further view of Davis et al. (US PG pub 2010/0304825).
The combination invention of Benoy et al. and Shepherd et al., as applied above, show all of the limitations of the claims except for specifying wherein said temporary use media can only be utilized one day.
Davis et al. paragraph [0124] teaches, “the gaming system cooperates with a suitable player tracking system to store or otherwise account for which features or benefits are available to each player in association with a player tracking card or player tracking account. In one embodiment, the features or benefits available to each player expire after a designated amount of time (e.g., one day, one week, or one month) or after a designated amount of inactivity by the player (e.g., not playing at one of the gaming devices in the gaming system for a designated period of time, such as one day, one month or one year).”
Based on the teaching of Davis et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination invention of Benoy et al. and Shepherd et al. to incorporate wherein said temporary use media can only be utilized one day in order to instill a sense of urgency upon the player.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benoy et al. (US PG pub 2003/0054878) and Shepherd et al. (US PG pub 2021/0241575) in further view of Schwartz (US PG pub 2017/0213199).
The combination invention of Benoy et al. and Shepherd et al., as applied above, show all of the limitations of the claims except for transmitting patron monetary value gaming ticket redemption information from said patron account to a third party system for reporting.
Schwartz paragraph [0006] teaches, “Many casinos and other gaming enterprises have multi-function electronic kiosks that enable users to perform different functions, such as ATM (automated teller machine) cash withdrawals, bill breaking, and voucher redemption. In some situations, such kiosks are operated by a third party, referred to as an ISO (independent service organization), but the casino is responsible for supplying the cash that is stored in the kiosk and dispensed to the users.”
Based on the teaching of Schwartz, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination invention of Benoy et al. and Shepherd et al. to incorporate transmitting patron monetary value gaming ticket redemption information from said patron account to a third party system for reporting in order to optimize effort versus capability in a casino environment.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL A CUFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715