DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 7/10/26is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2010/0265749, hereinafter, Wang) in view of Kwon (US 2024/0312902.)
In regard to claim 1, in figs. 4A-4C, Wang discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate 440 (where the first transistor 420 formed, para [0056]).
a transistor 420 including a gate electrode 429 and a gate insulating layer stacked on the substrate and a junction 421 formed in the substrate (source/drain regions in a transistor inherently create a junction, or P/N junction);
a through via passing through the substrate through the junction and including a first portion that is in contact with the junction and a second portion extending from the first portion and having a width less than that of the first portion. Wang, however, does not show an insulating spacer surrounding the second portion of the through via.
Kwon, in figs. 6A-7B, discloses an analogous semiconductor device including transistors formed in a substrate 10 and further discloses connection vias labeled as element C in fig. 6B and detailed in figs. 7A-7B. Kwon further teaches an insulating spacer VSP surrounding the second portion of the through via V1, fig. 7A. This is common in the art since the insulation/barrier prevents diffusion and provides support and protection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the application to form the via as taught in order to take the advantage.
Regarding claim 2, the above combination further comprising:
a memory cell array; and
a bonding structure bonding the memory cell array and the substrate,
wherein the memory cell array is electrically connected to the transistor through the through via. See Wang’s figs. 6-7 and Kwon’s figs. 1 and 6A.
Regarding claim 3, the combination further comprising: a first wafer including a peripheral circuit; and
a bonding structure bonding the first wafer and a second wafer including the substrate, the transistor, the through via, and the insulating spacer, wherein the peripheral circuit is electrically connected to the transistor through the through via. See Kwon’s figs. 5 and 6A.
Regarding claims 4-6, the combination further comprising: Kwon’s figs. 6A and 7B:
a first bonding layer 100;
at least one first bonding pad DSP in the first bonding layer;
a second bonding layer 260/250 bonded to the first bonding layer; and
at least one second bonding pad positioned in the second bonding layer and electrically connected to the at least one first bonding pad, wherein the through via is electrically connected to the at least one second bonding pad.
Regarding claims 7 and 13, the combination further discloses wherein the first portion has a hemispherical shape. See Wang’s fig. 4A and Kwon’s fig.6A.
Regarding claim 8, the combination comprising:
a first wafer including a first substrate and a first transistor;
a second wafer including a second substrate and a second transistor;
a memory cell array positioned between the first wafer and the second wafer; and
a through via passing through the second substrate through a junction of the second transistor and electrically connecting the second transistor and the memory cell array. See Kwon’s fig. 6A.
Regarding claim 9, Kwon further comprising: a first bonding structure positioned between the first wafer and 20 the memory cell array; and
a second bonding structure positioned between the second wafer and the memory cell array. Fig. 6A.
Regarding claims 10-11, as mentioned above, the combination discloses wherein the through
via is electrically connected to the memory cell array through a bonding pad in the second bonding structure.
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned in claim 1 above, wherein the through via includes a first portion that is in contact with the junction and a second portion extending from the first portion and having a width less than that of the first portion.
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned above (claim 1), further comprising: an insulating spacer surrounding the second portion of the through via.
Conclusion
/NATHAN W HA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814