Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “output ends” in line 3 of the claim should be “wherein output ends”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “the quiescent current” in line 2 of the claim should be “a quiescent current”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim first discloses “a power synthesizer” and then discloses “a power synthesis unit”. It is unclear if these elements related to the same component or are separate components based on the claim language. Therefore, claim 1 is considered indefinite.
Claims 2-20 are rejected for depending on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 2019/0049532).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a radio-frequency power amplification module for a magnetic resonance system, comprising:
a power synthesizer [signal combiner 207], a main amplifier [first amplifier 203], and an auxiliary amplifier [second amplifier 203], output ends of the main amplifier and the auxiliary amplifier being both connected to a power synthesis unit [See Fig. 2, wherein the output ends of the amplifiers are connected to the signal combiner. See also rest of reference.]; and
a controller, the controller being configured to output a control signal according to a required radio-frequency transmission parameter or a scan parameter corresponding to the radio-frequency transmission parameter, so as to adjust a control parameter of the auxiliary amplifier [¶0015, ¶0020, ¶0043-0046 where the controller 211 controls the current of the first and second amplifiers according to the measured impedance. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 2, Wang further teaches wherein the radio-frequency transmission parameter comprises radio-frequency transmit power or a representative parameter used to represent the radio-frequency transmit power [¶0015, ¶0020, ¶0043-0046. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 3, Wang further teaches the representative parameter comprising a radio-frequency transmit gain [¶0042-0046. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 4, Wang further teaches wherein the radio-frequency transmission parameter is determined by pre-scanning a scan subject via the magnetic resonance system [¶0015, ¶0020, ¶0043-0046 where the controller 211 controls the current of the first and second amplifiers according to the measured impedance. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 5, Wang further teaches wherein the scan parameter comprises the type of a selected transmit coil or a scan site [¶0011 and ¶0044. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 6, Wang further teaches wherein the scan parameter comprises information about a scan subject [¶0011 and ¶0044. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 7, Wang further teaches wherein the controller is configured to output the control signal on the basis of a predetermined correspondence, and the correspondence comprises correspondences between different radio-frequency transmission parameters and different control signals [¶0049 and equation 3, wherein the equation will show different correspondences. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 8, Wang further teaches wherein the correspondences are obtained by acquiring the maximum linear power under different control signals, and the controller determines corresponding maximum linear power on the basis of the required radio-frequency transmission parameter or the scan parameter, and determines a corresponding control signal on the basis of the determined maximum linear power [¶0049 and equation 3, wherein the equation will show different correspondences. See, ZOP is the impedance that corresponds to the maximum power. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 10, Wang further teaches wherein the control parameter comprises a gate-source voltage of the auxiliary amplifier [¶0048, ¶0054. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 11, Wang further teaches wherein the auxiliary amplifier receives the gate-source voltage via a power supply unit, and the controller is connected to the power supply unit and provides the control signal to the power supply unit to control the gate-source voltage provided by the power supply unit [¶0045. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 12, Wang further teaches wherein the control parameter comprises a quiescent current of the auxiliary amplifier [¶0050 and ¶0055. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 18, Wang further teaches wherein the power synthesizer, the main amplifier, and the auxiliary amplifier are connected to become a Doherty amplifier [¶0043-0046.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Wang, in view of Liu (US 2021/0320627).
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches the limitations of claim 7, which this claim depends from.
Wang is silent in teaching wherein the correspondences are stored as a lookup table or a curve chart.
Liu, which is also in the field of RF amplifiers, teaches wherein the correspondences are stored as a lookup table or a curve chart [See Figs. 4-5. See also lookup table. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang and Liu because both references are in the field of RF amplifiers for MRI and because Liu teaches that it is known in the art that the amplifier to account for working voltages when determining efficiencies of the RF amplifier [Liu - See Figs. 4-5. See also lookup table. See also rest of reference.].
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Wang, in view of Staudinger (US 2015/0097623).
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Wang further teaches wherein when radio-frequency transmit power corresponding to the radio-frequency transmission parameter or the scan parameter is greater than a high value [¶0015, ¶0020, ¶0043-0046 where the controller 211 controls the current of the first and second amplifiers according to the measured impedance. See also rest of reference.].
However, Wang is silent in teaching the controller adjusts the auxiliary amplifier to the same type as the main amplifier, the high value being greater than (P-1) dB, wherein P is the rated maximum power.
Staudinger, which is also in the field of amplifiers, teaches the controller adjusts the auxiliary amplifier to the same type as the main amplifier, the high value being greater than (P-1) dB, wherein P is the rated maximum power [¶0092-0096. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang and Staudinger because both references are in the field of RF amplifiers and Staudinger teaches it is known in the art to transition amplifiers to a different class to result in a smoother gain and phase response, thereby enabling improved linearizability of the amplifier [Staudinger - ¶0092-0096. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 14, Wang and Staudinger teach the limitations of claim 13, which this claim depends from.
Wang and Staudinger further teach wherein the quiescent current of the auxiliary amplifier is equal to a quiescent current of the main amplifier [Wang - ¶0050 and ¶0055. Staudinger - ¶0093. See also rest of references.].
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Wang further teaches wherein when radio-frequency transmit power corresponding to the radio-frequency transmission parameter or the scan parameter is less than a high value and greater than a low value [¶0015, ¶0020, ¶0043-0046 where the controller 211 controls the current of the first and second amplifiers according to the measured impedance. See also rest of reference.].
However, Wang is silent in teaching the controller adjusts the auxiliary amplifier to a class C adjustable amplifier, the high value being greater than (P-1) dB, and the low value being less than (P-6) dB, wherein P is the rated maximum power.
Staudinger, which is also in the field of amplifiers, teaches the controller adjusts the auxiliary amplifier to a class C adjustable amplifier, the high value being greater than (P-1) dB, and the low value being less than (P-6) dB, wherein P is the rated maximum power [¶0092-0096. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang and Staudinger because both references are in the field of RF amplifiers and Staudinger teaches it is known in the art to transition amplifiers to a different class to result in a smoother gain and phase response, thereby enabling improved linearizability of the amplifier [Staudinger - ¶0092-0096. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 16, Wang and Staudinger teach the limitations of claim 15, which this claim depends from.
Wang is silent in teaching wherein the controller is configured to output a control signal according to the required radio-frequency transmission parameter or the scan parameter corresponding to the radio-frequency transmission parameter, so as to adjust a control parameter of the class C adjustable amplifier.
Staudinger further teaches wherein the controller is configured to output a control signal according to the required radio-frequency transmission parameter or the scan parameter corresponding to the radio-frequency transmission parameter, so as to adjust a control parameter of the class C adjustable amplifier [¶0092-0096. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang and Staudinger because both references are in the field of RF amplifiers and Staudinger teaches it is known in the art to transition amplifiers to a different class to result in a smoother gain and phase response, thereby enabling improved linearizability of the amplifier [Staudinger - ¶0092-0096. See also rest of reference.].
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Wang, in view of Zeng (WO 2017108874 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Wang teaches wherein when radio-frequency transmit power corresponding to the radio-frequency transmission parameter or the scan parameter is less than a low value [¶0015, ¶0020, ¶0043-0046 where the controller 211 controls the current of the first and second amplifiers according to the measured impedance. See also rest of reference.].
However, Wang is silent in teaching the controller turns off the auxiliary amplifier, the low value being less than (P-6) dB, wherein P is the rated maximum power.
Zeng, which is also in the field of amplifiers, teaches wherein when radio-frequency transmit power corresponding to the radio-frequency transmission parameter or the scan parameter is less than a low value, the controller turns off the auxiliary amplifier, the low value being less than (P-6) dB, wherein P is the rated maximum power [See Page 11, lines 3-19. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang and Zeng because both references are in the field of RF amplifiers and because Zeng teaches it is known to turn off auxiliary amplifiers to see increased load impedance, which leads to a peak efficiency of the main amplifiers before it delivers maximum output power [Zeng - See Page 11, lines 3-19. See also rest of reference.].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 19, the closest prior art is considered previously cited Wang. However, Wang is silent in teaching an imaging method based on a magnetic resonance system, the magnetic resonance system comprising the radio-frequency power amplification module according to claim 1, and the method comprising: adjusting the auxiliary amplifier to the same type as the main amplifier on the basis of a selected transmit coil being a body coil; performing a pre-scan; determining the radio-frequency transmission parameter or the scan parameter on the basis of the pre-scan; and outputting the control signal on the basis of the radio-frequency transmission parameter or the scan parameter.
Claim 20 is considered above the relevant prior art for depending on claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2022/0365152 also teaches a RF amplifier for use in MRI which is relevant to the current application.
/RISHI R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896