DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement has been made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 USC 119 (a-d). The certified copy has been filed on 06/03/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed 04/24/2024, 07/01/2025, 02/03/2026 and 08/05/2026 have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings received 04/24/2024 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 5 and 10 recites the limitation "a first recessed portion]" . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by US 8,231,991 to Boucher (Boucher).
Regarding claim 1, Boucher discloses a method for supplementing an electrolyte solution(claim 16) for a battery cell (claim 17), wherein the method comprises: processing a shell of the battery cell from outside the battery cell to form a first recessed portion (238), and causing a thickness of a bottom wall of the first recessed portion to be less than a thickness of the shell around the bottom wall (Fig. 4A) , piercing the bottom wall of the first recessed portion from outside the battery cell toward an interior of the battery cell to form an injection structure hole 222. Fig. 3A) and injecting the electrolyte solution into the battery cell through the injection structure (claim 17). As such instant claim 1 anticipated by Boucher.
Regarding claim 2, Boucher discloses wherein the method further comprises: mounting a sealing cap in the first recessed portion; and hermetically connecting the sealing cap to the first recessed portion (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 3, Boucher discloses herein the hermetically connecting the sealing cap to the first recessed portion comprises: welding an edge of the sealing cap to an edge of the first recessed portion to create a hermetic connection between the sealing cap and the first recessed portion (claim 17).
Regarding claim 10, Boucher discloses an end cap (116, Fig. 3B) and (216. Fig. 4) and the end cap fits and covers the housing (Fig. 1) and a first recessed portion therefore a step of processing the end cap from outside the battery cell to form the first recessed portion is necessarily present. MPEP 2112 V states that "once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the Examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden shifts to the Applicant to show an unobvious difference."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 8,231,991 to Boucher in view of US 20190221376 to Stein (Stein).
Regarding claim 4, Boucher discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 2 and incorporated therein. Boucher does not expressly disclose applying a sealant between the sealing cap and the first recessed portion to create a hermetic connection between the sealing cap and the first recessed portion.
Stein teaches seals for holes in solar cells (Title). Stein also teaches that a fill hole for injection of an electrolyte plugged with plug in full contact of silicon sealant layer (Para 89, Fig. 3a, 4 ). Therefore such structural design is well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sealing cup of Boucher with the *sealant , as in order to create a hermetic connection between the sealing cap and the first recessed portion.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 8,231,991 to Boucher in view CN 110227850 to Shen (Shen, machine translation).
Regarding claim 11, Boucher discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 10 and incorporated therein. Boucher does not expressly disclose the first recessed portion comprises: processing the end cap by means of a drill bit or a milling cutter to form the first recessed portion.
Shen teaches a battery cover board milling using a rotary device(Abstract) such as milling cutter (Fig, 8, 9). Therefore using the milling cutter for modification of cover plate is well know in the art. It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Boucher with the use of the milling cutter for processing of the end cap , as taught by Shen, because The use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products) in the same way is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art of record- US 8,231,991, CN 110227850, US 20190221376, US 2013115492-fail to teach or suggest each and every limitation of claims 5 and 12.
Claims 6-9 and 13 depend from claims 5 and 12 respectively and fall therewith.
Conclusion
/Alexander Usyatinsky/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751