DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0070300 A1 (Jang).
Re claim 1, Jang teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
insulating layers (first insulation layer patterns 115) disposed in a first direction (first direction) and spaced apart from each other in the first direction;
pillars (vertical structures defined by semiconductor pattern 160, second insulation pattern 260 and channels 252) passing through the insulating layers;
a slit (third insulation pattern 380 and division layer pattern 130) passing through the insulating layers;
a nitrogen-containing layer (first barrier layer pattern 302 which is a conductive metal nitride [0081] and/or second barrier layer pattern 312 which is a conductive metal nitride [0091]) formed along a space between adjacent insulating layers in the first direction, the nitrogen-containing layer formed around the slit so that a gap between the pillars in the space is exposed; and
a conductive pattern (first filling layer pattern 322 [0085]) in the space to fill the gap between the pillars,
wherein the conductive pattern extends continuously from the gap to overlap the nitrogen-containing layer in the first direction (Figs. 2-5).
Re claim 2, Jang teaches wherein each of the pillars is formed in a through-hole (plurality of holes 150), the through-hole passing through the insulating layers and being surrounded by the conductive pattern (Figs. 2-5), and wherein each of the pillar includes a memory layer (first charge storage pattern 182) over an inner-wall of the through-hole and a semiconductor pattern (channel layers 252 [0130]) over an inner-wall of the memory layer (Fig. 5).
Re claim 3, Jang teaches wherein the conductive pattern surrounds a side-wall of the memory layer (Fig. 5).
Re claim 4, Jang teaches wherein the pillars include an outer pillar adjacent to the slit (Fig. 3).
Re claim 5, Jang teaches wherein the nitrogen-containing layer partially surrounds a side-wall of the outer pillar (second barrier layer 312 Fig. 3).
Re claim 6, Jang teaches wherein a side-wall of the outer pillar includes a first portion (leftmost side) facing the slit and a second portion (rightmost side) facing the gap between the pillars, and wherein the nitrogen-containing layer is formed over the first portion of the outer pillar (second barrier layer 312 Fig. 3).
Re claim 7, Jang teaches wherein the nitrogen-containing layer entirely surrounds a side-wall of the outer pillar (first barrier layer 302 Fig. 3).
Conclusion
BRIGITTE A. PATERSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/BRIGITTE A PATERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896